Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J. Worden & Sons Asphalt Paving

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 822-7715 Fax: (804) 717-5072 View Additional Phone Numbers 11632 Hillside Rd, Chester, VA 23831 http://www.jwordenandsonspaving.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

DRIVEWAYS, PARKING LOTS AND SEAL COATING


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. Worden & Sons Asphalt Paving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for J. Worden & Sons Asphalt Paving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J. Worden & Sons Asphalt Paving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1999 Business started: 04/01/1991 in VA Business started locally: 04/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Betty H. Worden, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Betty H. Worden, President
Business Category

Paving Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • 11632 Hillside Rd

    Chester, VA 23831

  • 6750 Jefferson Davis Hwy

    Richmond, VA 23237

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: driveway that was installed at **** ******** drive has crack in it. Have contacted several times .at one point the owner was screaming at me but I was able to calm him down. He told me that the crack would be taken care of by sept 1 2015, this date was approximately a month to wait for. Today is September 9th, 2015. He won't return phone calls, or text messages. This contract has a one year warranty.

Desired Settlement: fix the crack!!!

Business Response: This job has a crack in it due to the poor quality job that 
was done by complainant 
he built a retaining wall that does not meet building standards 
the warranty doesn't not cover his failure in design and workmanship
i have contacted my lawyer and **** and in the process of filing a law suit against complainant 
he took this job and had admitted loosing money on this project 
Now he hopes to pin the issues on this company 

the he issue with the driveway cracking is from the sub par illegal wall 
that he built that has no liability with this company
he is responsible for the quality of his design and build not us 
I have spoken to building inspectors already have over thirty pictures 
of his job including building support posts on top of decaying tree stumps




Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

****** *******



7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid company in Sep 2013 in the amount of 1685.10 for paving to commence in Nov. if my driveway was clear from other construction. Called in December 2013 and stated that I wanted to cancel the paving and get a refund. Business stated that they had no knowledge of my deposit and claimed that they never received it, went to credit card statement found date of 27-Sep-2013 and POST date of 29-Sep-2013. After finding that and giving them the information they stated that I would receive my money back. 5 months later and numerous calls, and I have not received any monies returned from them.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the entire amount of 1685.10 as soon as possible.

Business Response: BBB spoke with **** from the company and he stated that the company and the consumer have agreed on a day to pave the driveway.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J. Worden & Sons Asphalt Paving
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)