Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Call Federal Credit Union?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Call Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 274-1200 Fax: (804) 525-7811 View Additional Phone Numbers 4605 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234 http://www.callfcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Financial Services


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Call Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Call Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Call Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2005 Business started: 09/01/1962 Business incorporated: 09/01/1962 in
Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Roger B. Ball, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger B. Ball, C.E.O.
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 3640 Call Federal Drive, Suite 100

    Midlothian, VA 23112 (804) 276-2666

  • 3660 Mayland Court

    Richmond, VA 23233 (804) 249-6888

  • 4605 Commerce Rd

    Richmond, VA 23234 (804) 274-1200 (800) 796-2328

  • 9397 Atlee Road

    Mechanicsville, VA 23116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been very disappointed with our recent experience with the Call Federal Credit Union mortgage department. We contacted them about a second mortgage and spoke initially to a ****** ****** who prequalified me for the loan I was interested in. She asked Mrs. **** what my house was worth and she didn’t know how to answer that since she is not an appraiser and the only clue she had was the Chesterfield County real estate assessment which was $219,000. She did tell her that she felt it was worth approximately $200,000 - $210,000. This seemed reasonable since we refinanced with their bank in 2012 with our first mortgage and the appraisal at that time was $210,000. Because we were led or misled to believe we had enough equity in our home to get this loan, we signed the papers and moved forward with the bank process. However, ****** called after the appraisal was done and said it was only appraised for $173,000, $37,000 below the 2012 appraisal and $46,000 below the county assessment. We were needless to say upset since we were broadsided because we essentially were being turned down for the loan we applied for. They then did a bait and switch on us and offered a loan at a higher interest rate and their attitude has been suspicious to say the least. They have repeatedly refused to answer phone calls, emails or communicate with us in any way. Then, on Saturday the 28th of February, Mr. **** went to a Call Federal Credit Union branch to make a deposit in the savings account and pay the mortgage only to find out that they have put a hold on both of our savings accounts without communicating with us in any way even though we have several calls into them. We have been led to believe that the credit union is there for the good of its members and since we’re members with a perfect paying record – we are on time with everything and have paid off 2-3 installments loans already. We are having a hard time understanding the tactics they are using. If they didn’t want to loan us the money why didn’t they just say so instead of proceeding with the closing costs on a loan they didn’t intend to give us. To low ball the value of our house and then refuse to answer calls and questions is not good customer service or business in any way. Also, ****** did not tell us that we would be responsible for closing costs if they refused to give us the loan. At least one other credit union in the area doesn’t even charge closing costs. Does this credit union care so little for its members that they confiscate their funds without notice? Our motivation is to improve our financial status and we thought the credit union would help us achieve our financial goals. How can we trust an institution that would do such a thing? We think it only fair for them to release our savings and pay the low ball appraisal since its way off the market value of our home. The appraiser was only at our home a very short time and the comparables used weren’t in a similar neighborhood and she took no measurements when she was there. We were told by ****** ****** that we could dispute the appraisal but were not told the steps to take. Also, we were still considering the other loan that we were offered when they froze our funds. In fact, in speaking with ***** *****, the county appraiser, she has informed me after discussing our home’s recent addition and other amenities that the assessment with be going up as they have the square footage of the home wrong because they didn’t realize that the addition on our home is part of the living space and heated and cooled. So it will be more than $219,000 at the next county assessment. We would have contacted Call FCU directly but since they won’t answer calls or emails we feel helpless to resolve the situation on our own.

Desired Settlement: To release our savings and pay for their own inaccurate appraisal.

Business Response:

Dear Sir
Thank you for reaching out to us and giving us the opportunity to address concerns from one of
our members.
We take pride in being a well-respected credit union in the Richmond area and have been for
over SO years. Member satisfaction is very important to us and we strive to achieve this daily.
We would like to give you a summary of the loan application submitted by Mr. and Mrs. ****
which is as follows:
Application Submitted online
($50,000.00 2nd Mortgage)
1/13/15
Disclosures mailed 1/15/15
(Using an estimated 80% Loan to Value based on prior appraisal of $215,000.00, ******
$204,755.00 and County assessment $219,000.00. Applicant stated that their home was valued
at $220,000.00 on their application)
Rate as of 1/13/15 3.17% (up to 80% Loan to Value)
Rate as of 1/29/15 4.00 (after receiving appraisal Loan to Value was 95%)
Our rates are based on credit, loan to value and term.
Approved and appraisal ordered 1/20/15
(After receiving signed application and disclosures)
Received appraisal 1/29/15
Appraisal came in at $173,000.00.
Loan to Value went from 80% to 95% 

 Discussed this with the members and explained to them they could dispute the appraisal in
writing and we would forward it to the appraisal management company if they did not agree
with the value. We have had several occasions where appraisals were disputed. We did not
receive information from members to send in to dispute the value.
Mr. and Mrs. **** were never turned down for the loan request as they stated. Once the
appraisal came in we had to modify the amount based on our policy. We were always willing to
work the loan out in a manner that benefited them.
Our original conversation with any mortgage applicant is based on ******, ******, County
Assessment and prior appraisals. It is up to the member to determine if they think that there is
adequate equity to process a loan once we share the information we gather with them. We
have no control over appraised values and are not certified appraisers. We order appraisals
from an appraisal management company that contract with certified appraisers in many
different states.
After conversations with the members the loan amount was lowered to $41,000.00 at 4% and
re-disclosed to members and they signed and agreed to the new terms on 2/10/15.
In the mortgage packet the members signed a disclosure that if any costs are incurred and the
loan does not close they are responsible for third party costs.
It Is standard procedure for the credit union to put a hold on an account for unpaid fees for
services performed as requested by a member. The costs incurred were $530.00 not the
$658.00 as stated by Mr. ****.
The Senior Mortgage Loan Consultant as well as myself have had several conversations with the
****'s. We also had numerous phone calls and emails from them that we responded to in
January and February.
1/20, 1/21,2/6,2/9,2/10,2/11,2/12
At this point we are ready to close the loan for Mr. and Mrs. **** if they would like to proceed
with the loan. Please have them contact us to set a closing date.
Sincerely,

****** ******* * *
Retail Lending Manager 

?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

LACK OF PHONE RESPONSE

First let me state that the bank department in question has not been willing to either return phone calls or even respond to email request for calls and there is documentation to back up this claim that will be offered in a follow-up statement.

UNWILLING TO PROVIDE AGREED LOAN OR INTEREREST RATE

Attached is the Truth in Lending agreement which offered a loan amount of $50,000 and interest rate of 3.17%.  Note that the CFCU was the one unwilling to provide this loan.  We have never canceled any loan.

The bank CFCU's excuse for not providing the agreed loan amount and interest rate is based on a defective appraisal for which we will provide additional information in an additional message to follow.


Regards,

***** ****




6/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My credit card number was fraudulently used to purchase ***** * ***** ($589.74 total). I disputed the credit card charges in writing with Call Federal Credit Union. Call Federal denied the dispute. They are breaking Federal Law.Law says I am not liable for fraudulent purchases.I am having to make call after call and I still haven't gotten satisfactory results.

Desired Settlement: Credit my account and take off the fraudulent charges.

Business Response: This customer's expenses and charges related to the fraudulent use have all been credited to his account.  The customer did not describe in his complaint that the new card that was issued to him also had the same problem with the same merchant, causing us to question if the fraud was real, or perhaps someone within the household.  We work diligently to resolve all fraud charges as quickly as possible, the customer's expectations in this case were unrealistic.  Again, the customer's credit limit was increased during the incident so he could use the new card, just as he had the previous card.  The fact that the customer was at his limit is not a issuer problem, instead a customer problem.   

4/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable