BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CarePoint Medical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for CarePoint Medical include:

  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for CarePoint Medical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 17
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 32

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received phone calls and complaints from consumers regarding advertisements from CarePoint Medical claiming Medicare will cover specific products such as the TriMod Back Support. Some consumers allege although the advertising states “Covered By Medicare and Insurance!”, their insurance providers do not cover the product, or do not cover it at 100%. Other consumers allege being solicited with letters claiming “Your physician would like you to make an appointment to approve this item.” When consumers contact their physician’s office they are informed that the letter provided to them is false.

On June 27, 2013 we met with the business to discuss the pattern of complaints and allegations. CarePoint Medical responded by stating:
        • The claims mentioned above are not part of their marketing 
        • The product being offered will be provided at little or no cost to the consumer 
        • The consumer must qualify for the product and to qualify they must be covered by Medicare or private insurance and have a doctor’s prescription for the product 
        • The doctor’s prescription request is only sent to the physician following a patient’s request for the product 
        • Callers are informed up front that cost may be incurred and CarePoint Medical will re-contact them following a verification of their benefits, and inform them of any 
           expense for which the consumer is liable 
        • Verification of insurance coverage and patient responsibility is researched prior to providing any products 

CarePoint Medical informed us that “You may be responsible for deductible and/or co-pay.” will be added to all advertising.

On August 20, 2013 the BBB received a copy of marketing material CarePoint Medical sent to a consumer. The mailer is not dated. The mailer states “if you suffer from back pain, then you may be entitled to a proven back support system approved by Medicare and private insurance, at little or no cost to you. “ At the bottom of the letter it requests that the caller have their insurance and doctor’s information available. The letter does not state “You may be responsible for deductible and/or co-pay.” The BBB is unable to determine if this mailer was printed and mailed to consumers before or after the company provided a response to the BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CarePoint Medical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2007 in VA Business incorporated: 07/26/2007 in VA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kelley McKenzie, Corp. Compliance Officer Ms. Tami Eisele, COO Dr. Dodd Levy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelley McKenzie, Corp. Compliance Officer
Related Businesses
CarePoint Direct
Business Category

Medical Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Diamedix Health Care, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 4860 Cox Rd  Ste 300

    Glen Allen, VA 23060 (804) 747-8900 (866) 596-4445 (800) 935-7270

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 935-7270(Phone)
  • (866) 596-4445(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
  • - Mobile Phone SMS
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on a fixed income. CarePoint contacted me to provide heath items. They said the cost would all be covered by ******** and my secondary insurance and no cost to me. They sent me an ED Pump on 5/30/2013 and a ****** **** ***** on 6/10/2013. On 4/17/2014 they billed me for $510.32. I found the exact items they had supplied and compared the prices I would have had to buy them at to what Carepoint charged. The ED pump can be bought for $212.85 , Carepoint got $ 344.06 from ********* **** ****** and now they want an additional 147.45 from me. The Back Brace can be bought for $238.00, the got $846.70 from ********* **** ****** and the want an additional $362.87 from me. In summary they bough products for a maximum of $450.85, they reaped $1190.76 for my insurance company, and now they are dunning me for $510.32. They want more money from me than they spent originally paid for them after promising I would never having to pay anything. These crooks should put out of business for deceptive business practices. They offered to reduce my bill by 10% as if they were doing me a fav

Desired Settlement: Quit billing me! I don't owe them anything. They have already made a huge profit and lied to me originally. If I had known they ran that kind of shell game I never would have done business with them originally - I would have bought the products personally.

Business Response: Dear ** ***,

This letter is in response to your complaint letter to the
Virginia BBB, complaints #*******, first I would like to apologize for any
inconvenience you feel you have been caused.

It is understanding that you are upset at the price of the
ED pump and ****** back brace and feel you should not be responsible for the
balance, which is your coinsurance balance through your insurance. Unless you
qualify for financial hardship, we cannot waive your coinsurance or deductible
charged. However, as *** ***** explained, we can offer you a discounted price.

I would also like to explain that the back brace and ED
pumps you find for retail on the internet are not the  same as the ones approved by *** for coverage
by insurance.

It is my goal to resolve this complaint in the best way
possible. Please feel free to contract me at *******, extension *****.

Sincerely,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continue to receive market material on health care products I do not want or need and I've called more than once and asked to be taken off the mailing list because i'm not interested nor do I want to continue receiving materials from this company.

Desired Settlement: I want to be taken off their mailing list and not contacted anymore. I am in a wheelchair and I do not need knee braces or back braces because I can not walk and never will again.

Business Response: Dear ** *****,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the
Richmond BBB, complaint ID ********. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel
you have been caused. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to patient
satisfaction and quality products, and in no way want to inconvenience you.

As requested, I have removed you from our mailing list.
Please understand that it may take up to 30 days to take full effect.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to
contact me at **********, extension *****.

Sincerely,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was supposed to have been resolved which would have included this company reimbursing my ins co for monies paid by them. I returned the back brace per instructions. I received another bill in the mail today. I owe them $0 and they owe my ins co $498.68 per their response to my last complaint. I tried calling the toll free # with no luck.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending me bills and reimburse my ins co.

Business Response: Check number ***** was cut and sent out on 7/17/2014.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
So they now have issued a refund to my insurance company after trying to send me another bill? This was only done because I complained again? This company should be reported for shoddy business practices. That is terrible!!! I returned that brace per the last complaint time frame and my insurance company was to be reimbursed at that time.

 I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ****** ******, am filing this complaint on behalf of my mother ******* ****** In May 2013 someone from Carepoint called my mother regarding issues she is having with her back. During that conversation the person asked my mother if she wanted a back brace sent to her. According to my mother, she told the person "only if I don't have to pay for it." Sometime after that telephone conversation a ****** Back Brace was delivered to my mother in******, Florida. A few weeks after that she received a bill for $383.39, her co-pay for a back brace costing more than $1200.00. I wrote a letter to Carepoint in April and explained to them my mother is nearly 90 years old and she did not understand what it was she was receiving nor did she understand there was a co-pay nor did she understand the 30 day return policy. This is why we are still dealing with this issue almost one year later. In this letter I requested a "return material authorization" from Carepoint. To date, I have not received a response from Carepoint. Carepoint continues to bill my mother for the $383.39. I will state this for the record. I believe Carepoint is involved in some sort of medicare/medicade/insurance fraud. I say this because the back brace my mother received appears to be made out of some type of paper laminate. The $876.39 billed to medicare ******* ********** is clearly outrageous.

Desired Settlement: Return the back brace to Carepoint and to stop sending bills to ****** ****

Business Response: I have attached account notes from this patient account. CarePoint did not contact her initially. However, she did have multiple attempts to retrurn her brace, but we were not able to identify the person calling with HIPAA questions. I am having customer service contact her today to set up return.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the company contacted me and told me that i was eligible for a product , a back brace, at little or no cost to me. I had laser spine surgery so I imagine that is how they found me. They told me that my insurance company covered the brace so I agreed to try it. They have been trying to collect money from me ever since. The other day I received an invoice for ****** back brace balance of $124.67 and also billed for a deductible of $100. I did not agree to this and when I called they denied telling me that I was eligible at no cost to me. I am on disability and worker's comp who just reduced my monthly payments by almost $500. I can not afford this brace and do not want to give this company any money. They have been reimbursed enough through my ins company. Retail price $1,350 esimated 2nd insurance responsibilty $270.My insurance company sent them $498.68. This in itself was a ridiculously high price for this brace. False advertising and misleading the customer should be prohibited.

Desired Settlement: I do not want any balance due to this company. They should also have to check with customer's insurance company before sending out the product and telling the customer exactly what their cost will be. I would be willing to send it back if they reimbursed my ins company as i get no value from wearing it the few times I have worn it.

Business Response: We would like to resolve this issue, if patient would stop disconnecting the phone calls, we could come to a resolution. We would be willing to accept the return. As of today, we have not received her brace back.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have not received any phone calls indentifiable to CarePoint Medical since I spoke with them last. Will my insurance company be reimbursed and will they send me a mailer to return the brace?
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me providing the above is addressed. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: A *** ticket has been created for the pick up of the brace. Once we receive the return brace, all monies paid will be refunded.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE COMPANY HAS SENT ME A LETTER CONTAINING A PHONE STATEMENT IN WHICH I ACCEPTED THEIR OFFER TO TRY THEIR PRODUCT AS PER A MAILED INVITATION CLAIMING THAT MEDICARE WOULD PAY ALL CHARGES FOR THEIR PRODUCT AFTER REVIEWING THEIR PRODUCT AS DESCRIBED WITH PHOTO,I DETERMINED THAT THEIR PRODUCT WOULD NOT BE BENEFICIAL TO MY BACK CONDITION. I CALLED THEM BACK AND TOLD THEM TO --CANCEL -- MY PERMISSION TO ORDER THEIR PRODUCT AND NOT SEND IT TO ME FOR MY TRIAL AND OR APPROVAL. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT THEY ARE TRYING TO PRESSURE ME INTO ACCEPTING THEIR PRODUCT SO THEY CAN BILL ME FOR SHIPPING AND USE OF THEIR PRODUCT AND CAUSE ME UNDUE PHYSICAL AND EMOTIONAL - STRESS - WHICH,LIKE THEIR PRODUCT, I DO NOT WANT - OR NEED -!!!

Desired Settlement: SELF EXPLANITORY NO FURTHER NOTICES FROM THEIR ORGANIZATION OR ANY CPLLECTION AGENCY I AM BOMBARDED BY OVER 600 LETTERS PER MONTH BY ORGANIZATIONS WHO DO NOT RESPECT THE DO NOT CALL OR CONTACT DIRECTIVES ESTABLISHED TO PROTECT THE DISABLED AND SENIOR CITIZENS.

Business Response: Dear ** *******,

This letter is in response to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau, case #********. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you may have been caused. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and providing quality products. It is not our intention to cause you any "undue physical and emotional stress."

As requested your order was canceled on 3/29/2014, and you have also been removed from our mailing list. Please allow 30 days for the removal to go into full effect, there may be something crossed in the mail. If you received anything, please disregard.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at *** *** ****, extension *****.

Sincerely,
****** ********
Director Compliance and Audits

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company contacted the customer regarding a back brace. She was sent a brochure and the company then contacted her Doctor to obtain a prescription for the customer. In numerous conversations with the company, the customer stated she had NO money to pay for the brace. ****** ******** paid for the brace, her secondary insurance denied the claim, leaving the customer with a balance of $195. As soon as *** delivered the brace the customer returned it. The company then sent it back to her again. They refuse to accept the brace as a return. In addition, the second delivery to the customer she missed and had to go to a *** store where she was told she was the fifth person to come in and attempt to return something to this company. In trying to communicate with the company about returning the item, they were very rude. She called ****** ******** to get some feedback and they instructed her to return the item. She returned the product again two days ago. There are several issues here, the main issue is that she continuasly told the representative in several conversations she had no money and it would have to be completely free of charge. Now she is left with a balance of $195. 

Desired Settlement: The customer would like the balance dropped and the company to accept the return of the product. After this experience, she no longer wants to deal with the company at all.

Business Response: Dear ** *******

This letter is a follow up regarding your complaint with the
BBB of Virginia #******. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. At
CarePoint Medical, we truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality
products.

I just want to assure you that we have received your
returned back brace and had started the refund to your insurance. Once the
refund is complete, your balance will be $0.00. I apologize for any
misunderstanding or miscommunication.

If you have any questions of concerns please feel free to
contact me directly at **********, extension *****.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

**** ********



The customer called the office today to say that the refund should be processed by March 11, 2014 and to call her insurance company to make sure that it went through. She is satisfied with that and for now considers this matter closed. However, the customer was very disappointed that it took called the BBB to reach out to the business to let them know that she was unhappy with the way the transaction occurred, and the business should have been more responsible in the beginning to ensure their customer were taken care of and not duped just to make the business money. If the business had been honest and upfront with their customer, they wouldn’t have to go through this hassle now of refunding something that should have had no cost anyway.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ********

The customer called our office to say that Care Point Medical lied to her as well as our office this refund has not been processed to medicare as of today.

Business Response: CarePoint sends a refund request to ******** and ******** retracts their payment from a future remittance. The refund is in ********'s hands now. The actual payment retraction could take up to 90 days. Our refund request was done on February 6, 2014.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I have made 4-5 phone calls to the company requesting the completion of an order for a breast pump that I ordered months ago. I was told to simply call back after my daughter was born and I would receive the breast pump within 3-5 businesses days. My daughter was born 5 days ago and I have still not been able to speak to anyone expect receptionists who tell me that they will pass on the information to someone who will help me. I am still waiting. My daughter is losing weight and her pediatrician recommended that I begin pumping in order to increase her number of feedings. The negligence of this company is putting my newborn at risk.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to deliver the breast pump as ordered.

Business Response: Dear ** ****,
This letter is in response to your complaint # *******, with the Virginia Better Business Bureau. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you were caused. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality products.
The delay in getting your pump was based on insurance and physician order. ***** Insurance does not allow shipping of product until delivery of your baby. Also, in order to provide you with a breast pump, your physician has to sign an order for the pump, which we did not receive until March 10, 2014. We shipped your pump that same day and the tracking number shows it arrived on March 13, 2014. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope that your complaint has not been resolved.
If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at ********, extension *******.
Sincerely,
***** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the sales rep for Carepoint medical came to the house, I told him that I would only accept the shoes if the were free. That was on 10-09-13. The shoes were delivered on 11-25 and I heard nothing from the company so I called **** in december to come and pick up the shoes. He said he would call me back, never to be heard from again. Called the company after the bill arrived on December 27th. They informed me that the 30day return was over.

Desired Settlement: To return the shoes without cost to me

Business Response: I spoke to ***** form the business. she states that her records show that the customer's **** called back on 1/17/14 and paid the balance of the shoes.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not happy with this company and paid the bill to keep our credit rating clean.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****




Business Response: Dear ** ****,
This letter is follow up regarding your complaint with the BBB of Virginia, #********. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. At CarePoint Medical, we are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality products.
It is my understanding that a pick up has been scheduled for tomorrow 2/21/2014, for your diabetic shoes. Once your shoes are returned, we will refund both your insurance and your payment made to CarePoint.
if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at **********, extension ******.
Sincerely,
***** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,

***** *****
I spoke with the customer and the refund has been received from the business.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I object to the fact that this mailing gives the appearance that It is an official notice from Medicare. I strongly think that this fact may make many elderly people with back pain respond and buy something that they don't need. Using the phrase "We have been trying to reach you", may also make people feel that this might have been prompted by information from their doctor. My other concern is the question of how they got my name and address.

Desired Settlement: Stop them from insinuating that the mail is from medicare.

Business Response: Dear ** ******:

We are in receipt of your email dated February 18, 2014 regarding a complaint you receive from one of our customers. The customer expressed concern about a mail piece she received from us in which she felt it could be interpreted as an official notice from Medicare. 

We appreciate this customers concerns and her contacting the BBB. At CarePoint Medical, we always want to be clear in our marketing and never want, or intend, to mislead the reader. In fact, prior to receiving this concern from the customer and as part of our on-going review process of all of our marketing, we made the decision to revise the language on this marketing piece, to make sure there is no misinterpretation in the future. This mail piece, with the revised language, will be in the mail shortly.

This customer also made the point that one of the phrases in the marketing piece may make people feel it might have been prompted by information from their doctor. Let me reassure you we do not contact customers unless they contact us first in response to the marketing piece they have received. Unless the customer contacts us and provides us with their doctors information, we have no way of knowing who their doctor might be. In addition we strictly comply with all HIPAA regulations which require us to keep all customer information confidential. 

A last question this customer raised was how we got her name and address? Like most marketers today, we acquire mailing lists from third party list providers. That is how we acquired this customers name and address. We are always willing to remove any customers name and address from future mailings if they will notify us by email or mail regarding this request. 

Again, we appreciate you contacting us with the customer's concern. We always want to understand any comments a customer might have regarding our marketing, our products or service. Please feel free to contact me any time should you or the customer have additional comments or concerns.

Sincerely,
****** *******
Director of Compliance and Auditing 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter in the mail to call the company about a back brace. When I talked to the sales person, he said that my insurance would pay the entire bill, so I told them to order it. He said to call my doctor so get the prescription filled and my doctor did not want me to get the brace because he said that it would make your back weak. After talking more with my doctor he said that it was okay to use only once in awhile. I received a bill for $187.10, which I was not suppose to have to pay. I called and talked to the company, they said the minute that I called and talked to them that I authorized the full payment. Also, I did not realize that the back brace was one that you could probably buy at ******* for $40 or $50. They charged the insurance company $736.44, that is crazy. I feel that they are very misleading with their phone authorizations. These people are taking advantage of the disabled and retired people on ******** by making them believe that they do not have to pay any copay.

Desired Settlement: I want my bill cancelled. I will not pay this bill.

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in repsonding, I was waiting on actual resolution. Customer service department did contact the patient and issued a pick up ticket, back brace has now been returned, and refund is bring processed to his insurance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******

the customer has concerns about how he will find out about the refund and when it has gone through.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was solicited by phone and by mail by a representative of CarePoint Medical stating that they had a back brace that would be no charge to me that would help pain in my back. They stated it would be NO CHARGE to me whatsoever! I questioned this each time I spoke with them which ended up to be several times. I had my doctor fill out forms to receive the back brace (based on surgery and prevailing continued pain) as per their conditions. I received the back brace in July and my insurance company paid them $755.52 for the brace. I contacted them in August to let them know the brace did not fit properly and a representative stated that all I need to do was adjust the ties. I also, again, asked if there was any problem in the brace being "no charge" to me ... again stating that if there is any charge I cannot afford it as I am on fixed income with ****** ********. I was AGAIN told that everything was alright and there would not be any charge to me. I never wore the brace and kept it in it's original box wrapped with the original plastic wrappings. I never received a bill or any communication from the company until 12/12/2013 when I received a bill for $192.74 (account********). I immediately called them telling them about my promises from the company. They refused to take the brace back stating I owed them the money. I sent the box back in the original packaging with a letter containing my communications with them and their promises. Never once did they state that I had to send it back in 30 days from the time I received it ... not even when, within 30 days, I contacted them stating it did not fit properly and re-iterating that I could not pay for it unless it was absolutely free or I would return it. I was misled from the beginning. Now, they have taken the product back, signed for it and received $755.52 for it and yet they want money from me. I cannot and will not pay for something I do not have. I feel this is fraud!

Desired Settlement: They should return the money to my Insurance Company and stop billing or contacting me.

Business Response: Dear ** ****
this letter is in response to your BBB complaint ******, that i received today, January 21, 2014. i assure you this in not usual practice for CarePoint. we are truly dedicated to customers satisfaction and quality of our products. i apologize for any miscommunication between you and our company. we did receive your back brace back on January 8, 2014. we are processing a refund to your insurance.
If you have any questions or concerns about this matter please feel free to contact me directly at *** *** **** ex ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****



After reading everything over and feeling this was resolved I have received another bill today! I think it is time for them to pay not only my insurance company back (as promised ) but also something for my pain and suffering to prevent me from filing a harassment lawsuit. I did ask that I not be contacted or bothered again as well as them paying back my insurance company and yet, here is another bill asking for immediate payment of $192.74. 

Make this go away! I will be contacting an attorney at this point and also asking that you file a permanent complain on my behalf against this company to prevent this from happening to another senior citizen in the future. 

****** *****

Business Response: this letter is in response to your 2nd complaint with the BBB of Virginia, i understand you are not happy with our resolution. I apologize if you feel you have been caused pain and suffering due to receiving another statement of your balance in the mail. I can assure you that the statement you received was already in process before the complaint occurred and you don not have a balance. if by chance you receive another statement, please disregard and toss in the trash.
If you have any questions or concerns about this matter please feel free to contact me directly at *** *** **** ex ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *****



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The products were sold with the assurance from the sales person that there would be no out of pocket cost, that they checked and all costs would be covered by health insurance. In fact I was billed $122 dollars. When I called to request correction I was told that the salesman should not have warranted the no cost offer. I was then offered an $86.00 settlement charge, a 30% discount. I paid that amount. I am now being billed another $36.86. Customer service will not respond to calls.

Desired Settlement: Settlement amount was paid and received. No additional payment should be requested.

Business Response: Dear ** *****,

This letter is in regard to your complaint #*******, with the BBB of Virginia. I do apologize for the misinformation by your Sales Representative. He has been given corrective action.

I also want to apologize for the statement you received. I can assure you that there is a $0.00 balance on your account, and the statement you received must have gotten crossed in the mail. 

If you have any more questions regarding your account, please feel free to contact me directly at ********** extension *****.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Director Audits and Compliance

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have parkinsons disease and walk with a walker and have a $1,000 a month income from ss. care point mailed an advertisement that said i could get a leg brace that could make me walk better at no or little cost to me and followed up with a phone call. they sent the brace and i never used it, too big and i could not put it on because of my disease. they were paid $814.98 from united healthcare and billed me $554.41. this brace can be bought for under $90 locally. i notified united healthcare of this. care point never told me what the cost would be. they said the insurance would take care of it. now they keep sending me bills for the $554.41. i told them that i would send the brace back to them and to stop bothering me but they said it was too late because it is over 30 days since i received it. the brace is still in the original package unused.

Desired Settlement: take what the insurance gave you and do not bill me for your over priced brace. i am old and can not take this anymore.if you want the brace back credit united healthcare $814.98 and i will send it back. i have no use for it.

Business Response: January 25, 2014
******** ******
*** ******* *******
******* ** *****
Dear ** *******,
This letter is in response to our complaint #******* with the BBB of Virginia. It is my understanding that a pick up for the knee brace has been scheduled. Once the return is in house, we will send a refund to our insurance and your balance with be $0. I apologize for any confusion on our end. This is not typical CarePoint practice.
If you have any questions regarding this, please feel free to contact me at *** *** ****, extension *****.
Sincerely,
****** *******
******* ** ***** *** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Someone from their company called me back in approx. June, 2013 regarding a back brace for my back. I was told that my insurance co would pay for it, so I approved one. I received it in July 2013. I then, receive a bill from their company this month (December 2013) for almost half of what the brace cost, because my insurance only covered part of it. Apparently it was written in some small print somewhere when I received it, that I would have to pay whatever my insurance does not. This was not told to me, when they originally called. They made it sound like it would be paid for in full. I then told them that I have not used it and would return it to them. I was told that it was past the 30 days that I had to return, and that they would just send it back to me. I received this item in July 2013, but did not receive a bill until December 2013. Way past the 30 days I would have been able to return it. I think this was very deceitful on their part. I believe people should be warned about this Company and what I consider to be a scam. Because when they call you, they make it sound like the item will be paid for in full. Then you don't receive a bill until it is to late to return it. Unless you want your credit messed up, you have no choice but to pay it. I will spread word in every way possible warning people to hang up on them if they ever call them! Thank you, **** ******************

Desired Settlement: I don't believe I should have to pay for it, or I should be able to return it.

Business Response: January 9, 2014

 
**** **** ********* * ********
** ******** ****

******* ** *****

Re: BBB complaint # *******

 

Dear *** ********* * ********,

This letter is in response to your complaint filed with the
BBB of Virginia, complaint number *******. First, I would like to apologize for
any inconvenience you feel you have been caused. In order to accurately respond
to your complaint, I will need to correct some mistakes in your complaint. We
received a call from you on May 8, 2013 requesting a ****** back brace. After
speaking with you and getting your permission, the Customer service
representative ran your insurance for eligibility and found this was a covered
item, however, you had a deductible and coinsurance. Your $400.00 deductible
was met, but you were responsible for a 40% coinsurance which is $381.57
balance you were recently billed for. You received the back brace on July 2,
2013, and we were paid $572.36 in September.

In the package you received from us, the return policy
states that an item must be returned within 30 days for a refund. Your letter
to the BBB states that you do have not used it. If the package is unopened, I
would be more than happy to allow you to return the back brace. Once returned,
we can refund your insurance, and your balance will be $0. At Carepoint, we are
truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality products and want to be
able to help you with your healthcare needs. If you truly don’t use the back
brace and have not used the back brace and would like to return it, please
contact me at ************, extension *****.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ********

******** ** ****** *** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I (*** ****** ** *****) received an adversitment from CarePoint Medical about ordering Diabetic Shoes using my ******** and other medical insurance. I called the company and provided all requested required information. I was told I would be contacted by *** ***** **** to set up an appointment for a fitting. After two weeks of not hearing from *** **** I called CarePoint back. The representative assured me *** **** would be contacting me. After two more weeks and numerou e-mails i have still not heard from Care Pointi concerning my request.

Desired Settlement: Ingormation for BBB use. I wouls also appreciate CarePoint calling me to explaing why they failed to return my calls or respond to my e-mails

Business Response: We were never able to get a signed Physician's order for this patients shoes. We had our Sales Rep call ** ***** to explain. ** ***** has now canceled his order.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father (***** ******* who is ** years old) phoned CarePoint to order an erectile dysfunction product after viewing an advertisement that said it would be free to the recipient and that ******** would pay for the product. However, when the product came in the mail and my father opened the box to see what it was, he realized that he did not want the product and has no use for it. He returned the erectile dysfunction product to CarePoint with a note saying "I did not know what this item was so am returning it to you. I opened and closed the container to return it. Don't charge me for it. ***** *******" CarePoint refused to accept the returned item and sent it back to my father, ***** *******. My father is distressed that CarePoint refuses to accept the returned product and does not know what to do. He asked that I help him and so I am contacting you on behalf of my elderly father who is being preyed on by this company. Order # ****** Date: 11/07/2013 Item # ********* ED pump battery Kit encore Retail price $530.00 Estimated 2nd Insurance Responsibility $106.00

Desired Settlement: Accept a cancellation of the order and accept a return of the item (#********* ED pump battery kit encore)

Business Response:

Contacted patient and set up the pick up for this product. Insurance did not pay for the product so there is no refund due.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello: My name is ****** *********. This is my complaint to Care Point. Carepoint will not work with you and your problem. People with ED Dysfunction want to believe that they have something that will work for them. There are a unknow number of people with ED Dysfunction. Carpoint will build you up for a big let down. You can call Care Point to let them know that this product can not work because the parts are to small. And to hard to fit the body. Care Point will tell you that you open the box and we can not take a return. Because you did open the box. How can you try something out if you dont take it out of the box. This is a statement from my doctor. Giveing his viewpoint. *** **** *** ******** *** *** **** ********** ***** ************* *** ********* ******* ** ****** ******** ********

Desired Settlement: The five hundred dollars: that was bill to ****** to return back to the ****** account. I am not asking for the money there will be another important time. The money would do some good. Next time. Don't let these people get away with this. Thank you.

Business Response: Dear *** *********,

This letter is in regards to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you were caused. Unfortunately, Carepoint’s refunded policy is set due to the hygienic nature of the product. Once the deal has been broken, we are not able to do a return or a refund. A copy of the refund policy was sent to you with your product, and is also ******** ** **** ****** ** *** ******.
We would like to help you out with this and have a couple of different options. We can have someone guide you through the use of the product and we can also send you different size rings to make the product a better fit for you. If you would like to pursue one of these options, please contact out customer service department at ************, and ask for customer service.
If you have any more questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at ************, extension *****.

Sincerely,
****** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *********



The customer did receive an additional ring after finding the original one was to small. The original ring caused excessive pain and the customer was unable to use the products as it is intended to be used. However, the new ring he was sent is the same size as the first ring. Thinking it may be different the customer did try and use the ring but it caused so much pain he almost had to cut it off with a knife. He was able to grease the area enough to successfully remove the ring before having any lasting damage take place. With the product that he was given he is unable to perform in a way he should be able to, if it worked properly. However, it does not and causes pain and embarrassment to have to reach out to someone else to try and have this problem fixed.

Business Response: Spoke to ****** ******** over the phone. At this stage the business is willing to offer larger size rings as well as a larger size cylinder, to try and resolve this concern.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2013 Delivery Issues
5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a ****** **** in Style Advanced breast pump earlier this year. Due to the ease of working with CarePoint Medical, I referred numerous expectant mothers to your company. However, little did i know how incompetent this company is. CarePoint Medical's sales staff sent me the incorrect product. Once I contacted your company numerous times to advise of this I was told you would send me the correct one - once i made arrangements to send you the incorrect one back and I would not receive the correct pump until you received and scanned the product CarePoint Medical incorrectly sent.I had to provide my own shipping box and you arrangement for UPS to pick up the incorrect pump. Today, I received the "correct" pump and by that I mean you sent me the same exact pump I initially received. So this is wrong again. They were paid by my insurance company and apparently you did not have ANY issues accepting money. They just have issues now giving me what my insurance paid for. In my mind that is theft. I will be sure to refer this issue to my insurance to let them know CarePoint Medical are charging and accepting payment for pumps that you are not providing. So what I want done, which is only asking for something you have already been paid for. I want the correct (I repeat CORRECT) pump sent to me with one day shipping at CarePoint Medical's expense. Then once I receive my correct pump will I send the incorrect one back. I wanted to verbally express my complete disappointment in this lackluster performance by this company.

Desired Settlement: So what I want done, which is only asking for something you have already been paid for. I want the correct (I repeat CORRECT) which is the ****** **** in Style Advance pump sent to me with one day shipping at CarePoint Medical's expense. Then once I receive my correct pump will I send the incorrect one back.

Business Response: This complaint has been resolved. ******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps soliciting our patients (most elderly people), and they send our office a note saying the patient is requesting a **** **** ******** for their back pain. They ask us to sign for it and fill out their form so that they can bill Medicare on behalf of the patient.They send our patient a letter stating "Your physician would like you to make and appointment to approve this item". When we inquire with our patients, if they had requested this item, they state they did not request this item.Some of these patients are up in years and get talked into getting this item when it is not needed.

Desired Settlement: We see too much of a pattern here, and wonder if this is some kind of Medicare Fraud, or tricking our patients into getting an item, only to be billed a huge amount later.These sales practices are very questionable to us.

Business Response:

We have sent the Dr a letter apologizing and explaining. Attached

Dear *******



I received your letter of complaint to the BBB. At CarePoint,
we are truly dedicated to patient satisfaction and quality products.



CarePoint is ACHC accredited, is Medicare compliant and a
longstanding Medicare participating provider. CarePoint has supplied hundreds
of thousands of products to tens of thousands of customers around the country.
We also work along with thousands of doctors assisting them and their patients
with product education and prescription fulfillment. I apologize if you feel we
are soliciting your patients. That is not our intention, or how we do business.



If there is any way I can make your experience with CarePoint
a better one, please feel free to contact me directly at ************.



Sincerely,



***********




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have just ordered an orthopedic back brace from this company today. The intake agent suggested that I go online to the company's website to read ALL about my new brace. When I did there was exactly one very small picture of the back and a short paragragh telling me nothing I wanted to know. I called back and another agent told me to go to ******* to see a video about my brace. Not so. When I got there no mention was made either in writing or spoken concerning MY brace. It spoke only generically about "backbrace". No mention was made as to how the thing is put on, how it's worn, what the extra "panels" do and how they do it. The name of this product is ******, and there are several types of backbraces this company sells. ****** is very particular in its design and wearability. Yet nothing is said to help me. I then called Customer Service and begged the woman to help me. She told me what to do: "go to www.trimodbb.com". I did that and found an entire page advertising various payday loans and such. Nothing about my backbrace. While I had her on the phone she could be heard clicking on the computer. Then the line went dead and that was that. I am left with a product ordered which sounded so great since it is eligible through Medicare, but which I know nothing about. I'm now left with a product that I have no idea whether it will be good for me, or comfortable, or easy to put on and take off. I'm about ready to call and cancel that order as well as two others for braces in other parts of my body. I'm not sure I can trust these people.

Desired Settlement: Strongly advise that company that they need to stop pulling people by the nose around the proverbial bush. This must stop. They should be forced by law to change their advertising habits. They need to be up front and truthful with their customers(patients as they call us). Then darn it, treat us like we are!

Business Response: Dear **********

I received your letter of complaint to the BBB. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to patient satisfaction and quality products.

I have reviewed your account and see that you have cancelled your product orders with our company. I apologize if you feel your service was unsatisfactory. I would like to help make your experience with CarePoint a better one.

Please feel free to contact me directly at **************** if there is anything I can do for you in the future.

Sincerely,

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carepoint Medical preys on the older population. They sold my mother a device for her back. She has dementia and has no idea what she was ordering. Carepoint charged $1350.00 and was paid $978.99 by her primary insurance company. My mother is pretty much bed-bound. She weighs less than 100 pounds. There was NO way she could use their product. The LSO sag-coronal panel was returned to Carepoint Medical on 3/13/13. The cost of returning the product was $31.65 via UPS of which they refused to refund. This company needs to stop preying on older people who live on fixed incomes. It has been almost a month and the money has not been refunded to the insurance company.

Desired Settlement: Refund of UPS Shipping Charges in the amount of of $31.65 to the patient. Immediate refund of $978.99 to ********* ********** for the returned product.

Business Response:

Emailed customer to get mother's name so we can start refund process.

Email:
Dear Ms. ******,

I received the complaint you filed with BBB. I am trying to resolve the complaint but I don't know your mother's name in order to start refund process. Please get back with me ASAP and I will take care of your request.

 
Thanks,
****** ********
Revenue Compliance Auditor

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues