Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Anderson Propane Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 373-9096 Fax: (540) 899-0678 View Additional Phone Numbers 11905 Tidewater Trail, Fredericksburg, VA 22404 http://www.andersonpropane.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anderson Propane Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anderson Propane Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Anderson Propane Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Anderson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Anderson, Owner
Related Businesses
Anderson Oil Company, Inc. Anderson Leonarkis Construction LLC
Business Category

Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Oils - Fuel Natural Gas Companies Gas - Propane


Additional Locations

  • 11905 Tidewater Trail

    Fredericksburg, VA 22404 (540) 373-9096 (800) 559-1015

  • PO Box 300

    Fredericksbrg, VA 22404

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 21 I called in to make a payment and request delivery the receptionist took my payment of 100 $ & told me that she should be able to get a delivery out to me within the next few hours. She called me back about an hour later and said that the delivery truck could not make it into my driveway bc of the 1 inch of snow that we had , she also said he never tried he just said he couldnt. She then told me that they could have a truck deliver me small tanks to hold me over until they could come out but I would have to pay a 150 emergency fee. I argued the fee , her and another gentlemen argued with me about this and told me if I didn't pay it I would not receive propane delivery at that time even though I have 4 small children at home and it was below zero. I then paid 250 to them , 150 for the emergency fee they demanded and 100 to put towards the gas delivery I would receive after the tanks were removed . I also told them that I should not have to pay that 150 fee and I felt forced into it. I now have received an invoice from the company stating that they charged me 271.25 for emergency services and 246.25 to pick up the tanks from my residence 2 days later. That is 517.50 that they charged me just to bring out 2 loaner tanks for less than 48 hours all because they claimed the driver could not get in. My issue is that they were not going to charge me an emergency fee prior to the driver not being "able" to get the truck in my drive. So because of his refusal I had to pay over 500 that isn't even going towards my bill. It is just going into their pocket. I would like my 517.50 refunded to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charges taken off of my bill and to be refunded the 271.25 they stated they charged me and I paid

Business Response: Dear Ms. ***********,

We have received notification from the Better Business
Bureau concerning your account.

First and foremost, we apologize for any inconvenience in
this matter.  At the time of your February,
21, 2015, phone call concerning this complaint, your account held an
outstanding, past due balance of $921.32 and was consequently set to an “On Hold”
status.  In addition, your tank is set to
a “Will Call” status, which indicates that the deliveries are initiated by your
requests as opposed to an “Automatic” status in which we initiate deliveries
based on your past usage and the weather conditions.  

Our standard Will Call Policy requires 5 business days’
notice for Will Call requests; however, due to the cold temperatures we
attempted to make a delivery to your tank the same day but the driver was
unable to due to snow and icy conditions. 
We do not question our drivers’ decisions concerning safety as they have
autonomy.  It is also our policy to
charge a $150 Emergency Fee for Will Call requests that need immediate
resolution.  Both our Customer Service Representative
and Vice President of Operations made sure you understood you would be assessed
this fee and therefore, we delivered temporary tanks to ensure you had heat.

On February 23, 2015, we picked up the temporary tanks and reconnected
your lines to the main tank.  In error,
we charged you $246.25 for this service. 
This charge has since been reversed. 
In addition, we have credited your account for 40 gallons of propane
remaining in the temporary tanks at your total home heat rate of $2.399 per
gallon.  This resulted in a credit of
$95.96 to your account.  Considering
these corrections, you were charged an Emergency Fee of $150 and for 8 gallons
of propane at a rate of $2.399 per gallon. 
In total, the emergent service cost $169.19.

Safety of our customers and our employees is of utmost
importance to us and we feel that we responded to your request in a safe and
cooperative manner.  Please accept our
apology for the erroneous charge for the February 23rd service and
thank you for your understanding.    

 

Sincerely,

**** ********

President

Anderson Propane Service, Inc.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered propane service for my gas fireplace in August 2013. I didn't turn on the pilot light or gas until mid-October. I had 91 gallons registered in my propane tank. I have used the fireplace approximately 5 times for an 1 or 2 each time, probably less than 10-15 hours total time usage. I now as of 11/13/13 approximately 40 gallons of fuel left in my tank. I spoke with the couple that lived in the house before I did and they were home nearly 100% of the time and they said they used the fireplace as their principal source of heat and they used around 120 gallons a season. Which is approximately a tank and a quarter. I rarely turn on my fireplace and even have the pilot light off to save energy. I called Anderson propane and they told me that the pilot light could burn 5-10 gallons a month even though I told them I only use the pilot light while the fireplace is on. My main concern is that when they installed the tank there must be an outside leak because of the amount of fuel that has already been used. I was speaking to the secretary and getting no help, she said she was going to pass me over to the manager and I waited and he never answered the phone. I am concerned for my safety as well as paying for leaking fuel. I paid Anderson 251.00 for fuel and they charged me 150.00 to deliver the tank of which I was sent a bill with not a single itemized charge just the 218. I have no problem paying them the installation fee, but if I have to be buying 250 dollars worth of fuel every month I cannot use this company any longer. I feel that they should fix the issue no charge. The folks I bought the house from said they never had had a problem.

Desired Settlement: They should determine why their tank leaks and fill the tank bank up to a reasonable amount without charge. 60 gallons of fuel in less than 3 weeks only running for about 10-15 hours total. When I called the secretary she was making excuses why my fireplace is using so much because of the pilot light. Even after I told her I wasn't using the pilot light.

Business Response: This is the first time I have seen this complaint even though it says second notice.  Regardless, I will get with my folks and find out what is going on.

 
**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Anderson Propane Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)