Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville

Phone: (804) 417-0202 Fax: (804) 417-1034 6564 Mechanicsville Turnpk, Mechanicsville, VA 23111 http://sheehymechanicsvillenissan.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2003 in VA Business incorporated 08/01/2003 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Business Management
Mr. Dan Carbray, General Manager Mr. Gary Bolling, Comptroller Mr. Skip Jabbar, Corporate VP of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Carbray, General Manager
Related Businesses
Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Truck accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 6564 Mechanicsville Turnpk

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111 (804) 417-0202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ******** ******** on January 3, 2015. On January 16 the car was towed to Sheehy with a dry rotted radiator cap, told the vehicle was fixed, there was no heat in the vehicle by the time I got a few miles towards home. January 4, the vehicle was towed to Sheehy because the light came on, the car was over heating and I could not drive the car to get it repaired from the January 3 visit. I was told the radiator lines were bled and the car was fixed. January 20, no heat in the car. I wrapped my daughter in a blanket to get her to daycare then to the dealership to drop the car off. This time I requested a solution because I had not had the car a month and I have had so many issues. the general manager was contacted, no response. The Service Manager was contacted, he said he would look into it. My boyfriend and I left work early to speak to General Manager in person, when we arrived he sent the General Sales manager to us and he watched from another office. We were given (2) $50.00 gift cards "for our troubles" and told if we wanted another vehicle we could use this vehicle as a trade. January 29, took car to Sheehy because the heat worked when it wanted to. I still had to wrap my daughter in a blanket in the mornings to get her to daycare. The car stayed overnight and a lead mechanic drove the car to his personal house to see if they fixed it. I was told they bled the lines all day to fix the issue. February 12, the car had no heat until I drove home at 5:00 from work. I dropped car at Sheehy that evening and was given a rental. I was told it would go to a Chrysler dealership for repairs. I called them 1 week later, General Service manager said he would get an update and call back, no call. Called after another week and general service manager said it would be ready by March 4, no response from him since.

Desired Settlement: I went to Sheehy for a reliable vehicle. I have a 3 year old daughter and I needed a dependable vehicle to drive. I would like a replacement vehicle OR this vehicle returned, the loan paid for by Sheehy and completely out of this contract with them. The General Manager has not assisted us with these issues, when I call they act like they don't know what I am talking about, poor service.

Business Response: Never received notice of the complaint until today when  I was cleaning my spam folder. I think a phone call along with the email would work better. This customer was put in a new vehicle yesterday due to them not being satisfied with there original purchase. We put them in another vehicle a year newer and with less miles and with no money from them and kept there payments the same.

Sincerley
*** ******* ******* *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,

****** ******



3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/19/2014, *****, a representative for Sheehy contacted my employer and told the ************ when she attempted to send him to voicemail that I need to call him back because it could result in me loosing my car. The issue I have with that is first, he provided information to someone he had no permission to provide that information too. Secondly, it was false information. I feel as though he felt there was no need to continue providing stellar customer service since they already got my business. Sheehy has no right to repo my vehicle since ******* *** bought the vehicle out from them and provided me the loan for it. He made false threats, and he did not have the right to discuss any personal information with and of the employees at my job on top of him not having the right to disrupt my work day while I'm working! It was very inappropriate! It all started when I set an arrangement for Sheehy to withdraw the down payment money from my account, when I first signed the agreement. The total down payment is $1,000.00. The first $500.00 was scheduled for them to withdraw on a Friday, as I went up there on that Friday to pick up my tags I reminded ****** (the car salesman) to make sure they take the payment out! I advised them that I have bills set up for automatic payment and I'm not sure as to when they will be coming out, so please take the money out on the dates scheduled. They waited until that following Tuesday to try to withdraw the money, the money wasn't available. At that point it became inconvenient for me, I had to travel out of my way to go up there and sign a new payment arrangement on multiple occasions. Where I wouldn't have had to when the first two scheduled payments were convenient for me and also at the time I knew the money would be available on those exact dates had they took it out on time. The other problem is the original scheduled payments were during the grace period I had until my first car note is due and payment for car insurance on top of monthly rent I pay. Now that I have to break the final payment down in to 3 payments, it interferes with other bills that have to be paid. He failed to accept responsibility for the lack of them doing their job, and solely made it seem as if it was my responsibility alone to come and re schedule those payments. Had they done there job in the first place, this would not be a problem. To date they have received $500.00 and I owe an additional $500.00. I would like for them accept $250.00 as final payment for the down payment, due to lack of professionalism, lack of customer service, lack of doing their job and a full apology by phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them accept $250.00 as final payment for the down payment, due to lack of professionalism, lack of customer service, lack of doing their job. A full apology by phone and also complimentary service.

Business Response:

I spoke to *** ******** personally and had her sign the new Pnotes and apologized at that time for the treatment that she felt she received from one of my ********. I don’t know why the original payment wasn’t taken out on the Friday she requested, but even so the money still should have been in the account, we did not attempt to take it out early. I apologize for my employee leaving a message that may have embarrassed her at work, we were unable to reach her through cell and text and he was responsible for the collection of the money due. At this time I am not willing to reduce the debt owed by *** ********* 

Sincerely,

*** *******

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 0n 07/03/2013 I purches a **** ********** from Sheehy Nissan.Later I notice there was an extended service contract cost of 2,395.00I went back to Sheehy Nissan and ask that the extended service be canceledand a full refund. I received a refund of 2,010.00 I'm asking for 385.00 balance.Also I ask that the *** be canceled and refund of 885.00

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response:

*******,

 

We have already refunded the extended warranty and the *** coverage that *** ***** requested. The amounts he was refunded are prorated by the amount of time that has expired since his original purchase date. We are sorry for any confusion that this may have caused *** *****.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****



I have not used the extended warranty or ***. I think I should receive a full refund. I have not received anything from ***.

 

 

 

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had the vehicle (**** ***** ******** ***) for 3 months and I have had to have repairs done every month . I believe if Sheehy Nissan would have conducted a proper inspection and check on the vehicle they would have found the issue on the vehicle. I have had to purchase a new battery, new key, replace the WCM reader for the key, and replace tension strut bars. All of these issues should have been noted and taking care of prior to purchase.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the total amount of $1331.65

Business Response:

Never received anything or a phone call, please call me at *** *** ****

 

*** *******

General Manager

Sheehy Nissan Mechanicsville

************

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My airbag light in my 2011 ****** ****** came on after my neice left the door open and it rained all night in my car. I called the dealership to find out if I needed to have it checked out and they told me to bring it by. When I got to the dealership I was told I needed to pay $116 for a diagnoistic test right away. I did and I was told it was the airbag system. I was then told that this needed to be fixed right away because Nissan would not be able to guarantee the system would work in an accident. I asked for a price (the employee knew my car wasn't under warrenty prior to giving me the price because he told me it wasn't) I was given a written quote for 2,999.54 which needed to be paid prior to ordering the part. I was also told to check with the insurance since it was an accident to see if they would cover it. I did and they would. My agent came to meet me at ****** on Feb. 7 to provide them with the check however, when we arrived to pay my agent was told that the part was going to be 3,999.54 because they had mistakingly given the wrong quote prior. My agent printed a new check an the part was ordered. I was told 2 to 3 days. It has now been 5 months and they still don't have a date for the part arrival. I have know been informed by Nissan that my car will not pass inspection without the part and they refuse to sign the insurance check so I can find the part elsewhere. My 16 year old drives this car that I am still paying on and I won't let her drive because they are not insurring the airbag system works. Please help A complaint was also filed with ****** *** **** and they have not received any helpful information either.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed immediatly or I want ****** to sign the check so I can get the car fixed else where.

Business Response:

The problem with the part is ****** is  trying to secure part from Mexico, ****** consumer Affairs is contacting the customer to explain that it will not benefit to switch dealerships to get the part. The part would only be delayed longer, we where given an eta of july 24th for delivery of the part. ****** is offering the customer a maintenace package for her inconvience.  i have left *** ***** a message to call me and I will explain the situation to her. I am more than willing to refund the check to the insurance company, but as i stated it would only delay her repair.

 

Sincerley

 

*** ******* ******* ******* ****** ****** ** ************** ************

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *****


 

I have been working with ****** **** since March and my assiged agent has gotten no farther along with the situation than I have.  He called me again today and said the part was coming from Mexico and that he had no other info.  It appears that I will probably be trading in this car and doing no other business with Nissan. NO OFFER was provided as I already pay for services in my payment