Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Doug's Carpet House, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Doug's Carpet House, Inc. include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Doug's Carpet House, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 01/01/1977 in VA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Douglas M. Simms Sr., President Ms. Sandra Brown, Office Manager Ms. Lois C. Simms, V.P. and Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas M. Simms Sr., President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Furniture - Retail Furniture Designers & Custom Builders Floor Covering Stores (NAICS: 442210)

Alternate Business Names
Simms Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 4901 Jefferson Davis Highway

    Fredericksburg, VA 22408 (540) 898-0003

  • 806 N. Main Street

    Culpeper, VA 22701


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired them, and paid 50% up front, to have 1 room, stairs, and a catwalk converted to hardwood. A process that started in the end of Feb. It is July 14th an and we still have not had the job completed. Oh the excuses; 2 weeks they said, the mill is running behind. Then, one more month, the mill lost the order. Then, "well, the paperwork never went to the mill, we need to come back and remeasure". Seriously! During this process they never reached out to me and provided an update, I had to call them (and I pulled my cell records) 32 times for updates! 32!!! June 1st, the installation team comes out to the house but they don't have risers for the steps, and the treads are not correct. The guys came back out on 9 June, and the treads were cut on the wrong side, they had them all backwards with the opening facing the wall. Back up with the railing and we continue to walk on the subflooring for another few weeks while they sort this next round of failures out. Oh, I should mention that I have 3 young children, that's a ton of fun with stairs with barely installed spindles on the railing. Came out to "finish" on June 23rd. Did not remove the old treads as agreed and just did an overlay, so now my stairs are the wrong height on the first and last steps and are officially out of code. The nosing is wrong on the top stair and extremely noticeable. The stain color is all over the place and looks very bad. Several stairs are noticeably lighter then others. They left again without completing the job and then sent me a full priced invoice. Multile requests for elevation inside the company have not been ignored. Supposed to come out on July 12th to finish. Again, they sent a worker out without the proper tools and have to reschedule. Our home was to have photographs taken for listing on the MLS, which we had to reschedule. Once again, they find a way to set a low bar and then fail to achieve it.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job, correct all the errors. Then lets start the conversation about what the final bill is going to look like. I have missed 9 days of work dealing with this issue. Plus the money I am out from the photographers this past week. 9 times 8 hours, they owe me for 72 hours of missed work. Do the job you signed up to do 5 months ago when you took my money. I have also filed a BBB report on the corporate headquarters of ***** *******

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****** ******
First, thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint from Mr. Gleason. In general I agree with Mr. ******* assertion that this job took too long to complete. Unfortunately, a majority of these delays were caused by our supplier for the wood treads and risers. I'm not trying to dodge responsibility because Mr. ******* is my customer and it was unfortunate he had to live through the trouble with my supplier and other delays on our part to complete this project. talked to Mr. ******* today and I will meet with them at their house to thoroughly understand what we need to do to complete this job. Mr. ******* said he will call me back after talking to his wife to schedule an appointment next week as they are out of town this week. I will follow up with you after the meeting to document what is left to complete and any commitments I made to him to finish this project to his satisfaction.

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reported a materials fault complaint to the local branch where I contracted services on or about 12/1/14. I never received a call back. After 2 follow up calls I was told my claim was forward the Fredericksburg, VA office to the attention of Louise S****. I called asking to speak to her at least 3 times never receiving a reply. On the 3 call sometime in January the branch manager accidently pick up the line. I explained who I was and why I was calling and Steve S****** took ownership of the claim. He replied to me about a week later saying my claim was out of warranty. Being upset at all my effort and getting I can't help you answer, I politely expressed how I felt about their overall service and was going to let the public know about it. Steve stated he would reconsider and get back to me. About 3 weeks later he called to say he would re-grout my tile at no cost to me and ask I give him a few weeks to set up. I was never called again. I called Steve speaking to him directly several more times. In March I caught him on vacation and he told me "if I tell you it will be done, IT WILL BE DONE I have never heard from him or anyone else since. Today is 6/3/2015.

Desired Settlement: I am extremely hesitate to allow The Carpet House to now do the work they committed to do... I may end up with a bigger problem than I have now. So really want the public to know about my experience.

Business Response: We have reviewed the complaint and understand our customer hesitation to allow Carpet House to do the work that we committed to complete. His statement of the problem was accurate.
I want to only emphasize what our customer stated concerning being 10 months out of warranty when the first call was placed on the grout cracking issue. Normally to have us come out to do repairs outside of the warranty period we would require our customers to pay a service fee. Because we relay so heavily on “word of Mouth” for sales, we frequently go above and beyond to satisfy out customers even when it is out of warranty or not out issue.
The only reason this work was not completed as promised was due to human error. The service request was misfiled and never placed on schedule. I apologize for my mistake.
I would like to request of our customer the opportunity to complete the repair and satisfy our commitment to him. Please let me know if he is open to my request.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Doug's Carpet House, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)