BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Mattress Discounters Group, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (804) 784-7636 Fax: (804) 784-8756 12501 Patterson Avenue, Richmond, VA 23238 http://www.mattressdiscounters.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattress Discounters Group, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • Complaints against this business are handled by another BBB.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mattress Discounters Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 07, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1978 in DE Business started locally: 12/01/2008 Business under new ownership as of: 12/01/2008 Business incorporated: 12/01/2008 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Terri Jobe, Director of Customer Loyalty Mr. Jon Studner, President/COO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Terri Jobe, Director of Customer Loyalty
Principal: Mr. Jon Studner, President/COO
Business Category

Mattresses Bedding

Additional Information

As of December 2008, Mattress Discounters Group, LLC is the new operator of Mattress Discounters stores in Delaware, Maryland, Northern Virginia, Fredericksburg, Richmond, and Washington, D.C. All New England locations of the firm had been closed in October, 2008.


Additional Locations

  • 11001 Midlothian Turnpike

    Richmond, VA 23235 (804) 379-0101

  • 11611 Midlothian Turnpike

    Midlothian, VA 23113 (804) 897-9081

  • 11740 West Broad Street  Suite #105

    Richmond, VA 23233 (804) 360-7841

  • 12251 Chattanooga Plaza

    Midlothian, VA 23112 (804) 744-5559

  • 12324 Bermuda Crossroad Lane

    Chester, VA 23831 (804) 706-5978

  • 12501 Patterson Avenue

    Richmond, VA 23238 (804) 784-7636

  • 1390 Carl D. Silver Parkway

    Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (540) 786-1777

  • 13932 Hull Street Road

    Midlothian, VA 23112

  • 1519 North Parham Rd.

    Richmond, VA 23229 (804) 282-2981

  • 1651 Rio Road East

    Charlottesville, VA 22901

  • 3546 Plank Rd

    Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (540) 786-6577

  • 4914 West Broad Street

    Richmond, VA 23230 (804) 353-3817

  • 6493 Mechanicsville Turnpike

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111 (804) 559-0711

  • 707 Southpark Blvd

    Colonial Heights, VA 23834 (804) 526-7773

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8660 Cherry Lane, Suite 40

    Laurel, MD 20707

  • 9913 Southpoint Parkway

    Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (540) 898-0586

  • 9913 Southpoint Parkway

    Fredericksburg, VA 22407 (540) 898-0586

  • 9978 Brook Rd.

    Glen Allen, VA 23059 (804) 515-8942

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1003 W Patrick St

    Frederick, MD 21702

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1417 Merritt Blvd

    Dundalk, MD 21222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    165 Jennifer Rd

    Annapolis, MD 21401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2341 Forest Dr

    Annapolis, MD 21401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5600 Urbana Pike

    Frederick, MD 21704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    592 Baltimore Pike

    Bel Air, MD 21014

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6427 Baltimore National Pike

    Catonsville, MD 21228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6476 Dobbin Center Way

    Columbia, MD 21045

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6728 Ritchie Hwy

    Glen Burnie, MD 21061

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8125 Ritchie Hwy

    Pasadena, MD 21122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8803 Pulaski Hwy

    Rosedale, MD 21237

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8807 Satyr Hill Rd

    Parkville, MD 21234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    931 Taylor Ave

    Towson, MD 21286

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9637 Reistertown Road

    Owings Mills, MD 21117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9709 York Rd

    Cockeysville, MD 21030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6237 Corners Center

    Falls Church, VA 22044

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8660 Cherry Lane Ste 40

    Laurel, MD 20707

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sept. 29, 2012Dear: BBB I purchased a mattress on 6/20/10 from Mattress Discounter located on ****** **** ******** ** *****. My Customer #*********, Store #****, the Salesperson-****** *******, Model #*******, Brand: ***** ***** ** *****, Price $654.00 & a Mattress Cover for $40.00 + tax-$32.70, Total Sales Order $726.70.I complaint around June 2012 because the mattress sinks in and has given us back problems, we cannot sleep in it anymore, it doesn't hold its support it sinks in almost 5" inch deep or more when we lay in it.They told us at the store that the mattress was discontinued, but they could replace it with another one of similar value, we said fine. They told us it is still under warranty. *** ****** *******, by the way the same salesman that sold us the mattress took our complaint online and said we will be contacted by a bedding inspector. The inspector came and inspected our mattress. Shortly after we received a letter from the office in Laurel Md, and it said that the mattress doesn't qualify under the Warranty Guildlines, because the impression was 1" not 1 1/2" or more, therefore it didn't qualify as a defect. I disagree with his report because he never lyed on the bed he barely pushed it down with his hand and then he measured it, from one end to the other. I'm sure if he would have lay down on it, it wouldn't bounce back to 1" as he said it did. My wife was there and it didn't bounce back to 1", she said that when he pushed it down with his hand. It left an impression of atleast 2" to 2 1/2", and it definitly didn't bounce back to an inch., where he pushed it down. Therefore I totally disagree with his findings. If he would have taken a picture of it, anyone could clearly view it and see the 2" to 2 1/2" impression on the mattress. The measurement wasn't done correctly nor accurate. Can you please help me with this matter?Sincerely***** *** ********

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $726.70, or a replacement of equal value.

Business Response: My District Manger ***** ****** has come to a resolution with this customer on this issue. Customer accepted delivery on 10/9/12 of a replacement.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

***** ********

 

Thanks for all your help in this matter.  They replaced the defective mattress for me.  

Sincerely



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Queen Mattress set ***** and Box Spring, Sept of last year 2011 , two to three months later the bed started to develop a sag and dip in the middle left side of the bed , where i sleep and then on the opposite side where my wife sleeps same kind of problemcontacted Mattress Discounters rep at ***** *** ****** and lady very nice referred me to ***** Warranty Dpt , filed claim sent pictures of mattress , with measurements , they sent a independent contractor to inspect the bed and box spring and took measurements according to him the bed was defective, 4 days later i get letter from Mattress Discounters that under the limited warranty the bed supports are not sufficient. First of all we have 5 other beds in the house purchased prior to our bed from Mattress Discounters and my bed is the one that offers the most support and none of the other beds, show nor feel the way the ***** from Mattress Discounters does, so they dont want to admit that their product was defective, instead they choose to null warranty on a technicality , shame on them.

Desired Settlement: I simply want a credit for a replacement and or upgrade from that defective product

Business Response: My District Manager ***** ******* has reached out to this customer and explained the requirements from the manufacture, and have discussed the options to proceed from here. They agreed to a resolution and will be visiting one of our stores to complete the resolution. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/4/2012 Delivery Issues
3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1