Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond

Additional Locations

Fax: (804) 378-3674 View Additional Phone Numbers 10601 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235 http://sheehyfordofrichmond.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Warren Schoening, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Lorton, General Manager
Related Businesses
Sheehy Ford of Ashland
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Truck Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Truck accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Sheehy Ford, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10601 Midlothian Turnpike

    Richmond, VA 23235 (804) 794-0500

  • 11401 West Broad Street

    Richmond, VA 23233

  • P. O. Box 35045

    Richmond, VA 23235

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: yamdedetApril 14, 2016 I called a salespersons to let them know I was interested in purchasing a vehicle. He advised me to come to the dealership at Sheehy 1601 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, Va. I met with the salesperson to see if that vehicle was still available and it was. I told him I was already preapproved with my own bank which was ******* *** **** ******* and I did not want to use any of their lenders. He told me that was fine and that they would not use any of their lenders. I met with the clerk I told her & showed her my preapproval letter from ******* *** **** ******* and I did not want to use any of their lenders. She told me that was fine and she just needed to check my credit score to start the process in closing the deal. We closed the deal and I pick the car up on Saturday April 16, 2016. I rec'd a letter from Fifth Third Bank dated May 6, 2016 thanking me for my application for credit that was submitted on April 14, 2016 by Sheehy Ford Richmond, VA stating they regret to inform me they were unable to approve the request. I was shocked and disappointed because I never authorized this request. I immediately called the Sheehy Ford Richmond and had to leave a message on Mike L*****/General Manager voicemail, on Saturday May 14 I rec'd a call from Kevin R****/Used car salesperson, at that time I did not have the letter with me, but I did explained to Kevin the denial letter from a bank and told him I would call him back with the name of bank. Kevin stated it was not their office and he did not see any inquiries on his end. Later on the same day I called Kevin back and left a message that I had the name of the bank, for him to please call me back. I did not get a call back from Kevin. I researched the phone number for the corporate office and left a message with Lisa Z*********/Customer Relations. She referred me back to the dealership. Upon checking my credit report show 2 other hard inquiry by Sheehy on April 14, 2016

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the total amount of my processing fee which is $599.00. Sheehy was suppose to be the experts in their field of business and they were not. They were not authorized to apply for lenders under my name. I did not authorize the request and Sheehy did it without my permission. I only authorized them to check my credit score. I talked to Nikki/Supervisor and she said everybody makes mistakes and they clicked on the wrong drop down box. If it was a mistake then why did they not tell me about my denial of credit while I was still at the dealership? Nikki had no response.

Business Response:

We did send this to a second bank in error. We explained that to this customer when he inquired. He received a declination letter because we did in fact call the bank and resend the request for credit.  There are no negative effects of this credit inquiry. There are no monetary damages here. We would be happy to send a letter to the credit bureau if this makes the customer more comfortable.  

 

Sincerely,

 

Mike L*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 I expect a business like Sheehy to be an experts in your area and business

1  you need tell the customer up front that a mistake has been made when you make it, clearly you should have told me
2   when the customer calls you and tells you what happen don't deny it like your used car manager Kevin R****** did
3   when your finance supervisor Nikki calls me and tell me, don't I make mistakes,  she was very unprofessional and trying to blame me the customer
4   when you tell  me that you are going to call me back, keep your word, Kevin R****** didn't answer my message and Nikki never called me back after saying she would do so
5   don't assume what hurts a person credit score, their are many factors that go into your over all score
6   Mike Lorton should have gotten involved much sooner I left him a voice mail,  please don't forget the customers  are the reason you got a job


****** *******

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2016 ford fusion and the finance dept talked me into getting the VIP package which increased my financed amount to over $21,000. After talking to my husband we opted to cancel the VIP package ($1800.00). I called and emailed Sheehy that I wanted to cancel it and simply finance the car only at a little over $19,000. I told them I didn't have a problem coming in to resign all papers so that this could be done. I was told they already sent the paperwork over and that they would simply cancel it and make a principal curtailment for the VIP package. I purchased this car on 3/28/2016. I have made several calls to the dealership to find out why this principal curtailment has not been made. I was told over a week ago that the check would be mailed out - the bank still has yet to receive it. For the past 2 1/2 months I have had to pay interest of an est. (1800.00). I can't understand why it is taking so long for the dealership to make this payment. The dealership is earning interest off of the money and I am paying interest on this money. I am extremely disappointed that the matter has still not been taken care of. I have called every week since buying this vehicle to check and see if the payment has been made.

Desired Settlement: I would like the VIP package payment to be made to me or the bank asap, and I feel that the interest should be refunded to me.

Business Response:

The amount stated by this customer includes the extended warranty and the Sheehy VIP policy. We are at the mercy of the warranty company to get to us the amount of the refund. On the cancellation form signed by this customer, it states that the customer should expect for this to take up to 60 days. We are sending the check to the bank on 6-14-2016. This falls within the parameters of the 60 days allowed. I am attaching the copy of the check and a copy of the cancellation form for your reference.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the attached paperwork is not my signature and I signed he paper in March therefore it has been well over 60 days this paper that contains my signature has a date of 4/28 and that is not correct and is not my signature so someone at that dealership forged my signature!!!the check should have been sent at the end of May as I canceled the VIP in March!  Why is someone at the dealership forging a customers signature!  



Regards,

******** *****




2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago, I took my ****** in for regularly scheduled maintenance and asked them to check to see what was making a noise within the engine compartment. I told the Service Advisor (SA) I thought it was the tensioner pulley but couldn't be sure. After some time elapsed, the SA came over and told me that all 20 of my lug nuts needed to be replaced. At $9 per nut, I was more than a little curious. He stated they were warped from "heat" and couldn't be placed back on the car. Strange I thought, especially since several of the lug nuts had been replaced by Sheehy just a few months prior. Then the SA stated they found the offending pulley and replaced it at a cost of approximately $300. This is where things started to get bad. I went out and started the car and the noise I was hearing was still as evident as when I initially took it in. I immediately went back in and told the SA the noise was still present. He came out and with a very condescending shrug of his shoulders, told me it must be the alternator. And for only $600 more, they could replace that as well. What??? I flatly stated I would not have them do any more work until I had the car checked out by a third party. I took the ****** to a local mechanic the next day. He quickly isolated the noise. Surprise...it was the tensioner pulley as I had initially told the SA. So I spent $200 to have it replaced and the car was then right as rain. I contacted the Service Department manager, Mr. **** *******, and told him about my concerns and asked him how was Sheehy going to "make this right". His answer was that the SA was a bit difficult to work with and was no longer employed there. I also sent multiple emails to the General Manager, Mr. **** ******, to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I strongly believe Sheehy should refund the cost of the lug nuts as they were not all original to the vehicle and several had been replaced at this dealership just a few months prior. Additionally, the cost of the repair to the pulley should be refunded as this was not the problem. They basically "fixed" an item which was not broken.

Business Response: Tell us why here...

The customer had his vehicle in our service department on 07/17/2015. He requested that we replace 4 tires and that there is a squealing noise under the hood like a pulley or tensioner noise.

Our technician found the drive pulley was making a noise similar to what was described by the customer, and when removing the lug nuts to replace the tires that he requested, we found the caps on the lug nut were stripped, not uncommon on a vehicle with mileage of 307,473. We recommended to replace the pulley for a cost of $306.36, the tires, $679.50, lug nuts for $177.00, and a battery for $118.81 for a total cost with tax and tire disposal of $1,368.73. The customer authorized the repairs. He stated afterwards there was still a noise, again not uncommon with a vehicle of this high mileage to have several issues. Our service advisor stated that it may be an alternator and the customer said he was taking it elsewhere. The customer called and spoke with assistant manager and asked to have the old parts saved for his inspection we agreed, however he never showed to retrieve or inspect the failed parts in question. Please feel free to call with any questions.

**** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *******


BBB
720 Moorfield Park Drive, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23236

To Whom It May Concern,
This letter references my complaint from Sheehy Ford of Richmond, complaint ID ********. I disagree with the business’ reply and offer my rebuttal to their response below.
Mr. ****** actually did a fine job articulating my issues with the service I received on 7/17/2015. I did in fact state there was a noise which sounded like a pulley. As stated on the invoice, “CUSTOMER STATES THAT VEHICLE IS MAKING SQUEALING NOISE LIKE PULLEY OR TENSIONER SOUND”.
I will get back to that statement after I address the statements made by Mr. ****** chronologically as they appear in his piecemeal response.
I don’t doubt that some of the lug nuts may have experienced some wear due to age. My point of disagreement is that I sincerely do not believe all 20 were damaged as Sheehy themselves replaced several lug nuts just a few months prior. If the new lug nuts were stripped as well, then I would submit the technician possibly stripped them while removing them. Mr. ****** states this is not uncommon with a vehicle with high mileage and, at face value, would not disagree. However, this particular vehicle is in remarkable shape for the mileage. I would welcome an inspection of the vehicle by Mr. ****** or any of his technicians to verify this.
In his reply, Mr. ****** stated that I approved the repairs. Well of course I did. I took it to the “experts”, and based upon their recommendations, I authorized the work. No different than if I was to go to my doctor for an ailment. I am going to trust what I am told.
Mr. ****** continually referenced the fact that it’s not uncommon for my car to have “issues”. I disagree wholeheartedly. The reason it DOES NOT have the common issues associated with a high-mileage vehicle is because I address any and all problems immediately.
Moving on to the issue of replacing the wrong pulley. Mr. ****** states the pulley which was replaced was making a noise “similar to what was described by the customer”. Not entirely sure where Mr. ****** received this bit of information, but I don’t recall seeing him in the shop that day. Might it be a case of third hand information received from either Mr. ******* or the technician? I suspect so. Might one not consider the fact that in order to cover their rear-ends and admit to not delivering the correct service, that they would recite a bit of revisionist history? If what Mr. ****** was told was in fact correct, then why was the noise just as prevalent when they were finished as when I delivered it to them? The technician stated on the invoice: “UPON INSPECTION FOUN (sic) THAT DRIVE BELT PULLEY WAS MAKING NOISE. REPLACED TOP PULLEY AND RETESTED AND IS NOT MAKING ANYMORE NOISE”. Interesting. I guess what I’m being told is that after the technician replaced the top pulley and before I went out to pick it up, the tensioner pulley went bad because apparently it was fine when it pulled out of the Service bay but went bad in the intervening 10 minutes or so it took for me to pay.
Now to address the statement in Mr. ******** reply to this complaint that the assistant manager offered to keep the parts for my inspection: This NEVER happened. I was not offered the opportunity to retrieve the old parts. I assure you, had that offer been made, I would have picked them up. Given the fact that it took several days just to reach Mr. *******, I would have certainly taken him up on that offer. I didn’t speak to him for several days as a weekend fell in between the multitude of messages I left on Mr. *******’s voice mail. As a matter of fact, I spoke to no one until after I sent an email to Mr. ****** stating my concerns. When I finally did speak with Mr. *******, he simply told me he was able to dig a few of the lug nuts out of the trash and they looked worn. This was the conversation regarding the worn parts. No offer for me to inspect anything. I suggest to you Mr. ****** that maybe there’s an integrity issue within the Service Department.
The money is not an issue and never has been. It is a matter of principle. I pay for a service; I expect to receive said service. I certainly understand that things do not always go as anticipated. Good customer service is owning up to a mistake and correcting it. This has happened several times in the past at your dealership (feel free to check my very extensive records) and the situation was corrected and I still went on my way a satisfied customer. Not sure what happened this time, but rest assured, this was the stereotypical dealer-service experience which is often the butt of jokes.
Perpetuation can be a powerful tool. *** ****** (founder of *******) once stated when queried as to why he was so willing to take returns so readily, that if you provide great customer service to someone, they’ll tell two or three of their friends. If you provide poor customer service, they’ll tell anyone who will listen. I believe truer words were never spoken.

1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** **** ***** from Sheehy Ford in November 2014. At that time I purchased an extended warranty on the vehicle. I contacted Patrick M*******, ******* ******* ** ****** **** on 12/4/15 to advise that I had traded the car in and wanted to cancel the extended warranty contract. He advised on 12/5/15 that the only thing he needed from me was a copy of the odometer statement for the car that I received from the dealer I traded the car to. I emailed him that information on 12/6/15. I have followed up with two emails and two phone calls since that time to request when I could expect the refund. I have heard nothing from him. On 1/10/16 I emailed Mike L*****, ******* ******* ** ****** ****, and gave him all the details on my request to have the extended warranty contract cancelled, as well as to express my displeasure with the fact that no one from his dealership had been courteous enough to respond to my repeated attempts to find out the status of the request. I asked that he please respond to my request for information on this within five business days. I still have heard nothing from the dealership. The refund amount should be in the vicinity of $1,100.00. I would appreciate any help that could be provided in resolving the matter. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the monies owed due to the cancellation of the extended warranty contract.

Business Response:

All though we try to get cancelations out to our customers as soon as possible, we are at the mercy of the warranty company to get us the funds. For that reason we have a form signed stating that it could take up to 60 days. This customer also signed this form. 60 days have not passed. However, as a good will gesture we will be glad to contact this customer and make the refund before we are paid to do so. We also have copies of correspondence via e-mails with this customer dated as late as 1/11/2016.  Any further questions please feel free to call.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******
 


 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

**** *****


12/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ***** ***** *******. I went to meet with the finance manager Wes T***** and he told me that with the **** loan I would have to purchase a warranty. He explained it was a requirement of ****. I explained that I didn't want a warranty and asked to switch lenders so I wouldn't need one. He explained that the other lenders had higher interest rates and that **** would be cheapest even with the warranty. When I saw that the warranty added over 25.00 to my monthly payment I told Wes that I no longer wanted to purchased the vehicle. He looked concerned and gave me a paper to sign that would cancel the warranty right after everything was processed. He explained that this would "trick" **** into getting me the loan without a warranty. When I left the dealership I called **** and they explained that they cannot ever require that their clients purchase warranty's and explained that finance managers do that to scam customers into purchasing a warranty and they warned me that they often don't cancel the warranty's right away either. 68 days later I called the dealership because the ******* transmission died. I inquired to make sure that the warranty had been cancelled and it had not been cancelled. They told me that they could still cancel the warranty because I had a free 60 day warranty with the purchase of my vehicle and they explained that they could easily do a small extension like 8 days. My warranty was then cancelled and now the dealership has notified me and explained that their shop is unable to work on ******** transmissions so they wont be able to extend the free 60 day warranty as they had previously promised. So now I have no warranty and have a vehicle that is not working. **** ****** is the GM there. At first he seemed very understanding and promised that he would get this taken care of. After I cancelled the warranty planning to use their free 60 day warranty he has changed drastic**** and calls this a "misunderstanding"

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the vehicle OR the transmission replaced and paid for by them as I was promised.

Business Response:

After the purchase of this customers used van, he made contact with one of our finance managers requesting to cancel his warranty. He felt as if he had been pushed into purchasing it and was not happy. He followed via emails and phone calls to insure has warranty had been canceled. He demanded to see a copy of the check sent to the bank to cancel his warranty. We did so. He then called several days later saying he had changed his mind and to not cancel the warranty. We explained that although difficult to reinstate the warranty, that if the check had not been cashed by his lienholder that it may be possible. We called the lienholder and ran a history on the check. The check had been received and cashed. This customer was offered to purchase a replacement warranty at 0% but would have to have the vehicle re-inspected. That is when he explained that he had a  bad transmission and the inspection would not work. I informed him that he choose to cancel the warranty and that the repair was outside of any other warranty as time had expired. I am sorry that this customer choose to cancel his warranty because the issue would have been covered if he had not choose to do so. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

Respectfully,

  **** ****** ******* ******* ****** **** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response by **** ****** is not completely true. Yes, I was pushed into purchasing the warranty and yes I wanted to cancel because I never intended to purchase it from the start. However, when I called to cancel the warranty I was told I would have to sign a paper to cancel and then fax it to the finance manager. I had not signed the cancellation letter when I emailed and called to explain that I was debating keeping the warranty because the van started making odd sounds. I came clean right away about the issue with my transmission. Shortly after I disclosed this issue my warranty was cancelled without my signature on the cancellation letter.

I have the fax in my possession that proves Wes required I sign a form. If Sheehy can come up with a form that I signed then there would be no problem. But, I know I never signed the form and it was cancelled anyway. They then offered to extend my free 60 day warranty and then later came back on their word about that.

I am requesting that my transmission is paid for by the dealership in full OR I would like a full refund for the vehicle.


Regards,

**** *******



10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a **** ****** ****** in June 2012 from Sheehy Nissan in Richmond. We also purchased the Sheehy VIP program, which entitles us to have certain repairs done at no charge. Sheehy Nissan on Broad Street changed ownership, and the new dealer no longer honors the Sheehy VIP program. We have been taking our car to Sheehy Ford to use our VIP membership. We were told by Sheehy Nissan that we could take it to any Sheehy dealership for service and our VIP membership would be honored.We have taken our Maxima to Sheehy Ford many times since June, 2012 (for virtually all oil changes). We always get our service done timely.On May 21, 2015, my husband was driving the Maxima when it completely shut down on the highway. We had it towed to the nearest Nissan dealership (Pence Nissan) and they determined that the air filter was so dirty that it was buckling on the sides and particles of debris were getting into the mass air flow sensor, which ultimately shut down the car. They determined that the air filter was likely never changed. I went to Sheehy Ford for service that same week and asked them if they had ever changed the air filter. They looked up the service records an said that no, they had no record of ever changing it. They also told me that their policy is when the air filter is dirty, they bring it in and show the customer and ask if they want it replaced. This never happened any of the times that I took it there for service. No one every asked me if I wanted it changed, and I do not have enough knowledge of cars to know that I should ask if it needs to be changed.We emailed the service manager at Sheehy Ford to be compensated for the tow and be reimbursed for the deductible (the part was covered under warranty). They reimbursed us for the tow but nothing else.

Desired Settlement: We feel as though Sheehy Ford was highly negligent due to the fact that they have the working knowledge of cars, and they should have made sure that we knew this repair needed to be done. I would have paid $40 for an air filter over having our car destroyed because something routine was not completed. Not to mention the danger involved with our car dying on a busy highway. We take good care of our cars, and we are very disappointed in the way this matter was handled by Sheehy Ford.

Business Response: This issue with this customer was brought to our attention several months ago. At the time of the complaint, although there were discrepancy's of dates we decided as a goodwill gesture to pay for the tow. If the cause of the part failure was a clogged air filter it would not of been covered under warranty. Once again we feel we have we are not guilty of anything in this situation and the customer would have had to pay the deductible even if the work was done here. We made a goodwill gesture to cover the tow and we feel that was more than enough.
**** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business is failing to see the root cause of the complaint.  My complaint is not the fact that the air filter wasn't covered under warranty.  I will pay $40 for an air filter.  My complaint is the fact that we have brought the car to this dealership for almost 3 years and, although they state their process is to ask the customer if they would like their air filter to be changed, they never once told us it was dirty and needed replacement.  We do not know if this was out of laziness, or because they did not check the air filter to begin with.  But when a standard oil change is supposed to include checking the air filter, and that is not done for 3 years, it can cause significant damage to a vehicle.  We feel the business was completely negligent in not informing us that it was dirty and needed replacement.  We were lucky the damage was not more extensive than just the replacement of the mass air flow sensor.  The issue is that customers entrust repair shops (especially dealerships) to provide quality service.  We had our car there multiple times and the air filter was "missed" every time.  This is not a responsible repair facility, and it could have destroyed our almost new vehicle.


Regards,

***** *******




7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the following, in part, by email on 7/9 and received no response. Dear *** ******, I have owned Lincoln automobiles for over 25 years; a **** **** ***, a **** *********** and a **** **** ***...... On Saturday, July 4th after routinely lowering the driver’s side window it failed to close after repeated attempts. The motor made it’s routine whirring sound, but the window would no longer close....... Daniel Wiegratz was most helpful and did a good job of informing me of the work needed. Using the internet I had previously researched the repair prospects and possible costs so I knew what I might expect to hear. Years ago I might have done the work myself, but I am now in a retirement community and no longer have all my tools available nor the environment to do so. I was advised by Daniel of the scope of repairs and the cost of about $570 was beyond what I had expected, but I decided to go ahead with it since the car was no longer usable with its window stuck open. To make a long story short, the repairs were done, the $566.45 was paid,..... I received a carton in which the replaced parts had been placed by the mechanic, I presume. There was no motor in the carton. .........the parts returned to me do not match what has been charged as having been replaced. Specifically there is no motor mechanism in the carton.... In my presence Daniel tested the window before he sent it to the shop and I noted to him that the motor was working. O’Reilly Auto Parts listed as available a new regulator without the motor for $69.99 and a new Power Window Assembly with a motor for $119.99. Sheehy charged me $206.40 for parts. I have no idea what the shop supplies at $34.50 were for. While I do not know exactly how much time it should take to remove the door panel, replace the bad parts and then replace the door panel Idoubt it should have taken more than an hour, which makes the $313.61 labor charge seem excessive. I request you review the situation....

Desired Settlement: First - find out why my email was not promptly responded to, in some way. Second - Review the situation to determine how much I have been overcharged for the repairs and refund the difference.

Business Response:       We use the manufactures suggested retail pricing for parts. It looks as if there is less than $16.00 difference between what the customer found on the internet and OEM parts from our dealership. The labor charges are from Alldata( used by the majority of Dealerships for labor charges) labor time guide. The estimated price came in a few dollars lower and was authorized by the customer. We stand by our estimate and pricing to be competitive and certainly not out of line. It was mentioned in this customers initial email that it was not necessary for me to contact him. I am willing to answer any and all questions if this customer would like me to contact him.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The prime reason for contacting the BBB was the seemingly unavailability of a name of someone in upper management whom I might address my complaint to. The only name I could find was at the BBB website. Thus I emailed him using the seemingly responsible official's name in your website. It is interesting that whomever the responsible individual is has still not identified him/herself. 

Second, my original email to Sheehy included the above listed attachment. When no reply was received two days later I emailed the same attachment and again there was no response. I never mentioned in any way that it was not necessary to contact me. I expected a reply and in my view I was being dismissed as unimportant. That led to my complaint to the BBB.

Thirdly, I am non-plussed at this person's math. I specifically state that Sheehy charged me $206.40 for a part I could have purchased down the street to $69.99; the difference is $136.41, not $16.00. I would also like to know specifically what shop supplies were used during the repair to a tune of $34.50. I am now checking on their labor charge; it also seems excessive.

Lastly, my name, address and telephone number are in Sheehy's database. I just received an email soliciting my business, so I know they also have my email address. 

Sheehy has earned an F in their response to a patron's complaint. 

I hope to hear from someone in authority, preferably Mr./Ms. Sheehy.

Regards,

****** ** ******




7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I walked into Sheehy Ford on September 5th and requested to have a 2015 Ford ******* built. With my request, I had a pre-approved loan check, details of the build and my $1000 deposit. The whole transaction only took about 25 minutes. At that time, it was expressed that the builds normally take from 9 to 12 weeks. From week to week, I check with the salesperson for updates. Around about the ninth week, I took it upon myself to check online for the status with the VIN number that the sales person provided. I found the car and status. After a closer look at the window sticker, I saw that it was a "manual" when I ordered and "automatic"! I immediately contacted the salesperson and he promptly spoke with the manager who inputted the order. It is now almost November and my car was supposed to arrive by Thanksgiving. The salesperson responded that they would have to re-order the car and start from scratch with my build. He mentioned that the manager inputted the order wrong. I mentioned that I sold my car and planned to rent a vehicle only for the duration of the 12 weeks, not any longer. The salesperson empathized with me and mentioned that my order would be priority and that I should have it by Christmas. I pondered the situation for a few days and decided to reachout to the General Manager via email because it was not fair that I was being penalized for someone else's error. The error would cost me an additional $600 plus tax to rent a vehicle. The General Manager never responded to me or even acknowledge my issue. Instead, he sent a response back through my salesperson that they would pay my first months car note since I had to rent a vehicle another month. I thought that was fair. My car not is $529.62. I didn't mind eating the difference. Then time goes on and its now New Years, still no vehicle. So I started to reach out to the salesperson again and he has no idea when the car is coming. Now I'm furious! I was told it would be priority and here by Christmas. The car finally arrives on January 22nd. I pick up the car a few hours after it arrives. So I ask the finance manager about the check that I was promised by the GM and he said that he would call me about it. It has been 2 weeks and I have not heard anything from Sheehy. In addition, I feel its only fair that I am compensated for both months that I had rent vehicles because the orginal car that I ordered, arrived on November 27th as stated on the day it was ordered. The total cost from Enterprise is $1,334. I'll even settle for just the first two months car notes in the amount of $1,059.24. Again, I should not be penalized for someone elses error. I did my homework before ordering the car, made a quick smooth transaction and caused no problems. I have all of the Enterprise receipts and email correspondences between myself and Sheehy.

Desired Settlement: Compensation - $1,059.24 for ordering the wrong vehicle and causing me to rent transportation for an additional 60 days.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
The customer is absolutely correct in the fact that her new ******* was not ordered correctly by Sheehy Ford. We corrected the order and ordered a new*******. We offered because of our mistake to pay her first payment. The length of time it takes to get an ordered unit is out of our hands. We do realize that the process took much longer than anyone expected. Because of the length of time and our mistake we compensated this customer by discounting the vehicle that was selling for MSRP at a very large discount and another discount equal to her first payment. This equated to be several hundred dollar. The customer expressed her complete satisfaction at the time of delivery and thanked us for our cooperation. I have an email thanking us for our cooperation. She brought her sister in to purchase a car after the fact as well. We feel as if we did all we could to rectify the situation and no other compensation is needed. This is the first we have been notified of any dissatisfaction regarding the situation. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to respond to my issue. However, there were a few inaccuracies in your response. If your intention was to issue a discount in exchange for my first month car payment, then that should have been communicated to me during the purchase. The only discount that I noticed or was aware of was a cash rebate that is given to anyone who purchases the vehicle. When I inquired about the first months payment before leaving the establishment, the finance manager said that he didn't know anything about it, wrote down my number and said that he would call me and let me know. I still haven't received a call. I understand that Sheehy cannot control Ford's build schedule. However, the car that I ordered arrived on the exact date given to me by ***** when I completed the order. So anytime after November 27th, is not and should not be my issue. The car was here on time. It was just incorrectly ordered. If I had not taken the initiative to follow through the build on my own, the error wouldn't have been noticed until it arrived at the dealer. Which means, I still wouldn't have the car. That is why I feel, and rightfully should, that I should be reimbursed for the time that I was without the vehicle that I ordered. Even in the communication that I have, when I agreed to the first month payment, the expectation was that the vehicle would be changed to a priority status and here by Christmas. That did not happen. As the customer, I should not be penalized for someone elses mistake. As a company, you should take ownership and make it right. Next, I expressed my complete satisfaction with the vehicle, not the process or my experience which you see in the two surveys that I have taken. I referred my sister to ***** because he is a good salesperson. This was not his fault. It is her decision, not to purchase a vehicle through Sheehy because she does not like the experience that I had. Again, I spoke to the finance manager and gave him two weeks to call me before I completed the complaint so I did mention the dissatisfaction.

I'm curious to see the "large" discount that I received. I paid more than my original quote so I'd love to see where the discounts were. I originally chose Sheehy because of its location and great reputation. I was hoping for a great experience overall. Having a car built to your liking is exciting. This should have been an exciting experience for me. I did EVERYTHING that I was supposed to do as a customer. All of my homework was done, paid my deposit, was pre-approved twice because the first one expired in December. I researched the build and checked on it often. I left everything pretty easy for Sheehy. If I could have purchased directly from Ford, I would have. I had plans to travel for the holidays because the car was scheduled to arrive right on time. So you should be able to understand my complete disappointment in Sheehy. Thanks again for your time.

*******


Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: BBB spoke with the business. He stated that due to the issue they paid the first month's payment, guaranteed the trade in, ans took the vehicle price down to invoice. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not have a trade-in. The $500 was a cash rebate which is given to any customer. I was actually charged more than the original quote that I was given due to the incorrect order being entered. Even moreso, the car was a build which is sold at invoice any way. Sheehy isn't doing anything more than what would have been done if there was not an issue. The first month car note was not even mentioned when we closed the deal until I asked the Finance Manager. He had no knowledge of it and he was the finance manager. I understand the importance of customer service and would never punish a customer for my error. It is about accountability and Sheehy should have accepted responsibility for their mistakes, the consequences there of and the problems that it caused me as a customer. People make mistakes but customer retention is everything.


Regards,
****** *****



10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I begin. This was the most horrifying experience I ever encounter purchasing a new vehicle. I was purchasing a **** ***** **** as a surprise for my husband. The salesman ***** ******* was very nice and was trying to work with me. The Sales Manager was called in to work on the numbers. The "gentleman" came into the office and started berating me and talking down to me and said he was comfortable on his pricing. The same day I received three phone calls apologizing for the Sales Manager's attitude and requesting that I continue to deal with Sheehy. A deal was reached to include a trade-in vehicle. Another Sales Manager agreed to take the trade-in vehicle based on cell phone photos. I informed him the car was rough, but driven daily. He agreed to $1000. trade in allowance. On Friday September 26, I closed the deal with Sheehy, finalized all the paperwork and gave them a very large downpayment. I informed them that I had sent a friend to NY to retrieve the trade in and would have it to them by the week-end. We attempted to drop the trade-in off on Sunday, and they refused to honor their trade in allowance. They told me the vehicle was only worth $100. The Sales Manager then attempted to tell me that the deal was always contingent on them seeing the trade in vehicle. I asked him to show me where it was stated somewhere in writing and he told me there was nothing in writing. The only contingency of this deal was that I would not take ownership of the new vehicle until the trade was in their hands. When they refused to honor the deal, I told them the deal was off and I wanted my large downpayment back. They informed me that it was locked in the safe and I would have to return on Monday in order to get it back. I would not recommend Sheehy Ford to my worst enemy. The Sales Managers are unprofessional and rude.

Desired Settlement: Formal written apology. Also to see the Store Policy changed that any 'verbal agreements' must be also in written format.

Business Response:       
         We are not pleased that this customer is upset. This customers trade came down from New York. We gave her an estimated value based on the condition she described. The vehicle was towed in and would not start. It was rusted so severely and in such poor condition that we felt it had no value and only offered The $100.00 as a goodwill gesture.
?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunately Sheehy Ford continues to lie. They were provided photos of the vehicle showing the rust around the rear quarter panels, and told that the vehicle was rough but driven daily. There was no attempt on my part to 'hide' any information on the car.  As for their comment the 'vehicle would not start'.. the car was started and backed off from the tow dolly, restarted and driven back onto tow dolly. As for their comment ' the car was rusted so severely and in such poor condition that we felt it had no

value and only offered The $100.00 as a goodwill gesture', another Ford dealer offered me 1000.00 for the car.

My original complaint still stands. The dealership had completed all paperwork including financial to close the deal and to provide delivery of the vehicle based on delivery of trade-in. NO where was it stated the deal was contingent on them inspecting and reevaluating the trade in. We asked that of the Sales Manager and he stated that this clause was not in writing.

If I was to back out of this contract, once all the financial paperwork was signed I would have been forced to take delivery of the vehicle. Why is the reverse different for the car dealer? Isn't this practice highly illegal?

I am very concerned that Sheehy Ford has made this a 'best business practice' and is taking advantage of other consumers.

thank you,

******* *****

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2012 *** ***** ******** **** ******* to Sheehy Ford for them to check my vehicle because I had to keep adding coolant to the resivior, this was on July 29th 2014. while I was in the waiting room waiting for my ride back to work the service advisor came to where I was sitting, and said to me "*** *****, what kind of mood are you in today?'I replied " good..why you ask?" she then asked me to come outside, I asked why? she then told me that a customer just backed into my car. Now im upset but did not show it. the body was to repair my car, it sat for about 6 days and didn't move from the spot they parked the car, I approached them about it ,they said the were waiting on allstate to come out, I asked for allstates number, I called and they told me that they had none of my information and that SHEEHY had not contacted them. I received an estimate for repair on August 8th . the estimate states that the repairs should be done within 5 days, it took twice that time. ****** called me and told me my car was ready for pick up, the body shop manager told me on the phone that it looked great. when I came to pick up the car the first thing I see is a huge gap on one side of the hood and a minimal gap on the other side, I also noticed trash in the paint, bumper misaligned and numerous other items. They told me to drive the car look it over and make a list of what I noticed, I returned with a list of at least 14 items that were done incorrectly or were badly done. I presented this list to the body shop manager and he told me to return to the shop the day after Labor day @ 8:00 am..i showed up, he was way late, the rental car company was way late and I was way late to work.. ***** who is the body shop manager told me it would take approximately 2 days, I WENT BY NUMEROUS TIMES AFTER THE 2 DAYS AND WASNT DONE. I showed up today September 9th and they told me my car was done but they were waiting on an emissions sticker but otherwise the car was done. only 2 of the items on the list were completed and I am very upset. I went back to talk to the **** but instead I got to talk to the service manager , which his suggestion was to leave it again, I was like I just left it here for 8 days and nothing was done,i do not want Sheehy to touch my car again, but also need some type of resolution lawyer? news channel? my car is not even close to the condition it was prior to this accident, I expressed my concern to allstate and they just said sorry Sheehy is not one of our approved vendors...... please help

Desired Settlement: not sure as to anything other then I want my car back to pre accident loss, Sheehy can not seem to accomplish this, there is also the diminished value to my car

Business Response: BBB spoke with *** from the company and he stated that a customer of theirs did back into the consumer's car. *** stated that his shop did the repairs and the consumer was not happy so they redid the repairs. Once they were finished, the consumer said that the repairs were not completely correctly and *** stated that he offered to work on the car again to get everything done for the consumer. *** said each time they had the consumers car, they gave the consumer a loaner to drive. At this point, *** stated that the consumer can take the car to another shop to see what is left to be completed and let him know so he can help with the cost or complete the repairs and lend the consumer another loaner.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

**** *****

7/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with a Sheehy sales person (**** ******) online in a chat regarding some Pickups advertised on their web site. They have 3 trucks advertised with a price of $23,600. The salesmen sent me an email quote with the same price. My wife drove approximately 3/4 of an hour to see the trucks and when she got there was told that price is for active service personnel, veterans and recent college grads. It was going to cost us about $2,000 more. None of this information was mentioned in the chat, email or online ads. I asked what incentives or rebates they had going on and the only thing mentioned was a $3,000 rebate if financed through****. The quote I received from Sheehy had a disclaimer indicating they are not responsible for errors or omissions. I feel this is an unethical practice of Bait and switch. Get the customer in the door and then tell them they are not eligible for that price. I spoke to the internet sales manager ****** ****** about this and he seemed to think what they are doing is acceptable. I can provide links to the online ad and the quote if needed.

Desired Settlement: I think this company should be stripped of the BBB accreditation and action needs to be taken to stop this activity

Business Response:      

   We have a complete and full disclosure on the web site that explains our pricing. We are a family owned and operated business that has a very good reputation. We do not practice bait and switch advertising. The price and all rebates are disclosed properly. It is not in small print and hidden. It is very clearly disclosed. I have included the section of the disclosure that defines the rebates. I am sorry that this is an issue and that this customer is dissatisfied. We very rarely have this issue. This portion reads : Sheehy EasyPrices include all applicable rebates and incentives. Some included rebates may require financing through the manufacturer and are therefore subject to credit approval. Additional rebates and incentives, such as Military or College Graduate programs, may apply to those who qualify. Thank you.

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ********* **** on June 19th and paid $3,000 o my credit card and 3,400 by check. On Friday, June 20th, my husband drove all the way to Midlothin to pick up the car and in 20 minutes it overheated and haad to be towed back to the shop. We decided that we did not want the car because we felt that Sheehy was not credible in that their service department thoroughly checks out all the vehicles before they sell them. I made an appointment on Thursday June 21 to pick up my refund. They credit $3,000 towards my credit card and told me I had to wait 10 days for my check to clear. Well being a banker I knew that is not true any longer n that checks can clear very quickly now. On Friday, my check had already posted to my account and was ableto print out the front and back of the check. I sent this to **** ****** but he said their finance depaetmet would only accept a letter from the bank. I sent a message to ***** **** and in that message they replied that my check cleared if it shows on my bank account and I can see the front and back of the check. I sent this to **** ****** to pass on to *** ****** on Saturday and have not heard anything. As a consumer and considering this was a cash transaction and given the fact I would n ot have been in this situation if they had of provided me a reliable vehicle, mandating they hold my money when proof is they got theirs is wrong. Also, I contacted my credit card company today to find that the $3,000.00 has not posted to my account either. It is obvious this ccompany has one thing on their mind and it is how quickly they can sell and get someone out the door and not worry about them

Desired Settlement: I would like a call from them immediately that a check was been written to me and proof that the $3,000.00 has been put back on my credit card.

Business Response:  


   It is our company policy to not refund checks and credit cards for 10 days. We do this to protect against refunding a check or credit card and it does not clear our bank. We broke this policy for this customer because of the issues she had with the car she purchased. We took the car back refunded the credit card immediately and refunded the check as soon as it cleared our bank. This all happened before the 10 days and the customer has already been refunded. We are truly sorry for the issues she had and did everything we could to make it right.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *******

4/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a **** *** **, I took my car to sheehy **** to get Repairs done which included brakes and rotors...When I picked up my car I notice a very loud squealing noise and also a burning smell...I could visibly see smoke which seems like it could be coming from the wheels, I called sheehy **** and they said would look at the problem I got a call the same day saying the noise is coming from the new parts (brakes and rotors) and because They were not **** parts and the sound will eventually fade maybe ? That didn't happen... I had my car for 3years I always used the same brand never had a problem with any noise, I decided to take it to **** because I needed a left control arm as well...I informed the rep he said it wasn't anything he could do about it, his mood was as if he was irritated. I also spoke with the manager Kathy but she wasn't any help as well...I feel as I been treated unfairly I trusted them and their suggestions I spent over 1500 with sheehy **** to have my car squealing making very loud noise that it never did in the beginning.

Desired Settlement: As of now....I do not want the same mechanic working on my car. I want Sheehy ford to get a experienced mechanic to fix my car properly. Some type of compensation would be nice as well

Business Response:

******,

 

I spoke with ******** *****, and we discussed the recommendation for brake and rotor replacement and the cost. *** ***** bought the parts from **** **** to save some expense, as opposed to our recommendation of using **** factory parts. We spoke on Friday 18th and I informed *** ***** that we have experienced some squealing when using non **** parts, however I asked her to bring the vehicle in on Monday 21st to inspect the brakes and make sure they are operating safely. *** ***** as of 4:30 Friday afternoon has not showed up. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

 

Thanks,

 

 

*** ********

Consumer Response: [[I did not get brakes from **** **** to save money I always get that brand, and they never squeak you guys somehow put them on wrong or didn't inspect them because they had a crack in it which you guys fixed


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

******** *****



4/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/20/2013 went to Sheehy Ford in ********, VA to pick up a **** **** ** that had taken numerous contacts with the salesman to negotiate a final price. Salesman presented pprwrk with the agreed upon price, signed it and the salesman took it to the finance dept. He later returned with new pprwrk b/c he said we did not have a trade. It had been made very clear to the salesman that we did not have a trade. We did not agree with the the new price which was $1500.00 more that what we negotiated so we left the dealership with the understanding the deal was off (gone). When we first arrived the salesman did the credit check and jokingly said to my husband "I thought you said you have good credit you have excellent credit". Then on 11/16/2013 we received a lttr stating our credit was denied and that we could request a copy of the statement of specific reasons why the application was denied. Mailed a registered lttr requesting said document and it was signed for on 11/19/2013 by a representative of the dealership and we never received a response. We had a lawyer contact the dealership to try and get the documentation that their lttr said we could request to no avail. They also sent the lttr registered mail and it was signed by a representative of the dealership on 02/20/2014 (the same person signed my lttr and the lttr the lawyer sent) The lawyer suggested we get in touch with this bureau to try and get results of why the application was denied. Keeping in mind the only problem is why we received this lttr stating our credit application was denied when we had already been approved on 10/20/2013. Once the deal was over, we did not sign any additional pprwrk so what was denied and we are concerned that this so called denial may affect our credit if or when we may buy something in the future.

Desired Settlement: Would like all copies of any and all pprwrk signed by me and/or my wife. Also would like an explanation of how our credit was denied when we were told our credit had already been approved and we had not applied for any additional credit. There should be a fine imposed or public acknowledgement of the improper business practices by Sheehy Ford.

Business Response:  In response to complaint #*******. We are following federal law when sending out notice of credit decision. We do not make decisions on credit. We are required by federal law to send out such a letter when a customer gives us credit information and credit is not extended for any reason including choosing not to to purchase.

Thank You and I hope that this helps.

Sincerely,

**** ******
******* ******* ****** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per the message from Sheehy Ford I now understand the purpose of the credit denial letter (disputed price of vehicle) BUT why did they not response to my first two (2) attempts for said documentation (answer)?  Sheehy Ford did not response to our request for an explanation until your agency got involved. Evidently this is the way they treat their customers until forced to do otherwise. Would like a response to why they were quick to say they were following federal law but would NOT response to us as requested.

Regards,

******* ****



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart