BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Virginia Credit Union, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Virginia Credit Union, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 323-6800 View Additional Phone Numbers P. O. Box 90010, Richmond, VA 23225 http://www.vacu.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Financial cooperative offering banking services including savings and checking accounts, loans, credit cards and financial education resources. Federally insured by NCUA.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Credit Union, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Credit Union, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 15
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Virginia Credit Union, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 14, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1928 in VA Business incorporated: 05/04/1928 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jane G. Watkins, President Mr. Chris Shockley, Sr VP/Member Svc
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Shockley, Sr VP/Member Svc
Principal: Ms. Jane G. Watkins, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Services


Additional Locations

  • 101 N. 14th Street

    Richmond, VA 23219

  • 10165 Brook Rd.

    Glen Allen, VA 23060

  • 11030 Hull St. Rd.

    Midlothian, VA 23112

  • 1200 Koger Center Blvd.

    Richmond, VA 23235

  • 2300 West Broad Street

    Richmond, VA 23220

  • 301 Temple Lake Drive

    Colonial Heights, VA 23834

  • 4001 Lauderdale Dr.

    Richmond, VA 23233

  • 5427 Glenside Drive

    Richmond, VA 23228

  • 6103 Brashier Boulevard

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111

  • 720 E. Broad Street

    Richmond, VA 23219

  • 7500 Boulders View Drive

    Richmond, VA 23225 (804) 323-6800 (804) 786-2469 (804) 367-0005 (804) 662-7626 (804) 267-5460 (804) 360-7607 (804) 786-8777 (804) 744-2631 (804) 524-4554 (804) 786-2469 (804) 267-5460 (804) 267-5495 (804) 267-5450 (804) 662-7626

  • P. O. Box 90010

    Richmond, VA 23225 (804) 323-6800 (800) 285-5051 (800) 285-6609 (804) 225-3178 (804) 267-5450 (804) 253-6100 (804) 225-3177 (804) 253-6010 (804) 253-6195 (804) 253-6190

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 285-5051(Phone)
  • (800) 285-6609(Phone)
  • (804) 225-3177(Phone)
  • (804) 225-3178(Phone)
  • (804) 253-6010(Phone)
  • (804) 253-6100(Phone)
  • (804) 253-6190(Phone)
  • (804) 253-6195(Phone)
  • (804) 267-5450(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite VACU's assetion that that they mailed me both a new credit card and information about changing my accounts from a **** to a **********, which they did not do, they also would not acknowledge their error. This resulted in my being fined $60 in late fees for an account I did not know I had while paying my monthly payments, every month, ahead of their repayment schedule, for the past 11 months. Thus my payments were being made to a closed account with a zero balanace but credited to the account they opened instead, without informing me. Although not verified as of yet, I expect my credit has been effected by non-payment to an account I did not know they had opened in my name without informing me. I have bank records to prove that I paid more than the minimum each month. Interestingly, they continued to accrue interest charges. I have had the same account with this organization since 2003 and would have expected more.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to have my $60 refunded to me and interest un-accrewed for the total amount that would have been paid to the account had they actually either mailed me, called me, emailed me or informed me some other way. It is quite sad that when an organization becomes so large that their greed overwhelms the level of customer services they had produced when I started working with them.

Business Response: Dear ** ******:

Please accept this letter in  response to an inquiry you made to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). In your letter you expressed concern regarding our credit card conversation from **** to ********** and the impact that had on your payments. 

In February of 2014 we emailed you information advising you of the upcoming change and that you needed to update your bill pay service with the new account number.

In March of 2014 we issued your new *********. The information included with the card advised you to change any bill pay information previously setup to reflect the new account number. We also mailed a separate letter in March of 2014 advising you of the change in account number and requested that you make payments to the new account number.

Your statement reflects all payments received (or not received). Your August 2014 statement shows a late charge because we have not received your August payment. As of today, we still have not received a payment for August or September. Please review the account where you payments are sent from to ensure you have updated your records with the new credit card number. We are sorry that we cannot refund any late charges or interest to this account. Please remit your payment(s) as soon as possible to avoid service interruptions to your card.

It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to exceed our members' expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. We regret that this experience was not as you expected and we hope our explanation has given you a better understanding of the events that occurred. If we can be further assistance please call us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
*** *****
Vice President
Member Services

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After speaking with a banker at *** we opened an Estate account one week later. Five days later we were contacted by our "Banker" and told that **** ********* ***** or ***** had called him and he was to inform us that we could not have an Estate account at the bank. She, though she had not law degree, was interpreting the Code of Virginia and requested that the clerk of the circuit court change the way that they print Certificates of Executors. Since they won't she decided that they can't have estate accounts. Any calls requesting that we speak with someone in charge receive a refusal. We can only speak to the call center or resolution line. We were able to talk to a supervisor who seemed helpful and said that **** ********* would call first thing on Monday to resolve the issue. She didn't call. We called the supervisor back and left 3 messages and he refused to return the calls telling the call center employee to tell us that **** ********* would call us back. She has not. We are unable to log on to check for wire transfers. They have charged us for checks that we can't use and they are holding our money for 6 days for bank checks to clear. Mind you, they are bank checks, not checks from businesses or individuals. No matter who we speak to at the call center or resolution center we are told that **** ********* is the person to help us and they won't put us through to anyone else but **** ********* does not call back. We are family handling the estate of my Father. We are grieving the loss and having to deal with rude employees and offered no help from the institution that is holding our large sum of money. We have funeral expenses and costs that must be paid and no one will help but they sure will hold our money.

Desired Settlement: I want to speak to someone in administration, not from the call center or resolution center. The president would be great but a vice-president would do. I want this resolved and want the parties involved to be reprimanded. No one should have to go through this, especially at a time like this.

Business Response: Dear ** *****:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union (VACU). In your letter dated September 30,2014, you expressed concern regarding an Estate Account you recently opened. Please allow us to offer our sincere condolences on the loss on your loved one. We have researched your accounts and determined the following events occurred:

On September 19, 2014, you opened an Estate Account for ******* **** *****.

On September 24 ,2014, we reviewed the paperwork. We reached out to the Clerk of Court on two different occasions and were advised that "and" meant we needed two signatures.

On September 30, 2014, you talked with ******. She contacted you because **** ******** was not available and we did not want to keep you waiting for a response. During the call with ******, you recommended that VACU talk with ******* ******* ******** regarding the Executor paperwork at the Clerk of the Court. We contacted him and he advised us that the clerk of court should not have answered those types of questions and that the Executor status depending on the wording of the will.

On October 2, 2014, ****** contacted you requesting a copy of the will for review. Upon receipt of the will we forwarded it to our attorney.

On October 7, 2014, our attorney advised us that "and" means both Executors are required to act together. ***** contacted you with this information and requested that you sign an identity agreement agreeing to hold Virginia Credit Union harmless by allowing you to act individually. You agreed you and your co-executor would sign the agreement. ***** emailed the document to you and you advised that you would return the form by the end of the week. 

On behalf of the credit union, please accept our sincere apologizes for the confusion during this process. We are sorry if at any time you felt the credit union did not make every effort to assist you as you expected. Thank you for reconsidering your decision to close your accounts. We are so pleased we were able to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction. Since we reached a resolution, would it be fair to as if you would consider removing your review from ********.

It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to exceed our members' expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. Thank you again for taking time to make sure we are providing you with the service you deserve as a member. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
*** *****
Vice President

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

***** *****

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted the VA Credit Union and spoke with ** ****** and ** ****** **** in regard to a credit card check written by me to the Virginia Credit Union. They refused to release the funds I have available and are holding my money until August 26, 2014. They also held my direct deposit check that was deposited on August 18, 2014. I had to call in and have them release my money. This is an unfair practice and I am being treated with poor customer service. I have been a loyal customer with the VA Credit Union for over ten years.

Desired Settlement: Refund me for any charges and late fees that I received due to this inconvenience.

Business Response: Dear ** ******:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union (VACU). In your letter dated August 20, 2014, you expressed concern regarding deposit holds on your account.

On August 7, 2014, you deposited a check for $2,500.00. On August 12, 2014, the check was returned leaving your account overdrawn by $548.98. Subsequently, you deposited another check for $2,500.00 and Virginia Credit Union placed a hold on these funds. If for any reason, we believe a deposit may be returned we can place those funds on hold until the funds clear the paying institution.

On August 18, 2014, your direct deposit of $2014.26 was credited to your account giving you an available balance of $1556.28. We do not place holds on direct deposit.

It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to exceed our members' expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. We regret that this experience was not as you expected and we hope our explanation has given you a better understanding of the events that occurred. If we can be of further assistance please call us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Executive Vice President
Member Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like an apology letter written from both parties I spoke to for their unprofessionalism. Further, my direct deposit was held and funds not available. My direct deposit was not released until I called the VA Credit Union.

Regards,

****** *******

9/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an existing customer who tried to open an additional account twice this year. The first time I tried I was told I was declined. When I received the letter provided by the bank I asked for clarification at the local branch in person. Instead I got a condescending belittling remark about my credit score. I later companied and received a generic "we are sorry for your experience" response but no clear resolution path. My goal was simply to isolate the issue and work to resolve whatever negative items I had if any. I was told I needed to wait at least 30 days before I can try again. After about a months’ time passed I applied for and was able to successfully open a line of credit with that same bank. So I figured the issues had resolved its self out. At that point I then tried to open a custodial account and was again denied. I again inquired as to why. At that point I was told the reason was related to my *********** credit report file. I was also told that I would get a letter in the mail. That individual was also kind enough to provide me with *********** contact information. Armed with that information I contacted *********** and requested a copy of my *********** credit report. But when I got it and reviewed it there was nothing negative in the file. To make sure I called *********** back to validate that I was not missing something. Sure enough "there is nothing negative nor positive on your record" in fact the rep added "the decision is made by the bank we only provide whatever information is on your file". During that time I also received the letter from the bank indicating what their reasons are for not being able to provide me with additional services. Source of Information: *********** Your Score: 0480 Date: 7/15/2014 Key Factors that adversely affected your score: TIME SINCE NON-DDA INQUIRY ACTIVITY TIME AT CURRENT ADDRESS NO EVIDENCE OF ASSET OWNERSHIP NON-DDA INQUIRY OR RETAIL ITEM HISTORY Not only is this information inaccurate but the business level abbreviations used in a formal communication with its customers from Virginia Credit Union is utterly irresponsible and leads to ambiguity. Furthermore, the only source of data noted in the document was ***********. No references were made regarding the other three Major creditors like Transunion, Equifax or Experian. This immediately raised concerns regarding full disclosure requirements. I took the information gathered and called the customer support line. Where I was promptly told they do not control the information provided by ***********. Essentially passing the blame to them. I tried to explain that I had contacted them and had a copy of the report that shows no negative concerns. But that feel on death ears. After insisting a bit I was transferred to customer service supper visor that later called back and reiterated the same thing. Nothing I was not getting any clear path to identify what exactly is being used against me. I decided to visit the local branch located on **** ********** ** ********* ** *****. I requested to speak with both the branch manager and one of the agents. During that conversation I explained my concerns and both agreed they were valid and that the documentation provided was not only unclear to them what the abbreviations meant but also that the credit report from *********** did not show anything of significant concerns. The manager did kindly note that my home address on the *********** file appear to have been truncated and that I should at least report that to ***********. Which I agreed would be a good prudent step to take. Unfortunately after further scrutiny with *********** they noted the truncated data for my address was actually provided to them by Virginia Credit Union in the 1st place when I moved this past May 30th 2013. When we ended that conversation at the bank we had the following action items: 1) The manager would consult with his corporate office representatives to work and ID what was the issue so I can work to fix it. 2) I would work with *********** to update to records to show the one two address I have had over the past 6 years. Shortly after that I got a random call from a lady indicating that I was supposed to talk to her manager but that individual was out of the office and that “I was stuck with her”. She later proceed to ask me “You do know your credit score right?”. After which elaborated that Virginia Credit Union has this “Matrix” that she cannot disclosed but that was the reason I was declined. I then ask “have you seen the documentation I have provided the local office? Answer “NO” - My response “Then you are basing your statements on hypotheticals not facts. I am in the mist of something important right now give me a call back when you review the documents provided and have all the facts in hand.” In short a consumer is entitled to full disclosure not partial or ambiguity.

Desired Settlement: 1) Full disclosure in writing of what exactly is being used to make this decision including all supporting data. 2) A cease and desist when it comes to using abbreviations in customer communications regardless of the source. 3) An internal technical review of the way data is being mapped between *********** and Virginia Credit Union since it is clear that it is not mapped correctly any first year technical staff can see that just by looking at the credit report provided vs. the end result letter you send your customers. Hint: NON-DDA INQUIRY OR RETAIL ITEM HISTORY = The customer has no negative DDA or Retail items in history. Which is a good thing!! 4) Update the letter sent to customers to include any and all sources of information used along with contact information for that source. End goal - to be able to fix whatever is negatively affecting my status. I cannot fix what I cannot see.

Business Response: Dear ** *****:

Please accept this letter in response to an inquiry you made to the State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Financial Institutions (BFI) and the Better Business Bureau dated August 4, 2014. In your letters you expressed concern regarding *********** reporting. After further research, we are offering the following explanation.

When a member requests to open a checking or savings account we inquire with ********** to obtain information about how a member handles their accounts with other financial institutions before granting a new account. The information returned to us from *********** indicated you did not meet specific criteria for obtaining a checking account with Virginia Credit Union. We mailed you a letter advising that the denial was due to information obtained form *********. In that letter, it provides you with a score and the reasons supporting that score. Virginia Credit Union simply transfers the data from their system to a letter. We do not abbreviate the reasons, what you see comes directly from ***********.

There are several items that may factor in or affect your score:
How you handle your accounts (i.e. number of overdrafts)
Length of time an account is open
Time at address
Time at employer
Number of inquires with *********

Please note: we do not obtain a credit report when a member applies for a checking or savings account.

We regret that your experience was not as you expected and sincerely hope that occurred. Please accept our apologies if at any time you felt the credit union did not make every effort to assist you as you expected. If you have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
**** ******
President/CEO

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a call from ***** with Virginia Credit Union telling me that the Credit Union had not received my credit card payments since March 2014 for $100.00. I provided ***** with the information from where I have **** *** through my personal ***** ***** account and that i am current on my payments. ***** told me that I had been issued a new account number for a closed account and that I should have received it in the beginning of the year. I said that my account has been closed for over a year and I should not have been issued a new account number do to me having a closed account. I asked ***** for the new account number and she stated that she could not give it to me and that I would have to come into a branch and get the new account number. I told ***** that I am too busy to come get something that should have been mailed to me in the first place. After that was explained she provided me with the new account number. She then told me it was nothing she could do for me and that I needed to make a payment as soon as possible. I called my bank which was ***** ***** and they told me that the Virginia Credit Union was cashing the check so I needed to provide the Virginia Credit Union with the proof of payments from my online accounts. I called ***** back and she had a whole different attitude when I told her that the bank had been cashing my checks. ***** stated that she would search for my payments and would call me back. So after waiting a week I called ***** back after I received a letter from the Virginia Credit Union signed by ***** and it stated that I still owe $111.00. I called her and she said they found my money and that it had been applied to my credit card balance. I asked for a receipt and I have yet to receive that and I asked were the incorrect late fees corrected and she tells me no. I explain that I have been making my payments and that I should not be responsible for their mistake. She then said as a favor to me she would refund 1. I am not in the wrong I needed to be refunded all of them since March 2014.

Desired Settlement: I would like the other 3 late fees for $35.00 a piece removed from my balance and a letter to all the credit bureaus stating that the Credit Union made an mistake and any adverse causes from their mistake should be corrected.

Business Response: Dear ** *****:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union (VACU). In your letter dated August 11, 2014, you expressed concern regarding payments you made to your credit card. We have researched your accounts and determined the following events occurred:

We mailed you a letter in March 2014 advising you of the change in account number and to request that you make payments to the new account number. 

Your statements show the payments we have received (or not received). Your April 2014, May 2014, June 2014 and July 2014 statements all show a late charge, which would indicate to you that the account is behind. If there is a discrepancy on your statement, you should notify us immediately so that we can look into the issue and make the necessary corrections.

We located the payments made in April, May and July sent via your mobile banking from ***** *****. Your payments are arriving with no account information listed and no instructions of where to place the funds. When this happens the funds are automatically placed in the member's saving account. Please ensure when transmitting payments to your VACU credit card that it is clearly marked to guarantee timely receipt of your payments. There was no payment received for June 2014.

As a courtesy, we refunded four late charges totaling $130. This includes the June late charge for which a payment was not received. Your August 2014 statement will show these refunds.

We have corrected your credit card account to accurately report and have notified the appropriate agencies. The response time for the Credit Reporting Agencies to update your file is approximately 45 days.

If there is an individual reporting agency that is still not reporting this information correctly after 45 days, you may submit a dispute directly with them. Once we receive the dispute from the Credit Reporting Agency, we will verify and resubmit the correct loan information.

It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to exceed our members' expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. We regret that this experience was not as you expected and we hope our explanation has given you a better understanding of the events that occurred. If we can be of further assistance please call us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
**** *******
Executive Vice President
Member Services

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Virginia Credit Union only receives loan payments by mail. It has always taken them about two weeks to receive and post my payments. I have had several conversations in which I tell them the dates I have my payments and they state they have not received them and then suddenly they clear my bank. I received a letter last Friday stating they had not received a payment for Feb. she stated they had received the payment on March 3' I stated I had mailed it on Feb. 20th. They said I had defaulted on my agreement since they did not receive a payment in Feb. I ask her to apply the payment she had just received to Feb. (since another payment was not due until the end of March). She said I would have to pay almost three times the amount of my payment to bring my loan current and avoid repossession. I don't understand why it takes so long to receive and post to my account. It only takes no more than five days for any of my other correspondence to go to anywhere in the US.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the credit union to apply my Feb. payment to my account thus bringing my account current. Since I don't have another payment due until the end of March, I should not have to be threatened with repossession of my vehicle.

Business Response: Dear ** *****:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter dated March 12, 2014, you expressed concern about auto loan and the payment arrangements made through our Collections Department. We have researched your accounts and determined the following events occurred:

In January 2014, you contacted our Collections Department after receiving letter(s) and phone calls regarding the delinquency of your auto loan. We explained that you were 96 days past due, which resulted in collection activity.

In addition, you advised that you had been in the hospital and now living with your daughter. We offered you an alternative to make three (3) consecutive payments from January to bring the account up to date under our re-age program. You accepted this option, and explained that you would ask your daughter to help you with your obligations during the re-age period.

On January 8, 2014, we received your first payment of $***** under your re-age agreement.

The second payment due on February 25, 2014 for $***** was not received until March 4, 2014. Since we did not receive the second payment on time, the re-age agreement was canceled.

As of March 18, 2014 you auto loan is still past due. Please contact our Collections Department for further assistance.

AS a credit union member, you are eligible to receive assistance with your personal finances free of charge through Virginia Credit Union's partnership wit ******* , a personal financial educator. ******* counselors are available Monday through Thursday from 8am until 11pm, on Friday 8am until 8pm and on Saturday 11am until 8pm. You may reach them at *** *** **** for assistance. They can provide you counseling services on how to manage and get out of debt.

We regret that you continue to have financial difficulties. Please accept our apologies if at any time you felt the credit union did not make every effort to assist you as you expected. We try to help our members become financially secure and it is our goal to deliver the highest level of service possible. If you have any further questions, please contact our Collections Department for assistance.

Sincerely, 
*** ****
Vice President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[They refuse to apply my Feb. payment correctly, and now my vehicle is up for repossession. They say I didn't make my Feb payment when they have already received it weeks ago.]

Regards,

***** *****




2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up autopayment with them for two loans and was told they would be coming out. They have mot for two months and now I am being charged for a late payment when I was assured that the autopayment was set up. The money is no longer in my account.

Desired Settlement: I would like those two payments either forgiven or added to the back of my loan without penalty or interest

Business Response: Dear ** *********:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter dated February 5,2014, you expressed concern regarding two months of automatic payments to your auto and personal loan that were not debited from your ***** ***** ***** account. We have researched your accounts and determined the following events occurred:

On October 18, 2013, your savings account charged off because of a negative balance. On November 27, 2013, you visited our ***** branch and satisfied the charged- off account by paying the negative balance in full. In addition, you made your November 2013 payments on both loans. 

During this time, your credit card also charged off because of non payment. You paid that balance in full December 2013.

Due to the status of the charged off savings and credit card, your accounts were restricted and the automatic payment from your ***** ***** ****** account to your loans could not be processed.

This happens when: "any member who has for any reason caused VACU to suffer a loss on a loan, share account or otherwise, will be denied further use of VACU's services or products until the loss is fully recovered or until repayment arrangements are made that are satisfactory to VACU in its sole and absolute discretion" as stated in our Denial Service Policy.

We also mailed you payment reminders for the December 2013 and January 2014 payments for both loans.

On February 5, 2014, you returned a call to our Collections Department. They advised that our automatic payments were canceled because of the prior status of your charged off accounts. During the call, you requested assistance with both of your loan accounts because you were about to lose your job and could not afford the past due payments.

Our Collections Department offered you a re-age extension, which states that if you make three consecutive payments on both loans, you would qualify to have the past due payments added to the end of each loan balance. Please note: this offer is not interest free and the fees are nonrefundable. If you would like to begin the re-age extension process, please contact our Collections Department at your earliest convenience.

We are sorry that we cannot waive two months of payments to your loan. When you obtain loans from us you agree to make consecutive monthly payments until the loans are paid in full as outlined in your loan agreement. We sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to provide the highest level of service. If you have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
***** ********
Executive Vice President

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently completed an application for a loan with my bank ******* ******* ** in September 2013 and was denied credit, because of a bankruptcy that I never filed and only being reported by the VACU. I contacted the VACU and spoke with ****** she researched my account and I was advised when I changed my address in 2010, the bankruptcy indicator was placed on my account and sent to the credit bureau. She also stated that it has been corrected and she sent an apology letter explaining what happen. I applied for a mortgage loan and found out that VACU is still reporting bankruptcy and this has a huge impact on my credit score. It’s been four months and I was told that this has been resolved. I called the VACU two weeks ago and they are telling me that it is my responsibility to dispute this with my credit bureau I do not have time to fight with the credit bureau. I work 3 jobs to take care of my family I am too busy. As a customer VACU should fix their mistake. I am highly upset with the VACU and the services I have received.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the VACU to contact all 3 credit bureaus to fix their mistake and remove the bankruptcy indicator.

Business Response: Dear *** *******:

Thank you for contacting the BBB and VACU. In your letter
dated Janurary 27. 2014, you expressed concern about the reporting of a
bankruptcy on your credit report. Our records indicate that the following
events occurred:

-In September 2010, an error occurred with an internal
process when updating your address in our sstem and your account records were
erroneously marked as being included in a bankruptcy. The bankruptcy status was
removed from your account records and updated with the Credit Reporting
Agencies on December 31, 2010, when we were originally made aware of this
error.

-On September 18, 2013, we received a letter from you
requesting that we research and update the inaccurate reporting of your loans. We
reviewed the reporting and determined that all the information was reporting
accurately with no bankruptcy indicators showing on your credit report. We mailed
you a letter confirming this information.

-On January 24, 2014, we received an electronic request from
the Credit Reporting Agencies to research your credit dispute regarding the
reporting of a Bankruptcy on your credit report. We verified all information as
reporting accurately with no bankruptcy indicators showing on your credit
report.

-Upon receipt of this letter, we obtained a copy of your
report from each of the credit reporting agencies and verified that your loan
accounts are not reporting as bankrupt.

We regret that your experience was not as you expected and
sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is Virginia
Credit Union’s pledge to provide the highest level of service. If you have
additional questions or find this information still reporting after today’s
date, please contact our Resolution Department directly at **** *** **** ex
**** and ask for a member of the Loan Team.

****** *********

1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been a loyal customer to VCU, Inc for several years, I've always made my payments on time, and have always experienced nothing but good services from them. Unfortunately, it seems that ever since my income has become very limited a few months ago, I've only experienced the ugly side of VCU, Inc. I have a personal loan, and a credit card with them that I owe on. Yes, I have received the letters they have sent to me, but in calling the number listed on them ************ ext ****, it doesn't seem to get me any where. I left one message and to my knowledge I hadn't received a call back. The other times I just simply hung up due to wait times. Because my income is limited, my phone is now shared with someone else as part of their term for helping keep it on, so if VCU, Inc has called I may not always receive the call. I did on a few occasions talk to a VCU Inc agent and the main response I seem to get is something along the lines of "you must pay either half or all of the balance" and at one point I did speak with a *** ****** regarding the accounts to which I received a response of "the credit union will sue you for all that you owe if we do not receive full payment". If they would just be a little more reasonable, I'm trying to work with other relatives about getting some help in making and maintaining payments until my income problem improves, but with the way the economy is these days everyone is hurting financially. I've never been sued in my life, and have always worked well with VCU, Inc, I've even referred a few new customer to them. I just wish that they would have worked a little bit with me for the years of loyalty I've given them.

Desired Settlement: I just need a little bit more time, one relative has stated that she will help me in paying $100 to each account (personal loan and credit card) every month until my income situation improves. Those funds will be sent to me by Nov. 8, 2013. This is the best that any one in my family is willing to do for me. I'm working at getting employment, so once that happens I can resume making full payments. Until then, I can now guarantee that $100 will be made to each account every month.

Business Response: Dear ** ******:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter dated November 2, 2013, you expressed concern about your loans and the payment arrangements made through our Collections Department. We have researched your accounts and determined that the following events occurred:

On January 17, 2013, you contacted us to request help with your credit card payments since your work hours had been reduced. Our Collections Representative, ******, explained that our Reage Program would bring your account up to date after three months of timely minimum payments. She entered you into that program, you made the required payments and we removed your account from delinquent status. 

On October 29, 2013, you again contacted us for help because you had become unemployed and had no other income sources. You explained you needed assistance with all three of your loan accounts. ****** advised that we would need to proceed with legal action since two of the accounts were more than 60 days past due and we are unable to make payment arrangements for members that have no income sources.

On November 4, 2013, you contacted us and advised you were still unemployed but had a family member willing to help you until you could regain employment. You and ***** agreed you would pay $***** per month on each account. ****** asked you to maintain contact and provide her with future dates you would be making payments. We did not proceed with legal action since we were able to make this arrangement. 

We regret that your experience was not as you expected and sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to provide the highest level of service. If you have additional questions, please contact us.

Sincerely, 
*** *****
Vice President
Member Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Last month (November 4th) I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau against the Virginia Credit Union (complaint #*******) and later the credit union had sent a letter through the BBB to me stating that they would allow me to make payments of $*** on my accounts. However, just last week on Friday I received a notice from the Credit Union stating that if I do not make a payment to them for December, they were going to proceed with legal action against me. I already made a December payment to them on December 17th, I still have the receipt to prove this. When I went to the credit union and spoke with a teller, she told me that I received the letter because I did not make the $129.98 payment for November or December. Can the Virginia Credit Union go back on the agreement they made with me to allow me to make $100 payments? Even when I have a letter sating this agreement? This is wrong, what they are doing? I'm trying to work with them, I'm trying to get these payments to them on time, and up until my phone was disconnected (because than paying the phone company, I've been paying the credit union) I've been maintaining communication with ****** * in Virginia Credit Union's Collections Department. What more do they want from me? This is poor business practice to negotiate and accept an agreement, and then go back on it later.
 
Desired Settlement
I just want the Credit Union to honor its agreement with me. I've been trying hard to honor the agreement with them and make payments, and maintaining communication with ****** * in collections. Even after my phone service was suspended, when ever I was able to get transportation to the nearest Credit Union I made appointments with one of the associates to contact ****** * or Collections on my behalf so that communication was maintained somehow.
Desired Settlement: Other (requires explanation)


Regards,

***** ******




Business Response: Dear ** ******:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter dated January 2, 2014, you expressed concern about your loans and the payment arrangements made through our Collections Department. We have researched your accounts and determined that the following events occurred:

On November 4, 2013, you contacted us and advised you were still unemployed but had a family member willing to help you with your obligations until you could regain employment. You spoke with ******** and agreed to use the $100 a week you received toward you debts. ******** asked you to maintain contact and provide her with future dates of when you would be making payments. Based on this arrangement, Virginia Credit Union did not purse legal action.

Upon review of your loan accounts, we see that you have not paid per your arrangement and therefore you have voided any previous agreement.

On January 2, 2014, you indicated that you would be starting a new job the following week. We would be happy to speak with you and inform you of your options. Please call our Collections Supervisor, ******* at *** *** **** extension **** for further information.

We regret that your experience was not as you expected and sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to provide the highest level of service. If you have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
**** ********
Executive Vice President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the statement that Virginia Credit Union sent, they claimed that I did not make payments to them on my account ending in ****, which is what the initial complaint filed was regarding, and what this current complaint filed is regarding. I have made every attempt to maintain communication with their specified agent through various means. On November 5th, 2013 they were paid $130, on November 19th again they were paid $130, on December 17th they were paid $100, and informed me once again that the full payment of $130 must be paid, so on January 3rd 2014 I made the additional $30 payment.

I tried my very best to do as what they said, their initial agreement stated that I could make $100 dollar payments, but as it shows above each time I made an attempt to pay, I was told it had to be the full amount of $130. Now they say in this new statement that because of my failure, I voided their agreement. What is really going on with this place?? If anything, they voided the agreement from the beginning in not honoring what was agreed upon. I am very dissatisfied with the services I have been receiving from Virginia Credit Union. During the time I was employed and able to stay on top of everything, they seemed nice and always willing to work with you. The moment I lost my job and started having problems with maintaining everything, they suddenly do not want to work with you.
  
Regards,

***** ******




12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** * ************* ******* My mother and I (serving as one of her POAs) never imagined that finding out information in reference to this new vehicle loan would be so difficult. The loan for the ***** was established with the VACU. However getting just basic account information has been nerve racking. My Mother would provide the information that will allow me to speak with someone once a representative is on the phone. The representative will then speak with me, as her daughter, but I am not provided with any information. We have been feeling extremely frustrated and at a loss. The VACU would like my mother to change her power of attorney information and we have even been asked to get things in writing notarized. At this point, we would just like to sell the car. The higher bidder was ******* ***** where the car came from. The other three offers came from ******** ***, **** ***** ******** *** ******. We know that this account is currently in a collective status. However, we have been having a huge problem finding out information.

Desired Settlement: Ways that the BBB could help is to try to get the credit union to openly discuss the account with the account owner. We would like to sell the vehicle by November the 15th at the lastest. We would like a contact person at the VACU that could help us with this matter without any difficulties or dramas by providing pay off amount, collection information, and how to complete the deal between the dealership and the bank.

Business Response: November 5, 2013
***** * ****** **** ***** **** ********* ** **********
Dear *** ******:
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter dated October 31, 2013, your daughter addressed concerns that she was unable to get the payoff on your auto loan. We have researched your account and determined that the following events occurred.
On August 7, 2013, we received a call from your daughter inquiring about the payoff on your loan account. We informed her that we were unable to provide her with the payoff, since she is not listed as an account owner. When your daughter told us that she was your Power of Attorney, we explained that she needed to submit those documents to us because we have no record on file. Once we receive the documents, we can assist her with any account information that the POA guidelines permit.
On October 15, 2013, you contacted us for a lo-day payoff on your auto loan. The payoff provided was good through October 2Sl1l, 2013, for the amount of **********. If you need an updated payoff quote, . please cantad us and we will be happy to assist you.
We regret that your experience was not as you expected and sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is Virginia Credit Unions pledge to provide the highest level of service. If you have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.
*** **** **** ******** ****** Services Cc: Complaint #*******

11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Virginia Credit Union has decided to switch from **** to **********. All VACU customers were to receive their new ********** in the mail before their **** Credit Union card was deactivated. I had not received my card and called the Credit Union to inquire about my new card they told me it was sent, I do not recall the specific day but they have it on record and was able to tell me when I called in about this matter. They said that they would issue me another card and that it would take 7-10 business days, the 10 business days have well passed and I still have not received my card. My biggest issue outside of the fact that I have not received my new card is that, my card that I did have for the VACU was deactivated. I was stranded that day because I had no way of gaining access to my funds and therefore could not pay to get off of the parking deck that I was on. I called VACU and spent well over 40 minutes on the phone talking to three different representatives who were of no help to me. They were not willing to reactivate my card until I received my new one, but instead told me that they could locate some branches in the area for me and I could go there and withdraw my money. How that was going to help when it was almost five and I would need a vehicle to get to those destinations I do not know, I let the representative know exactly what was going on and why I needed my card to be reactivated. I asked if they could reactivate the card just so I could leave the premises I was on, I was told no. There is no record of anyone else receiving the card and using it, and there is no reason why I should be waiting for over three weeks for a new card to access my account. The option of going into a branch to withdraw and deposit funds is out of the question. I work Mon-Sat, I am up and out the door before the bank opens and I do not return home from work until well after 7 every evening. I should not have to go into work late or get off early because the Credit Union hasnt issued to me what they should've. That is why my wife called to see if she could get the situation taken care of on Oct 31 when she received and address confirmation from the Credit Union but still no new card, they told her there was nothing they could do, and I would need to call back in myself. The representative told her that when he calls back in we can figure something out. Yet I have called at least twice in regards to this matter and it still hasnt been rectified.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the situation to be rectified professionally and for this to never happen again in the future. If the Credit Union will be making such a drastic change their first and foremost goal and concern should be there customers and their satisfaction. I am not a satisfied customer at this moment, and feel that the credit union has taken the situation too lightly.

Business Response: Dear ** ****

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter dated November 1, 2013, you expressed concern about your new ********** debit card. We have researched this matter and found the following events occurred:

On August 30, 2013, we mailed your new ********** debit card to replace your existing **** debit card. The ** ****** ****** returned the new card because the address was not correct. Since our mail does not forward, items returned to us are destroyed.

On October 8th, 2013, you contacted ****, our card servicing partner, and explained that you had not received your new card. They marked your first card as lost or stolen and issued you a second card.

October 24th, 2013, you contacted our Contact Center and advised us that  you still had not received your new card and were now unable to use your existing card. You provided us with your new address and we asked that you contact **** to report your card as lost or stolen. You responded at that time that you would not call them to report the missing card.

On November 7th, 2013, ***** in our Resolution Department contacted you in response to your letter. She explained that she had requested your card be marked lost or stolen with our Card Services Department and was rushing a new card to your at the credit union's expense.

We regret the inconvenience that you experienced with limited access to your funds. It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to provide the highest level of service. It is critical to our servicing effort that you notify us promptly if  your address changes. If you have additional questions, please contact us. Thank you for using your credit union and allowing us to serve your financial needs. 

Sincerely,
*** ****
Vice President 
Member Services

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Auto Loan was paid 4/4/2011- the balance on the auto loan is $0.00 *** refuses to give me my title due to a loan my husband (primary) had and he filed ** ******* *

Desired Settlement: The car has been paid off for two years and a few months. I would like my title. I did due dillengence to pay the loan off after the **. If the title is not going to be returned. I would like ALL of my money back that I paid after the filing of the ******* *. Either you give me my title or give me my money back. Its unfair that you hold my title for something that like this.

Business Response: Dear ** *******:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. Please accept this letter in response to your inquiry of October 31, 2013. In your complaint, you expressed your concern regarding the title release to the **** ***** *****. We have researched your accounts and are providing the following information.

On March 31, 2010, you initiated ********** ******* *. Upon notification Virginia Credit Union mailed you a letter regarding the ********** and its effects on your membership. On July 20,2010, you ********** ******* * discharged.

On June 7, 2011, you visited one of our branches and we explained our cross collateral clause, which was included in your signed loan agreement. The cross collateral clause provides that the Credit Union may hold the title until any outstanding loan balances with Virginia Credit Union have been satisfied. We also mailed you a copy of our security agreement highlighting the clause for your review.

Please not we are only responding to your complaint and this is not a attempt to collect a debt. We hope this information has helped to explain the events that occurred. If we can be of further assistance please call us.

Sincerely.
*** ****
Vice President 
Member Services

10/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/07/13, I received 5 insufficient fund fees, eventhough I had sufficient funds in my account to cover each transaction. My account now has a balance of -146.66, due to all of the insufficient fees that was incorrectly assessed. Before the 1st fee hit, I had 137.11 in my account. I made 5 purchases, which totaled $133.80, which should have left me with a balance of $3.31. I called the Virginia Credit Union on 10/08/13 to dispute these fees and the rep advised me that the fees were correct and there was nothing that could be done about reversing the fees. There is no way possible I should have received any fees, since my transactions totaled 133.80 and there was 137.11

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the insufficient fund fees reversed off of my account.

Business Response: Dear *** ****
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau(BBB) and Virginia Credit UNion. In your letter you address concerns about overdraft fees assessed to your account in error and that we were not willing to refund any of these fees. Our records indicate that you contact us on October 8, 2013, regarding this situation and the follow events occured:
On December 13, 2010, you "opted in" to Federal Regulation E which allows your debit card purchases to be approved, even if sufficent funds are not available on your account to cover the charges. You agreed by "opting in" to pay any overdraft fees associated with your purchase. On October 8, 2013, you requested we opt you out of this service ao any tansactions made by this debit card would be declinded and you would avoid paying overdraft fees.
We discussed our online banking features to help you better manage your account. You informed us that you currently use this feature to determine your balance; however you do not keep a checkbook register to accurately track your account. You might also wish to consider setting up a balance alert in you online banking to notify you immediately when your accounts fall below a certain dollar amount. This will allow you to make the necessary adjustments to your account and aviod these fees in the future. IN addition, we have mobile banking where you can set up similar alerts to text you when your balance gets low.
A representative reviewed wach overdraft and determined that you dod not have sufficent funds on depoist to cover the transactions. however, as a one-tme courtest we refunded $75.00 of $150.00 incurred.
We regret that your ecperience was not as you expected and sincerely hope this infomation has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is critical that you continually monitor your accounts and maintain an accurate check register to aviod fees in the future. Please feel free to contact us at the numbers listed above if you have further questions.
Sincerely,
**** ******

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently on bedrest due to complications of pregnancy after I received a loan from Virginia credit union. I also received a credit card after I was put on bed rest. I was told by the represnatitive they would work with me due to complications. I have been a great customer and paid previous loans on time. I dont want my credit destroyed due to my complications. I just ask for an extension which they would not reward to me. My baby life is first priority to me. I never been late on a loan or credit card ever and should be able to get an extension.

Desired Settlement: Please allow me an extension due to my complications for my baby. I always paid previously but I am had an high risk pregnancy and can't work at the moment.

Business Response: Dear *****

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. We tried reaching you by phone on several occasions but were unsuccessful. In your letter, you addressed concerns about not being able to make your loan and credit card payments on time due to complications from your pregnancy.

At the time of disbursement, you selected ************** on your installment loan. This protection could potentially pay your payments on your loan while you are out on disability. **********, the insurance provider of this coverage, would determine whether your disability would be covered or not once a claim is filed and proper documentation is received from your physician. Since we have not spoken to you, we have not been able to discuss these options with you and process a claim on your behalf. In order to start the process, please contact us and provide us with your last day worked. Unfortunately, this coverage is not available on credit cards. However, our collections Department is available to help make payment arrangements with you on your credit card.

It is Virginia Credit Union’s pledge to exceed our members’ expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. Please contact us at *********** as soon as possible to provide us with the information needed to begin your claim process.

Sincerely,
********

5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Virginia Credit Union cashed 3 checks (2 personal and 1 cashiers) amounting to close to $20,000 on 4/9/2013. They were supposed to call me to confirm the payment of my balance in full, and in fact, the excess payment of the balance of my account. They were supposed to confirm the sending of my title to ******** ***** ****** *****, the purchasing institution of my car. Today I received the notice of late payment on my account and collection efforts, in addition another late charge. I have been hand holding the bank through the entire purchase process when I should be the customer and I should be the one taken care of. This is the second time I have paid off a car with them and they have made it extraordinarily difficult and riddled with problems on both occasions. On top of which the constant letters and badgering with poor follow-up execution is harrassing. On top of which, because they have not updated my account they will attempt to withdraw over $500 from my account on the 15th and want to charge me $50 to stop it on an already overpaid account. When and if they make this withdrawal my total overpayment will equal overpayment of almost $700. I want my account updated to paid in full, all withdrawals to stop, the overpayment returned to me, the title sent to ***** ******** ****** Union in the supplied return envelope and late charges refunded. And my credit restored by report to all 3 credit unions.

Desired Settlement: I want my account updated to paid in full, all withdrawals to stop, the overpayment returned to me, the title sent to ***** ******** ****** ***** in the supplied return envelope and late charges refunded. And my credit restored by report to all 3 credit unions. Virginia credit union needs to be more responsible in its practices.

Business Response:
Dear *******

Thank you for contacting the BBB and Virginia Credit Union.
In your letter dated April 12, 2013, you addressed concerns about payments
received but not applied to your loan account as expected. We have requested
your account and have concluded the following:

On April 2, 2013, you contacted us for a 10 day payoff on
your auto loan. The payoff provided was good through April 12th,
2013, for $21,906.52. We also advised you that a payment was due for March 28th,
2013 and that the payoff amount included a late fee.

On April 8, 2013 you contacted us to ask if payoff checks
had been received and if automatic payments would continue on April 15th.
We explained that we had received one check in the amount of $3,795.64 earlier
that day and had applied it to your loan. We also explained that if we received
the other checks prior to the 15th no further automatic drafts would
take place. You asked for a payoff good for that day only which was $17,993.36.
Later that day, we received a second check in the amount of $110.36 which we
immediately applied to your loan.

On April 9, 2013, we received the third and final check in
the amount of $18,000.00. We immediately posted the payoff amount of $17,994.83
to your loan and mailed a check to you for the difference of $***** We updated
the ***** database electronically and provided them with the mailing
instructions that we received with the check from ************.

The **** normally mails titles within 10 days of receiving
notice. We do not contact each member by phone who pays off a loan; however we
do automatically mail a letter to members confirming payoffs on auto loans,
which was done. As promised; no further drafts will take place. This particular
payment was not reported to the credit bureaus since it was not 30days or more
delinquent. Any late payments prior to the payoff will remain a matter of
record with the credit bureaus.

We regret your experience was not as you expected and
sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. It is
Virginia Credit Unions pledge to provide the highest level of service. If you
have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,

*************




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When I called to confirm that the 3 checks had been received and applied the person I spoke to said that the check for $110.36 was unnessecary as the total loan debt had been satisfied by the check from ******** ***** ** for 18,000 and the ******** Check for 3,795.64. She said she would be returning the check for 110.36. I asked if she could instead issue a check for the 110.36 that was overpaid since my bank had already debited the amount. She replied that she did not know if that would be possible and would call me back to let me know how the amount would be refunded. I never was called back and received a late payment notice that Friday after all three checks had been cashed. She explained that the reason my 10-day payoff was too high was that car loans' interest is calculated daily. I asked her to do what she could to send me a check for the 110.36 and the next thing I received was a late payment notice that Friday.

Regards,

******* *******


 

 

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE TRIED TO GET A PAYOFF FOR MY CAR AND CREDIT CARD LOAN. I KEEP LEAVING MESSAGES TO THE NUMBER PROVIDED TO US ************ ****** ****** I NEVER HEARD ANYTHING BACK FOR MOTHS. WHENEVER I CALL THE MAIN NUMBER THEY ARE UNABLE TO HELP ME AND TRANSFER ME BACK TO THE NUMBER ABOVE. I WOULD LIKE TO PAYOFF MY DEBT AND NOT HAVE INTEREST PILE UP BUT UNFORTUNATELY THEY HAVE NOT GOT BACK TO AND PROVIDED ME WITH A PAYOFF AMOUNT AND IN THE END I HAVE TO KEEP PAYING THE INTEREST ASSOCIATED WITH THE LOANS.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD JUST LIKE FOR VACU TO PROVIDE ME WITH THE PAYOFF AMOUNT SO THAT I CAN GET THIS RESOLVED ASAP

Business Response:







Dear *******

Thank you for contacting the BBB and Virginia Credit Union.
In your letter dated April 12, 2013, We tried reaching you by phone, but were
unsuccessful. In your letter, you addressed concerns about leaving numerous
messages without any response for months regarding obtaining a payoff on your
charged off loan accounts. Upon further research, we have found the following:

The telephone number listed on your complaint is not a valid
number for Virginia Credit Union. It appears to be a *******cellular number.
Your contact person that you have been working with is ****** and her direct
number is **********.

Since the loans went into a collection status ,we understand
that you have been working with ****** and she has provided payoffs for these
loans on several occasions as well as worked with you on setting up payment
plans.

On May 6, 2013 we again provided payoffs for both loans. The
payoff for loan ****** was ****** with a daily per Diem of *****. The payoff
for loan ***** was ****** with a daily per Diem of *****.

Please contact the resolution department at *********** if
you have additional questions.

It is Virginia Credit Union’s pledge to exceed our members’
expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. Thank you again
for taking time to make sure we are providing you with the service you deserve
as a member.

Sincerely,

*********




5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to follow thru with taken actions on my acct. a restriction wasplaced on my acct because of a late payment on my loan acct. The acct was paid and in good standard until next month due date. I was told the restriction would be removed the next business day. Payment was made on 4/1/13 (Mon) and here the day is 4/4/13 and the restriction has ot been touched. I have two return checks so far because they will not take care of this matter. I just got off the phone with them and was told the matter will be taken care of tomorrow(4/5/13). They have caused me more trouble with other accts because of their not wanting to do their jobs.

Desired Settlement: They my money becomes accessible to me today.

Business Response: ******* * ***** ***** **** ** ********** ** **********
Dear *** *****:

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and ******** ****** *****. We tried reaching you by phone, but were unsuccessful. In your letter, you addressed concerns about a restriction placed on your debit card due to a delinquent credit card payment. You stated that you were charged overdraft fees and checks were returned because the restriction was not removed once the credit card was brought current.
Upon further research, our records indicate that there was indeed a delay in removing the restriction from your debit card. We apologize for the delay and have notified the ******* of our Collections department to avoid these types of delays going forward. Also, the restriction would not have prevented checks from clearing your account. Upon review of your account history no checks were returned during this time period and no fees were assessed to your account.
Please contact the Resolution department at ***** ******** ********* **** if you have additional questions.
It is ******** ****** ******* pledge to exceed our members' expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. Thank you again for taking time to make sure we are providing you with the service you deserve as a member.

Sincerely, . ..,

********* **** ********* ****** ******** *** ********* ********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

******* *****


 

 

I apologize for just getting back with you. The issue with the VA CREDIT UNION has been resolved. They did contact me the next day after the complaint was made and told me the issue had been resolved and apologized for the inconvience it caused. I am awaiting the decision on the fees I was charged during the time frame the credit union locked my acct. Thank you for your help and support during the time of inconvience for me.

4/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VACU added my name as a co-signer to a credit card without my authorization, sent the card to collection and reported it as delinquent without notifying me and will not resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the VACU to remove my name from the credit card records and inform all 3 credit checking bureaus of their mistake. I am hoping to recover some of the damage done to my credit by their mishandling of this issue.

Business Response: Please see attached. 

March 22, 2013

**** **** ******
*** ******** **
********* ** **********

Dear *** ******:

Please accept this letter in response to inquiries you made to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and the ******** ***** *********** **********, ****** ** ********* ************ (***). You expressed concern regarding yourself as a co-applicant on a credit card with your son, **** ** ******. We have researched your accounts and are providing the following information.

On May 19, 2012, you and your son submitted two joint applications, one for a $5,000.00 personal loan and the other for a $5,000.00 **** Platinum credit card. We fully approved the personal loan and we approved the credit card with a limit of $300.00.

The credit card soon became delinquent and our Collections department contacted your son on several occasions. Although he told us he had sent payments, we never received any. Starting in February of 2013, we no longer received a response to our calls. We contacted you as the co-applicant and you assured us your son had sent the payoff for the credit card. Immediately after our contact with you, *** ****** called us to say he could not make the payment. You then called back and made the payment by phone from your account.

After further review of your letter stating you were not aware that you were added as a co-applicant, we will remove the negative reporting from your credit report. Please allow up to 45 days for the Credit Reporting Agencies to update their records.

It is Virginia Credit Union's pledge to exceed our members' expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. If you have any questions or further concerns, please contact us at (***) ******** or (***) ********.

Sincerely,
***** ********
********* **** *********
Member Services

Cc: ******* ******* BBB Complaint #********
Cc: ***** ** ***** *** Complaint #*****

3/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a few problems with ****** ****** money from my account. I resolved the issues with ****** and get the money refunded to my bank account, but during this period of time my bank account kept getting over drawn from the NFS fees and the fact that the account was constantly overdrawn due to the ****** thing. Then ****** wrote me a letter to take to the bank to show that the transactions were not authorized by me to go through. The letter stated that they would like for the bank to delete or take away the NFS fees from the account that resulted from the ****** withdraws. Well I talked to the bank manager and they said ****** had to pay it because they will not delete the NSF fees. I spoke with ****** again and they said I needed to contact you because it is illegal for them to refuse to take the NSF fees away from my account due to an unauthorized transactions. That is why I am Contacting you now.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my account to be refunded the almost 500 dollars that they keep charging me for an unauthorized transaction. This account was even sent to collections.

Business Response: Dear ******
Thank you for contacting the BBB and Virginia Credit Union. We tried reaching you by phone, but were unsuccessful. In your letter, you addressed concerns about overdraft fees assessed to your account due to unauthorized transactions from ***** totaling $55.00. On February 5, 2013, we mailed you the “Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit (ARCH)” Dispute forms when we initially received your complaint. To date, we have not received a response from you.
We are enclosing additional copies of these dispute forms for you to complete. These forms must be completed for each transaction is refunded. There is a 60 day timeframe that you have from the time the transaction posts to your account to dispute any item. We are now past that deadline and your prompt attention to this matter is appreciated. You can either mail the forms in the postage paid envelope provided or fax them directly to us at **********.
It is Virginia Credit Union’s pledge to exceed our members ‘expectations and deliver the highest level of service possible. It is critical that you continually monitor your accounts and timely report any items in dispute to minimize losses for you and Virginia Credit Union. Please feel free to contact us at the numbers listed above if you have any further questions.
Sincerely,
****************

12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VACU issued **** SuperCheck card being used for several years is now being declined for unknown reason. VACU bank cannot explain why and instructed me to call ************ who is "******" card security operation. They state that they have put a hold on the account. Calling ****** on Wed., Nov 14, 2012 speaking with ******, she cannot locate any information about the card or my account. Further questions and checks, still no information about the account and finally disconnected (or call dropped).Attempt to call VACU and no answer. Online banking is "down" for maintenance.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of services and refund for issues and/or fees related to such problems created by these operations.

Business Response: November 29, 2012

**** ***** ********

**** ***** ***** *** ********* ** *****Dear Ms. ********:Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Virginia Credit Union. In your letter, you explained your concern about a restriction placed on your debit card. You also discussed your concerns later, by phone, about your statements and also about overdraft transfer fees applied to your checking account.Our research revealed the following events occurred:On October 29, 2012, our security monitoring company (******) placed a restriction on your debit card because the authorizations were out of your normal spending patterns. ****** tried to reach you but the telephone numbers on file for you were no longer valid.On November 13, 2012, you contacted Virginia Credit Union concerning the restriction on your card. We explained the blockage and urged you to contact ******. We advised you that you would need to verify account information when calling ****** before they would remove the restriction.On November 14, 2012, you contacted ******. They were not able to assist you because we did not have your current phone numbers on record. On November 27, 2012, we received your written complaint to the BBB. We removed the restriction from your debit card and updated your contact information as provided on your complaint letter. ***** ******, from you Resolution Department, left you a voicemail requesting that you contact us regarding these events.On November 28, 2012, you spoke with Ms. ****** and she notified you that we had removed the restriction from your debit card. During this call you explained your concern about paper statements being discontinued and several $5.00 overdraft transfer fees. This fee was implemented on September 1, 2010.After further research, we found that your wife requested electronic statements only for your accounts on October 29, 2009. You received information about overdraft transfer fees in July of 2010, prior to the implementation on September 1, 2010. Ms. ****** mailed you a copy of this communication that explains all the changes that went into effect at that time. We regret that your experience was not as you expected and sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. If you have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.Sincerely,***** ***************** **** *************** *********** ********* ********

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my boyfriend to the back to cash a check from a new online job he started through **********. The teller started to assist while scanning the check she realize the check may be fraudulent. We had a few questions about the check so we could get answers, so she called the manager to assist. My boyfriend informed him about the online position he took. The manager was very short and sarcastic with responding to our questions as if we were the criminals. So we decided to go to another branch to deal with another manager. They simply informed us they didnt have any information on the check and would call us after a few days to review. We also told them we had the emails regarding the job so they could catch the real criminal behind the scam. The next day I went back to the other branch (since it is closer to my home) to make a withdrawal from my account to find out it had been frozen. I was shocked to find this out through the drive thru because I and my boyfriend had separate accounts. The female teller was explaining to me the manager request the account to be frozen. Next thing I know I hear a mans voice on the intercom sarcastically saying ohh you dont remember me from yesterday and I can tell you when you will have access again. I didnt know who the man was because he did not state himself as the manger over the intercom. I felt I was holding up the drive thru line so decided to go in to talk with the manager. The lobby door was locked. The manager saw me outside and came out to speak with me. I was greeted rudely by him saying you lied you said you didnt remember me and you tried to go to another branch after leaving here, probably to cash your check again. I could not believe the way he was speaking to me. I told him we went to another branch to talk with a professional manager to assist with our needs which he failed to do that day. I just told him I needed access to my account for my everyday need (food, gas, etc.), since I keep all my money in the bank. He simply said ohh well I do not know what to tell you. I did get upset walked away and told him to go to **** because of his lack of empathy and from the way he treated me. A few days letter I got a call from the corporate office. I thought it was regarding the check so we could give the name of the business employer and emails; instead it was of the conversation of me and the manager. I was being reported for my behavior of telling him to go to ****. The manager left out all the information of how he spoke with me. I explained my side of the story and was told they would get back with me. Instead I received a letter in the mail stating my account was closed and I was unable to join a credit union because of my behavior. I feel as if my voice did not matter and I am reporting this for the back to be aware of how the managers try to get away with how they treat customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Virginia Credit Union to remove me off of their blocking list. This situation has affected me from opening up an account with other credit unions, when I did nothing wrong but defend myself. I also apologized for telling the manager to go to **** , hoping for on in return but again got no response from the manager or corporate. If they are unable to do that I want a refund for my members share fee of opening the account which should be refunded upon closing.

Business Response: Please see attached.


Thank you. 

November 5, 2012

****** *****
**** **** ****** **
******* ** **********

Dear *** *****:

Please accept this letter in response to a complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). In your letter, you expressed concern about being denied service. We have looked into this matter and we are providing you with the following information.

The credit union closed your account because we identified a risk associated with your transactions.

Your interaction with the branch personnel did not impact our decision to close your account.

We have closed your membership and refunded your membership fee as you requested. Please find a check for $**** enclosed.

We hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. Please contact us at the numbers listed above if you have additional questions.

Sincerely,

***** ********
********* **** *********
Member Services

Cc: Complaint # *******

Enclosure

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****


 

The letter of why they closed my account is false. I did not have a transaction under my name. My boyfriend was a victim of fraud, which they showed no concern for. He offered to give them emails of the man that he received the check from through a ********** job posting, but they showed no interest. All they were interested was closing both of our separate accounts. Concerning the branch manager he insulted me several times instead my voice is silence and he does not even get coached on speaking with customers respectfully. I admitted to standing up to the branch manger because I am a honest person. I feel the manager lied to corporate and they shut my side out.  I feel discriminated and want justice.

10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a $37 credit card payment by writing a check at ***** department store. The payment was drafted out of my Virginia Credit Union checking account the same day that I transfered the money into the checking account to make the payment. Because the money was not in the account at the time the payment was made an $30 NSF fee was applied to the account. Which I understand. But because the $30 fee was not paid within a certain amount of time my account was assesed a $5 daily fee. The total amount of fees applied to the account is $45.

Desired Settlement: I feel that $15 should be refunded back to my account. It does not seem fair to charge a fee on top of a fee. Espeically when it is not made clear that additional fees apply to the fee and that the fee has to be paid within a certin amount of time.

Business Response: October 12, 2012
 
**** ******** **** ***** ******* ** ********* ** **********
 
Dear Mr. ********:
 
Please accept this letter in response to a complaint you made to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding fees charged to your checking account. We have researched your account and are providing you with the following information:
 
On September 21, 2012 a transaction presented to your account from ***** Dept Store for $37.00. We paid the item but assessed a $30.00 overdraft fee. Later that day, you made a transfer to cover the $37.00, but not enough to cover the overdraft fee. Consequently your account was still overdrawn.

On September 27, 2012 your account remained overdrawn. We charge an additional $5.00 per day if your account remains overdrawn for five (5) consecutive business days. This charge applied through September 29, 2012 for a total of $15.00

On October 1, 2012, you transferred funds to being your account positive and the $5.00 daily fee no longer applied.
The $5.00 charge per day is limited to six (6) days for a maximum of $30.00.

You may wish to consider setting up a balance alert in your online banking to notify you immediately when your accounts fall below a certain amount. This will allow you to make the necessary adjustments to your account and avoid these fees in the future.

We regret that your experience was not as you expected and sincerely hope this has helped to explain the events that occurred. If you have additional questions, please contact us at the numbers listed above.

Sincerely,
***** ********
********* **** *********Member Services
Cc: Complaint #*******

8/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service