Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Work Fair Price/QWFP

Phone: (434) 374-5928 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.qwfp.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Work Fair Price/QWFP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Work Fair Price/QWFP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Work Fair Price/QWFP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Green, Co-Owner Ms. Melody Green, Co-Owner/Office Manager Mr. Tom Green, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Green, Co-Owner
Principal: Ms. Melody Green, Co-Owner/Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Tom Green, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Contractor - Commercial Construction & Remodeling Services Awnings & Canopies Home Improvements - Additions Contractors - Flooring Plumbers - Commercial Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Garage Builders Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Industry Tips
Contracts

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 310

    Clarksville, VA 23927

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have already discussed with owner trying to overcharge us on labor, poor service, etc. today I decided to change water filters (he installed unit) due to bad smelling water even though they are not due to be changed till September. When I removed covers I found that filters had not even been unwrapped and were placed on unit this way. It now makes it clear why our water pump burned out and why my mother has been sick (mold is growing in plastic wrapped filters). The service I received from this company was a joke, half the work he did not know how to do and I even had to go online and show him the right way. It says 30 years experience on his card and website yet I did not see any in my opinion. We have had to pay for pump repairs, filters before they were needed, valves on both toilets due to sediment in water, etc.! This company has been a nightmare and I'm hoping the BBB can help resolve it before I am forced to take legal action. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: We have spent to date almost the full cost of this job on repairs and not counting medical expenses my mother has spent trying to figure out why she was breaking out in hives, rashes and being ill. (She is allergic to mold, she even just went 2 weeks ago to allergist to figure out why she was breaking out so bad!)! This has been a nightmare and I want it to end, just refund our money and be done! To open those filters today and see the job AGAIN was done halfway...words cannot express but atleast now my mother knows what's wrong and we can fix it. Thank you for your time in this matter.

Business Response: This is in response to **** ****’s complaint against ****** ** *****, Sr., d.b.a. Quality Work Fair Price (QWFP).

            I have done two jobs for the **** family before the job I question, apparently with their satisfaction since they called me back again, so they were well aware that my rate is $65 per hour for me and a helper.  They would be responsible for any repair materials and that I do not mark up the price of any materials, but I do charge for traveling expenses to procure these materials.  The closest materials source is well over 20 miles away.  The total they were asked to pay was the time plus the cost of the materials and travel expenses.  He was charged exactly what he was told he would be charged and at the same rate he was charged before.  He incorrectly claimed that the trip to procure the materials was too much so in an effort to make the customer satisfied, deducted the travel charge to less than it actually cost me.

            Mr. **** informed me that he had searched online and found what he thought to be the best filter available, because he felt that it was needed to adequately remove the particulates and minerals in his water.  The filter appeared to be of excellent quality with three filter chambers and well made, but it was a preassembled unit that I had never seen before, and it was presented to me as assembled and ready to be mounted and connected to the water lines.  Mr. **** chose the installation location and provided me with no instruction manual and produced no information that anything was required other than mounting it on the wall and connecting it to the system lines using whatever adapters, fittings and valves that were necessary. 

            I evaluated the project, traveled to purchase the necessary fittings and installed the unit where and how Mr. **** requested, which was approximately how I would have chosen to do it without Mr. ****’s input.  When the installation was complete, we checked for leaks, and Mr. **** reported the upstairs’ fixtures were working correctly. The filter system was securely mounted and plumbed correctly.  He paid me the reduced amount, and we left.

            About an hour or so later he called me saying the water flow was slowing down too much when the pressure in the tank dropped too low before the pressure switch cycled the pump back on and raised the pressure back above 40 PSI.  He apparently had not read the instructions, assuming he had them or looked online, as he seemed to do for everything, and learned that this filter, like no other I have seen or installed before required a minimum of 40 PSI to work correctly.  This requirement was never mentioned before, and I did not know this filter had the minimum pressure requirement that no other filter I know of has ever had.  It was a simple adjustment to the pressure switch that was needed.

            Pressure switches come preset from the factory:  20-40 PSI, 30-50 PSI, and 40-60 PSI.  When I replaced the pressure switch on a previous trip, I replaced the clogged or faulty switch with exactly the same model as I always do.  The pressure switch on and off range is usually chosen to match the pump and piping requirements and for this reason it is wise to use identical parts, since repairmen usually do not have complete knowledge of the pump and pipe capabilities.  The switches are adjustable, but it is better, quicker, and simpler to use what has worked correctly, especially since manufactures produce switches preset to the needed pressure ranges.

            I immediately went back to Mr. ****’s house.  We were probably away from his house less than two hours.  I set out to raise the cut-on pressure of the switch to 40 PSI as Mr. **** requested since he had learned this was required after we left the first time.  I began by reading the instructions on the pressure switch for raising the cut-on pressure without raising the cut-off pressure above the pump and pipe safe operating limits.  Mr. **** seemed to become very agitated that I was doing this and accused me of not knowing what I was doing.  I think it is always wise to follow current instructions and do so whenever I can.  Although I have installed dozens of pressure switches in the last several years, I always install the exact same switch that had been working correctly with the system before failing.  Therefore, since I had not needed to adjust a switch for years, it seemed prudent to refresh my knowledge and to make sure that there were no design changes I needed to consider.

            At this time, Mr. **** took over demanding that I adjust this nut or that nut while continuously checking the results upstairs.  To please Mr. ****, I chose to follow his instructions and after several adjustments, he declared that it was set properly.  It cut on at 40 PSI and cut off at 65 PSI.  It was apparently working correctly, so I left and did not ask him to pay for the second trip (approximately 2 hours work) although it would not have been necessary if I had been informed of the 40 PSI minimum that the filter required. 

I never heard from Mr. **** again and never had any knowledge that there was any problem until he complained to the Better Business Bureau (BBB).  I would have gladly tried to deal with any other problem if I had been given an opportunity.  I am always conscientious about doing my work correctly. For this reason, I have never had a complaint with the BBB or the Contractor’s Licensing Board in more than 30 years.  I stick by my slogan, “We are satisfied when you are satisfied.”

            As for Mr. ****’s complaint that after nearly four months he went to replace the filters only to discover that the factory assembled filter system came with the filters still wrapped in plastic, I can’t confirm or deny that this was true; I never had any reason to check the filter cartridges.  I did not take the filters apart.  I had no instructions saying this needed to be done, and Mr. **** never asked me to do so.  The filters were presented to me by Mr. **** as ready to be installed which I did in a professional manor.

            I would like to make some observations about Mr. ****’s other claims.  Why would any manufacturer ship a filter system already assembled for installation with the cartridges still wrapped in plastic?  If they did, I am sure they would have included instructions to open the system and remove the plastic.  Mr. **** should have read these instructions or learned about this requirement on line.  Also, if the filters were wrapped in plastic, how did water pass through them at all and why did the system apparently respond and apparently work exactly as it should after the correct pressure adjustments were made?  No other filter cartridges I have installed or replaced could be installed unless the plastic wrapper had been removed first; they would not fit into the housing canister.

            If the filters weren’t working, how did they get clogged before their projected life span was up?  In any case, filter life is only a projection.  The actual life of any filter is determined in large part by the quality of the water filtered.  As I understand it, Mr. ****’s whole purpose in seeking out such a high quality filter was that his water quality was very poor and he believed it was necessary.  I have many other customers with much simpler and less (presumably) efficient filters that have to change their filters every two months or less or their water flow stops completely.  Poor water quality is common in this area.  In any case, the pump still operated at the 40 PSI to 65 PSI pressure range as required.  Even if the cartridges were wrapped, no additional load was placed on the pump which had been operating at a lower pressure range before the filter was installed.  The system apparently required the operating range to be 40 PSI to 65 PSI.  Even in the unlikely event that the cartridges were factory installed still wrapped, the operating pressure range was exactly the same wrapped or unwrapped (40 PSI to 65 PSI).  If his pump failed, it probably did so because of the increased demand placed on it and not because of any alleged left on wrapping, which did not change the load.  Also, at least 50% of the filters I change, including my own, have what is apparently some type of organic material growing on them and apparently has not caused health issues for anyone that I know of.  There is no sound basis for Mr. ****’s claim that I caused “mold” to grow on the filter which in turn caused his mother’s health issues.

            In any case, the filter was procured by Mr. ****, installed according to his design, and adjusted following his instructions.  If he had instructions, he never would share them, and choose to micromanage the job himself apparently with internet information, which he did not share in a timely fashion. 

            If he had any continued problems, I was never notified or given the opportunity to solve the problem which I would have gladly done.  His absurd conclusion that I do not know what I am doing is based solely on his disapproval of my desire to read the instructions on the pressure switch before adjusting it.  Also, 30 years of experience does not imply I know everything about every product especially since new products are being introduced continuously.  I believe he is simply looking for a scape goat because his water system is so troubled and he has not been able to solve the problems.  I did a professional job with the information provided on an unfamiliar product, followed Mr. ****’s directions and demands and would have gladly read the instructions if provided and I would have returned to help solve the problem if I had been given the opportunity.  The job was well done.  The pressure range problem required only mere adjustments to the switch, which would have been done on the first trip if I had known that it was necessary.  The wraps, if they were indeed left on, which seems very unlikely, since the performance of the system did not appear to be affected, would have been easily removed if Mr. **** knew it was necessary and shared that knowledge.  Any negative results were due to Mr. **** and not QWFP.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Work Fair Price/QWFP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)