Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

West Broad Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 755-7777 8903 W Broad Street, Henrico, VA 23294 http://www.westbroadhyundai.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Broad Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Broad Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Broad Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1995 Business started: 07/01/1992 Business incorporated 07/01/1992 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beverly Lees, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Danny Fisher, General Manager
Related Businesses
West Broad Volkswagen & Audi West Broad Honda Mechanicsville Toyota Mechanicsville Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Additional Locations

  • 8903 W Broad Street

    Henrico, VA 23294 (804) 755-7777

  • PO BOX 72075

    Richmond, VA 23255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service call (genesis of the problem-Listen to your customers): I called and asked for pricing on a tune up on an 09 Hyundai Genesis. I was informed this dealership calls a tune up a service and was given the price and a list of extra services provided by one service representative. However, when I showed up another service rep was there to assist me. I repeated verbatim, "I am here for a tune up on an ** ******* ******* **). I also wanted confirmation about the additional tune up items were going to be done. The second rep went over the items in another book and had me sign a preservice authorization that was non-detailed and vague. When I was told my vehicle was almost ready, I reviewed an (now) itemized list of what was completed. On the sheet there was no listing of the most expensive and main item of a tune up (the spark plugs). I asked the rep where were the spark plugs and was informed that they didn't have the spark plugs in stock and I wasn't charged for the spark plugs, I would have to pay additional for spark plugs and labor, equal to the cost of what I paid. I called 3 other dealerships earlier to inquire about spark plugs/tune up service (attached call log) who will confirm my price inquiry was not a service but a tune up with spark plugs. Analogy (customer asks for oil change and was told we do an oil service here; same thing with some extras), Final itemized list customer learns no oil has been changed, no oil filter was removed! Services normally rendered for free at other dealerships I was over/charged for. Service I didn't need like tire rotation, mount and balance (which I have lifetime service), inspection of hoses (free multipoint inspection), refilling fluids (free service), etc. I was charged replacing coolant (I do myself). Checking the battery (which I replaced on myself). I was given the bill after all management had left for the day and if I wanted my car (way home) I had to sign and pay for service.

Desired Settlement: Request dealership provide a copy of pre-service authorization, (a copy of what I signed for authorizing service-yellow sheet of paper). Request an explanation of why the documentation I signed and the services rendered bill look different (and contain dissimilar listed items - yellow sheet and blue sheet). Request West Broad Hyundai provide an explanation of why the service I asked for the tuneup/sparkplug installation price ~$590 is eerily similar to the price of what they charge for (interval service charge) ~$590. Service I didn't request but was told it was the same thing. Request W. Broad Hyundai ask future customers the reason they are requesting service for confirm and to clear ambiguity. Request refunded labor costs only, I didn't ask for the service and understand that the parts are in my car.

Business Response: The service advisor, Angela went over line for line what was being done on the service in which was performed.  Spark plugs were never mentioned in initial write up with Angela or when appointment was made.  Customer signed repair order agreeing to the service in which was explained to him.  Oil and filter change was performed and the parts are listed under line B.  I have attached the copy of the workorder in which the customer approved the 90k service as well as what was presented to him at time of write up and also the final invoice.  As far at the changing of the coolant and battery service, customer knew up front that that was being done and did not say anything to Angela.  Therefore I feel there is nothing owed to the customer as everything was agreed upon at writeup.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this lack of proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[West Broad Hyundai made no offer and didn't fully address concerns from original complaint. I attached additional proof/screenshot that I called 4 other dealerships and requested price quotes for a tune up and spark plugs. Please call these dealerships! I attached copies of cheaper service quotes and items that I receive for free at other dealerships (excluding air filters). Again, call attention to their response that shows three different forms with only one (the final bill) containing an itemized list of service.]

Regards,

****** ********




10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the late summer my wife and I purchased a new **** ******* from west broad Hyundai and in August of 2015 While programing the GPS and pushing the address on the screen with my finger, the screen popped. And there was a hairline crack in it. I went to Richmond and toll the service writer what had happened. He gave me an appointment to bring the vehicle in. When I took it in and they took it back to the shop. After a short time the service writer called me in the service area and told me that service manager would not cover the repair under warranty because it was hit with something. I did not see the service manager. I am 71 years old and I told them exactly what happened. My wife was in the vehicle when it happened and we will swear to it. When you purchase a $42 thousand dollar vehicle you should get just a little respect. the service manager could have talked to me. I don't know why they won't believe us. After all we are not people who tell lies about what happened.

Desired Settlement: fix or repair under warranty

Business Response: I have forwarded the complaint to Hyundai's Regional service rep for consideration as West Broad Hyundai has no control over what's covered and not covered by Hyundai Warranty the manufacturer holds all that power we are on your side and hope they come through and make you happy as soon as we get word we will follow up. Thanks Danny GM  

Business Response: Great news **** Hyundai Motor America got back with us yesterday evening after we forwarded the complaint to them they have agreed to repair your vehicle under warranty so i will have Beverly call you to set an appointment up for the repair we look forward to seeing you and getting this done Thanks Danny ****** GM

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

**** *********



3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had bought ******* ******* from West Broad Hyundai few years back (2011). We had some problem with the car from the beginning. Had got the engine replaced at West Broad Hyundai. Recently the car was not starting unless the keys are plunged in. We thought car may be having another issue. So my wife when to West Broad Hyundai. They replaced the key batteries without asking her first. And gave her a bill of $26.28. She said, they should have asked before replacing as she came there for diagnosis only. A key battery cost $3 and we were charged with $26.28, that too without asking us to replace it. Felt cheated with this whole incident.

Desired Settlement: Refund $26.28

Business Response: Hi ** ****** i pulled your ticket and there is no signature on the repair order and our policy  is we must get a signature on all cost of repairs for authorization therefore i have instructed my Service Manager to reimburse the cost of the batteries for the remote thanks and have a great day. *****  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

***** ******



10/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was wondering if you would help my family and direct us on how to proceed. On Tuesday I was pulling out of a parking lot getting ready to get on the interstate and I couldn't turn the wheel. I had my husband and 2 of my 3 kids in the van with me. The lower control arm broke. We had it towed to my house after paying 95.00. After researching online for the custom made part we found out that the part was recalled and we did not know about the recall until Wednesday morning. We called our local dealership which they had the car towed. We had to rent a rental car which is a pretty penny. Now, we have been told that neither towing bill nor the rental car will be paid by the dealership because it isn't their problem. Now, I am a mother of 3 driving a van that I depend on and did not know about the recall and the DANGER the van was until now. If I had known about the recall and the DANGER the van was I would have had it fixed a long time ago. If I had been on the interstate driving at interstate speeds my 2 children, my husband and I would have been killed not only us, but most likely other people. I could not turn the wheel of the van!! Now, I am just asking for payment for the two towing bills and the rental car until my van is fixed hopefully on Monday or Tuesday, per the dealership. I really don't want to take this matter to court or put this matter in the news. I want to continue to be ******* owner. I am not asking for much just ******* to consider this matter. We are not rich people. We are not asking for a lot. But I feel that ******* is responsible for this matter. Now, you would think with the other car dealerships in trouble with recalls and people getting hurt or even death , ******* would want to help us but they are not.

Desired Settlement: That ******* will pay for both towing bills and also the rental car . It is our understanding that the van was at their dealership before noon on Thursday and the car will not be ready until Tuesday of next week.

Business Response: Hi *** i am responding on behalf of West Broad Hyundai not ******* the manufacturer i am sorry that you are having issues so let me point you in the right direction we are just the sales and repair facility your issue is with the manufacturer as that is there resposibility  to send out recall notices if you are the origional owner of the vehicle if you are the second owner then it is your responsibility to register at a ******* ******* ****** with your name and address  so recall notices can be mailed to you. I will give you the number to ******* ******** ******* and hope they can assist you ************** Thanks ***** ****** GM

9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister died on June 13,2014 of Colon cancer. She had leased a vehicle with West Board Hyundai. I was not a party to the lease. When my sister was placed in hospice suddenly last May and given three weeks to live, a close friend started calling ***** *****, the manager at that location. we called him four times, explaining that my sister was terminally ill, and asking to return the vehicle. *** ***** never returned our calls. I consulted an attorney about this and other estate matters.Though I was not obligated in any way to return this vehicle or handle this matter, I was trying to do the responsible thing. My attorney called the dealership and was told by *** ***** if I brought the vehicle in, they would accept it. I then called him two more times to see what time would be convenient for me to return the car. He never responded to those calls so I then drove the vehicle there on a Wednesday ,which was two days after he agreed to accept it.We were told he was on vacation and no one else at the dealership knew anything about the matter. No one else at the dealership would agree to accept car. My attorney then called the national office of Hyundai Financing ,who said the vehicle should be turned in to the dealership. However, they said they would tow it form my sister's apartment complex within seven days. We removed the plates and notified the management of the complex. They did not tow the vehicle within the promised week or in the following three weeks. At this point, My attorney filed tow complaints, one with the DMV and one with the Consumer Affair's Division of the Attorney General's office. Again, the dealership told my attorney that ***** ***** would accept the vehicle. I called him twice last week to make arrangements and not surprisingly, he never called me back. So, I called his boss, the General manager, *** ******, whose name I got from your website. *** ****** was kind enough to return my call within twenty minutes and though we kept missing each other, He must have directed *** ***** to call me because he finally did. I returned the car last week and *** ******* few words to me did not include any apology or even an explanation. It was clear, too, that he had told other staff that I had complained. I had to ask one of the employees to basically leave me alone when he pestered me repeatedly with sarcastic offers of beverages and some inane offer to sit in a leather chair. Today, I received acall from a ***** ******* at west Broad Hyundai asking if we could resolve the matter because he received a compliant form Consumer Affairs. Apparently, no one told him the matter had been handled.

Desired Settlement: An apology will mean nothing but is overdue. You obviously cannot teach people to be decent or empathetic or to understand how a grieving family might appreciate the kindness of a returned phone call. The irony of this dealership's receiving all kinds of sales awards is not lost on me. They are happy to take your money for a car whose reputation they had nothing to do with just as they were happy to lease my seriously ill sister a vehicle when she had an accident while receiving chemotherapy. So, I don't expect an apology and it would be meaningless. I do want my complaint or a summation of it registered on your website. And I would like them to know I was planning to replace my eleven year old ***** *** this winter and was seriously considering the ******* ***** **. I will never buy a vehicle from that dealership. They won't lose sleep over it but they might want to pay attention. I'm sure I'm not the only person they have treated so carelessly. It will affect them eventually.

Business Response: I called **** *** and we had a nice conversation as i had hoped to talk with her on Aug. 18 but we seemed to play phone tag and today Aug. 21 at 11:30 fianally got a chance to talk and get some clarity on the problem and resolve the issue so i would like to thank *** *** for speaking with me and if she needs anything further my office door is always open.  ***** ****** GM

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

**** ***

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my ******* ****** towed to West Broad Hyundai because it would not start. The battery had run down. I asked the service department to check the car out, because the headlights didn't always go out after cutting car off. I believed the battery was run down from this headlight issue. ***** ****, a ******* **********, said they couldn't find anything wrong with the car other than it needed a new battery. A new battery would be $100.00. I told them the battery had recently been replaced with a new one. ***** **** then recommended a 100,000 mileage service be done. This service included the following: Oil change, tire rotation, air filter change, cabin filter change, timing belt change, new v-belt coolant change and new spark plugs. This service would cost $1800.00. I told ***** I had just changed the oil and oil filter myself at home and the tires are rotated regularly at ****** where the tires were purchased from. They performed the other services other than the ones I told them not to do ie: oil change and tire rotation. The car was serviced from February 28 to March 4 2014. The bill was $1562.82. The next day or two the engine light came on. I returned back to West Broad Hyundai. ***** said the transmission was bad. I disagreed with him and took the car back home. One day when the weather was warm I turned on the air conditioner, it didn't work. I drove by West Broad Hyundai. They said to bring the car back in. ***** said the Charcoal canister needed to be replaced. I told him that wasn't what I brought the car in for. I told him the air conditioner wasn't working and had been working fine up until it was brought into West Broad Hyundai. ***** said it would cost $150.00 to put Freon in the car. I picked up the car without any services performed. To replace the timing belt you have to remove the air condioner compressor, so I checked the wire going to the compressor. The insulator on the wire going to the compressor had fallen off and I reconnected wire tothe compressor with electrical tape. In May 2013 , I had the air conditioner repaired at ******* ********** **** ****** ***** ********* ** ************. The air conditioner had been running fine since that repair. I believe that West Broad Hyundai hasn't fixed the issue with my car and continues to run up addtional repairs with no solution to the problem I brought it in for.

Desired Settlement: Find out what caused the battery to run down that was the original complaint and the air conditioner which had worked fine up until brought in to West Broad Hyundai. Fix original complaint regarding battery and fix air conditioning which was working fine prior to service at West Broad Hyundai

Business Response:

When customer came in the check engine light was on and 1st time gave code for problem with transmission.  We cleared the code at that time and told him if the code came back, vehicle would need a transmission.   When the vehicle came back in, had a code for the charcoal canister and valve which customer declined repair.  We checked the a/c and found no freon in the system.  Explained to customer we would have to charge system and insert dye to find the leak which the customer declined.  The ac compressor does not have to be removed when replacing a timing belt.   After explaining thoroughly the additional issues with the vehicle to the customer, the customer declined any further repairs. 

Consumer Response:

I called the customer and he said that the bill went up higher than it should have that the ac was working just find when they took he car to the shop, but then were told it needed freon. The customer also said that they had just replaced the battery but it was the car that was running the battery down because the headlight would not turn off automatically and they did not realize that the car was doing this.

As the business kept finding other things that needed to be done the price kept going up, even though they were not problems the customer took the vehicle in to be repaired. At that point the customer picked the vehicle up and left the shop.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on West Broad Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)