4/14/2016 This is the WORST BANK IN AMERICA. I am settling an estate for a family member. I did go into the bank with all my documentation to close the account. First it took three days for the documents to be approved by - as I was told legal - (death certificate and my appointment from the court). I got the accounts closed but now I have received a "bill" for "unpaid charged-off account". When I was in the bank, they were given all my information (address/telephone number). From the letter I received, it seems it was being mailed to the deceased person's old address (a property that was sold). I called the information number to find out exactly what this was because I had no problem with paying it out of the estate. As the previous person stated I was told they could give me no information, I had to go into the branch. All I wanted to know is what does unpaid charged-off account mean - can't tell me anything go into the branch. The letter also said if this wasn't paid it would be reported to the credit bureau as a "closed unsatisfactory account". As I stated, the person is deceased and Sun Trust has this information. I have never dealt with a bank like this before. Everything is go into the branch. You go into the branch, apparently, the don't know how to do their jobs or they just don't care. I would never recommend this bank to anyone. I am glad it is not in my area.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by B. H. on 4/14/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4/2/2016 I've banked with Suntrust for decades, but today I reached my limit with customer service. My debit number was stolen last weekend, and I was supposedly issued a new card with the admonition that it takes 3-5 business days to get to me. Well after 5 days and still no card, I called, merely to check. I was hung up on TWICE by people after being on hold over a half hour, after I explained what I needed to know: whether or not a card was in the mail to me. Sounds SIMPLE, but apparently it wasn't for the two lousy people who hung up. So, I tracked down a number for my local branch and they jumped through hoops to get me the information. I dislike having to pull people away from their jobs in a branch waiting on customers for what should have been a simple computer lookup.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by K. H. on 4/2/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3/30/2016 They are scamming customers with their overdraft fees. When you have an automatic bill pay, its like they wait until the day or week that your bills are coming out and then process all other charges from that week. There is no reason that ALL charges from one week to two weeks should process on one day. And it just happens to be the day that my bills are coming out? I think not. So, I'm charged with $35 overdraft fee for EACH CHARGE! This is the third time that my account has been on hold because my "data was compromised." Yet, I wasn't notified that they were going to be placing my account on hold. One of those times, my car payment was on automatic bill pay, and declined because my account was on hold and now that is on my credit as me missing payments. The second time it happened, I was at a gas station getting gas and my card was declined. I again called Suntrust and they told me that my account was on hold. AGAIN, without notifying me in advance. Last but not least, my account is on hold today, and has been for the past 3 days. Do you think they notified me? No. AGAIN, it came as a surprise to me as my two daughters, my wife, and I were at a doctors appointment and ended up stranded. Why you ask? I opened my Uber app, to request a ride, and my card was declined. I called Suntrust and they explain to me that my account is on hold and they will have a card out to me in 7 to 10 business days. So, with no cash, and no access to MY ACCOUNT, my family and I were stranded 35 minutes from home. Suntrust said that there was nothing that they could do about it. And now when it comes down to my bills automatically coming out in the next two days, if I cant get to the bank before closing time, I wont be able to deposit enough funds to account for the bills that are about to come out. And who will then be responsible for those overdraft charges? They are phishing for ways to exploit their customers and I think its disgusting. How do you trust someone to store your money when they keep stealing it from you?
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by J. C. on 3/30/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
2/25/2016 This bank has to be one of the Worst Bank in America! the customer service is horrible every time you call to get help they say you have to go into Branch and when you get to the branch and speak with some one they pull your account up and hand you a phone. after everything is said and done i will never bank with Suntrust again
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by y. r. on 2/25/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
2/5/2016 SunTrust charge me for overdraft fees, that I'm not responsible for. ******* took a unauthorized payment out of my account without my knowledge and put my account in overdraft after I made a 21.00 dollar purchase at the grocery store. I would have not made a purchase if I had known a unauthorized payment was deducted from my account. ******* returned my money, but suntrust continued to charge overdraft fees after their investigation that was no fault of mine. ******* refunded 215.84 and I had a direct deposit from Social Security for 160.00 after all this all suntrust refunded me was 90.00. I'm disabled and can't afford Suntrust to just take my money.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by J. B. on 2/5/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
1 2 3 4 5