BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville

Phone: (804) 417-0202 Fax: (804) 417-1034 6564 Mechanicsville Turnpk, Mechanicsville, VA 23111 http://sheehymechanicsvillenissan.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Nissan of Mechanicsville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 03, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2003 in VA Business incorporated: 08/01/2003 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Business Management
Mr. Dan Carbray, General Manager Mr. Gary Bolling, Comptroller Mr. Skip Jabbar, Corporate VP of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Carbray, General Manager
Related Businesses
Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Truck accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 6564 Mechanicsville Turnpk

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111 (804) 417-0202

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/19/2014, *****, a representative for Sheehy contacted my employer and told the ************ when she attempted to send him to voicemail that I need to call him back because it could result in me loosing my car. The issue I have with that is first, he provided information to someone he had no permission to provide that information too. Secondly, it was false information. I feel as though he felt there was no need to continue providing stellar customer service since they already got my business. Sheehy has no right to repo my vehicle since ******* *** bought the vehicle out from them and provided me the loan for it. He made false threats, and he did not have the right to discuss any personal information with and of the employees at my job on top of him not having the right to disrupt my work day while I'm working! It was very inappropriate! It all started when I set an arrangement for Sheehy to withdraw the down payment money from my account, when I first signed the agreement. The total down payment is $1,000.00. The first $500.00 was scheduled for them to withdraw on a Friday, as I went up there on that Friday to pick up my tags I reminded ****** (the car salesman) to make sure they take the payment out! I advised them that I have bills set up for automatic payment and I'm not sure as to when they will be coming out, so please take the money out on the dates scheduled. They waited until that following Tuesday to try to withdraw the money, the money wasn't available. At that point it became inconvenient for me, I had to travel out of my way to go up there and sign a new payment arrangement on multiple occasions. Where I wouldn't have had to when the first two scheduled payments were convenient for me and also at the time I knew the money would be available on those exact dates had they took it out on time. The other problem is the original scheduled payments were during the grace period I had until my first car note is due and payment for car insurance on top of monthly rent I pay. Now that I have to break the final payment down in to 3 payments, it interferes with other bills that have to be paid. He failed to accept responsibility for the lack of them doing their job, and solely made it seem as if it was my responsibility alone to come and re schedule those payments. Had they done there job in the first place, this would not be a problem. To date they have received $500.00 and I owe an additional $500.00. I would like for them accept $250.00 as final payment for the down payment, due to lack of professionalism, lack of customer service, lack of doing their job and a full apology by phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them accept $250.00 as final payment for the down payment, due to lack of professionalism, lack of customer service, lack of doing their job. A full apology by phone and also complimentary service.

Business Response:

I spoke to *** ******** personally and had her sign the new Pnotes and apologized at that time for the treatment that she felt she received from one of my ********. I don’t know why the original payment wasn’t taken out on the Friday she requested, but even so the money still should have been in the account, we did not attempt to take it out early. I apologize for my employee leaving a message that may have embarrassed her at work, we were unable to reach her through cell and text and he was responsible for the collection of the money due. At this time I am not willing to reduce the debt owed by *** ********* 

Sincerely,

*** *******

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 0n 07/03/2013 I purches a **** ********** from Sheehy Nissan.Later I notice there was an extended service contract cost of 2,395.00I went back to Sheehy Nissan and ask that the extended service be canceledand a full refund. I received a refund of 2,010.00 I'm asking for 385.00 balance.Also I ask that the *** be canceled and refund of 885.00

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response:

*******,

 

We have already refunded the extended warranty and the *** coverage that *** ***** requested. The amounts he was refunded are prorated by the amount of time that has expired since his original purchase date. We are sorry for any confusion that this may have caused *** *****.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****



I have not used the extended warranty or ***. I think I should receive a full refund. I have not received anything from ***.

 

 

 

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had the vehicle (**** ***** ******** ***) for 3 months and I have had to have repairs done every month . I believe if Sheehy Nissan would have conducted a proper inspection and check on the vehicle they would have found the issue on the vehicle. I have had to purchase a new battery, new key, replace the WCM reader for the key, and replace tension strut bars. All of these issues should have been noted and taking care of prior to purchase.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the total amount of $1331.65

Business Response:

Never received anything or a phone call, please call me at *** *** ****

 

*** *******

General Manager

Sheehy Nissan Mechanicsville

************

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My airbag light in my 2011 ****** ****** came on after my neice left the door open and it rained all night in my car. I called the dealership to find out if I needed to have it checked out and they told me to bring it by. When I got to the dealership I was told I needed to pay $116 for a diagnoistic test right away. I did and I was told it was the airbag system. I was then told that this needed to be fixed right away because Nissan would not be able to guarantee the system would work in an accident. I asked for a price (the employee knew my car wasn't under warrenty prior to giving me the price because he told me it wasn't) I was given a written quote for 2,999.54 which needed to be paid prior to ordering the part. I was also told to check with the insurance since it was an accident to see if they would cover it. I did and they would. My agent came to meet me at ****** on Feb. 7 to provide them with the check however, when we arrived to pay my agent was told that the part was going to be 3,999.54 because they had mistakingly given the wrong quote prior. My agent printed a new check an the part was ordered. I was told 2 to 3 days. It has now been 5 months and they still don't have a date for the part arrival. I have know been informed by Nissan that my car will not pass inspection without the part and they refuse to sign the insurance check so I can find the part elsewhere. My 16 year old drives this car that I am still paying on and I won't let her drive because they are not insurring the airbag system works. Please help A complaint was also filed with ****** *** **** and they have not received any helpful information either.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed immediatly or I want ****** to sign the check so I can get the car fixed else where.

Business Response:

The problem with the part is ****** is  trying to secure part from Mexico, ****** consumer Affairs is contacting the customer to explain that it will not benefit to switch dealerships to get the part. The part would only be delayed longer, we where given an eta of july 24th for delivery of the part. ****** is offering the customer a maintenace package for her inconvience.  i have left *** ***** a message to call me and I will explain the situation to her. I am more than willing to refund the check to the insurance company, but as i stated it would only delay her repair.

 

Sincerley

 

*** ******* ******* ******* ****** ****** ** ************** ************

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *****


 

I have been working with ****** **** since March and my assiged agent has gotten no farther along with the situation than I have.  He called me again today and said the part was coming from Mexico and that he had no other info.  It appears that I will probably be trading in this car and doing no other business with Nissan. NO OFFER was provided as I already pay for services in my payment

3/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues