Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quarles Petroleum, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quarles Petroleum, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Quarles Petroleum, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1939 in VA Business incorporated 09/29/1939 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Francesca Bettinelli, Manager of Client Services Mr. Paul Giambra, President and CEO Ms. Wendy Lattimore, Real Estate Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Francesca Bettinelli, Manager of Client Services
Principal: Mr. Paul Giambra, President and CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Wendy Lattimore, Real Estate Administrator
Business Category

Oils - Petroleum Oils - Fuel Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Gas - Propane

Alternate Business Names
Quarles Energy Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Quarles Petroleum, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1006 West Market Street

    Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (540) 908-3511

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12050 Cadet Court

    Manassas, VA 20109 (703) 439-1211

  • 15427 Brandy Rd

    Culpeper, VA 22701 (540) 825-9034 (877) 929-9034

  • 1701 Fall Hill Avenue, #200

    Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (540) 371-2400 (888) 309-4174

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    195 Commerce Avenue

    Front Royal, VA 22630 (540) 551-4276 (540) 635-4888

  • 3300 Beulah Salisbury Dr

    Fredericksburg, VA 22408 (540) 373-6933 (800) 758-4742

  • 73 Seafood Lane

    Irvington, VA 22480 (804) 438-5231 (800) 201-4328

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    811 Smithfield Ave.

    Winchester, VA 22601 (540) 931-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I wanted to purchase my in-ground tank from Quarles so that I could switch propane providers, they charged me the full price of a *new* tank, even though the tank in question is 15 years old. (I did not learn this information until I had already paid the specific bill for that tank. Since then, I have been withholding payment of my final propane bill for the *difference* between the used and the new tank--$600.) Several phone calls have gone back and forth (with ***** and ******), wherein I learned that the sales price reflects the cost of a *new* tank. When I proposed that it was unreasonable to expect me to pay the price of a new tank when it is, in fact, quite old, they have refused to budge and are now threatening collections.

Desired Settlement: I would like Quarles to agree to a revision of the sale price to reflect the age of my tank. At the very least, I'd like a reasonable compromise--indicating that it is reasonable to expect to pay a depreciated price for a depreciated product.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.   We have now spoken with the customer and have come to a resolution.  She did not recall that the tank was replaced in 2008 and not as old as she thought (from 2001). She told our operations manager, ***, that she was concerned that her issue did not get raised above the level of the branch manager. She also said that she had mailed a letter to HQ, on Mar 10th; we have not received the letter here at our Headquarters as far as we can find.  *** said he had not received one and it does not appear on her account. *** asked her what it would take to keep her as a customer and she agreed that a fair resolution is to meet us halfway on the difference.  We have written-off the difference of $300 along with the finance charges accrued. ***** agreed to pay the remaining $300
balance.  We hope we have resolved the issue amicably and to the complete satisfaction of the customer.  I have attached a string of intercompany emails showing our research and inter-office discussion on the matter.  As of today, we feel this has been successfully closed. 

5/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an automatic refill plan with Quarles. They fill our tanks when they calculate we are due. All went until this January. The downstairs furnace was not keeping the set temperature. I checked our tanks and they were empty. I called Quarles and they came out the same day and filled us up. They apologized and offered a 50 dollar reduction on the next bill. But then I got a bill in the mail for 276.39 which they said was for a delivery they made on Dec. 12, a mere month prior to us running bone dry! It is usually months between deliveries and it wasn't even terribly cold in December. We had no delivery ticket for this alleged delivery either. I have gotten one every other time. We use propane for nothing else but the downstairs furnace. The bill for the January fill up came and there was no 50 dollar discount either. I called to complain about the spurious bill and the representative seemed to have no idea how to handle my call. I waited a day or two and called again. I talked to a different representative who listened to my complaint and said they would look into it. He called me back in a couple hours and said GPS proved their truck had been here and he wasn't prepared to do anything for me. I then called the ******* who also listened to my complaint and offered to look into it. He called me back next business and said GPS proved they were here blah blah no deal. I don't want to go through the hassle of changing proprane providers but I will if they force me to pay this bill for something we so obviously never received. We have had no problem with the system since then so there are no leaks.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay almost 300 dollars for something we never received. The 50 dollar discount would be nice since it was promised but I definitely want the bill for 276.39 removed.

Business Response:

Please find ******** an internal string of emails following up on and tracking our investigation of this complaint.  We also have reached out to the customer following our investigation and feel we have satisfied his complaint in a timely and amicable manner.   Although we have evidence that the customer did indeed receive his delivery, we have credited his account with an additional $150 for his efforts and his less than optimal experience.  We also credited him an additional $50 for our run-out guarantee.  Please advise if we can provide any additional documentation or any further assistance. 

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, 8 month old son, and I began renting a home in ********* ** **** has Quarles as the propane provider. There is a 500 gallon Quarles propane tank in the ground at the property. As we were beginning to move into the home, we realized that our propane had run out on a Sunday, I was able to contact Quarles the next day to open my account. This began the demise of Quarles' reputation through my eyes. During my phone call on Monday, my main goal was to get our propane refilled as quickly as possible. In order to get a refill, I had to open an account with Quarles. The person I was speaking with was unable to execute this and I was told that I would be called in the morning (Tuesday morning) to get my account open. I told the lady during that call on Monday night how urgent the situation was as we had zero propane and zero heat during the coldest week of the year. I asked if I could pay up front via check or credit card so I could get a refill as soon as possible. The "customer service" female began her aggressive denial of any proactive help to my family and I. She stated that even their current accounts could wait up to 2 weeks to get refills at this time. She said that she personally ran out of propane in her life, and just had to deal with it. Her whole approach and attitude were atrocious and her attitude was an accurate predictor of all future correspondence with Quarles. I demanded to speak to someone above her in management, she promised that the *******, **** would call me the next morning. He never called. After my lengthy phone call Monday, and the promise of 2 return calls Tuesday (to open my account and the local ******* to call me regarding our dire situation), I did not hear from Quarles until Thursday stating that my account was now open. Leaving behind my disgust from my treatment and lies of Monday's conversation, I forged ahead with Quarles and was promised a morning delivery between 8am and 12pm on Friday. By 11am Friday, no one had shown up and I called Quarles. They stated that they do not commit to time slots, and the 8am to 12pm promise was not true. They called me a liar on the phone, I had to retrace the exact details of the conversation before they would take me seriously. They stuck to the fact that the driver could show up at any time Friday and they had no way of knowing when the driver would be there. Since pay was being missed because I had to take the day off from work, I was obviously very upset. I demanded more answers, and I an accurate ETA. I was put on hold, and the lady got back on the phone to tell me that the driver had put in notes that he had come by the house and was there from 10am to 10:30am but no one was home. He also said that he called my cell phone and no one answered. I said those were absolute lies as I had been at the house all morning and no one called my phone. The "customer service" person was very nasty with me and said someone would call me back. She had the driver call me back at 1pm, and said he could be there in an hour. I asked him why he told all of those lies, and he said that he just messed up but he could be there soon. I said that does not work because I had to be at work. I was obviously very upset. I called back and requested to be scheduled for a refill on Saturday. Quarles said the scheduled me to receive a refill the next day, Saturday. My wife and I called 3 times to confirm that we were on the schedule for Saturday. We began waiting at 8am Saturday, and starting at 11am we began calling to get an ETA. 3 times, Quarles said they got a confirmation that the driver was en route but they could not provide an exact ETA. This occurred from 11am to 4pm. The people were mostly nasty and annoyed that we were calling. By 6pm my wife demanded to speak to a ******* as we had waited all day with no propane. This "gentlemen" showed a lot of attitude towards my wife including, stating that "our 9 month old son was freezing to death." She responded that is not something to joke about and that she never stated that because there are less fortunate people who have suffered those type of losses. After a lot of back and forth dealing with his attitude, he finally committed to speaking to the local *******. Within 30 minutes, we received a phone call from the local Quarles driver that he would be there by 8pm. He stated that our house was never scheduled for a refill all day. He has been sitting at home since 2pm on call with no stops to take care. This really put me over the edge and prompted me to file this complaint. We were lied to and were made to feel stupid and a bother. All we wanted was to pay a company for services rendered.

Desired Settlement: I want the public to know how poorly Quarles helps their "customers". They should be ashamed of the way they treat people and their extremely poor level of service.

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of a complaint from a customer.  We strive to provide the best possible service, and when a customer feels that it fails to meet their expectations, it’s important for us to know in order to make improvements.

 

We have reviewed the scenario described by the customer and we have found breakdowns in our communications both in our conversations with the customer as well as our internal communications.  The ******** ** ********** has contacted the customer by phone, on March 5th, and apologized for the less than pleasing results of our interactions and servicing of this customer’s new account setup and delivery.

 

We have issued a good will credit and advised the customer that we are doing everything we can to assist in his desire to switch fuel providers.  The customer expressed his appreciation and stated that it is apparent that Quarles does care for their customers based on our response to the issue he raised. 

          

Customer satisfaction and loyalty is important to us, and we need to continuously make improvements in order to have the opportunities to serve our customers by meeting expectations, and hopefully, exceed their expectations.

 

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.

 

********* **********
******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

****** ******
The ***** of the company called me and apologized in full.  He also said that he is actively working to resolve the issues at his company.  He also *** *** **** ** **** to try to make up for the bad service.