Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Growers Exchange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Growers Exchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Growers Exchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 03/01/1986 in VA Business incorporated 04/04/1986 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Briscoe White, President Mrs. Kenan White, Co-Founder
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Briscoe White, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kenan White, Co-Founder
Business Category

Nurseries - Plants, Trees

Alternate Business Names
Weyanoke Nursery, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Growers Exchange has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sometime in late April I ordered a number (about ten) live plants to be delivered. The package never came. I contacted the company who claims that the package was delivered. It was not. They have refused to resend the plants or to refund my money. They keep insisting that the have to find out what happened to the package. We have gone back and forth by email. Now they are saying they have to send an agent from *** to find out what happened to the package. It was shipped early in May, they claim. I fail to see how finding a package has become the issue. My husband and I are both retired and are home most of the time. We have not been out of town since late February. We have a covered porch and live in a very safe area. If we had gotten a large package, we would have seen it. We asked our post man if he had seen a package and he had not.

Desired Settlement: Refund all of my money and apologize for implying that I am lying.

Business Response: Hello:
The Customer Service Department escalated your issue to my desk, and I have tried repeatedly to
call you on the number listed under your account: **********. I was unable to get through. You
are welcome to contact me at ************ ********** *** **
My name is ****** *****. I have reviewed your order, as well as the tracking information. I have
contacted my *** representative, who is contacting the driver responsible for delivering to your
area. They can send a representative to investigate the issue.
Please understand that, at this point, we must follow protocol. You ordered from us, we fulfilled the
package and shipped via *** and the 'Proof of Delivery' is our means of knowing that the package
delivered. We will do what we can to follow through on this.
I can understand that you are disappointed that the package has not delivered, but at the same time,
I am a bit unclear as to how an attorney would help. As he may advise (I was in law in another life!)
that we have fulfilled our contractual obligation to you. However, again, we are willing to do more
than that to get to the bottom of this.
I look forward to working on a resolution.
Regards,
** ***** *** ******* ********

Business Response: Hello:
The Customer Service Department escalated your issue to my desk, and I have tried repeatedly to
call you on the number listed under your account: **********. I was unable to get through. You
are welcome to contact me at ************ ********** *** **
My name is ****** *****. I have reviewed your order, as well as the tracking information. I have
contacted my *** representative, who is contacting the driver responsible for delivering to your
area. They can send a representative to investigate the issue.
Please understand that, at this point, we must follow protocol. You ordered from us, we fulfilled the
package and shipped via *** and the 'Proof of Delivery' is our means of knowing that the package
delivered. We will do what we can to follow through on this.
I can understand that you are disappointed that the package has not delivered, but at the same time,
I am a bit unclear as to how an attorney would help. As he may advise (I was in law in another life!)
that we have fulfilled our contractual obligation to you. However, again, we are willing to do more
than that to get to the bottom of this.
I look forward to working on a resolution.
Regards,
** ***** *** ******* ********

Consumer Response:

My money was returned finally.  However, I never got an apology for their implying that we were lying about the package being delivered.  In the end, they were wrong, but they never admitted it, and they began communicating with my husband instead of me with no explanation.  I will never deal with this company again, and am still awaiting an apology when it was THEIR mistake. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

******* ****



Consumer Response:

My money was returned finally.  However, I never got an apology for their implying that we were lying about the package being delivered.  In the end, they were wrong, but they never admitted it, and they began communicating with my husband instead of me with no explanation.  I will never deal with this company again, and am still awaiting an apology when it was THEIR mistake. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

******* ****



8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertises "Our plants are of the highest quality, and are healthy when they leave our greenhouses" and "We guarantee that every herb plant we ship is of the finest quality, and that your order will be carefully handled and shipped to ensure that you receive a healthy product. Let us prove to you that buying herb plants online from us is better than what you'll find in local chain stores. The problem, I ordered 4 plants from them and 1 plant was completely dead, another was almost dead and the other two (although alive) were weak and scraggly. I contacted customer service and after almost a week, was told to send pictures. I did. I was told they could not replace the plants as they could not ship just two plants and refunded the $5.95 each for the two plants. They did not refund shipping. A week later the other two plants died. Now by this time, it was past the 10 day window that they state on the instructions that come with the plants and on their website. I finally sent an e-mail to customer service about the other two plants stating how disappointed I was with the product I received and how I will not order from them again. I totally support family and small businesses but I'm not wealthy and don't have money to just throw away on inferior products and for me, spending 23.80 plus shipping and handling for plants that die is like throwing money away. I was very disappointed as the pictures they show on their website and in their catalog looks like the plants are healthy and wonderful. I have bought plants before on line before and have NEVER EVER had a problem with the plants surviving and growing.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund including the shipping I paid to have twigs shipped to me instead of healthy root hardy plants that they advertise and show on their website and in their catalog.

Business Response:

******:

 

We have researched the issue, and reviewed all of the correspondences with the customer.  We are happy to provide you with electronic attachments of the emails if you would like.  The following is a sequence of events:

 

1) 3.6.14: Order placed (#*****)

2) 3.18.14: Order shipped via*****

3) 3.20.14: Order Arrived

4) 3.26.14: Customer Contacted us re: damaged plants (within our 10 day guarantee window) and sent photos of the 2 plants in question.  We responded on the same day to offer a REFUND or STORE CREDIT as we are unable to safely ship under 4 plants, and in her email, she refers to 2 plants that were damaged.

5) 3.28.14: after indicating that she would like a refund, and indicated that she had an issue with another plant in the order.  At that point, we asked for another photo (per our policy) of the plant in question.

6) 4.4.14: We issued a REFUND for the original 2 plants in question.  We do not generally issue credit for shipping unless the entire order was lost.  

7) 6.18.14: Customer contacted us - 2 months after our request for photos, telling us that she was unhappy and would not purchase from us again.  In the emails, she states 'I have not had time to write ... '.  Unfortunately, we cannot respond to an issue unless the customer gets in touch with us first.  In rereading this email, the customer is simply complaining generally about her experience, but there was no direct request or demand made.  It is very hard to detect any call for action.

8) 8.1.14: we received the notice from your offices regarding this complaint.

 

We have tried to contact the customer directly per your (BBB's) suggestion via email and phone, but we have not gotten any response.

 

We are more than willing to resolve the issue by refunding the amount requested:  $14.95.  We are NOT in the business of upsetting customers, but it is very difficult for us to respond if we are not clear on the issue.

 

We will issue the refund immediately, and look forward to your advice as to our next steps.

 

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

The Growers Exchange


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Growers Exchange
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart