Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Parker Oil Company, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (434) 447-3146 View Additional Phone Numbers 1428 W Danville St, South Hill, VA 23970 http://www.parkeroilcompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Parker Oil Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parker Oil Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 2006 Business started: 09/27/1935 in VA Business incorporated 09/27/1935 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Moore, Operation Manager Mr. Charles F Parker Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Moore, Operation Manager
Principal: Mr. Charles F Parker Jr., President
Business Category

Oils - Fuel


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1404 W Danville St

    South Hill, VA 23970 (434) 447-4992

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1428 W Danville St

    South Hill, VA 23970 (434) 447-3146

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1501 Elm St
    PO Box 270

    Hopewell, VA 23860 (804) 458-1213

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2000 W 3rd St

    Farmville, VA 23901 (434) 392-6061

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    308 2nd St

    Burkeville, VA 23922 (434) 767-3310

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    362 K V Rd Hwy 40
    PO Box 1407

    Keysville, VA 23947 (434) 696-2123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    541 Fox Ln

    Lawrenceville, VA 23868 (434) 848-3370

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    617 S Main St
    PO Box 248

    Green Bay, VA 23942 (434) 372-4616

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Hwy 47
    PO Box 388

    Charlotte Court House, VA 23923 (434) 542-5181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I discontinued my service with this company on approximately, April 22, 2015. I was informed that a reading would be taken on the meter and I would be refunded the remaining propane in the tank. I waited several weeks and didn't hear anything, so I called the company. I spoke with an older gentleman in the Hopwell office who explained to me that the paperwork had been misplaced and that I had a refund coming for approximately $400 and the check would be mailed in a few days. I waited for a month and still didn't hear anything. I went into the office and spoke with the older gentleman in person who then stated that there was a miscommunication and I wasn't entitled to a refund. I asked him to show me proof of his findings because I disagreed and I found it to be unprofessional that his office didn't even bother to notify me. He, again, couldn't find the paperwork. He tried to tell me that they would look into it and I basically felt like I was being shooed from the office. I told him I would not leave until it could be presented to me why I wasn't entitled a refund. I ended up waiting there for over two hours while everyone tried to find my paperwork. Come to find out, I was in fact, entitled to a refund. I asked again when the check would be sent and was told I should receive it in a week. It has now been three additional weeks. I just called the company again and was told that the gentleman who was handling my issue hasn't been in the office for over a week, so my question couldn't be answered. This is a small office with very few employees, every one of them were involved in searching for my paperwork the day I waited for hours. This is absolutely absurd! I was always on time with my payments. It has been almost two months for me to recieve a very small refund check.

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund

Business Response: It seems there was certainly some misunderstanding and confusion on our part when relaying information to our customer on her refund request. We have reveiwed the complaint with our staff and have contacted the customer in hopes of getting this taken care of. It has been shared with me that the customer has been contacted with the correct information and a refund in the correct amount will be sent to her on June 11th. I'm truly sorry that we didn't do our best in accomodating Mrs. ******** request with accurate information and a speedy refund. I would like to share our sincere apology for this mix up and thank her for her patience and understanding..


Thank you,

***** *****

3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** billed me for rental on a fuel tank based on contract that states that if I did not use fuel I had to pay rental on the tank. Ten days after I paid said bill ****** came and put 52.7 gallons of fuel in their tank, fuel they said I had not used, thus their charge for rental. They claim that the rental was for the previous year (2014) but I have not used the gas log during 2015.

Desired Settlement: I think ****** should refund the rental fee. I called ****** about this and the ******* there hung up on me. I did not use abusive language. I told him that I would discontinue the contract after this issue was settled and he hung up on me.

Consumer Response: Customer contacted BBB and stated this had been resolved directly by the business after he filed the complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Parker Oil Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)