Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bruce Auto Parts

Phone: (804) 746-5251 Fax: (804) 730-7254 8218 Mechanicsville Tpke, Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 http://www.BRUCEAUTOPARTS.COM


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bruce Auto Parts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bruce Auto Parts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce Auto Parts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1939
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott A Bruce, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott A Bruce, Vice President
Related Businesses
Pop's Pick and Pay
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Automotive Parts and Accessories Stores (NAICS: 441310)


Additional Locations

  • 8218 Mechanicsville Tpke

    Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 (804) 746-5251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a radiator fan for **** ****** *****. I specifically request a passenger side fan for the cooling system. The driver side is not for cooling. The send me a driver side fan after I was crystal clear I needed a passenger fan. I call them and say hey wrong fan. They said it was my fault and I had ordered the wrong fan. I had to pay the full 37 dollars in return shipping on 65 dollar item. They blamed the mix up on ***** as well. Stating that ***** switches the labeling of the fans so left is right and right is left. What a load of crap. Even if that lie was true I still specifically requested a cooling fan for the passenger side. That gives two indications to work off of. Cooling and passenger. Forget left and right. You have the words cooling and passenger. Not my fault at all. I send the stupid fan back complete waste of my time and energy. They send the correct fan surprising. Then they refund me 35 dollars out of 65. I called them and I asked why am I not getting a full refund? Oh it comes in two separate refunds. Still haven't gotten that. Been weeks. Oh these guys are something else. I feel bruce auto likes to play money games and if they think they can decide to send the wrong fan on purpose to complicate the matters so they can profit more from half a refund they have another thing coming. I want all the return shipping money back! All 34 bucks of it and the remaining 30 dollars of my half refund. You guys disgust me. Others will read about this on the bbb website it's permanent Had you refunded me my money in full and not conned me into paying the return shipping this wouldn't be an issue. But you just had to complicate matters so right back at you

Desired Settlement: 35 dollars that is clearly owes to me I have credit card statements to prove it Plus return shipping 34 dollars minus the 15 they gave me for the return shipping comes out to another whopping 19 dollars 35 plus 19 equals 54 dollars Not one penny less Have great day

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

We are very sorry for the issues that you had with your order.  I promise our company stands behind there sales with pride and we do not intend to commit any fraud.  I have looked into this matter and made sure you got a fair refund.  At this time we have refunded a total of $95.00 to your credit card.  And you are right they have been done in separate refunds, there was $35.00 refunded on 12/9/15, $15.00 refunded on 12/28/15, $15.00 refunded on 1/13/16 and $30.00 freight refunded on the replacement fan on 1/13/16.  Which makes the total you are paying for the fan $35.00.  If for any reason you do not see these credits within 7 business days on your credit card account please contact my assistant at (804) 417-1447 and she will get the federal reserve tracking number for your bank.

I apologize again for you experience and the actions of my employees. If you should need any further merchandise in the future please feel free to contact me personally.

 

Sincerely,

Scott A. B****

Bruce Auto Parts

***** ********

Consumer Response:

I'm sorry for my rudness and harshness displayed to Rick. I'm done letting junkyards walk all over me. I'm sorry things are the way they are but at the same time I'm not sorry because I was disrespected and lied to. Thank you Bruce auto for making this situation right.


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

******* *****



10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September the 15th 2014 I purchased a transmission from Bruce's Auto Parts. I took my truck to a auto repair business and had the transmission put in my vehicle. On September 19th 2014 I went to pickup my truck and it would not run properly so the person that installed my transmission said I had a faulty transmission so I called Bruce's Auto Parts and they told me that I had to bring the truck to them so they could check to see if it were properly installed. On September the 22nd,2014 I had the truck towed to Bruce's Auto Parts they are closed on weekends so I had to wait til Monday. The truck sat their for 2 weeks every time I called they said they had not had time to look at the truck. ***** is who was suspose to be checking out the truck finally on October 1,2014 he said he checked it and it maybe the front pump but he would have to take the transmission off first. ***** also stated that he thought that may have come from faulty installation. Then he called back October 3rd 2014 and said it was not the front pump he was not sure why the transmission was not working, so he would order me another from ****** **** ***** an install it. ***** ***** said that it should be ready by Wednesday October 8th, 2014. On October 7th 2014 ***** ***** called and said I could come get my truck but I would have to drive it slow, because it was still not right. So I asked why did he want me to pickup the truck if it were not fixed. ***** stated that after he pulled off the other transmission he saw that it had two rings on the pump and this could have caused the problem. ***** called actions back and told them that the pump he purchased from them was bad, then he told them that I had purchased a pump from them and what problems we had with that pump so Actions refused to warrantee their bad pump and told ***** to leave it in my truck. That's when ***** told me to come get the truck and take it back to my mechanic.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be refunded for the sale of a bad transmission. Nobody wants to take the blame for not only 1 bad transmission but 2. And I'm still without a car a month later. Not to mention that the price Bruce's advertised was $450.00 when I called I was told $563.00 when I got their to purchase it, it was $565.00 when I got to cashier it was $700.25. Then I had to wait til a decision was made before I could get that. Then I was given back $105.30 and a broken transmission.

Business Response: Hello my name is ***** ***** and I have been talking with
******* *****  trying to get her
jeep  transmission going again. I'm not
going to get into the specifics  means
******* has already filed her complaint and most of its true(not all) so lets
just go with it anyways... because it really makes no difference..The main
purpose of all this is to get ******* satisfied 
whether  it be refunding her money
or  fixing her jeep  . I will gladly refund all the money if that's
what she wants ... i talked with ******* this morning and told her i had
ordered another transmission for her jeep and i should have it ready no later
than Friday (hopefully Wednesday  if  transmission comes in Tomorrow  morning ) 
I also told **** ***** that I had 
2006 ion she could drive while we are working on her jeep.  I understand **** ***** is frustrated  and just wants her jeep back  and that's what's  going to happen this week.  **** ***** is on the top of my list. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,

***** *****


7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 9, 2014 I purchased (right side) passenger side cylinder head for my **** ***** ******* with a 3.5L engine from this company, paid for using my debit card over the phone. I was insured that the item I was getting was the (right side) passenger side cylinder head. On June 10, 2014 I received the (left side) driver side cylinder head via ******. I then called to explain the error and was told that the issue would be taken care immediately, fed-ex would pick up the incorrect item and the correct one would be shipped free of charge. Since then I have made several phone calls to this establishment wishing to get the correct one sent or a refund issued. Today is June 18, 2014 , zero attempts have been made to correct the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund or the item that I was supposed to get.

Business Response: BBB spoke with ****** and he stated that the consumer was issued a full $180 refund on his card on 6/23.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

***** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce Auto Parts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)