BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Massey, Wood & West, Inc.

Phone: (804) 355-1721 1713 Westwood Ave., Richmond, VA 23230 http://www.masseywoodandwest.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Massey, Wood & West, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Massey, Wood & West, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Massey, Wood & West, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1967 Business started: 01/02/1923 in VA Business incorporated: 10/23/1928 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. G. W. Bradley, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. G. W. Bradley, Chairman
Related Businesses
Ellington Energy Services, Inc.
Business Category

Oils - Fuel


Additional Locations

  • 1713 Westwood Ave.

    Richmond, VA 23230 (804) 355-1721

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I telephone Massey Wood and West early Friday morning, 1/31/2014 and requested oil for my 85 year old mother who lives alone - they stated that they could not deliver on Friday, because of the over whelm amount of calls, but they would deliver it on Saturday morning, which was fine - because she had a little to last through Friday. They did not deliver on Saturday or Sunday and did not call me to state this information. I have gotten oil from them before, but I won't anymore. When I called them on Friday, they readily took my money via **** charge. I called the number on Sunday morning and I guess these were the people that answered the phone from them - which she was really nice - took the information and stated she would have someone call me back. After she had not called in an hour - I called back - she stated she had given the man the information and he had picked the messages up. No call -I called at 8:00 am on Monday morning and a man answered - I told him what the issue was - he stated in a harsh voice and unpleasant manner- no we don't call people back - the oil is being delivered today! - I said why didn't the oil get delivered - "we were busy and couldn't get to the address". I stated my Mom ran out - he stated "We're delivering it today"

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything from these people - I just want them to be honest - and I can't believe that BBB have given them an A+ all these years. Word of mouth is more than anything and by me working at a large corporation - I've found out this is not the first time that this has happen - but older people don't have computers and don't understand that they can file a complaint and these people just don't care - they want the money and after that - that's it. They want the status to say they are with the BBB and have an A+ grading - and it's not true.

Business Response:

On January 31, 2014, we received a call from *** ******, ordering 150 gallons of oil for her mother. We advised her that we could not deliver the oil on Friday due to the large amount of deliveries already scheduled.  The account is set-up as will-call and cash on delivery.  It is our practice to inform our will-call customers that in the winter time, they should try to give us three days in which to make a delivery.  Our customer service representative told *** ******’s we would deliver the fuel on Saturday. Unfortunately, the delivery for *** ******’s mother was not scheduled for Saturday, but was placed on the schedule for Monday.  

On Sunday, *** ****** called our number and spoke with the answering service.  Based on the information we received from the answering service, the address was incorrect and the customer’s name was not on the message (*** ******’s name was on the message) and there was no answer at the phone number provided.  So, with an incorrect address and no name for the account, it was not possible for us to determine which customer needed assistance.

It is regrettable that *** ******’s mother did not get her delivery on Saturday, as promised. It is not our normal way of business to promise something and not deliver.  The past few weeks have been unusual at best, with the record low temperatures and the difficulty in getting product to deliver to our customers.  We offer automatic accounts for customers to ensure their tanks do not run out.  This may be an option for *** ******’s mother, so she will not have to be worried about running out of oil in the future. Once again, we are sorry for any inconvenience the delay in the delivery may have caused; it is not our practice to leave our customers in the cold.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a generator from *******.They said that they use Massey,Wood,& West for gas. No problem.I contacted MW&W. Spoke With ******,gave her info she needed to set up account and do credit check.Everything went through.MW&W delivered large tank and filled it and I paid them $721.79. This happened around 09/17/12.I had ******* to leave a knockout opening in line,because I needed to connect my fireplace to the same tank ( .It was with ********. I couldn't connect then cause ******** tank was filled )No longer have ********.Contacted MW&W for estimate for running line.**** ****** Sales Representative for MW&W came out. Gave me a price of $515.00 along with envelope and paperwork. Told me to just mail the order in the envelope with check and someone would call me and set up a date to do job.On 09/23/2013, I mailed the paperwork and check in the provided envelope. I never heard anything so I called MW&W.Told them what was going on. They said they had not recieved check. The lady that I was speaking with asked me what address did I mail it. I told her to the PO box on ****** business card. She said that they dont have that PO box anymore. And I noticed the same PO box when I came to your site.** *** ***** was the address she gave me. Thats where I pay the rental for my tank. I stopped payment on the check on 10/09/2013. That cost me $36.00.Called MW&W to speak with a *******. Talked to someone named ***.He said that he would get with ****. **** called and left this long sorry voicemail and he would be out on Friday. No ****.I called **** left voicemails. Called the customer service and she tried ***,got voicemail. ***** calls me saying he will be out on Sunday. No *****. I have even called **** and cell wasnt working. This is a BIG Mess!!!! Very POOR business. If the tank otback was empty I would get somone else.

Desired Settlement: Get the gas line done. Cut the cost. Already spent $36.00 on check. NO MORE Apologies NEEDED.

Business Response:

On November 12, 2013 our Service Scheduler contacted the customer to arrange a time to hook up the customers logs.  The customer agreed to November 18th 2013. Our Service Department did the rough-in on the job on November 18th 2013 and the rough-in inspection is scheduled for November 19th 2013. The final hook-up will occur on November 20th 2013 with the final inspection scheduled for November 21st 2013.  Our company currently does maintain two post office boxes, 5008 and 11707, which we visit daily to retrieve our mail. It is unfortunate that the post office misplaced the customer’s mail, but we have agreed to reduce the price of the installation by the ****** the customer spent to stop payment on their check. Our service department strives to provide excellent, prompt courteous service and is confident we can correct this issue.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ***** 
*** ***** contacted our office to say the bill she received did not show the $36 credit for the stope check fee she had to pay.

*** ********

Business Response: Spoke to the business the fee was applied to the $515 and the current charge due is $479.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

******* *****

Spoke with the customer and she is going to mail the check for *** today. the check number is **** and it is from ******** bank. She is mailing the check to P.O box *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several scratches made to new ******** propane cooktop during installation by company technician on Sept. 24. Have contacted the company six times and spoke with two supervisors who said that they would call back and schedule a time to access the damage. To date they have not returned the phone calls to schedule appointment. Also, company has not responded to an email sent to them.

Desired Settlement: Professionally repair or, if necessary, replace the part that was damaged.

Business Response: Wednesday, October 30, 2013, 2013
 
BBB Serving Central Virginia, Inc.
720 Moorefield Park Drive, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23236
 
 
RE: BBB Case # ******* 
On October 29, 2013 our ******* ******* met with our customer and assessed the damage to the cooktop.  Our ******* ******* determined the bottom for the cooktop will need to be replaced.  The cooktop bottom has been ordered from the manufacturer.  It will be approximately 10 to 15 days before we receive the item.  Once it is received, we will schedule a convenient time to install the replacement bottom on the cooktop.  Our service department strives to provide excellent, prompt courteous service and is confident we can correct this issue. 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper installation of LP gas tank:- hole in floor drilled too far from wall;- knocked out house vent barrier to install gas line;Refused to correct either.Very rude customer service.Took 2 months to pick up tank after service was discontinued - charged $90.00 for pick-up.

Desired Settlement: Waive $90.00 charge for tank pick-up.

Business Response:

This installation was completed in February 2010.  There is no record of the customer bringing any complaints to our attention regarding that installation. The customer was not charged for the installation or the permit for the LP gas tank install. In accordance with the signed Liquefied Petroleum Gas Equipment Agreement (see attached), we could/should have charge the customer and installation fee of $166.20 and tank rental of $270 for the three year period in which the customer used our tank. The customer requested we remove the tank on January 9th, 2012 prior to the expiration of the five year Liquefied Petroleum Gas Equipment Agreement. We removed the tank on March 5, 2013. We did not assess any penalties for breach of the sign agreement.

The charge for removal of the LP gas tank is addressed in paragraph #7 of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Equipment Agreement signed by customer on December 18, 2009.  Based on this agreement, customer is responsible for the fee for removing the tank.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ******


 

It is interesting to note that there was no charge made for the installation. 

"The customer" complained immediately (and several times following) that the installation was incorrect and asked that it be corrected - it was not corrected.

The gas line is 6" inches from the wall and keeps the stove from being pushed back against the wall.  The 8'X16" house vent/ animal barricade was removed (and not replaced)  to allow easy installation for the gas line.

These issues coupled with the fact that the tank sat in my yard for 2 months after the request was made to remove it clearly demonstrate a clear disregard toward customer service .

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company filed a Warrant in Debt against me for $70.00 because I was late on paying my tank rental fee due to having lost job. They charged me $52.00 for a court filing fee. Same day I got WID they came and shut off my tank. Thirty days later they came and pulled my tank. When I called them girl in office was very rude, told me I needed to pay my financial responsibilities and hung up on me. Would not help me with any type of payment arrangement even though I had been a customer of theirs for 9 years. I called 3 more times to no avail. Then got another bill for another $80.00 for pulling tank fee. At that point they say I owed them approximately $200.00. When they finished processing the account and giving me credit for how much propane was in tank, they sent me a refund check for $40.00 some dollars. If they had of done all the processing of my account before filing the WID, I would not have been charged the $52.00 filing fee. They dismissed the case. I feel I should be refunded the court filing fee. They put the cart before the horse. Is this fair/legal? I sent them a letter about this and have never heard back from them. How can you file against me, lock my tank, take my tank, send me a refund all before a court date and make me responsible for the fees. Shouldn't they have totally processed the account first and them filed against me if I would have owed them?

Desired Settlement: Would like refund of at least the court filing fees. On one occasion when I called I spoke to a *** **** and he told me I would not have a pulling of the tank fees. I do understand that my contract with them said there would be but he said there wouldn't. Since there was some discreptcy in this, I would also like them to consider the $80.00 be split equally with me and refunding 1/2 of that bringing a total refund of $92.00.

Business Response: RE: BBB Case # ******* This customer had outstanding charges dating back to October 2011. Numerous phone calls were made, as well as dunning notices sent in an attempt to collect this debt. Customer did not call to make arrangements or to let us know what was going on with them.  In June 2012 we were forced to take action to collect this account, based on the customer not responding to our numerus phone calls and letters. Customer did not call until after she recieved the Warrant in Debt. The entire situation could have and would have been avoided if the customer had returned our phone calls or answered one of the numerous mailings attempting to coolect the past due account. The customer signed an agreement stating they would be responsible for the fee to remove the tank. We were within our rights to remove the tank, and take legal action in an attempt to collect on the severely past due account. We also had to take legal action for collection of an oil account at the same household that is still outstanding.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** *******


 

They NEVER contacted me via phone.  The number on the account was not mine.  If they had of looked at the account application on file they would have seen that.  As far as the other case regarding oil, this has nothing to do with MY case and I think this should be removed for their answer.   !!!!

Business Response:

 

December 7, 2012

 

BBB Serving Central Virginia, Inc.

720 Moorefield Park Drive, Suite 300

Richmond, VA 23236

RE: BBB Case # ******* The company made many attempts to collect this past due account without having to resort to legal actions. The customer did not return our phone calls. In March 2012, we pulled a credit report on the customer and found a new telephone number. We called that number and the husband said his wife paid the bills and she had been ill, but would try to send something next week. We did not hear from the customer nor did we receive a payment. On April 23, 2012 we sent a tank removal letter, informing the customer we would be removing the tank due to non-payment and asking the customer to contact the office to make payment arrangements. The company put a lock on the tank on May 8, 2012, we did not hear from the customer. We did hear from the customer until May 16, 2012 when she called to find out when she made her last payment, when we gave her the information, she said thank you and hung up without making an attempt to make arrangements to pay the account. On June 5, 2012 the company filed a warrant in debt in an attempt to collect the account. After that date, the company made two more attempts at phone calls to collect the account with no success.

On June 12, 2012, the company picked up the tank. At that time the customer called and said she was unhappy with our credit department and the customer’s husband indicated that we messed up his yard when we removed tank. The company went back to the customer’s house to get pictures of yard to see any damage; there was no damage to the yard. The customer could have been charged for another service charge for that trip, but as a courtesy, we did not charge the customer. The company told customer as a courtesy, we would issue two months credit for tank rental and give the customer credit for the gas in the tank. The company issued a refund for the credit on the gas account. The company dismissed the warrant in debt as satisfied. The company also had to take legal action for collection of an oil account for the same household that is still outstanding.

The following is a list of statements sent in an attempt to collect this account.

Statements sent in attempt to collect account:

12-19-2011

1-18-2012

2-17-2012

3-18-2012

4-17-2012

5-17-2012

Copies of the statements are attached.

Below is a list of notes on the account indicating contact with the customer.

Notes on account:

1-16-2012

L/M ON VM TO CALL ASAP-PRK

3-6-2012

AUTOMATICALLY PUT ON DELIVERY HOLD - Credit status * - Exceeds Time Limit

3-13-2012

PULLED CR RPT AND FOUND NEW PHONE # CHANGED IN SYSTEM-TALKED TO ***** ******* AND WIFE HAS HEALTH ISSUES (SHE PAYS THE BILLS) BUT HE WILL SIT DOWN WITH HER AND "MAYBE" BY NEXT WEEK WE WILL GET A PMT-PRK

4-23-2012

SENT TANK REMOVAL LETTER

5-7-2012

REQUESTED SERVICE TO PUT LOCK ON TANK.***

5-16-2012

CUST TEL OFFICE-WANTED TO KNOW WHEN SHE LAST MADE A PAYMENT-GAVE HER THE INFO SHE SAID THANK YOU AND HUNG UP.***

5-29-2012

CALLED MAIN # AND LM ON VM TO CALL US BACK ASAP-** 6-5-2012

FILED WARRANT IN DEBT W/RTN OF 8/24/12

6-7-2012

CALLED WORK # AND WAS CLOSED AT THE TIME. CALLED MAIN# AND LM ON VM TO CALL US BACK ASAP-**

6-12-2012

Customer called 6/12/12, said she was unhappy with ******. There is a WID issued for the balance on the account, also for the oil account in her husbands name. Account is very slow pay, customer claims she did not get messages left regarding past due account. Husband indicated that we messed up his yard when we removed tank. Asked service to go out and get pictures of yard to see any damage. Told customer we would issue two months credit for tank rental. ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** *******


 

There has been no resolution or offer of resolution to my complaint and apparently the company has no intention of doing so.   Too bad they only told their 1/2 of the story.  I am done with them.  Word of mouth goes a long way.  I will definately not refer anyone to them.  They know they have the upper hand but they haven't won.  If they had looked at my credit application they would have gotten in touch with me because it had the right number.  I'm still amazed that ****** never had a problem reaching me but ****** did. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1