BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

West Broad Volkswagen & Audi

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 270-9000 Fax: (804) 270-4023 9001 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23229 http://westbroadvw.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Broad Volkswagen & Audi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Broad Volkswagen & Audi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on West Broad Volkswagen & Audi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 28, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated: 10/19/2000 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Parham, General Manager Mr. Larry Page, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Parham, General Manager
Related Businesses
West Broad Honda Mechanicsville Toyota West Broad Hyundai Mechanicsville Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
GWC Corporation
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 9001 W. Broad St.

    Richmond, VA 23229 (804) 270-9000

  • P. O. Box 72075

    Richmond, VA 23255

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My recent service experience at West Broad Volkswagen's Service department was completely unacceptable. I bought my ********** ****** (that I bought for my daughters graduation) in to get serviced because it would cut off while I was driving it. I spent close to 1,000 dollars trying to get my car fixed at this establishment, and after driving the car for 2 days it cut off again. I managed to get my car back to the service department and they said a "NEW" problem emerged and this problem did not appear in the 1st diagnostic that was done. This service department knowingly did not address the problem to my car and fixed something else so that I would come back to them and get the REAL problem fixed. I asked to speak to the service manager and he stated that he would not speak to me. So I spoke to a customer service person by the name of ******* and she could not resolve anything. This is unacceptable and I will continue to let my friends, family, co-workers, Better Business Bureau community leaders and Volkswagen of America know of my unsatisfaction.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to have my car completely fixed, Or I would like a refund.

Business Response:

When a customer calls in with a concern or ask for the service manager, there are procedures that are followed. If at all possible, assistance is given by the customer service director. Most often, most issues are resolved at that time. The customer service director is the first point of contact. If at any time a customer prefers to speak only to the service manager arrangements are made to do so even if he is not available at the time and has to return the call. Neither I, nor the advisor present during the conversation with the customer, heard such a request. The customer’s information had been previous reviewed with the service manager and once he was advised of his decision, he said that he was talking to the owner, BBB etc. The customer responded to the dealership via an email survey. The service manager reviewed the customers concern again with both the advisor and the technician. At that time, we both agreed that there was some miscommunication regarding the information with his vehicle.

 

The service manager brought the vehicle back in and the service department installed a speed sensor on the vehicle at no charge to the customer. The customer’s vehicle will run, but customer was clearly advised that it will not correct any of the concerns that have not been addressed, and the check engine light will remain on. Customer stated that he appreciated what we had done and that he would be back to address his other concerns. If you have any questions or need additional information, please advise.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

We received your correspondence regarding the above mention case and would like to submit the following response;

 

The vehicle was brought into our dealership on February 20,  (repair order ******) for a 5k service, water leak in the r/f floorboard and , “customer states the mmi rotary knob is not working”.  The customer mentioned extensively in his letter about the actual process in making the appointment.  Regardless to if the vehicle was diagnosed in November ,or February, the end result would be the same.  Regardless to if a service advisor offers an opinion for  something seen  visually or knowledge obtained by years in the business, no determination of needed repairs will be made until a vehicle has been seen by an Audi technician. 

Recommendations for necessary repairs are made after the diagnosis has been completed.  It was determined by the technician that the mmi buttons were sticking, which seemed to be the result of substance that had somehow dripped onto the unit.  A known good unit was installed and everything worked fine.
The good button assembly and knob were working as well.  The findings and an estimate were presented to the customer and the customer declined the repair.  We cannot submit a claim for something to be covered under warranty if it is not the result of a manufacture’s defect. 

No further assistance will be offered at this time.  Please advise if you have any additional questions. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my car serviced(oil change)at west broad audi and when I got it back it wasn't running the same as it was when I took it there. I contacted them to inform them of the situation and they in turn reassured me that they would take care of the matter but they didn't and tried to charge me some astronomical figure on getting it repaired. Now while i'm trying to get the matter resolved they're trying to charge me more for having my car stored on their property for what I just don't understand.

Desired Settlement: Just resolved

Business Response:

The customer brought his vehicle in for a routine oil change.  The oil change was performed and the vehicle was returned to the customer.  The following day, the customer called the dealership because the vehicle would not run or start at all.  We advised the customer that we would be happy to take a look at his vehicle. We stand behind that work that we perform and if any way we were responsible, we would have no problem stepping up and taking care of. 

 

Once the vehicle arrived, we checked the vehicle.  It was determined that it needed a battery, which is totally unrelated to anything that we had done.   The customer installed his own battery, but the system on his vehicle needed to be reset and he did not want to pay to have us to do it.  The customer’s vehicle  sat on our lot for over a week with a flat tire.   We advised the customer to come pick the vehicle up or, routine procedures would be followed, which would include a daily storage fee until the vehicle was gone.

 

We take pride in our dealership and the work that we perform.  If at any time we are responsible for any mishap, taking care of the issue is standard procedure.  We are clearly in no way responsible for the service that is needed on this vehicle.  We will not be providing assistance of any kind at this time.  If you have questions, please advise

 

Thank You

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was taken there to be checked for a/c and "Computer module" for driver side trunk lid brake light. My car was returned with the brake light having a hole punched in it but with no documentation or any other notification of said damage. In efforts to rectify to situation with a service tech admitting to damaging the light, the service manager yells at my wife in person during a conversation with her and myself(via phone).

Desired Settlement: I will only be satisfied with an apology to my wife along with the full replacement and installation of damaged light free of charge. Nothing more or less.

Business Response:

The car was also brought in for Virginia state inspection. During the inspection the technician note that the brake light was not working. While trying to diagnose further, we did cause more damage. It was mute point because it needed to be replaced anyway. We attempted to give some consideration to the customer for this but, they would not accept anything but a full replacement. The conversation got heated and we withdrew our offer.

I apologize for the situation.

 

**** ******

******* *******

*************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ********


 There was no offer made. My vehicle was taken there specifically for the control module of the taillight to be checked. So at the time the vehicle was to be checked that was disregarded for a supplemental inspection to be done. There was no verification of module being ruled out. We were not notified of physical damage done by any staff at the time of receipt of vehicle.

Business Response:

Unfortunatly the client is mistaken.

The Repair order Dated 8/2/2012 states: AC is blowing warm air and Va state inspection. There is no mention of the module.

We have tried to offer a reasonable solution.

It is unfortunate we cannot come to some resolution

 

**** ******

Business Response: After speaking with *** ******, he stated the vehicle was brought in to the shop. Company diagnosed light as defective and in the process cracked the outer part. The light was one entire unit that needed to be replaced. Customers became upset and brought the car to another shop. Customer later brought vehicle back to company. Company offered a discount on labor and parts, however the customer's husband became upset again. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ********


 First off their version of what took place was completely inaccurate. Their offer of taking a percentage off was and still is unacceptable. The light was still occasionally functional after their unprofessional handling of my vehicle. Being forced to have to replace a light due to the Now cosmetic damage they caused, they should repair or replace the damaged area to original or better condition. That is fair to me. Be it by them or their insurance for their customers and or their property. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With a trade and the balance in cash I paid "in full" my new a3 Audi. When signing the final paperwork the finance manager said as long as pay off was +\- $500 they were good. Almost 3 months after the car was purchased they started sending an invoice for $495 . I contacted Audi and explained the problem and asked to speak to the manager but was never called back. I had purchased several cars in the 23 years I have been driving and never had a dealer act so unprofessionally. Buyer beware.

Desired Settlement: I want an appoligy and an explanation and a refund of the $498

Business Response:

I'm not sure why I owe him any money. It appears that we are asking him for $495.

 

Please advise.

 

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** *********


 West Broad Audi needs to communicate with their AR department.  After purchasing our car with no financing and weeks after we received our title free and clear they still want money because they did not get the correct pay off for our trade.  Even after their finance manager told us we would not be held acccountable for anything under $500. Their response to our complaint was short and did not even address the problem - showing once again the response we have received after trying to take care of this matter before involving the BBB.

Business Response: After speaking with *** ******, he stated that if they cannot get in touch with the lending institution, they use the pay off the customer provides. Customer signed documents stating that if the actual pay off amount is greater than what the customer paid, they owe the company the difference. If the actual amount is less than what the customer paid, company owes the customer the difference. He did state that typically they do call consumers to let them know if the difference, which did not occur in this case.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ******* at the West Broad Audi and Volkswagen dealership has refused to call me back after I informed the dealership that my car could not pass inspection. I bought a car from this dealership and waited almost three weeks to receive a refund (there was a typo in the cashier's check and it was made out for $99 more than it should have been) and the title. I had to call to ask where these were, the dealership realized they had forgotten to send them to me, and they had to overnight them to me. Because they had not sent me the title, I was unable to get my car registered. I had the inspection done the day I went to the *** to get registered, and was told the CV joint was leaking and it could not pass inspection. I called the dealership because I had been told that it had been inspected before I bought the car. I have called for almost a week now and have been transfered from one voicemail to another as each manager refuses to talk to me about the car that was sold to me in unacceptable condition. One salesperson told me that ******** does not check the CV joint so they are not liable, which I have found is not true. ********, as far as I know, does check the CV joint during inspections. My complaint is about the massive runaround I have been given. At one point the salesman I bought the car from told me that he could see the manager in his office, yet when he transfered me the manager still did not pick up the phone, and has not called me back despite the messages I have left, simply asking to for my questions to be answered. The dealership seems disreputable over all for selling me a car that was supposedly inspected that cannot pass inspection, and subsequently cutting off all contact when I try to ask them about what happened.

Desired Settlement: I was given an estimate at a garage that the cost to replace the CV joint would be $477. I would like the dealership to refund me this money off of the car I just bought, since it would have been a repair they would have had to make if they had really had the car inspected.

Business Response:

The car passed Va State inspection. No issues were noted with CV boot.

 

If client would like to bring the car here, we will be happy to investigate her complaint.

 

If she is not happy with her purchase, she may return the car and I wil refund her money.

 

**** ******

******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I live five hours from the dealership. I cannot drive ten hours round trip for the dealership to confirm something I have documentation to confirm from two separate businesses: a ***** auto garage and a ****** dealership. I have printouts from both places confirming a problem with the CV joint. Additionally, after the dealership had confirmed that there is a problem, it would then require a second ten hour round trip to get the axle boot replaced after the dealership has ordered the part. I have shopped around and found a nearby location that will replace the axle boot for $203. I can provide an invoice of the cost when I get the part fixed. I can also forward the documentation of the problem if necessary from the ***** and ****** dealer.

I do not wish to return the car. This is why I am not accepting the dealership's original offer. What I am looking for is to be dealt with respectfully by the dealership, for my calls to be returned, and for the cars sold at the dealership to be in working condition when sold.

Regards,

***** ******


 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my new vehicle in for an alignment, and the job wasn't done quite right. The report that their machine printed out said that the alignment was within "acceptable limits", but I still had to hold the steering wheel to the right in order for the car to go straight. When I brought the vehicle back to the service center, the technician refused to fix it, citing the report printed by his machine. I escalated the complaint to the general manager, who still refused to put the car back on the machine and fix the alignment. When I threatened to file a dispute with my credit card company, he stated that he would only give my keys back if I paid in cash. He did ultimately release the keys without doing this, but told me to never come back and that he would "find me" if I filed a dispute with my credit card company.

Desired Settlement: The service was not carried out properly; I would like a refund and would be happy to send a copy of the alignment report from the next mechanic I see to fix it.

Business Response:

The aliginment was found to be out and we repaired the car to within Vw specifications(.05 of an inch).

Myself and the service manager both drove the car and it performed properly. I offered to keep the car and drive it for a longer period of time to see if I could duplicate the complaint. The customer declined.

The customer said he would dispute the charge and did ask him to pay cash. If he does dispute the charge I will exercise my rights as a business owner to collect my money.

Based on the situation, I requested that he no longer do business with us.

I apologize for the situation. I will not refund his money.

 

**** ****** ******* *******

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****


 

 The service was not carried out properly and the dealer refused to fix it. I will be following up by filing a complaint with ** *** and initiating a dispute with my credit card company upon receiving a proper alignment from another, more qualified dealership.

 

thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1