Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

P & M Cabinets Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 798-4529 118 Thompson Street, Ashland, VA 23005

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Custom cabinets for kitchen & baths, bookcases and entertainment centers and other custom woodwork

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that P & M Cabinets Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for P & M Cabinets Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on P & M Cabinets Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1988 in VA Business incorporated 02/10/2002 in
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thomas W. Pemberton IV, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas W. Pemberton IV, President
Business Category

Cabinet Manufacturer

Method(s) of Payment
Cash or Checks

Additional Locations

  • 118 Thompson Street

    Ashland, VA 23005 (804) 798-4529

  • P. O. Box 397

    Ashland, VA 23005


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/30/13 my husband and I signed a contract w/ *** ********* at P&M Cabinets to construct kitchen, bathroom, living room, and office cabinets for our home that is under construction. The contract listed a completion/installation date of 12/3/13 (this date was selected by *** ********* solely) with a price of $28k. We gave him a $14k down payment on this date. On 12/3/13 (late afternoon) we had 1-2 cabinet boxes installed in our house. Approximately a week or two later my husband and I met w/ *** ********* in person at the construction site to discuss quality and delay issues, at which time he said he had given us an unrealistic completion/installation date and admitted to sloppy/poor quality work in the house. He agreed to remove the entertainment center cabinet and re-build and stain it, this after staining issues w/ this piece at his shop and after the initial installation of this piece. Quality issues: uneven stain on multiple cabinets, screw holes through the fronts of drawers on multiple drawers in baths and kitchen, cracked drawers from screws on multiple drawers in baths and kitchen, unevenly hung cabinet doors, cracks on book shelves/cabinets, among other things. We met w/ *** ********* once more at the property after the Christmas holiday to have another discussion about continued poor quality and poor installation. He agreed to remove the kitchen island, sand it down and re-stain it. (this was returned in satisfactory condition, however he tore the wall up as he was removing it, resulting in sheetrock repair.) To date (1/10/14) P&M Cabinets has not completely installed one single cabinet in the house....cracked drawers have been removed and not replaced, drawer fronts with screw holes have been removed but not replaced...some doors have been hung unevenly/crooked, but there are a number of cabinets (baths, kitchen, living room & office) that have not yet had drawer fronts or cabinet doors installed on them. I sent *** ********* multiple emails discussing quality issues and asked expected completion which he responded he hoped to have the job completed as close as possible on Wednesday 1/8/14. I asked that he have the whole job completed by the end of the day on 1/10/14 (today) and he advised they are "working to accomplish my request." As of 3:30 p.m. on 1/10/14 the job is still incomplete .Family, friends, and other contractors at the house have noted the poor quality and installation issues, as well as that P&M Cabinets have only been at the house for a few hours at a time to work on certain one full day of work has been completed at the house to date. After numerous conversations and email exchanges with *** ********* I feel our patience with the situation has been exhausted. We are extremely disappointed with the quality of the work and the delays in the installation of the cabinets is unacceptable and has held up other work in the house. *** ********* has been advised of this numerous times w/ very little change in quality or timeliness.

Desired Settlement: Our desired outcome is that P&M Cabinets finish the job in a timely manner, replace drawers & doors with multiple screw holes and cracks, and considerably reduce the remaining balance owed to them due to poor quality and delays. P&M Cabinets maintains they are a custom cabinet company, but to date there is nothing custom about the cabinets they have installed in our new home. They have added great stress to an already stressful time in our lives (building a new home ourselves) and added delays in the completion of our new home.

Business Response: P&M Cabinets is working directly with the complaintant to resolve issues....

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.


******* ******