Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Small Country Campground

Phone: (540) 967-2431 Fax: (540) 967-1667 4400 Byrd Mill Rd, Louisa, VA 23093 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Small Country Campground meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Small Country Campground include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Small Country Campground
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1976 in VA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. William E Small , Owner Ms. Ruth Small, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William E Small , Owner
Business Category

Campgrounds & RV Parks

Additional Locations

  • 4400 Byrd Mill Rd

    Louisa, VA 23093 (540) 967-2431


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: At 1215 at night there were some major drunks throwing fireworks in the road, beer cans around,,loud music and dropping the f bomb all night and no staff member doing anything about it,,I had to call the staff at 1215 at night and at 1245 a vehicle just drove by the site, the campground " policy" which is not in writing on any forms says quite hours from 11 to 8 am. All the staff sad the next day was " gee. Sorry" I think I should be credited 40 to 50 dollars , also lots of glass and trash in hue woods, lake and campsites,

Desired Settlement: Reimbursed on my credit card 40 to 50 dollars

Business Response: Dear *** ********:
It is with great sorrow that I respond to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau regarding problems at Small Country Campground.  We pride ourselves as a family-oriented campground and we try very hard to prevent and eliminate problems with drunks, druggies, wife-beaters and other low-life forms.  Our printed policy on our map and all hand-out material clearly states that our quiet hours are 11 pm to 8 am and we try deligently to enforce that rule.  That some individuals choose to ignore the rules and ruin other's sleep makes no sense to us.  Nor can we entirely be held accountable for the actions of others.  And, as you know, there are bad apples in every barrel.  So we regret that these individuals acted badly.  On the other hand, I would like to understand how putting money back on your credit card will in any way repair the damage already done???  And while I am agreeable to giving you what you asked for, you will need to provide your credit card for us to reimburse.  So how will that work?
Regarding the "lots of glass and trash in the woods," I invite you and the BBB to come out and walk the property at any time and find trash anywhere.  We are very deligent about picking up the property...even deep into the woods.  Small Country has been here for 38 years and have hosted three generations of campers.  We could not continue growing if all you said is true.
Perhaps you will come back and give us another chance.

******* ** *****, Owner
Small Country Campground

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ***** have went out of there way to target us doing our stay there ruin our vacation. ** ***** in particular had approach me several times trying to make me mad for some reason. Finally ending our stay when he approach me and cuss at me me about driving my truck. I had just finish packing our items and were head back to the camp site when we stop by the store to pick up our kids. During our stay I made sure we stay well below the speed limit and made sure we did not stirred up dust. I find his actions un called for and very rude.

Desired Settlement: A written apology

Business Response: Dear Sir:
Small Country Campground has been in business more than 38 years.  In these nearly 4 decades we rarely have encountered guests who are rude and disrepectful as you were.  We tried on several occasions to slow you down, to ask you to follow the rules and otherwise behave.  This campground is full of children who often run in the road and it is necessary to enforce the 10-mile-per-hour speed limit to prevent accidents.  You didn't want to comply.  And then you confronted one of the owners in a manner that suggested assault.  Sorry, Sir, but this is a family campground and we don't cater to folks who don't want to enjoy and share a safe environment. 

Consumer Response: That is total **

I stayed way below the speed limit and made sure I did not stirred up any dust, The only rude ones was you. The only time anyone approach us about driving was when ** ***** approach me using foul language. He did not mention once that we were speeding just complaining that we were not walking. At first I thought he was joking until he assured me he was not.******

Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.*****; For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


****** ******