BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

This Business is not BBB accredited

International Auto Parts, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (434) 974-7118 4351 Seminole Trail , Charlottesville, VA 22911 http://www.international-auto.com/ View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on International Auto Parts, Inc !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automotive parts and accessories

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for International Auto Parts, Inc include:

  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for International Auto Parts, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on International Auto Parts, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 09, 1992 Business started: 03/01/1971 in NJ Business incorporated: 01/01/1979 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Opiela, President Mr. Mark Davis , VP Marketing and Merchandising
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Opiela, President
Customer Contact: Barry Wilson, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Refund and Exchange Policy
Varies
Service Area
All of USA and Canada
Alternate Business Names
Autosport

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4351 Seminole Trail

    Charlottesville, VA 22911

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 9036

    Charlottesville, VA 22906 (434) 974-7118

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.autosportcatalog.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

On October 2 & October 16, 2013, BBB attempted to contact International Auto Parts, Inc. regarding a “Price Match Promise” on their Auto Sport Automotive Outfitters website that did not disclose specific terms and limitations of the offer.

According to the Code of Advertising, an advertisement which expresses or implies a policy of matching or bettering competitors' prices should conspicuously and fully disclose any material and significant conditions which apply and specify what evidence a consumer must present to take advantage of the offer.  Such evidence should not place an unrealistic or unreasonable burden on the consumer.

BBB must report that International Auto Parts, Inc. did not respond to requests to voluntarily modify their offer to disclose terms and conditions based on the Code of Advertising.


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have enclosed a copy of all emails I have exchanged this company. They refused to honour a advertising statement they post on the web page. “PRICE MATCH PROMISE” match down to the last penny. I have been thinking about our email exchanges in regards to a set of * ***** ******* *** *** ******* **** ****** that I required about the price. After several emails you stated that you were unable to match a price that was advertised at ************** web site, you stating the price was not an advertised priced. I submitted to you and check out cart invoice and later an actual invoice for that purchase one It was completed. It is clear to me that is was an online advertised price which you refused to match. I have since made the purchase from ************ so your refusal to honor your “PRICE MATCH PROMISE” is all water under the bridge at this point. However I have and open order with you now for a dash board matt invoice*******, that I now wish to cancel because I have lost any faith I may have had in your business practices, If you read though the enclosed emails I think you will understand I was trying to give you the opportunity to for fill my wish to make a purchase from you rather then one of your competitors, instead I was met with double talk and promise dodging. Beside canceling my order for the dash matt I would also like to have my account “***** **** ******************” closed and not receive any further advertising emails from you further I would like to have a response from your account department so I am able to tell they are aware of the mis-advertizemt committed in this instants. I will also be forwarding a copy of out correspondence to the BBB. From: Auto Sport Customer Service [*******************************************] Sent: Monday, September 23, 2013 3:08 PM To: ***** **** Subject: Re: I Can't Believe Its Not Leather Seat Covers No, I'm sorry. Even with your attached shopping cart, I can only match advertised landed price which is $259.95. I cannot match anything a phone rep may have told you nor can I guarantee shipping from the manufacturer by 9/27. It would ship from the manufacturer in 5-7 business days from them confirming your order and then transit time from CA. ***** ****** AutoSport Team Supervisor ********* ******* ************** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***** **** To: 'Auto Sport Customer Service' Sent: Monday, September 23, 2013 3:00 PM Subject: RE: I Can't Believe Its Not Leather Seat Covers ***** ****** Attached to my original email there is a copy of the shopping cart from Auto Anthing that show the price and a 38.00 discount. I am not sure why the discount as I haven’t dealt with them before, I have maid purchases form you before. My name is *** ****** **** I live in ******** **. And have an account with you. Please look at the bottom of this email to see shopping cart invoice I have included. I just got off phone with **** From Auto Anything he said they can ship 9/27 and will not charge for the overnight shipping and. Can you beat this price Please let me know soon I am ready to order. Thank ***** From: Auto Sport Customer Service [*******************************************] ase Sent: Monday, September 23, 2013 2:08 PM To: ***** Case Subject: Re: I Can't Believe Its Not Leather Seat Covers Did you use a special promotion or sale to get that price? When I go to their site I get $259.95 (which we can match since that is an advertised landed price). This manufacturer ships for us via UPS and delivery is typically about 2 weeks since they are made to order and custom fit. We cannot expedite custom product. ***** ****** AutoSport Team Supervisor AutoSport Catalog ************** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***** Case To: ************************** Sent: Saturday, September 21, 2013 9:04 PM Subject: I Can't Believe Its Not Leather Seat Covers Enclosed below are a copy of emails I have exchanged with the company and there responses, They refused to honour a sale statement they have displayed on they web page I have checked your site for **** ******** I Can't Believe Its Not Leather Seat Covers and found them for $319.00. Then I looked at what seems to be the same thing with the same name and color at **************** and see there price is $220.00 both your and there include shipping there is shipped ***** I did not check to see how yours are shipped. I would like to get these from you because of your reparation and I already have an account with you, but there seems to be quite a difference in price. So what gives are these the same thing or not; and if not why is your worth a hundred dollars to me? Thank You ***** case P.S. how soon can yours ship

Desired Settlement: A letter and a change of store policity policy

Business Response: ** **** could not explain the $38.99 discount in his cart.  We were not able to replicate the order with that discount on the site so we did not honor that discount.  However we did agree to match the match the competitors landed cost without that unexplained discount.  He would not agree to that.  Additionally, he wanted the item shipped overnight, which is not possible.  This item is not pre-made, if is direct shipped form the manufacturer.  They sew them upon our request from a pattern for his specific vehicle.  These take about 2-3 weeks to arrive.
 
Please let me know if you have further questions.
 
***** ******
******* ****** *******
Autosport Catalog
************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.