This business is not BBB accredited.

CarePoint Medical

Phone: (804) 747-8900 Fax: (804) 747-8910 View Additional Phone Numbers 4860 Cox Rd  Ste 300, Glen Allen, VA 23060 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.carepointmedical.com ! There is an alert on CarePoint Medical !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 25

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received phone calls and complaints from consumers regarding advertisements from CarePoint Medical claiming Medicare will cover specific products such as the TriMod Back Support. Some consumers allege although the advertising states “Covered By Medicare and Insurance!”, their insurance providers do not cover the product, or do not cover it at 100%. Other consumers allege being solicited with letters claiming “Your physician would like you to make an appointment to approve this item.” When consumers contact their physician’s office they are informed that the letter provided to them is false.

On June 27, 2013 we met with the business to discuss the pattern of complaints and allegations. CarePoint Medical responded by stating:
        • The claims mentioned above are not part of their marketing 
        • The product being offered will be provided at little or no cost to the consumer 
        • The consumer must qualify for the product and to qualify they must be covered by Medicare or private insurance and have a doctor’s prescription for the product 
        • The doctor’s prescription request is only sent to the physician following a patient’s request for the product 
        • Callers are informed up front that cost may be incurred and CarePoint Medical will re-contact them following a verification of their benefits, and inform them of any 
           expense for which the consumer is liable 
        • Verification of insurance coverage and patient responsibility is researched prior to providing any products 

CarePoint Medical informed us that “You may be responsible for deductible and/or co-pay.” will be added to all advertising.

On August 20, 2013 the BBB received a copy of marketing material CarePoint Medical sent to a consumer. The mailer is not dated. The mailer states “if you suffer from back pain, then you may be entitled to a proven back support system approved by Medicare and private insurance, at little or no cost to you. “ At the bottom of the letter it requests that the caller have their insurance and doctor’s information available. The letter does not state “You may be responsible for deductible and/or co-pay.” The BBB is unable to determine if this mailer was printed and mailed to consumers before or after the company provided a response to the BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CarePoint Medical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2007 in VA Business incorporated 07/26/2007 in VA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kelley McKenzie, Corp. Compliance Officer Ms. Tami Eisele, COO Dr. Dodd Levy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelley McKenzie, Corp. Compliance Officer
Related Businesses
CarePoint Direct
Business Category

Medical Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Diamedix Health Care, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4860 Cox Rd
    Ste 300

    Glen Allen, VA 23060 (804) 747-8900 (866) 596-4445 (800) 935-7270

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted via **** **** by Carepoint Medical about a device that when worn would alleviate most if not all back pain. Having suffered for years with this malady, I read through the information Carepoint provided and opted to send for this device. It was my understanding that upon submitting all pertinent, perfonal information regarding primary care physician name, address and telephone number and my health insurance information that the company would do the legwork and see if they could get me approved for this device through my insurance provider with little or no cost to me. This was approximately 3 months ago. Since this time I have received 2 emails dated 9/5/14, the first indicating a customer account had been created for myself along with the username and password for that link to "my" account. I have emailed the company to inquire the status of my order and when I received no response to that - called them directly. The representative acted surprised, I could hear shuffling papers and she asked me for the exact same information I had entered on the website and that she needed to "record my verbal authorization" to contact my medical professional(s) and insurance provider to which I responded. yes. Since that time, I have received nothing but a letter dated 10/6/2014 stating that CarePoint Medical had submitted a claim to my insurance provider . It is stated in the second paragraph of the letter "THIS LETTER IS ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL RECORDS AND YOU DO NOT NEED TO DO ANYTHING, OR CALL CAREPOINT MEDICAL, unless you have a question regarding your product that you wish us to answer. Thank you very much for allowing us to assist you in improving your health." Needless to say - I am quite suspicious since I have neither heard from CarePoint, my doctor or my insurance company asking for or providing any information about this so called "device" and I am concerned that I have given cart blanche to these folks with my personal health information to do as they wish. I need to know what the status is and to please ask them not to send the product and return any monies paid by my insurance company for something I neither want now nor have received.

Desired Settlement: For CarePoint to cease working on this matter on my behalf - if indeed they ever have been, and to send me a letter so that I have confirmation in writing that this matter is settled and done and that I will be taken off the sales list and no "device" will be sent to my home or otherwise. I am not interested.

Business Response: This letter is in response to your complaint with the BBB of Virginia, complaint ID********.  First, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you feel you were caused.  At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to the satisfication of our customers and always providing quality products.  

At your request, you have now been removed from our mailing list and your order has been canceled.  

We would like to help you with any product needs you may have.  If you would like, call our customer service department at ************.  

Otherwise, if you have any concerns or questions regarding your complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at ************, extension*****.

Sincerely, 
****** *******
Director Compliance and Auditing

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

******* *******



10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome I read the literature about ********* which included a guarantee that it would do all it promised or I would get all my money back. I ordered the "best deal" for $199.75. It came. I tried it. It didn't work; in fact, it did just the opposite. I returned the product via ***. I allowed a few weeks for them to process my refund. After almost a month went by, I called them. A young lady told me that their receiving department had no record of the return. I didn't have the tracking number handy so I had to call back the next day. A young man spoke with me and when I gave him the tracking number, the receiving department magically found the returned product. I was told that my refund would take 7 to 10 business days to process. I waited. Two weeks went by. I called again. The young man checked and said that I'd get my refund in 7 to 10 business days. I waited. Two more weeks went by. I called again and was told again that I would get my refund. I told them I was tired of waiting and I would contact the BBB and complain if I didn't get the refund that was "guaranteed". Tomorrow will be two weeks since I spoke with them and, no, I do not have my refund; and, yes, I check my bank account daily.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund. Asking for an apology for the long delay and run-around seems a bit much to ask, but after being told that they never received the return only to magically find it once I produced the tracking code (thanks to ***) strikes me a somewhat more than deceitful.

Business Response: Dear ** ********,

We appreciate your initial purchase of ******** and we are sorry you were unable to see a reduction in you Chronic Fatigue Syndrome symptoms by using this product. We also want to apologize for not providing a refund for this product earlier.

Please accept our apologies regarding this matter and the enclosed refund amount of $209.70. We hope this resolves any concerns, but do not hesitate to contact us if you have further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
***** ******** 

9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on a fixed income. CarePoint contacted me to provide heath items. They said the cost would all be covered by ******** and my secondary insurance and no cost to me. They sent me an ED Pump on 5/30/2013 and a ****** **** ***** on 6/10/2013. On 4/17/2014 they billed me for $510.32. I found the exact items they had supplied and compared the prices I would have had to buy them at to what Carepoint charged. The ED pump can be bought for $212.85 , Carepoint got $ 344.06 from ********* **** ****** and now they want an additional 147.45 from me. The Back Brace can be bought for $238.00, the got $846.70 from ********* **** ****** and the want an additional $362.87 from me. In summary they bough products for a maximum of $450.85, they reaped $1190.76 for my insurance company, and now they are dunning me for $510.32. They want more money from me than they spent originally paid for them after promising I would never having to pay anything. These crooks should put out of business for deceptive business practices. They offered to reduce my bill by 10% as if they were doing me a fav

Desired Settlement: Quit billing me! I don't owe them anything. They have already made a huge profit and lied to me originally. If I had known they ran that kind of shell game I never would have done business with them originally - I would have bought the products personally.

Business Response: Dear ** ***,

This letter is in response to your complaint letter to the
Virginia BBB, complaints #*******, first I would like to apologize for any
inconvenience you feel you have been caused.

It is understanding that you are upset at the price of the
ED pump and ****** back brace and feel you should not be responsible for the
balance, which is your coinsurance balance through your insurance. Unless you
qualify for financial hardship, we cannot waive your coinsurance or deductible
charged. However, as *** ***** explained, we can offer you a discounted price.

I would also like to explain that the back brace and ED
pumps you find for retail on the internet are not the  same as the ones approved by *** for coverage
by insurance.

It is my goal to resolve this complaint in the best way
possible. Please feel free to contract me at *******, extension *****.

Sincerely,

****** *****

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continue to receive market material on health care products I do not want or need and I've called more than once and asked to be taken off the mailing list because i'm not interested nor do I want to continue receiving materials from this company.

Desired Settlement: I want to be taken off their mailing list and not contacted anymore. I am in a wheelchair and I do not need knee braces or back braces because I can not walk and never will again.

Business Response: Dear ** *****,

This letter is in response to your complaint with the
Richmond BBB, complaint ID ********. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel
you have been caused. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to patient
satisfaction and quality products, and in no way want to inconvenience you.

As requested, I have removed you from our mailing list.
Please understand that it may take up to 30 days to take full effect.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to
contact me at **********, extension *****.

Sincerely,

***** ******

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was supposed to have been resolved which would have included this company reimbursing my ins co for monies paid by them. I returned the back brace per instructions. I received another bill in the mail today. I owe them $0 and they owe my ins co $498.68 per their response to my last complaint. I tried calling the toll free # with no luck.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending me bills and reimburse my ins co.

Business Response: Check number ***** was cut and sent out on 7/17/2014.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
So they now have issued a refund to my insurance company after trying to send me another bill? This was only done because I complained again? This company should be reported for shoddy business practices. That is terrible!!! I returned that brace per the last complaint time frame and my insurance company was to be reimbursed at that time.

 I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *******

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ****** ******, am filing this complaint on behalf of my mother ******* ****** In May 2013 someone from Carepoint called my mother regarding issues she is having with her back. During that conversation the person asked my mother if she wanted a back brace sent to her. According to my mother, she told the person "only if I don't have to pay for it." Sometime after that telephone conversation a ****** Back Brace was delivered to my mother in******, Florida. A few weeks after that she received a bill for $383.39, her co-pay for a back brace costing more than $1200.00. I wrote a letter to Carepoint in April and explained to them my mother is nearly 90 years old and she did not understand what it was she was receiving nor did she understand there was a co-pay nor did she understand the 30 day return policy. This is why we are still dealing with this issue almost one year later. In this letter I requested a "return material authorization" from Carepoint. To date, I have not received a response from Carepoint. Carepoint continues to bill my mother for the $383.39. I will state this for the record. I believe Carepoint is involved in some sort of medicare/medicade/insurance fraud. I say this because the back brace my mother received appears to be made out of some type of paper laminate. The $876.39 billed to medicare ******* ********** is clearly outrageous.

Desired Settlement: Return the back brace to Carepoint and to stop sending bills to ****** ****

Business Response: I have attached account notes from this patient account. CarePoint did not contact her initially. However, she did have multiple attempts to retrurn her brace, but we were not able to identify the person calling with HIPAA questions. I am having customer service contact her today to set up return.

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the company contacted me and told me that i was eligible for a product , a back brace, at little or no cost to me. I had laser spine surgery so I imagine that is how they found me. They told me that my insurance company covered the brace so I agreed to try it. They have been trying to collect money from me ever since. The other day I received an invoice for ****** back brace balance of $124.67 and also billed for a deductible of $100. I did not agree to this and when I called they denied telling me that I was eligible at no cost to me. I am on disability and worker's comp who just reduced my monthly payments by almost $500. I can not afford this brace and do not want to give this company any money. They have been reimbursed enough through my ins company. Retail price $1,350 esimated 2nd insurance responsibilty $270.My insurance company sent them $498.68. This in itself was a ridiculously high price for this brace. False advertising and misleading the customer should be prohibited.

Desired Settlement: I do not want any balance due to this company. They should also have to check with customer's insurance company before sending out the product and telling the customer exactly what their cost will be. I would be willing to send it back if they reimbursed my ins company as i get no value from wearing it the few times I have worn it.

Business Response: We would like to resolve this issue, if patient would stop disconnecting the phone calls, we could come to a resolution. We would be willing to accept the return. As of today, we have not received her brace back.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have not received any phone calls indentifiable to CarePoint Medical since I spoke with them last. Will my insurance company be reimbursed and will they send me a mailer to return the brace?
I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me providing the above is addressed. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: A *** ticket has been created for the pick up of the brace. Once we receive the return brace, all monies paid will be refunded.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE COMPANY HAS SENT ME A LETTER CONTAINING A PHONE STATEMENT IN WHICH I ACCEPTED THEIR OFFER TO TRY THEIR PRODUCT AS PER A MAILED INVITATION CLAIMING THAT MEDICARE WOULD PAY ALL CHARGES FOR THEIR PRODUCT AFTER REVIEWING THEIR PRODUCT AS DESCRIBED WITH PHOTO,I DETERMINED THAT THEIR PRODUCT WOULD NOT BE BENEFICIAL TO MY BACK CONDITION. I CALLED THEM BACK AND TOLD THEM TO --CANCEL -- MY PERMISSION TO ORDER THEIR PRODUCT AND NOT SEND IT TO ME FOR MY TRIAL AND OR APPROVAL. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT THEY ARE TRYING TO PRESSURE ME INTO ACCEPTING THEIR PRODUCT SO THEY CAN BILL ME FOR SHIPPING AND USE OF THEIR PRODUCT AND CAUSE ME UNDUE PHYSICAL AND EMOTIONAL - STRESS - WHICH,LIKE THEIR PRODUCT, I DO NOT WANT - OR NEED -!!!

Desired Settlement: SELF EXPLANITORY NO FURTHER NOTICES FROM THEIR ORGANIZATION OR ANY CPLLECTION AGENCY I AM BOMBARDED BY OVER 600 LETTERS PER MONTH BY ORGANIZATIONS WHO DO NOT RESPECT THE DO NOT CALL OR CONTACT DIRECTIVES ESTABLISHED TO PROTECT THE DISABLED AND SENIOR CITIZENS.

Business Response: Dear ** *******,

This letter is in response to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau, case #********. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you may have been caused. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and providing quality products. It is not our intention to cause you any "undue physical and emotional stress."

As requested your order was canceled on 3/29/2014, and you have also been removed from our mailing list. Please allow 30 days for the removal to go into full effect, there may be something crossed in the mail. If you received anything, please disregard.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at *** *** ****, extension *****.

Sincerely,
****** ********
Director Compliance and Audits

4/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company contacted the customer regarding a back brace. She was sent a brochure and the company then contacted her Doctor to obtain a prescription for the customer. In numerous conversations with the company, the customer stated she had NO money to pay for the brace. ****** ******** paid for the brace, her secondary insurance denied the claim, leaving the customer with a balance of $195. As soon as *** delivered the brace the customer returned it. The company then sent it back to her again. They refuse to accept the brace as a return. In addition, the second delivery to the customer she missed and had to go to a *** store where she was told she was the fifth person to come in and attempt to return something to this company. In trying to communicate with the company about returning the item, they were very rude. She called ****** ******** to get some feedback and they instructed her to return the item. She returned the product again two days ago. There are several issues here, the main issue is that she continuasly told the representative in several conversations she had no money and it would have to be completely free of charge. Now she is left with a balance of $195. 

Desired Settlement: The customer would like the balance dropped and the company to accept the return of the product. After this experience, she no longer wants to deal with the company at all.

Business Response: Dear ** *******

This letter is a follow up regarding your complaint with the
BBB of Virginia #******. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. At
CarePoint Medical, we truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality
products.

I just want to assure you that we have received your
returned back brace and had started the refund to your insurance. Once the
refund is complete, your balance will be $0.00. I apologize for any
misunderstanding or miscommunication.

If you have any questions of concerns please feel free to
contact me directly at **********, extension *****.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

**** ********



The customer called the office today to say that the refund should be processed by March 11, 2014 and to call her insurance company to make sure that it went through. She is satisfied with that and for now considers this matter closed. However, the customer was very disappointed that it took called the BBB to reach out to the business to let them know that she was unhappy with the way the transaction occurred, and the business should have been more responsible in the beginning to ensure their customer were taken care of and not duped just to make the business money. If the business had been honest and upfront with their customer, they wouldn’t have to go through this hassle now of refunding something that should have had no cost anyway.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ********

The customer called our office to say that Care Point Medical lied to her as well as our office this refund has not been processed to medicare as of today.

Business Response: CarePoint sends a refund request to ******** and ******** retracts their payment from a future remittance. The refund is in ********'s hands now. The actual payment retraction could take up to 90 days. Our refund request was done on February 6, 2014.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I have made 4-5 phone calls to the company requesting the completion of an order for a breast pump that I ordered months ago. I was told to simply call back after my daughter was born and I would receive the breast pump within 3-5 businesses days. My daughter was born 5 days ago and I have still not been able to speak to anyone expect receptionists who tell me that they will pass on the information to someone who will help me. I am still waiting. My daughter is losing weight and her pediatrician recommended that I begin pumping in order to increase her number of feedings. The negligence of this company is putting my newborn at risk.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to deliver the breast pump as ordered.

Business Response: Dear ** ****,
This letter is in response to your complaint # *******, with the Virginia Better Business Bureau. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you were caused. At CarePoint, we are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality products.
The delay in getting your pump was based on insurance and physician order. ***** Insurance does not allow shipping of product until delivery of your baby. Also, in order to provide you with a breast pump, your physician has to sign an order for the pump, which we did not receive until March 10, 2014. We shipped your pump that same day and the tracking number shows it arrived on March 13, 2014. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope that your complaint has not been resolved.
If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at ********, extension *******.
Sincerely,
***** **********

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the sales rep for Carepoint medical came to the house, I told him that I would only accept the shoes if the were free. That was on 10-09-13. The shoes were delivered on 11-25 and I heard nothing from the company so I called **** in december to come and pick up the shoes. He said he would call me back, never to be heard from again. Called the company after the bill arrived on December 27th. They informed me that the 30day return was over.

Desired Settlement: To return the shoes without cost to me

Business Response: I spoke to ***** form the business. she states that her records show that the customer's **** called back on 1/17/14 and paid the balance of the shoes.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not happy with this company and paid the bill to keep our credit rating clean.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****




Business Response: Dear ** ****,
This letter is follow up regarding your complaint with the BBB of Virginia, #********. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. At CarePoint Medical, we are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality products.
It is my understanding that a pick up has been scheduled for tomorrow 2/21/2014, for your diabetic shoes. Once your shoes are returned, we will refund both your insurance and your payment made to CarePoint.
if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at **********, extension ******.
Sincerely,
***** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,

***** *****
I spoke with the customer and the refund has been received from the business.

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I object to the fact that this mailing gives the appearance that It is an official notice from Medicare. I strongly think that this fact may make many elderly people with back pain respond and buy something that they don't need. Using the phrase "We have been trying to reach you", may also make people feel that this might have been prompted by information from their doctor. My other concern is the question of how they got my name and address.

Desired Settlement: Stop them from insinuating that the mail is from medicare.

Business Response: Dear ** ******:

We are in receipt of your email dated February 18, 2014 regarding a complaint you receive from one of our customers. The customer expressed concern about a mail piece she received from us in which she felt it could be interpreted as an official notice from Medicare. 

We appreciate this customers concerns and her contacting the BBB. At CarePoint Medical, we always want to be clear in our marketing and never want, or intend, to mislead the reader. In fact, prior to receiving this concern from the customer and as part of our on-going review process of all of our marketing, we made the decision to revise the language on this marketing piece, to make sure there is no misinterpretation in the future. This mail piece, with the revised language, will be in the mail shortly.

This customer also made the point that one of the phrases in the marketing piece may make people feel it might have been prompted by information from their doctor. Let me reassure you we do not contact customers unless they contact us first in response to the marketing piece they have received. Unless the customer contacts us and provides us with their doctors information, we have no way of knowing who their doctor might be. In addition we strictly comply with all HIPAA regulations which require us to keep all customer information confidential. 

A last question this customer raised was how we got her name and address? Like most marketers today, we acquire mailing lists from third party list providers. That is how we acquired this customers name and address. We are always willing to remove any customers name and address from future mailings if they will notify us by email or mail regarding this request. 

Again, we appreciate you contacting us with the customer's concern. We always want to understand any comments a customer might have regarding our marketing, our products or service. Please feel free to contact me any time should you or the customer have additional comments or concerns.

Sincerely,
****** *******
Director of Compliance and Auditing 

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter in the mail to call the company about a back brace. When I talked to the sales person, he said that my insurance would pay the entire bill, so I told them to order it. He said to call my doctor so get the prescription filled and my doctor did not want me to get the brace because he said that it would make your back weak. After talking more with my doctor he said that it was okay to use only once in awhile. I received a bill for $187.10, which I was not suppose to have to pay. I called and talked to the company, they said the minute that I called and talked to them that I authorized the full payment. Also, I did not realize that the back brace was one that you could probably buy at ******* for $40 or $50. They charged the insurance company $736.44, that is crazy. I feel that they are very misleading with their phone authorizations. These people are taking advantage of the disabled and retired people on ******** by making them believe that they do not have to pay any copay.

Desired Settlement: I want my bill cancelled. I will not pay this bill.

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in repsonding, I was waiting on actual resolution. Customer service department did contact the patient and issued a pick up ticket, back brace has now been returned, and refund is bring processed to his insurance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******

the customer has concerns about how he will find out about the refund and when it has gone through.

2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was solicited by phone and by mail by a representative of CarePoint Medical stating that they had a back brace that would be no charge to me that would help pain in my back. They stated it would be NO CHARGE to me whatsoever! I questioned this each time I spoke with them which ended up to be several times. I had my doctor fill out forms to receive the back brace (based on surgery and prevailing continued pain) as per their conditions. I received the back brace in July and my insurance company paid them $755.52 for the brace. I contacted them in August to let them know the brace did not fit properly and a representative stated that all I need to do was adjust the ties. I also, again, asked if there was any problem in the brace being "no charge" to me ... again stating that if there is any charge I cannot afford it as I am on fixed income with ****** ********. I was AGAIN told that everything was alright and there would not be any charge to me. I never wore the brace and kept it in it's original box wrapped with the original plastic wrappings. I never received a bill or any communication from the company until 12/12/2013 when I received a bill for $192.74 (account********). I immediately called them telling them about my promises from the company. They refused to take the brace back stating I owed them the money. I sent the box back in the original packaging with a letter containing my communications with them and their promises. Never once did they state that I had to send it back in 30 days from the time I received it ... not even when, within 30 days, I contacted them stating it did not fit properly and re-iterating that I could not pay for it unless it was absolutely free or I would return it. I was misled from the beginning. Now, they have taken the product back, signed for it and received $755.52 for it and yet they want money from me. I cannot and will not pay for something I do not have. I feel this is fraud!

Desired Settlement: They should return the money to my Insurance Company and stop billing or contacting me.

Business Response: Dear ** ****
this letter is in response to your BBB complaint ******, that i received today, January 21, 2014. i assure you this in not usual practice for CarePoint. we are truly dedicated to customers satisfaction and quality of our products. i apologize for any miscommunication between you and our company. we did receive your back brace back on January 8, 2014. we are processing a refund to your insurance.
If you have any questions or concerns about this matter please feel free to contact me directly at *** *** **** ex ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****



After reading everything over and feeling this was resolved I have received another bill today! I think it is time for them to pay not only my insurance company back (as promised ) but also something for my pain and suffering to prevent me from filing a harassment lawsuit. I did ask that I not be contacted or bothered again as well as them paying back my insurance company and yet, here is another bill asking for immediate payment of $192.74. 

Make this go away! I will be contacting an attorney at this point and also asking that you file a permanent complain on my behalf against this company to prevent this from happening to another senior citizen in the future. 

****** *****

Business Response: this letter is in response to your 2nd complaint with the BBB of Virginia, i understand you are not happy with our resolution. I apologize if you feel you have been caused pain and suffering due to receiving another statement of your balance in the mail. I can assure you that the statement you received was already in process before the complaint occurred and you don not have a balance. if by chance you receive another statement, please disregard and toss in the trash.
If you have any questions or concerns about this matter please feel free to contact me directly at *** *** **** ex ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *****



2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The products were sold with the assurance from the sales person that there would be no out of pocket cost, that they checked and all costs would be covered by health insurance. In fact I was billed $122 dollars. When I called to request correction I was told that the salesman should not have warranted the no cost offer. I was then offered an $86.00 settlement charge, a 30% discount. I paid that amount. I am now being billed another $36.86. Customer service will not respond to calls.

Desired Settlement: Settlement amount was paid and received. No additional payment should be requested.

Business Response: Dear ** *****,

This letter is in regard to your complaint #*******, with the BBB of Virginia. I do apologize for the misinformation by your Sales Representative. He has been given corrective action.

I also want to apologize for the statement you received. I can assure you that there is a $0.00 balance on your account, and the statement you received must have gotten crossed in the mail. 

If you have any more questions regarding your account, please feel free to contact me directly at ********** extension *****.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Director Audits and Compliance

2/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have parkinsons disease and walk with a walker and have a $1,000 a month income from ss. care point mailed an advertisement that said i could get a leg brace that could make me walk better at no or little cost to me and followed up with a phone call. they sent the brace and i never used it, too big and i could not put it on because of my disease. they were paid $814.98 from united healthcare and billed me $554.41. this brace can be bought for under $90 locally. i notified united healthcare of this. care point never told me what the cost would be. they said the insurance would take care of it. now they keep sending me bills for the $554.41. i told them that i would send the brace back to them and to stop bothering me but they said it was too late because it is over 30 days since i received it. the brace is still in the original package unused.

Desired Settlement: take what the insurance gave you and do not bill me for your over priced brace. i am old and can not take this anymore.if you want the brace back credit united healthcare $814.98 and i will send it back. i have no use for it.

Business Response: January 25, 2014
******** ******
*** ******* *******
******* ** *****
Dear ** *******,
This letter is in response to our complaint #******* with the BBB of Virginia. It is my understanding that a pick up for the knee brace has been scheduled. Once the return is in house, we will send a refund to our insurance and your balance with be $0. I apologize for any confusion on our end. This is not typical CarePoint practice.
If you have any questions regarding this, please feel free to contact me at *** *** ****, extension *****.
Sincerely,
****** *******
******* ** ***** *** **********

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Someone from their company called me back in approx. June, 2013 regarding a back brace for my back. I was told that my insurance co would pay for it, so I approved one. I received it in July 2013. I then, receive a bill from their company this month (December 2013) for almost half of what the brace cost, because my insurance only covered part of it. Apparently it was written in some small print somewhere when I received it, that I would have to pay whatever my insurance does not. This was not told to me, when they originally called. They made it sound like it would be paid for in full. I then told them that I have not used it and would return it to them. I was told that it was past the 30 days that I had to return, and that they would just send it back to me. I received this item in July 2013, but did not receive a bill until December 2013. Way past the 30 days I would have been able to return it. I think this was very deceitful on their part. I believe people should be warned about this Company and what I consider to be a scam. Because when they call you, they make it sound like the item will be paid for in full. Then you don't receive a bill until it is to late to return it. Unless you want your credit messed up, you have no choice but to pay it. I will spread word in every way possible warning people to hang up on them if they ever call them! Thank you, **** ******************

Desired Settlement: I don't believe I should have to pay for it, or I should be able to return it.

Business Response: January 9, 2014

 
**** **** ********* * ********
** ******** ****

******* ** *****

Re: BBB complaint # *******

 

Dear *** ********* * ********,

This letter is in response to your complaint filed with the
BBB of Virginia, complaint number *******. First, I would like to apologize for
any inconvenience you feel you have been caused. In order to accurately respond
to your complaint, I will need to correct some mistakes in your complaint. We
received a call from you on May 8, 2013 requesting a ****** back brace. After
speaking with you and getting your permission, the Customer service
representative ran your insurance for eligibility and found this was a covered
item, however, you had a deductible and coinsurance. Your $400.00 deductible
was met, but you were responsible for a 40% coinsurance which is $381.57
balance you were recently billed for. You received the back brace on July 2,
2013, and we were paid $572.36 in September.

In the package you received from us, the return policy
states that an item must be returned within 30 days for a refund. Your letter
to the BBB states that you do have not used it. If the package is unopened, I
would be more than happy to allow you to return the back brace. Once returned,
we can refund your insurance, and your balance will be $0. At Carepoint, we are
truly dedicated to customer satisfaction and quality products and want to be
able to help you with your healthcare needs. If you truly don’t use the back
brace and have not used the back brace and would like to return it, please
contact me at ************, extension *****.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ********

******** ** ****** *** **********

1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I (*** ****** ** *****) received an adversitment from CarePoint Medical about ordering Diabetic Shoes using my ******** and other medical insurance. I called the company and provided all requested required information. I was told I would be contacted by *** ***** **** to set up an appointment for a fitting. After two weeks of not hearing from *** **** I called CarePoint back. The representative assured me *** **** would be contacting me. After two more weeks and numerou e-mails i have still not heard from Care Pointi concerning my request.

Desired Settlement: Ingormation for BBB use. I wouls also appreciate CarePoint calling me to explaing why they failed to return my calls or respond to my e-mails

Business Response: We were never able to get a signed Physician's order for this patients shoes. We had our Sales Rep call ** ***** to explain. ** ***** has now canceled his order.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father (***** ******* who is ** years old) phoned CarePoint to order an erectile dysfunction product after viewing an advertisement that said it would be free to the recipient and that ******** would pay for the product. However, when the product came in the mail and my father opened the box to see what it was, he realized that he did not want the product and has no use for it. He returned the erectile dysfunction product to CarePoint with a note saying "I did not know what this item was so am returning it to you. I opened and closed the container to return it. Don't charge me for it. ***** *******" CarePoint refused to accept the returned item and sent it back to my father, ***** *******. My father is distressed that CarePoint refuses to accept the returned product and does not know what to do. He asked that I help him and so I am contacting you on behalf of my elderly father who is being preyed on by this company. Order # ****** Date: 11/07/2013 Item # ********* ED pump battery Kit encore Retail price $530.00 Estimated 2nd Insurance Responsibility $106.00

Desired Settlement: Accept a cancellation of the order and accept a return of the item (#********* ED pump battery kit encore)

Business Response:

Contacted patient and set up the pick up for this product. Insurance did not pay for the product so there is no refund due.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello: My name is ****** *********. This is my complaint to Care Point. Carepoint will not work with you and your problem. People with ED Dysfunction want to believe that they have something that will work for them. There are a unknow number of people with ED Dysfunction. Carpoint will build you up for a big let down. You can call Care Point to let them know that this product can not work because the parts are to small. And to hard to fit the body. Care Point will tell you that you open the box and we can not take a return. Because you did open the box. How can you try something out if you dont take it out of the box. This is a statement from my doctor. Giveing his viewpoint. *** **** *** ******** *** *** **** ********** ***** ************* *** ********* ******* ** ****** ******** ********

Desired Settlement: The five hundred dollars: that was bill to ****** to return back to the ****** account. I am not asking for the money there will be another important time. The money would do some good. Next time. Don't let these people get away with this. Thank you.

Business Response: Dear *** *********,

This letter is in regards to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you were caused. Unfortunately, Carepoint’s refunded policy is set due to the hygienic nature of the product. Once the deal has been broken, we are not able to do a return or a refund. A copy of the refund policy was sent to you with your product, and is also ******** ** **** ****** ** *** ******.
We would like to help you out with this and have a couple of different options. We can have someone guide you through the use of the product and we can also send you different size rings to make the product a better fit for you. If you would like to pursue one of these options, please contact out customer service department at ************, and ask for customer service.
If you have any more questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at ************, extension *****.

Sincerely,
****** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *********



The customer did receive an additional ring after finding the original one was to small. The original ring caused excessive pain and the customer was unable to use the products as it is intended to be used. However, the new ring he was sent is the same size as the first ring. Thinking it may be different the customer did try and use the ring but it caused so much pain he almost had to cut it off with a knife. He was able to grease the area enough to successfully remove the ring before having any lasting damage take place. With the product that he was given he is unable to perform in a way he should be able to, if it worked properly. However, it does not and causes pain and embarrassment to have to reach out to someone else to try and have this problem fixed.

Business Response: Spoke to ****** ******** over the phone. At this stage the business is willing to offer larger size rings as well as a larger size cylinder, to try and resolve this concern.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on CarePoint Medical
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart