Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

S.J. Ryan Electric, Inc.

Phone: (804) 247-2375 Fax: (804) 818-3274 PO Box 5595, Midlothian, VA 23112 http://www.sjryanelectric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S.J. Ryan Electric, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S.J. Ryan Electric, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S.J. Ryan Electric, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2003 in VA Business incorporated 03/18/2005 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sean Ryan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Ryan, President
Business Category

Electricians Electricians - Commercial


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 5595

    Midlothian, VA 23112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was a big deal on ******* **** and I am upset that ******* **** doesn't live up to their promises also. S J Ryan had an ad for service call and one hour of labor and was given an A rating by ******* ****. I had a GFI and called for an appointment and one man came out and installed it then said your hour is almost up but it is not getting electricity so I will have to come back with 2 people and search for the problem and charge $40 an hour. Two men came out 2 hours late (put their arrival and departure time as the wrong time on the bill) and wandered around for about 10 minutes then said they had found a lose wire and gave me a bill for $80. I think they wanted to take advantage of an old widow and I had to pay $49 plus $80 for an advertised $49 big deal. I wrote a scathing review for this company and ******* **** promised they would eliminate this company from future ads. I now see where they have another ad with an A rating again and only one review listed. fi that I bought and would like installed. A man came out and installed the

Desired Settlement: I wouldn't mind a partial refund but mostly want to warn other people not to trust this company. That is what ******* **** promises and they are not living up to their many ads.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

Our goal is to make sure each customer has a positive experience. I am very surprised by the complaint for our work, and would like the opportunity to explain the process and billing. Our technician came out for the diagnosis of a bad GFCI receptacle. Once the technician was there, it was determined there was an issue beyond the GFCI. My technician did make the customer aware that the allotted time frame was about to expire and offered to keep looking for the issue or to come back with another technician at a later date to assist and keep the cost down. The customer agreed to have them come back, which they did, and quickly found the problem and corrected it. Our hourly rate is $80 for all customers. I take responsibility if that information was misinterpreted or misconstrued. If there is anything I can do to ease the customers mind that we never take advantage of any our customers and value each one of them the same, please let me know.

Thank you

**** ****
President
S.J. Ryan Electric, Inc
Office: ***** ********
Fax: ***** ********
**********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******