Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Little Man's Trucking & Asphalt Paving

Phone: (540) 846-4229 View Additional Phone Numbers 11809 Belfonte Rd., Bumpass, VA 23024


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Little Man's Trucking & Asphalt Paving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Little Man's Trucking & Asphalt Paving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Little Man's Trucking & Asphalt Paving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2005 Business started: 09/01/1994 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lindy T Roles Jr., Owner Mr. Lindy T Roles III, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lindy T Roles Jr., Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Mulches Topsoil Stone - Crushed Sand & Gravel Seal Coating Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Hauling & Clean Up Services Driveway Preparation Excavating Contractors Land Clearing & Leveling All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Licensing

This company holds a Class C Contractor's license from the Virginia Board for Contractors. This means the company does not accept single projects or contracts with a value of $10,000 or more.

Industry Tips
Debris Removal Driveway Paving

Additional Locations

  • 11809 Belfonte Rd.

    Bumpass, VA 23024 (540) 846-5465 (540) 895-9254 (877) 895-9245 (540) 846-4229

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Little Man's Paving to do a driveway extension in my rear property and asphalt repair to the existing front driveway on 6/17/2015. It was actually a month and half before but they never came back after the initial grading. ***** (owner) told me he would cut out the damaged/crumbling asphalt, put in the 21A stone, and asphalt. I came home around the time they were working on the front patch and specifically asked both ***** and his son about the gravel application because I didn't see any on their trucks. They both stated with absolute certainty that they would put in the gravel before the asphalt. I left for Baltimore because my girlfriend was donating a kidney. We returned the following Monday evening. ***** stated to not drive on the driveway for 3 days. Well, 5 days passed. We still didn't drive on it because I wanted to caulk all the open seams they left and reveal the entire driveway so that it would blend. I begin sealing the driveway on Wednesday. The next coat on Thursday evening. We let it sit and cure until the following Monday before we put our vehicles on it. A total of 12 days passed. Well beyond the 3 ***** spoke of. The first car (a small ****** *******) left sink marks in their patchwork. I immediately viewed my security camera footage just to learn that Little Man never put in the 21A gravel. I called them and he agreed to come out and fix it. When they fixed it though, they tore up more of the lower driveway with their equipment and now the asphalt sits up higher than the rest of the driveway, doesn't blend now because it has to be repealed, and has damage. Now Little Man won't even answer his phone, text, or call back. 8 phone calls and 20+ text messages with no response from his company. If the job would have been done right the first time, the secondary damage never would have happened and I wouldn't be out over $300 in sealer materials plus 2 days of labor applying it. I asked them to do the right thing and reseal from the fence d

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate Little Man to do the right thing and fix the problems they created. The driveway would have to be resealed from the fence down to the cul de sac for it to properly blend now. Either that or refund me the $750 for the poor job in that area and the $322. In materials and $350 in labor for the 2 day application process. I do seal coating as part of the services I offer. The price I stated is below what I would normally charge and more than fair market value. I have them on 2 video cameras defrauding me of what was quoted. When they got called out on it, they did come back but then created more damage. If not resolved in a more timely manner going this route, we will go to civil court

Business Response: The business reach out to BBB regarding this complaint.  After the work was done the customer sealed the driveway. This seal was done sooner that the 90 days asphalt takes to settle, and if done to early causes issues with the finished products. The customer called the business after doing this because there was an issue after a car was parked on it. The business attempted to resolve the issue but the original damage was caused by the customer and the business is unable to provide a refund for that work.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed 

 
Little Man Paving is lying. I did what they asked me to do as to parking my vehicles. I even extended the time frame. They did the work on Thursday and said I could park on Sunday. It was actually over 10 days when I finally moved a light vehicle (*******) and it left dent/crush marks in the pavement they patched. I then reviewed the video and found out they never put in the 21a gravel that would have prevented it from happening in the first place. That's fraud! Charging someone for something not delivered on.yes I top sealed the driveway the following Tues I believe. It looked great and still does except where they came back to fix what they defrauded me on in the first place. Their machinery cut in ruts and tore up what I had sealed. Now what they did repair sets higher then the rest of the driveway. Totally different then them saying it would be flush with the old asphalt. If they want to play me like a fool then we can go the court route. Video and pics don't lie. Ask Littleman Paving about all their undocumented and under the table help they use. Ask if they are on the books. There were 2 other guys here working other than ***** and his son. On video. Keep lying Lindy. Fix my driveway you messed up. Do the right thing




Regards,

***** ******




Business Response: BBB spoke with the business they will be refunding for the patch an amount of $750. This will be done once the customer accepts this as a resolution.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

***** ******