Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

West Broad Volkswagen & Audi

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 270-9000 Fax: (804) 270-4023 9001 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23229 http://westbroadvw.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New Cars, Pre-Owned Cars, Car Parts, Car service and Body Shop


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Broad Volkswagen & Audi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Broad Volkswagen & Audi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on West Broad Volkswagen & Audi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 10/19/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Parham, General Manager Mr. Larry Page, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Parham, General Manager
Related Businesses
West Broad Honda Mechanicsville Toyota West Broad Hyundai Mechanicsville Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
GWC Corporation
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

West Broad Volkswagen & Audi has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9001 W. Broad St.

    Richmond, VA 23229 (804) 270-9000

  • P. O. Box 72075

    Richmond, VA 23255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off our **** ** for scheduled service. Told Service Advisor (SA) tire pressure and oil indicator lights were on. When I picked up my vehicle later in the day, my rear hatch indicator light was on. Prior to leaving dealership, showed the rear hatch indicator light to SA, and said it had not been on when I dropped off vehicle. Brought vehicle back a second time for rear hatch review and new tires. Rear hatch did not have faulty parts, required an "adjustment." I was charged $238.99 for an "adjustment" that I did not need when I drove into the dealership. The SA told me my rear hatch issues were "not a big deal, and it would only cost $238.99. Our hatch had been repaired at an Audi dealership less than a year ago at our home in another state. Since we did not need new parts, only an "adjustment," I believe something moved or shifted in the hatch while at this dealership. I do not feel we should have to pay $238.99. That amount of money is still a lot to our family. I have no confidence that if I dropped off my vehicle at this dealership, that other problems arising at the dealership would be dealt with fairly. I was offered $100 off my next service at this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate an apology from the Service Manager for conducting business in this manner, an assurance that my vehicle if serviced at this dealership would not be charged for repairs it did not have arriving at the dealership, and a refund.

Business Response: I have read the information presented in the above referenced case and would like to submit the following response:
The customer came into the dealership on April 29, 2016 with a concern that the rear hatch light was still on when he hatch is closed. Both hinges and motors were recently replaced at another dealership. There was a function test and the rear lights were staying on bumper and not moving up. When pushing the hatch down the lights moved up. It was determined that the rear hatch was not aligned properly to the body. It was suggested to start with adjusting the hatch and retesting. The hatch trim had to be removed and installed to gain access to all adjustment points. After completion, there were no malfunction lights on. The customer was advised prior to the repair and it was suggested by both you dealership that did the original repair incorrectly.
The only thing that West Broad Audi did was correct and complete the repair that was performed by another dealer per the customer’s request. We did not make the original repair. We stand behind that work we do and would never consider charging the customer if we were in error. Again, we suggest that the customer contact Audi for reimbursement. We will not be offering any assistance or reimbursement at this time.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have attached a letter dated April 30, 2016 mailed to Mr. ******,  General Manager for the dealership, and to Mr. **** ********, Service Manager.  ******** also is the envelope to Mr. ******** marked by USPS as "Return to Sender, Unable to Forward," and a receipt showing West Broad Audi's name and address. I am not sure why this was returned.  Mr. ********' was not returned.  Other than the response to BBB, neither the General Manager or the Service Manager have contacted me.  

Mr. ********' response to my BBB inquiry is incorrect in that I did not bring in my vehicle on April 29th with hatch indicator light as an issue.  I took my vehicle to West Broad Audi on April 19th for regular service and before departing the dealership saw my hatch indicator light on that had not been on when I dropped off my vehicle.  I returned on the April 29th for new tires and to resolve the hatch indicator light issue.

I did have repairs to my hatch done at ******** **** over ten months ago (and almost 15,000) miles ago, and NEVER had a problem with my hatch.  I don't understand why I retrieved my vehicle with the hatch indicator light on April 19th, but I did not drop off my vehicle that way.  I think this dealership should respect that something happened from when I dropped off my vehicle, and picked it up that the hatch was compromised.  

 Regards,

******* ****** 

5/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to West Broad Volkswagen to be repaired. They diagnosed the problem charging me $1421.12, which I paid. When I went to pick up my vehicle, the problem still existed. I therefore left the car again to be fixed. They repaired it with an additional part costing $400.66. They agreed we willing to go half with me on the cost for reasons unknown to me, costing me $200.33.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be refunded the difference of the two charges to me. The second repair and cost fixed the problem where as the first did not and therefore should not have been charged or parts replaced.

Business Response: Dear *** ****
I have reviewed the information sent in regards to the above mention vehicle and I would like to submit the following response.
The customer brought their vehicle into our repair facility for a concern with the “heat/air coming on even if you do not want it to, check and advise/air conditional blower continues to blow”. We were able to duplicate the customers concerns. Multiple sensors were checked and it was found that it was only happening at start up. Per Volswagen of America’ Tech Line, we were advised to replace the climate control head, it was coded and basic settings were performed on the unit. It was tested and was operating as designed upon returning the vehicle to the customer.
The vehicle was brought back in the next day with the same concerns. Again, ******* ** ***** was contacted and further diagnosis was performed. It was determined per ******* to start with replacing the unit regulator and to re-test the system for any corrections. The vehicle was test driven again and was found to be operating as designed.
As a courtesy, I agreed to split the cost of the repair 50/50 with the customer. The customer states that we misdiagnosed the first repair. We followed standard procedure in regards to both repairing and diagnosing the customer’s vehicle as per ******. The customer called ************** ** ******* customer care and they agreed that proper procedure was followed and did not offer any additional assistance in the customer other than the 50/50 split. The customer agreed with ******* ** ****** decision and accepted the offer. The customer has also traded the vehicle and purchased an *** from our establishment. I feel that we have been fair and tried to provide the proper assistance to the customer regarding this matter. We will not be offering any additional assistance at this time.
If I may be of further assistance, please advise.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******



I believe Volkswagen of America did not provide the proper diagnosis on the first go round;  if they did I believe they would have repaired the vehicle per their diagnosis.  Yes, I did purchase a new vehicle from Audi simply because I was so disappointed and frustrated with Volkswagen  and wanted to be sure that I was not going to be visiting that location again.  Audi personnel assured me that they are separate from Volkswagen.  I hope this is true and not another misconception.  I really liked my *******  but didn’t want to visit the Volkswagen service department again and therefore went with my next desired car. I can assure you that I will let any and everyone I know that owns a Volkswagen or is considering buying one of my experience with Volkswagen.”
Maybe if they had taken the time to explain this to me at first I would have understood and felt better about the situation. I also felt that when they were willing to split the second cost of $400.66 with me was that it was an indication of guilt for missing the first diagnosis. Although I know, Volkswagen is a big corporation, there seems to be a waste of time dealing with them at this point .  I have had a few vehicle’s to go in for repairs, but this is the first time this has happened to me

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a 15k mile service, wheel alignment, and tire purchase (to include mount and balance) performed on my **** **** **. When I picked up the vehicle it had been damaged - there were numerous scratches and scrape marks on the rims.

Desired Settlement: I want the two damaged rims replaced or I want all of my money refunded.

Business Response: Dear ** ****:
I have received the information received in reference to the above mentioned Case and would like to submit the following response:
The customer brought her vehicle in to our repair facility to mount and balance four tires, four wheels alignment and a 15k mile service. During her visit her wheels were damaged. We acknowledged that the wheels were damaged here and agreed to have them repaired. The customer wanted to have them totally replaced or a refund for the service performed.   
We perform multiple wheels and rim repairs for numerous reasons on a daily bases with a very reputable repair company most are restored to showroom condition. We are met with hundreds of satisfied customers. A scenario in comparison is if the customer had filed an insurance claim the damage on her wheels, they would have been repaired, not replaced. We stand behind the work that we performed and have reached out to the customer to apologize for the lack of communication and make the necessary repairs at her convenience. My last attempt to contact the customer was yesterday, and as of now, I have not yet received a response.
We will be happy to have the customer’s damaged wheels taken care of at her convenience, but will bill not be offering a refund for services, or wheel replacement at this time. If I may be of further assistance, please advice.
Regards,

3/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car transmission repaired at this dealership, and the transmission has been leaking transmission fluid since the repair. It is also losing coolant on a regular basis. The coolant leak may, or may not be related to the transmission repair. The coolant leak could possibly be linked to repairs from a deer collision that were performed by ********** **** ****, Burkeville, VA. ********** **** **** will 100% cover any repairs related to this incident. I contacted this business with my concerns, and they absolutely refuse to even look at my vehicle unless I agree to pay them to do so because, they say it's past the warranty period. My sons discovered the leak when they were changing the engine oil on this car, and it was apparent that the transmission had been leaking. The transmission could have possibly just been simply overfilled during the repair job, or it could be more serious. I am totally disabled, and this car is my sole means of transportation!

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to inspect my car at no cost, just to determine what fluids are leaking. And, to repair the leaks if they are related to the work they performed on my car. If any of the leaks are collision related, then I would like the dealership to contact ********** **** **** about making the necessary repairs. I'm just asking for a little courtesy, and some assistance after I've spent $2,726 on a repair job. That would be good business in my opinion.

Business Response: I have reviewed the information presented in regards to the above referenced case and I would like to present the following response. We stand behind that work that we performed here at the dealership. We will be more than happy to have the vehicle brought back in so that we may check the cause and concern with the leaking have the vehicle brought back in so that we may check the cause and concern with the leaking transmission fluid. Also, if it determined that the coolant leak is related to the collision or totally transmission fluid. Also, if it determined that the coolant leak is related to the collision or totally separated concern, we will advise the customer so that he may determine if he would like to have the repair done here or back at the ****** **** ***.
We take pride in the work that we do and work hard to ensure that we are taking care of our customers to the best or our ability. If I may be of additional assistance in resolving this matter, please advise.
Sincerely,
**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,
***** ******


1/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my ****** in May 2013 by Frank B********, I was sold a 5 year extended warranty because I was told is was BUMPER TO BUMPER protection. On 10-29-15 I took my car in to have the heater fixed and was told I had a clogged heating core and it was not covered by that worthless warranty. I got nothing but the run around and when Frank B******** told me there was nothing he could, got so mad that I cancelled that warranty that day. I threw away $118.00 for that diagnosis and $50.00 for a rental car. I later took my ****** to Brown's Volkswagen and they told me the vents were broken. I asked them about the heating core and was told " the heating core is just fine" 1- I paid for that cancelled 5 year warranty for two months after I was finally reimbursed $323.94. 2- Why was I only reimbursed $323.94, when I was only 1/2 way into that warranty? 3- Why did they tell me it was a clogged heating core, when it was broken vents? 4- Why was I treated like a complete idiot by the service department, the F&I man, and Frank Barksdale on 10-29-15?

Desired Settlement: 1- An apology from West Broad Volkswagen 2- Reimburse me the amount I paid for that diagnosis and rental car on 10-29-15. 3- Reimburse me the amount I paid for the rental car I used when my car was being fixed at Brown's Volkswagen. 4- Reimburse me the FULL amount owed me for that cancelled warranty. 5- Reimburse me the amount I was charged for for two months I paid after I cancelled that warranty. 6- Reimburse me any interest I paid for all of the above.

Business Response:

I have spoken to the client and apologized. He requested the amount he paid for the warranty. I left him a voice message indicating it was $1,334.89.

According to 3 of our employees, Mr. ******* used quite a bit of profanity and asked the service advisor to lie about the repair so the repair would be covered. They declined. His warranty refund was $334 because it was at the end of the term.(89,000 miles on a 100,000 mile contract.

We will not reimburse Mr. ******* any more money.

**** ******

General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******




10/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom this concerns, I ****** purchased a *** **** ** ***** from West Broad VW and Audi on 1-07-14. The vehicle came with a clean ****** report from the dealer and a Certified Inspection and Condition Report. Let’s fast forward to September 2014. While detailing my car I noticed a run in the clear coat of the paint on the front bumper and the left fender. Once I noticed these issues I start investigating the rest of the car and found that the front bumper, left fender, left headlight had been all been replaced. I also noticed loose body parts, body work and Bondo in the hood and in the left front door skin. I was sick to my stomach after noticing these issues and my next thought was is this car safe to drive. I notified VW Customer Care (reference # *********) of the issues on 9-24-14. They contacted me and asked that I schedule appointment with West Broad VW Service department. I scheduled the appointment for 10 -1-14. I dropped the car off on 10-1-14 @ 3:45PM. I spoke with **** the Service Manager and ***** the Sales Manger about the car and showed them the damage. At first I was not getting anywhere with either of them. Then **** spoke up and said he would put the car in the shop and investigate my issues and give me a loaner car to drive. He also stated that upon time to pick up the car he would place it on the lift and I could inspect it for myself. 10-2-14 I was contacted by the Service Department to pick up my car. I got to the dealer and the Technician and I went for a short test drive. The car was never placed on the lift for me to review my car as stated. So I proceed to leave with my car the same way as I took it to the dealer. I stopped by the sales department on my way out and requested a trade-in quote. ***** with VW Customer Care contacted me on 10-3-14 and reviewed my case. I told him I was not satisfied as a customer. On the *** document the first two check boxes are for Body and Paint work and they were checked off as Meets Standards. I paid prime dollar for a vehicle that was supposed to be a CPO clean car. I did not receive that instead I received a wrecked **** ***** that is worth nothing and is it totally safe! This is simply fraud and West Broad VW and Audi needs to acknowledge there mistake. I personally have purchased two VW’s from them and my family and friends have purchased eight more. If this goes unresolved I’ll make sure none of my family, friends or I purchase another car from this dealer. I will gladly provide you with pictures and meet in person if need be. Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like West Broad VW and Audi to stand behind there product and make this issue right. I would like for them to replace the vehicle or make sure that the ***** is totally safe with no hidden damage ( this means removing body parts and inspecting ) and refunding me the difference in value. Thank you.

Business Response: The customer came in to our service department with a list of concerns on their 2009 *****:

1. Customer states that there is body damage that has been repaired and the car should not be certified. The vehicle has a clean ****** and meets all of the Volkswagen requirements to certify. A copy of the Volkswagen check list and a ****** was sent to ********** ** *******, and they agree that all is good.

2.Customer states that there is a mount of loose and the motor tends to move a lot. The technician checked all mounts and they all meet Volkswagen's requirements. No problems found.

3. Customer states that there is noise coming from the front end of the vehicle when turning hard to the left. The technician rode with the customer and checked the operation of the vehicle all is good, no problem was found and no abnormal noises were heard.

The service Manager met with the customer and went over all the concerns. The customer was advised that if there was anything that needed to be addressed, or did not meet Volkswagen's requirements we would be happy to take care of it. However, there were no problems found and the vehicle met ************ ** ******* Certification requirements at this time.

Since the time of purchase, aftermarket parts have been installed. We did offer to trade the customer out of their vehicle, but the customer declined the offer. Any applicable warranties/extensions will remain in effect on the vehicle.

We will not be offering any additional assistance to the customer at this time. If I may be of further assistance please advise.

Sincerely,
**** * ******
General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear *** ******

I have reviewed your reply to my concerns with the BBB and I thank you for being so prompt. As a valued VW customer I feel as if I’m getting the short end of the stick. I purchased a *** VW Audi from a well-known dealer in the Richmond area that has been wrecked. I understand that the vehicle has a clean ****** but someone must have fixed the car out of pocket and it did not get recorded.  Your technician and service manager should have caught the body work during their 112 point inspection no if ands or buts about it! I understand we all make mistakes and it just could have been the timing of when the car was traded in. The vehicle was traded in and inspected between Christmas and New Year’s. I’m just asking that West Broad VW Audi make this right and take measures to prevent this from happening in the future. The previous owner should have stated that the car had been in an accident and I know they had to sign a document stating that there was nothing wrong with the *****. I requested that someone from your dealership contact the previous owner or provide me with their contact information so that I may do so. I have not heard from anyone on this matter. I was also promised that when I picked my vehicle up from service they were going to place the car on the lift so that I could inspect it. This never happened! I was offered a trading value of $6500.00 on a vehicle that I purchased for $11,100 in Jan. 2014. This was a joke and an insult to me as a returning customer to West Broad VW Audi. The aftermarket parts that are installed on this ***** include the following a radio navigation unit, GLI oem front grill (Because I did not like the chrome one) and black trunk VW emblem. They asked if I had all the stock parts and I stated that I had them stored in my shed; and I would gladly install them back on the car. Thank you for your time and I look forward to resolving this issue.

Sincerely,
******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on West Broad Volkswagen & Audi
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart