Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Able Asphalt Services

Phone: (804) 861-0885 8517 Boydton Plank Rd, Petersburg, VA 23803 http://www.ablepavingandsealcoating.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Able Asphalt Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Able Asphalt Services include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Able Asphalt Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Able Asphalt Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2011 Business started: 07/01/2009 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Macy Small, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Macy Small, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt Sealing - Pavement Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Parking Area Maintenance & Marking Pavement & Floor Marking Services All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Industry Tips
Driveway Paving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Able Asphalt Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8517 Boydton Plank Rd

    Petersburg, VA 23803 (804) 861-0885

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yesterday late afternoon a man who said he was the son of the owner drove into my driveway and said he had some leftover material from a job they just finished and would we like to benefit from a really cheap price on some asphalt for the gravel part of our driveway. I told him we did not have any extra money for asphalt but he assured me he would work within our budget and only put down what we could afford. He also said he would grade our gravel portion of the drive for free, fill in the cracks with the leftover hot tar on the blacktop portion of the driveway for free and would spray a spot on the drive with the sealer which we could purchase a $16 a gallon if we liked it. I had to leave to go an feed my horse and reminded him that we had a very small budget and that if any grading was done it could not interfere with the french drain I had going under the gravel in the back portion of our drive. He was only supposed to do a small area and then proceed to an amount we could agree on. when I returned an hour and half later they had not only paved my entire gravel area with millians they also paved over and/or destroyed my french drain. I found some pieces in my garden after they left and the opening was completely covered. Then he demanded payment for an amount that was no where near my budget. I argued the price and how he treated us and he said he was losing money on this deal. I do not agree with the final value and feel we have been taken advantage of and now I have to find a way to get the water to drain away from my home as he destroyed what I had put in. In addition he sprayed sealer on my entire driveway which is in poor shape and included that in the charge telling me that the sealer would give my cracked up driveway another 7 years before it would need to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: I want them to come back and get this stuff out of my back yard and repair the drain they destroyed. I don't know what to do about the sealer as it is all over my driveway. I believe he lied about the outcome of the sealer as well. I am afraid of what this mess will look like when morning comes. (the next page only allows one method of payment: He said I had to pay at least $400 with a check so he could pay the workers that were with him and the remaining $3000 I had to charge,)

Business Response: I HAVE JUST READ THIS COMPLAINT AND I AM VERY SORRY THAT YOU ARE NOT UNDERSTANDING THE PROCESS OF THE SEALER AND DRYING TIME.. I ONLY WISH YOU WOULD OF TOLD ME THIS LAST NITE WHEN YOU CALLED IN TO PAY FOR IT I COULD OF MADE ARRANGEMENTS WITH YOU.. IF YOU HAD ANY QUESTIONS OR MISUNDERSTANDINGS I WISH YOU WOULD OF ADDRESSED ME ON IT LAST NITE WHEN YOU CALLED IN TO PAY. BUT I HAVE NOTIFIED THE FOREMAN AND HE IS ON HIS WAY TO YOU NOW AS I'M RESPONDING TO THIS. PLEASE DON'T WORRY WE WILL MAKE IT RIGHT IF THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG. THANKS YOU

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have talked with the owner of this business and we have satisfactorily resolved this misunderstanding in the billing process.  I thank the owner for all she did to quickly handle the situation.  She is a good person and business manager and believe this complaint can be discarded as a misunderstanding if that is possible. 

Regards,

******* ****



12/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2014, PETE, a foreman for Able Asphalt of Petersburg, evaluated driveway to place asphalt and sealant to even out a slanting driveway, fill cracks, correct and smooth out humps, and provide an even and smooth driveway surface for around 2K. Iwalked driveway with PETE (foreman) pointing out concerns and was assuredhe & crew would do smooth and professional job. Pete and 3 guys showed up a few days later. Two of the men were able bodied, the 3rd guy doing most of the work with a push broom had his arm in a sling. He is the one who laid down most of the asphalt and sealant. When they finished I contacted PETE to tell him that I was not satisfied and that they needed to come back because the driveway looked worse than it did before Able started to work on it. Each time the crew came, the work looked worse and unprofessional and they often said they needed to leave to do another job and PETE would pull guys and send 2 new guys.The same thing happened 2 Xs more and each time the crew changed but man in sling showed up all three times. After 2nd botched job, PETE'S father came to the site and I walked him around and showed him the horrible work. He said he would correct the work. After 3rd bad paving attempt,Pete said he was not going to come back and was wasting time crew had other jobs and he demanded payment. Told him I was not paying for a botched job. He left and came back next day (8/30/14) with his son sitting in his white truck and begged for "some" money to pay the crew. After hours of begging, my husband just wanted him to go way.I told Pete I needed a contract and a guarantee to which he said No. I opened the door to show him out. He reappeared with sheet in hand for 1 year warranty and I wrote check (#9250 for 1K on 8/30/14). 2 months later texted Pete w/pixs of cracking and bad driveway asking him to repair. Wrote #1 letter (PETE Sr. came to house and swore to repair that week). No PETE or crew. Wrote 2 more letters. No response. Called. Got no response!

Desired Settlement: Refund monies paid since all efforts to resolve this problem (calls texts with pictures, 3 letters, a vist to the non existent business site) have failed and/or been ignored by Able Asphalt of Petersburg.

Business Response:

The driveway already existed and was installed by another contractor and she was very unhappy with there performance. We were installing a driveway in her neighbor hood and she stopped and ask us to come look at hers. She said the paving contractor before did a terrible job. I looked at her driveway and it was very un level and and uneven seams or tie ends . I recommended that she repaved the driveway. but she only wanted to seal , patch, and repair cracks as we all know that is not a NEW driveway it is just what it say a patch repair and seal. She did not want to repave .  total amount of the job was never paid of the original contract.  I went to her house several times to try to  correct to her satisfaction and finally just ask her what she thinks is a reasonable offer to wash my hands of this job. being that i was trying to correct someone elses work that really needed to be repaved. So she agreed to pay me $1000.00 and said she was satisfied. Which was not the contract price tht she agreed opon. My co. went above and beyond what we were suppose to do. And now she is posting this almost 11/2 yrs later. SOME PEOPLE YOU JUST CANT PLEASE. I FEEL LIKE SHE IS TRYING TO RELEASE ALL OF HER EMOTION OF HER PREVIOUS PROBLEM ON ME. 

But i will make 1 more attempt to come out discuss the issue.

Consumer Response:


December 7, 2015 

The Response Statement that Able Asphalt's representative 
(PETE) provided below reflects this company's continued 
lack of professional and lack of personal responsibility for 
the consistently BAD and UNPROFESSIONAL work in late 
August of 2015 by Pete and the "turnover teams/crews" that 
were sent to correct the terrible asphalting and sealant jobs 
that they created. I do not appreciate nor have any respect 
for liars who deliberately go brain dead and create their own 
story to cover their work and job performance failures, not 
once but three times on the same job. Allow me to respond 
specifically to each of PETE'S statements: 

ORIGINAL MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS: 

The driveway already existed and was installed by another 
contractor and she was very unhappy with there 
performance. We were installing a driveway in her neighbor 
hood and she stopped and ask us to come look at hers. She 
said the paving contractor before did a terrible job. I looked 
at her driveway and it was very un level and and uneven 
seams or tie ends . I recommended that she repaved the 
driveway. but she only wanted to seal , patch, and repair 
cracks as we all know that is not a NEW driveway it is just 


what it say a patch repair and seal. She did not want to 
repave . total amount of the job was never paid of the 
original contract. I went to her house several times to try to 
correct to her satisfaction and finally just ask her what she 
thinks is a reasonable offer to wash my hands of this job. 
being that i was trying to correct someone elses work that 
really needed to be repaved. So she agreed to pay me 
$1000.00 and said she was satisfied. Which was not the 
contract price tht she agreed opon. My co. went above and 
beyond what we were suppose to do. And now she is posting 
this almost 11/2 yrs later. SOME PEOPLE YOU JUST CANT 
PLEASE. I FEEL LIKE SHE IS TRYING TO RELEASE ALL OF 
HER EMOTION OF HER PREVIOUS PROBLEM ON ME. 
But i will make 1 more attempt to come out discuss the 
issue. 


1. The driveway already existed and was installed by 
another contractor and she was very unhappy with there 
performance. 

Fact #1: The driveway had been totally paved some 20 
years ago. However, the contractor ran out of materials and 
left Virginia before applying and rolling the last scoop of 
asphalt to even out the bottom section of the slopping 
driveway. We eventually lived with the unevenness and 
roughness of the slop and just had local companies seal the 
entire driveway, with the last sealant application taking 
place about 2 years ago. 

2. We were installing a driveway in her neighbor hood and 
she stopped and ask us to come look at hers. 

FACT #2: I never approached Pete. My husband stopped 
our car and talked with the neighbor where Pete and crew 
were installing a new driveway and asked if he [the 


neighbor] would drive Pete over to the house to look at our 
driveway around the corner, once they were done for the 
day. The neighbor drove Pete to our house and sat in his car 
while my husband and I walked Pete around our driveway 
showing him the driveway concerns. Every time I pointed 
out what I wanted corrected and smoothed out, Pete 
reassured me that he and his crew could correct that and 
make everything smooth and professional. 

3. She said the paving contractor before did a terrible job. 

FACT #3: Pete asked if I was satisfied with the current job 
on the hill and I looked at him and said "no, the work was 
done 20 years ago and the slop is in really bad shape and 
needs to be smoothed out because the original contractor 
ran out of asphalt at the bottom and did not finish what he 
started." 

4. I looked at her driveway and it was very un level and and 
uneven seams or tie ends. 

FACT #4: I do not know what "tie-ends" are. I do know that 
the only obvious unevenness was at the slop of the driveway 
and Pete said he and the crew could easily fix that by 
shoveling in asphalt, patting down the asphalt and rolling 
over it with a machine. 

5. I recommended that she repaved the driveway. 

FACT #5: Pete did recommend repaving the driveway at the 
cost of $7 ,000.00. He had just paved the neighbor's original 
dirt driveway from the bottom up (digging/excavation, 
rocks, rolling out with machines, asphalt and sealant) for 
$6,000. Pete looked at our drive way and saw (dollar signs 
$$$$$) and no contract and little effort because he was 
looking at two little old people of color. 

6. but she only wanted to seal , patch, and repair cracks as 


we all know that is not a NEW driveway it is just what it say 
a patch repair and seal. 

FACT #6: At no point did I ask for or expect a NEW 
driveway. The statement I made to Pete was simple: "I 
need to have the drive way slop filled in and smoothed out 
so that it looks like one solid piece. I also need to have the 
cracks filled in and the patches filled in and smoothed out. 
The entire driveway needs to be smooth and even. Can you 
do that?" He said: "YES WE CAN AND WILL MAKE 
EVERYTHING SMOOTH AND EVEN AND YOU WILL BE PROUD 
OF THE JOB THAT WE ARE GOING TO DO FOR YOU." 

7 .She did not want to repave . 

FACT #7: There logically was no need to go through what I 
went through 20 years ago with original paving. As Pete 
explained the process, he would bring in huge trucks and 
machines responsible for cracking and breaking up the 
existing driveway and digging up and hauling off tons of 
materials and pouring in new gravel and asphalt and then 
sealing the driveway afterwards ... and at the cost of 
$7,000.00. The driveway needed the slop filled with asphalt 
and rolled evenly; cracks needed to be filled and sealed, a 
few holes needed to be filled, a hump needed to be reduced, 
filled in and evened out and the entire driveway then needed 
to be evenly sealed. PETE said he understood and would still 
make the driveway look great because his crew was one of 
the best in the area. 

8. total amount of the job was never paid of the original 
contract. 

FACT #8: THERE WAS NO CONTRACT PRESENTED TO US. 
When I described and showed PETE the areas of concern and 
asked how much to fix it all and to make everything even 
and smooth, he said about $1,800 to $2,000. Since there 
was no contract, there was no explanation as to how he 


arrived at that price range. As Pete knows, he never 
discussed or presented a contract on any of the visits, not 
the initial walk around, nor on any of the other trips he 
made when he came to look at and order the guys to correct 
the bad resurfacing/paving/sealant job. None of the work 
was ever done properly or professionally. Things went from 
bad to worse. And he certainly had no intention of ever 
giving us a contract or a warranty. He truly expected us to 
pay him and smile and not ask for any kind of service 
guarantee. We would never have had a warranty if I had not 
told Pete that I was not paying for a botched job and that by 
law I had a right to require a warranty with the expectation 
that Able Asphalt was coming back to make the corrections 
and honor the warranty. Pete said, "We don't do 
warranties." To that, statement, I responded by showing 
him the door. He went to his truck and came back with a 
contract and warranty stated on that contract. 

9. I went to her house several times to try to correct to her 
satisfaction and finally just ask her what she thinks is a 
reasonable offer to wash my hands of this job. 

FACT #9: 
Pete and three men showed up a few days after he initially 
looked at our driveway that last week in August of 2014. 
Two of the men with him were able bodied; the 3rd guy 
doing most of the work with a push broom had his arm in a 
sling. Pete gave them directions and said he had to leave 
because he had picked up a few other jobs in the community 
and had to get back to those jobs with other crews. The man 
in the sling is the one who laid down most of the asphalt and 
sealant. When they finished I contacted PETE to tell him that 
I was not satisfied and that they needed to come back the 
next day because the driveway looked worse than it did 
before Able started to work on it. Each time the crew came, 
the work looked worse and unprofessional and they often 


said they needed to leave to do another job and PETE would 
pull guys and send two new guys. The man in the sling was 
the one consistent piece to the crew. Pete did no work. 

The same thing happened two more times and each time the 
crew changed but the man in sling showed up all three 
times. After the second botched paving attempt, PETE'S 
father came to the site and I walked him around and showed 
him the horrible work. Asphalt and sealant were on my 
hoses, on my plants, pots, down spouts, on the garage door, 
and on the brick sidewalk, and the driveway looked like kids 
had spilled asphalt and sealant and randomly swept it 
around the driveway. The driveway was rough, lumpy, 
bumpy, and blotched and looked absolutely like high school 
summer hires had worked on the project. Keloid surfaces, 
blisters, lumps, bumps and humps were very visible and you 
could see sweep lines and shadows. Absolutely horrible! 
He (PETE'S FATHER) said he would correct the work. 
Like Pete, Pete Sr. (???) smiled and said; "Mrs. Dial I am 
sorry about this but we will get this done right and 
everything will be smoothed out and I promise, it will look 
great." After third bad paving attempt, Pete said he was not 
going to come back and was wasting time because his crew 
had other jobs and he demanded payment. Notice Pete's 
unprofessional statement " ... wash my hands of this job." 
How do you not take responsibility for your crew and your 
work? How do you (as a professional) not make it right for 
the customer after that customer has given you 6 or 7 
opportunities to "DO THE RIGHT THING?" 

10. being that i was trying to correct someone elses work 
that really needed to be repaved. 

FACT #10: What kind off attitude is that? Pete was not 
correcting someone else's work. He was a representative of 
Able Asphalt hired and being paid to deliver a smooth and 
even surface to our driveway.... a job he said he and his crew 


could easily do. He saw what he was working with and only 
had to fix the problems. Instead, he created an eyesore. 
Both he and his father made a professional promise to give 
me a driveway that Able Asphalt and I would be proud of. 
After all he constantly boasted that his crew was one of the 
best in the area. 


11. So she agreed to pay me $1000.00 and said she was 
satisfied. 

FACT #11: Another of those lies and brain dead attempts 
at self-justification by Pete. At NO POINT did I ever tell Pete 
I was satisfied about any work they performed. Just the 
opposite! He knew we were not satisfied. The crew knew we 
were not satisfied. The office knew we were not satisfied. 
And we demonstrated that dissatisfaction by requiring a 
warranty to hold the company accountable and responsible. 

I told Pete that I was not paying for a botched job. I told 
him that the neighborhood was even complaining about how 
badly the driveway was looking. He left and came back next 
day (8/30/14) with his son sitting in his white truck and 
begged for "some" money to pay the crew. After hours of 
begging, my husband just wanted him to go away. I told 
Pete I needed a contract and a guarantee to which he said 
NO! I opened the door to show him out. He reappeared with 
sheet in hand for one-year warranty and I wrote check 
( #9250 for 1,000 on 8/30/14) with the understanding that 
within that year, the job would be corrected to professional 
standards and to my satisfaction, as the paying customer. 

12.Which was not the contract price tht she agreed opon. My 
co. went above and beyond what we were suppose to do. 

FACT #12: No contract came into the conversation until I 
demanded a contract on August 30, 2014. Again, look at 


fact #8. I am rather certain (based on the attitude and 
disregard for all the texts with pictures of the driveway, 
phone calls, attempted visits to the business location, and 
letters) that these fellows thought they had a no contract, 
no strings attached $1,800 or $2,000 for doing shoddy and 
unprofessional work. I have to look at the mess they made 
of my driveway every single day. 

As a customer who paid and got nothing but a bad driveway 
for the money, I have shown the patience of JOB. Able 
Asphalt has been given more than ample opportunity to "do 
the right thing" if that had been their intent. Your company 
has done nothing for me as a customer and you have not 
demonstrated the intent to honor any of your company's 
promises made to us. You deliberately breached and failed 
to honor the warranty. 


13.And now she is posting this almost 11/2 yrs later. SOME 
PEOPLE YOU JUST CANT PLEASE. I FEEL LIKE SHE IS 
TRYING TO RELEASE ALL OF HER EMOTION OF HER 
PREVIOUS PROBLEM ON ME. 
But i will make 1 more attempt to come out discuss the 
issue. 

FACT #13: Again, PETE has chosen to openly LIE and go 
brain dead. I have texts on December 23 2014 where I sent 
pictures to Pete updating him on the deteriorating condition 
of the driveway surface and reminding him that it is a mild 
December and the driveway is already looking bad and we 
have had no snow yet in 2014. NO response from PETE. In 
January of 2015, I texted Pete again with more pictures. No 
response! In June of 2015, and on 3 July, I again texted 
Pete asking him to come out and look at the driveway. No 
response! 

I drove out to the Petersburg address listed on web and 


found the white truck but found no Able Asphalt Company. I 
sat in my car at this site and called the number listed on the 
web and told the lady who answered (Able Asphalt) that I 
was looking for Pete and for the company. She hung up. 

I mailed a certified letter to the company on August 7, 2015. 
I know it was received because Pete's father came to the 
house on Wednesday (12 August) and said that he and crew 
would be back on Thursday [13], Friday [14] or weekend 
and if not on the weekend, then they would absolutely be at 
house to make corrections on driveway the week of August 
17th. It is December 7, 2015 and I am still waiting for Pete's 
father and the crew to show up. 

I mailed another certified letter in September of 2015 and a 
third certified letter in October of 2015. Still, no response. 
On 3 December, I received notification from the post office 
that a letter needed to be signed for. I immediately picked 
up the letter and it was the third certified letter that I had 
sent to Able Asphalt. Apparently, they refused to sign for the 
letter and just let it sit at post office in Petersburg, VA. 

One of the most insulting things that Pete said to my 
husband and I on 30 August 2014 as he begged for "some 
money to pay the crew" was the nasty statement: You 
know, they told me that you people never want to pay. You 
want things for free. They warned me and I should have 
listened." At that point my husband wanted him out of our 
house. 

With that being said, Pete and Able Asphalt you need to 
know that I am PROACTIVE not reactive. I am a hard 
working old lady (approaching 70) who is level-head, 
professional, reasonable, patient, persistent and believe in 
holding people accountable. I have worked ALL my life (2 
and sometimes 3 jobs) and ALWAYS excel at what I do 
because I treat ALL people with respect because they matter 
10 

and they are paying their hard-earned money for a service 
that I am responsible for delivering. I treat people the way I 
want and demand to be treated. 

There was a time when a man's word was his bond. Able 
Asphalt has consistently shown me that you people have no 
honor, no professionalism and really have no business in the 
SERVICE PROFESSION INDUSTRY. And as first time 
customers, neither of you offered us your listed 5°/o. Why 
not? 

Your company needs to quickly remove that false goal 
statement you have listed on the web about "complete 
customer satisfaction in ... quality service and being leaders in 
ourfield". Can you people pronounce or spell LEADERSHIP or 
INTEGRITY? Who has a one-armed man wearing a sling who 
is obviously injured working and doing this particular job 
that requires 2 arms? Isn't that illegal? Integrity? 


RESOLUTION 
If your company's intention were to do the honorable thing 
you would have already done so given the total 7 
opportunities you were consistently presented in 2014 and 
previously in 2015. 

Because I have contacted the BBB, you now want to act like 
you care. That fake concern will not fly here. 

I wish a full refund of the $1,000.00 paid you in August of 
2014. Those funds are to be mailed to me via a certified 
check or a cashier's check. I am also asking for a refund of 
the monies paid to send the 3 certified letters (3 X $5.60) to 
Able Asphalt You deliberately breached your contract and 
warranty.



6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested an estimate from Abel Asphalt. They came out and gave us a quote and we told them we would like for them to repair and pave our driveway. At the time we also told them that we were going to have some construction done and the immediate response from the person was let's wait until the construction is complete, give us a call when it is finished and we will get the driveway done then. 1) Two days later I came home from work and they had the driveway dug up and had begun repairs.2) They completed the drive and then told us it would be another $1000.00 to apply a sealant, which we gave them.3) While repairing / paving they severely damaged / tore up our yard even in areas they should not have had heavy equipment. There were chunks of asphalt in all of my flower beds and plants were stepped on.4) I did call the office to discuss this with them and was told they were aware of the damage to the yard and the person who had done it was no longer with them. They stated: "we will make it right." Several days later someone came to the house, chatted us up and said: "We will bring some dirt in here and fix this and I'll pretty this up a bit for you." To date we have not seen or heard from them.5)During the above visit we were told: "By the way, you will have to have some dirt brought in here to shore up the driveway.We were not told that we would need to "shore" up the driveway after completion; we were not told it would cost extra to have it sealed and we were not told the yard might be damaged.

Desired Settlement: Would like the areas of our yard that were damaged to be repaired in an appropriate manner.

Business Response: WE HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT AND HAVE MADE ARRANGEMENT TO REPAIR THE AREA TO YARD.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

*** *****


BBB spoke with the customer who indicated that the business had been out Saturday morning (5/30) to resolve the issue and said that they "were wonderful to deal with." She considers the complaint resolved.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Following the recent snow and ice where our asphalt drive meets the public road had started to crack and subside.We agreed with Able Asphalt Services to saw cut across the drive and replace the damaged material with new asphalt that was to be level with and butted against the existing road and drive and covered with hot sealant.Unfortunately the repair that has been done does not do this. The new asphalt overlaps the existing material in a ragged edge that is very untidy and is already scuffing away through general traffic. The hot sealant has been applied in a hit and miss fashion and achieves nothing.All together the workmanship, skill, and application of this repair falls far short of any standard that would be considered reasonable. The drive is now in a worse condition than before this repair was started and is not acceptable. To make matters worse the rest of the drive was seal coated BEFORE the repair was carried out and makes no sense at all. The work was dragged out over three days and we were unable to use our drive during this period. It job was obviously treated as a fill in between other work.

Desired Settlement: Remove all the new repair and replace with new asphalt. This repair to be carried out to the original agreement and to be of a standard of skill, application and workmanship that displays care and consumer consideration for the fee paid.This work to be carried out in a timely manner and on one visit and not fitted in between other work at the contractors convenience.The repair to be seal coated so that the color matches the rest of the drive.

Business Response: WE ARE VERY SORRY THAT THE WEATHER WAS A LITTLE UNCORPORATIVE. AS I RECALL THERE WAS A PHONE CONVERSATION BEFORE THE CONCERN TO THE BBB CONCERNING THE PATCH AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY AND WE TOLD YOU THAT WE WERE REPLACING THE PATCHED AREA AND WHAT EVER ELSE IT WAS GOING TO TAKE TO MAKE YOU SATISFIED. WE HAVE HAD ALOT OF RAIN THAT WE ARE TRYING TO WORK WITH ON FINISHING JOBS. BUT I CAN ENSURE YOU THAT THIS CONCERN WITH YOUR DRIVEWAY WILL BE FIXED AT YOUR CONVIENENCE. PLEASE GIVE US A DATE WHEN YOU WOULD LIKE US TO COME BACK TO TAKE CARE OF THIS MATTER.
THANKS
ABLE ASPHALT SERVICES 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. After a doorstep meeting on Monday 4/6/15 the contractor agreed to remove the badly installed repair and replace it to a standard detailed earlier in the complaint. However the times and dates for the repair have not been forwarded and are therefore still open ended. Given our previous experience this is a concern and needs to be closely monitored. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

******* *****



5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway asphalted on 4/1/14.. Upon walking to the mailbox I noticed grass coming up thur the driveway.. not on the edges like the son had warned me about but in the center of the driveway. I called another asphalt company and was told that grass should not be coming up thru four in. of asphalt like I was told I was giving. I called Able Aphalt on 5/9/14 which was a friday, spoke with a lady I didnt get her name and she said someone would contact me.That weekend was mothers day so I called on Monday 5/12/14 and was giving a name of ********.. again was told some would contact me and so far nothing. I dont think four inches was poured and feel they are trying to pull a fast one

Business Response:

WE HAVE WENT TO THE JOB AND CORRECTED THE PROBLEM AND **** ****** HAS SAID THAT SHE IS SATISFIED. SHE TOLD US THAT SHE WAS GOING TO NOTIFY YOU TO TELL YOU THAT IT WAS CORRECTED. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF SHE DID.
THANKS
**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Able Asphalt Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart