BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond

Additional Locations

Fax: (804) 378-3674 View Additional Phone Numbers 10601 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235 http://sheehyfordofrichmond.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Ford Lincoln of Richmond
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 16, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Skip Jabbar, Corporate VP, Sales Mr. Warren Schoening, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Lorton, General Manager
Related Businesses
Sheehy Ashland Collision Ctr
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Truck Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Truck accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Sheehy Ford, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 10601 Midlothian Turnpike

    Richmond, VA 23235 (804) 794-0500

  • 11401 West Broad Street

    Richmond, VA 23233

  • P. O. Box 35045

    Richmond, VA 23235

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 794-0500(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I begin. This was the most horrifying experience I ever encounter purchasing a new vehicle. I was purchasing a **** ***** **** as a surprise for my husband. The salesman ***** ******* was very nice and was trying to work with me. The Sales Manager was called in to work on the numbers. The "gentleman" came into the office and started berating me and talking down to me and said he was comfortable on his pricing. The same day I received three phone calls apologizing for the Sales Manager's attitude and requesting that I continue to deal with Sheehy. A deal was reached to include a trade-in vehicle. Another Sales Manager agreed to take the trade-in vehicle based on cell phone photos. I informed him the car was rough, but driven daily. He agreed to $1000. trade in allowance. On Friday September 26, I closed the deal with Sheehy, finalized all the paperwork and gave them a very large downpayment. I informed them that I had sent a friend to NY to retrieve the trade in and would have it to them by the week-end. We attempted to drop the trade-in off on Sunday, and they refused to honor their trade in allowance. They told me the vehicle was only worth $100. The Sales Manager then attempted to tell me that the deal was always contingent on them seeing the trade in vehicle. I asked him to show me where it was stated somewhere in writing and he told me there was nothing in writing. The only contingency of this deal was that I would not take ownership of the new vehicle until the trade was in their hands. When they refused to honor the deal, I told them the deal was off and I wanted my large downpayment back. They informed me that it was locked in the safe and I would have to return on Monday in order to get it back. I would not recommend Sheehy Ford to my worst enemy. The Sales Managers are unprofessional and rude.

Desired Settlement: Formal written apology. Also to see the Store Policy changed that any 'verbal agreements' must be also in written format.

Business Response:       
         We are not pleased that this customer is upset. This customers trade came down from New York. We gave her an estimated value based on the condition she described. The vehicle was towed in and would not start. It was rusted so severely and in such poor condition that we felt it had no value and only offered The $100.00 as a goodwill gesture.
?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunately Sheehy Ford continues to lie. They were provided photos of the vehicle showing the rust around the rear quarter panels, and told that the vehicle was rough but driven daily. There was no attempt on my part to 'hide' any information on the car.  As for their comment the 'vehicle would not start'.. the car was started and backed off from the tow dolly, restarted and driven back onto tow dolly. As for their comment ' the car was rusted so severely and in such poor condition that we felt it had no

value and only offered The $100.00 as a goodwill gesture', another Ford dealer offered me 1000.00 for the car.

My original complaint still stands. The dealership had completed all paperwork including financial to close the deal and to provide delivery of the vehicle based on delivery of trade-in. NO where was it stated the deal was contingent on them inspecting and reevaluating the trade in. We asked that of the Sales Manager and he stated that this clause was not in writing.

If I was to back out of this contract, once all the financial paperwork was signed I would have been forced to take delivery of the vehicle. Why is the reverse different for the car dealer? Isn't this practice highly illegal?

I am very concerned that Sheehy Ford has made this a 'best business practice' and is taking advantage of other consumers.

thank you,

******* *****

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2012 *** ***** ******** **** ******* to Sheehy Ford for them to check my vehicle because I had to keep adding coolant to the resivior, this was on July 29th 2014. while I was in the waiting room waiting for my ride back to work the service advisor came to where I was sitting, and said to me "*** *****, what kind of mood are you in today?'I replied " good..why you ask?" she then asked me to come outside, I asked why? she then told me that a customer just backed into my car. Now im upset but did not show it. the body was to repair my car, it sat for about 6 days and didn't move from the spot they parked the car, I approached them about it ,they said the were waiting on allstate to come out, I asked for allstates number, I called and they told me that they had none of my information and that SHEEHY had not contacted them. I received an estimate for repair on August 8th . the estimate states that the repairs should be done within 5 days, it took twice that time. ****** called me and told me my car was ready for pick up, the body shop manager told me on the phone that it looked great. when I came to pick up the car the first thing I see is a huge gap on one side of the hood and a minimal gap on the other side, I also noticed trash in the paint, bumper misaligned and numerous other items. They told me to drive the car look it over and make a list of what I noticed, I returned with a list of at least 14 items that were done incorrectly or were badly done. I presented this list to the body shop manager and he told me to return to the shop the day after Labor day @ 8:00 am..i showed up, he was way late, the rental car company was way late and I was way late to work.. ***** who is the body shop manager told me it would take approximately 2 days, I WENT BY NUMEROUS TIMES AFTER THE 2 DAYS AND WASNT DONE. I showed up today September 9th and they told me my car was done but they were waiting on an emissions sticker but otherwise the car was done. only 2 of the items on the list were completed and I am very upset. I went back to talk to the **** but instead I got to talk to the service manager , which his suggestion was to leave it again, I was like I just left it here for 8 days and nothing was done,i do not want Sheehy to touch my car again, but also need some type of resolution lawyer? news channel? my car is not even close to the condition it was prior to this accident, I expressed my concern to allstate and they just said sorry Sheehy is not one of our approved vendors...... please help

Desired Settlement: not sure as to anything other then I want my car back to pre accident loss, Sheehy can not seem to accomplish this, there is also the diminished value to my car

Business Response: BBB spoke with *** from the company and he stated that a customer of theirs did back into the consumer's car. *** stated that his shop did the repairs and the consumer was not happy so they redid the repairs. Once they were finished, the consumer said that the repairs were not completely correctly and *** stated that he offered to work on the car again to get everything done for the consumer. *** said each time they had the consumers car, they gave the consumer a loaner to drive. At this point, *** stated that the consumer can take the car to another shop to see what is left to be completed and let him know so he can help with the cost or complete the repairs and lend the consumer another loaner.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

**** *****

7/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with a Sheehy sales person (**** ******) online in a chat regarding some Pickups advertised on their web site. They have 3 trucks advertised with a price of $23,600. The salesmen sent me an email quote with the same price. My wife drove approximately 3/4 of an hour to see the trucks and when she got there was told that price is for active service personnel, veterans and recent college grads. It was going to cost us about $2,000 more. None of this information was mentioned in the chat, email or online ads. I asked what incentives or rebates they had going on and the only thing mentioned was a $3,000 rebate if financed through****. The quote I received from Sheehy had a disclaimer indicating they are not responsible for errors or omissions. I feel this is an unethical practice of Bait and switch. Get the customer in the door and then tell them they are not eligible for that price. I spoke to the internet sales manager ****** ****** about this and he seemed to think what they are doing is acceptable. I can provide links to the online ad and the quote if needed.

Desired Settlement: I think this company should be stripped of the BBB accreditation and action needs to be taken to stop this activity

Business Response:      

   We have a complete and full disclosure on the web site that explains our pricing. We are a family owned and operated business that has a very good reputation. We do not practice bait and switch advertising. The price and all rebates are disclosed properly. It is not in small print and hidden. It is very clearly disclosed. I have included the section of the disclosure that defines the rebates. I am sorry that this is an issue and that this customer is dissatisfied. We very rarely have this issue. This portion reads : Sheehy EasyPrices include all applicable rebates and incentives. Some included rebates may require financing through the manufacturer and are therefore subject to credit approval. Additional rebates and incentives, such as Military or College Graduate programs, may apply to those who qualify. Thank you.

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ********* **** on June 19th and paid $3,000 o my credit card and 3,400 by check. On Friday, June 20th, my husband drove all the way to Midlothin to pick up the car and in 20 minutes it overheated and haad to be towed back to the shop. We decided that we did not want the car because we felt that Sheehy was not credible in that their service department thoroughly checks out all the vehicles before they sell them. I made an appointment on Thursday June 21 to pick up my refund. They credit $3,000 towards my credit card and told me I had to wait 10 days for my check to clear. Well being a banker I knew that is not true any longer n that checks can clear very quickly now. On Friday, my check had already posted to my account and was ableto print out the front and back of the check. I sent this to **** ****** but he said their finance depaetmet would only accept a letter from the bank. I sent a message to ***** **** and in that message they replied that my check cleared if it shows on my bank account and I can see the front and back of the check. I sent this to **** ****** to pass on to *** ****** on Saturday and have not heard anything. As a consumer and considering this was a cash transaction and given the fact I would n ot have been in this situation if they had of provided me a reliable vehicle, mandating they hold my money when proof is they got theirs is wrong. Also, I contacted my credit card company today to find that the $3,000.00 has not posted to my account either. It is obvious this ccompany has one thing on their mind and it is how quickly they can sell and get someone out the door and not worry about them

Desired Settlement: I would like a call from them immediately that a check was been written to me and proof that the $3,000.00 has been put back on my credit card.

Business Response:  


   It is our company policy to not refund checks and credit cards for 10 days. We do this to protect against refunding a check or credit card and it does not clear our bank. We broke this policy for this customer because of the issues she had with the car she purchased. We took the car back refunded the credit card immediately and refunded the check as soon as it cleared our bank. This all happened before the 10 days and the customer has already been refunded. We are truly sorry for the issues she had and did everything we could to make it right.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *******

4/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a **** *** **, I took my car to sheehy **** to get Repairs done which included brakes and rotors...When I picked up my car I notice a very loud squealing noise and also a burning smell...I could visibly see smoke which seems like it could be coming from the wheels, I called sheehy **** and they said would look at the problem I got a call the same day saying the noise is coming from the new parts (brakes and rotors) and because They were not **** parts and the sound will eventually fade maybe ? That didn't happen... I had my car for 3years I always used the same brand never had a problem with any noise, I decided to take it to **** because I needed a left control arm as well...I informed the rep he said it wasn't anything he could do about it, his mood was as if he was irritated. I also spoke with the manager Kathy but she wasn't any help as well...I feel as I been treated unfairly I trusted them and their suggestions I spent over 1500 with sheehy **** to have my car squealing making very loud noise that it never did in the beginning.

Desired Settlement: As of now....I do not want the same mechanic working on my car. I want Sheehy ford to get a experienced mechanic to fix my car properly. Some type of compensation would be nice as well

Business Response:

******,

 

I spoke with ******** *****, and we discussed the recommendation for brake and rotor replacement and the cost. *** ***** bought the parts from **** **** to save some expense, as opposed to our recommendation of using **** factory parts. We spoke on Friday 18th and I informed *** ***** that we have experienced some squealing when using non **** parts, however I asked her to bring the vehicle in on Monday 21st to inspect the brakes and make sure they are operating safely. *** ***** as of 4:30 Friday afternoon has not showed up. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

 

Thanks,

 

 

*** ********

Consumer Response: [[I did not get brakes from **** **** to save money I always get that brand, and they never squeak you guys somehow put them on wrong or didn't inspect them because they had a crack in it which you guys fixed


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

******** *****



4/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/20/2013 went to Sheehy Ford in ********, VA to pick up a **** **** ** that had taken numerous contacts with the salesman to negotiate a final price. Salesman presented pprwrk with the agreed upon price, signed it and the salesman took it to the finance dept. He later returned with new pprwrk b/c he said we did not have a trade. It had been made very clear to the salesman that we did not have a trade. We did not agree with the the new price which was $1500.00 more that what we negotiated so we left the dealership with the understanding the deal was off (gone). When we first arrived the salesman did the credit check and jokingly said to my husband "I thought you said you have good credit you have excellent credit". Then on 11/16/2013 we received a lttr stating our credit was denied and that we could request a copy of the statement of specific reasons why the application was denied. Mailed a registered lttr requesting said document and it was signed for on 11/19/2013 by a representative of the dealership and we never received a response. We had a lawyer contact the dealership to try and get the documentation that their lttr said we could request to no avail. They also sent the lttr registered mail and it was signed by a representative of the dealership on 02/20/2014 (the same person signed my lttr and the lttr the lawyer sent) The lawyer suggested we get in touch with this bureau to try and get results of why the application was denied. Keeping in mind the only problem is why we received this lttr stating our credit application was denied when we had already been approved on 10/20/2013. Once the deal was over, we did not sign any additional pprwrk so what was denied and we are concerned that this so called denial may affect our credit if or when we may buy something in the future.

Desired Settlement: Would like all copies of any and all pprwrk signed by me and/or my wife. Also would like an explanation of how our credit was denied when we were told our credit had already been approved and we had not applied for any additional credit. There should be a fine imposed or public acknowledgement of the improper business practices by Sheehy Ford.

Business Response:  In response to complaint #*******. We are following federal law when sending out notice of credit decision. We do not make decisions on credit. We are required by federal law to send out such a letter when a customer gives us credit information and credit is not extended for any reason including choosing not to to purchase.

Thank You and I hope that this helps.

Sincerely,

**** ******
******* ******* ****** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Per the message from Sheehy Ford I now understand the purpose of the credit denial letter (disputed price of vehicle) BUT why did they not response to my first two (2) attempts for said documentation (answer)?  Sheehy Ford did not response to our request for an explanation until your agency got involved. Evidently this is the way they treat their customers until forced to do otherwise. Would like a response to why they were quick to say they were following federal law but would NOT response to us as requested.

Regards,

******* ****


10/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a vehicle from Sheehy Ford of Richmond. The vehicle was originally listed at a sister-store, Sheehy ****** ** ***********, but was transferred to Richmond in order for me to view it. At both stores, the vehicle was listed and sold as a '11 ****** *** Limited trim, but later investigation on my part revealed that it was in fact a Premium trim option, which lowered the value roughly $1500 and meant that I had overpayed for the trim option I received. I contacted Sheehy ****** and explained my situation to them, and they faulted Sheehy Ford. I then called Sheehy Ford, and they recursively faulted Sheehy ******. No one accepted responsibility for the false advertising, and no one offered reparations, citing that I signed the contract and so nothing could be done. When I approached the company about this issue, I asked for some sympathy and sharing of the responsibility of this error. My request was to have replaced at no charge some minor *** parts that were found to be missing from the time of purchase (Total value of the missing parts was under $100). The company was not willing to replace these parts, despite having dishonestly over-charged me for the value of the vehicle for a much greater amount.

Desired Settlement: I realize I am bound to a contract signed out of my own naivete, so my options for compensation are limited. If my original requested parts could be replaced at no charge, then I would at least be satisfied that this company is willing to compromise. Regardless, their dishonesty must be exposed publicly.

Business Response:

Hello *** ******,

I received the complaint filed by our customer. This customer is correct in noting that the vehile purchased was listed as a limited. The mistake was noted before he ever finalized his decision and all the paper work signed is noted with the correct trim level.

 The trim levels advertised are generated by the input of the serial number of the vehicle posted. It is nearly impossible to be 100% correct as hard as we try. We do have a disclaimer stating just that. I am sorry this has happened. It does not make us dishonest. I would like to reiderate that this customer knew of this before he made his final decision. 

" Occasionally, pricing and data errors and omissions may occur on various vehicles and offers. Upon notification, such errors and omissions will be promptly removed or fixed. Inaccurate prices and data errors and/or omissions do not constitute valid prices or retail offers."

Please contact me for any further questions or information. I will be glad to help.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

General Manager Sheehy Ford

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the business's response, the representative from Sheehy Ford of Richmond stated that I, the customer, was aware of the discrepancy with the erroneously-listed vehicle trim option before the finalization of purchase. This is not true. I explained multiple times to the business that I had discovered the discrepancy independently and only after all the purchase contracts had been signed. At no time prior to the purchase was I made aware of the discrepancy, in fact, all my points of contact with the company claimed that they were unaware of the issue before my bringing it to their attention. Additionally, the representative provided the company’s official policy regarding pricing/data errors, which clearly states that such errors will void the validity of advertised prices or offers and will be promptly removed or fixed upon notification. I notified the company of the error, but it was not fixed, and if the advertised price was no longer valid due to the error, then wouldn't the pruchase contract taht was based on the invalid price also be made invalid?

The purchase contracts do indeed list the vehicle as Premium trim, so I fully accept responsibility for this lapse in purchaser’s scrutiny. I maintain, however, that the sales associates from Sheehy Ford continued to verbally refer to the vehicle as “Limited” up to and beyond the point of purchase, which did influence my decision to purchase and distracted me from more closely examining that single aspect of the purchase agreement where the discrepancy took place in writing. Although I made the mistake of not noticing the discrepancy immediately, the company made the first transgression, which was to essentially give false information that directly affected the price, whether intentionally or not.

Although I later contacted Sheehy Ford within the claimed 2-month-from-purchase grace period for purchase disputes (yet another spoken promise not honored), they were unwilling to take responsibility for their side of the mistake, even in the form of an alternate and much less significant reimbursement (the small replacement parts that I requested as opposed to the full $1500).

This company lacks integrity, because they cannot even verify the exact value/specifications of the vehicles they are selling, and they hide behind policies stating that it is difficult to enforce spoken promises, despite heavily relying on said promises as a primary sales tactic. They clearly make no effort to assume responsibility in the event that a promise is broken, even when the result is a very significant and unjust expense to the buyer. Their unwillingness to resolve or even consider this dispute is the basis for this complaint.


Regards,

******* ******




Business Response:

I am not sure what the issue is. We do have a 60 day Warranty on our Select Vehicles. It is a very good warranty with the dealership paying 100% of all labor and 100% of all parts covered in that time frame.

 

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have gone to this company for various maintenance on this vehicle since owning for less than a year. The tires were wearing oddly and I kept asking if I needed to get an alignment and the answer was no. Again I took my vehicle for routine maintenance they would rotate the tires and I asked at that time did I need a n alignment and the answer was no but they gave a quote for 2 tires priced at 500.00 So at that time, I asked did I need an alignment because of the quote and the answer was no that I would need to buy 2 tires in the next couple of months. Again I just took for routine maintenance and this time I was told the tires were in the red and needed to purchase tires. If the company was rotating tires and as a consumer since this is their area of expertise; the goal should be to inform the consumer of the of what is needed and explain the reason behind the information… so the vehicle could be safe. I contacted the ***** ******* **** ***** immediately she told me what she was not going to do. She was supposed to check some information then call me back and it took her 2 days to follow up. I did reach out to the ******* ****** ******* ****** and have not heard back from him. I was explaining to **** **** if I kept asking about an alignment and I noticed the tires were wearing…why not provide me with the correct information to make an inform decision; instead what they have done put me at risk and also now I have to spend more money to make sure the vehicle is safe for operation. I just recently took my car for an oil change, they did not top off the fluids, the car was supposed to be washed and was done half way and **** **** response was “I tell them they have need to do a better job”. Her response was never what I can do for you as a customer but more that I will do nothing. I asked was the vehicle checked for alignment before being sold and her response was " don't know". I taken the vehicle back several times for things they should have corrected the first time and did not but I had to make several trips and phone calls

Desired Settlement: Either provide 2 tires or a free alignment

Business Response:

Hi ******,

We reviewed the complaint that *** ****** had her **** ***** with 66,671 miles at our dealership. When a customer brings thier vehicle in for repairs or maintenance we give recommendations

based on the technicians findings, however ultimately it is the customers responsibility to maintain thier own vehicle. When *** ******* vehicle was in on 4/15/2013 we

recommended that the tires needed replaced she declined at that time.

*** ****** returned on 8/10/2013 we again recommended the tires to be replaced *** ****** declined at that time. An alignment should be performed with tire replacements

therefore an alignment was not recommended on either visit.

As a goodwill gesture if *** ****** would like to purchase the tires we recommended, we will align the vehicle for no charge. Please contact *** ******** *** ******* ********

to assist with the repairs ***** ******** *** ***

 

Thanks,

**** ******

  

     

 

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a recall on my 2004 **** ******** *** torque convertor. After picking the vehicle up, it was not shifting correctly from 1st to 2nd gear. This was not an issue prior to having the torque convertor replaced. They kept the van for a week and gave me a diagnosis of : 1. motor mount, then 2. misfire on cylinder no. 3. They wanted to charge for the motor mount and when I refused, they said it was a misfire. Again I refused because I felt they should have corrected the problem they caused without charging me for it. I contacted **** ***** by phone. They said they would send ****** ****** general manager an e-mail and I would be contacted within a few days. That was 2 weeks ago. I haven't heard anything yet.

Desired Settlement: I want the van running the way it was when I took to the dealership.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

*** ****** was in our service department 5/9/2013. He was in for a recall for the torque converter. We replaced the torque converter per the **** ***** ******* recall. After picking up his van he returned on 5/28 stating that there was a shudder or misfire. This was an intermittent problem. We kept the van for several days and after many test drives to duplicate the problem, we found the problem to be an internal transmission issue. This has nothing to do with the torque converter or the replacement of. The van is almost 10 years old and has 90,000 miles. We did make the effort to call the manufacture to see if we could get him some assistance. They said because of the age and miles and because he issue had nothing to do with the torque converter recall, they could not assist him. We will offer a discount if *** ****** would like as a goodwill gesture. Please let me know how I can assist you in any way with this matter.

Respectfully,

**** ******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** ******




I've tried to respond to your message. I do not accept the offer from ****** **** for a discount on the repair of the transmission. The transmission was working fine prior to their changing the torque convertor. Is it possible that they could have done something wrong to cause the transmission shift hard from first to second gear?

6/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Mustang V6 on Monday April 29th 2013 from Sheehy Ford of Richmond. Two days before the sale on Saturday April 27th 2013 I was looking at the car with my Mom and Dad. I asked my salesman if the car would support ********* for wireless communication from my cell phone. He told me that even the base model mustang would come equipped with *********. I was going to upgrade to the technololgy package with encludes Ford **** and ********* but decided not to because I was told the base model would have it. My parents were both witness to this. I even have text messages from the salesman stating that the car would support ********* without the **** package. The car was ordered and I picked it up Monday April 29th. While checking the car over before accepting it I noticed that the phone button on the car did not work. My salesman checked and realized that now the car did not have *********. He said he would order me a part from Ford that would make the button work and then the car would have *********. I told him that I wanted Ford parts only and no aftermarket. He gave me a "We Owe Statement" indicating that they would order this part. After two weeks of owning the car I decided to contact Ford Corporate. They told me that no such part exists and that they do no support aftermarket installs. On Monday April 13th I contacted the dealership and made them aware of the sitution. I then drove to the dealership to speak to them. I spoke to two Sales Mangers who told me all they could do was order me a Parrot aftermarket ********* kit. As I said earlier I did not want anything aftermarket. They offered to give me $350 in cash but that is not what I want. I then met with the General Manager. I asked him if he would return the car and order me one that had the technology package. I even offered to pay for half of what the package would cost but he refused to try to workout an agreement. He was very short and rude with me. All I want is what was promised to me which was factory Ford *********.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Sheehy Ford of Richmond to return the car and order me another one that is the same year, color, and powertrain that has the technology package. I am even offering to meet the dealership halfway on the cost of the package.

Business Response:

I did speak with this customer about his issue. His concern is *********. Not knowing if in fact he was told that the car he purchased had ********* capabilities, we offered to install it for free anyways to try and make him happy.. He only wants a different car that is much more expensive. I also offered to give him the value of the *********. ($350.00) We have tried very hard to rectify this and are being more than accommodating. Unfortunately that is not going to include a new and much more expensive car.

Respectfully,

**** ******

General Manager Sheehy Ford

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

I would like to thank both the BBB and **** ****** for this quick response.  I agree that I did speak to Mr. ****** about this issue but disagree with his assessment of the situation.  As noted in both the text message and the “we owe statement” from his salesman it is very clear to me and others that a factory ********* was a very important part of the decision to purchase this car.  As mentioned during the sales cycle and in the original complaint I was told this was included in the base package.  I was willing to order or allow them to find another car with the technology package and pay the additional cost but again I was assured that the ********* connectivity was included in the base package and would not require the Technology package.  Thus I took them at their word and agreed to purchase the car.  While waiting for over a week for the part to come in from **** I decided to contact **** directly.  It was in this conversation that I learned that no such part existed.  I then enquired about upgrading the radio to a radio that supported ********* and learned that **** does not support this upgrade.  Apparently it is a very complex upgrade process and simply not an option.  My understanding of what Mr. ****** has offered is a 3rd party product that would require a separate device to be mounted in the car and somehow attached to the dashboard.  This would be an eye sore and certainly not what I was promised.  I do appreciate Mr. ******’s offer to work with me on this issue but the current proposal is not acceptable.  The required upgrade Technology package is about a thousand dollars and as previously noted I was willing to meet them halfway if they would order me a new car with the required package to support ********* connectivity.  My real “want” is that the car I purchased had the ********* connectivity I was promised and since this cannot be factory upgraded I would like for Mr. ****** to deliver what was promised by replacing my current car with one just like it with the exception of adding the package that supports *********.

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

Business Response:

I spoke with **** from the company regarding this complaint. He stated while purchasing a specific package it adds value to a vehicle and although a package may be $1100.00 for the ********* it would include other features such as leather seats, auto dimming mirrors, etc.  Since the vehicle is considered a “used vehicle” it depreciates in value and it would not be an option for the company to trade in the vehicle for a brand new one. The company is still willing to either install the ********* for Mr. **** or provide a refund of $350.00 which is the factory value of the ********* if Mr. **** wishes. 

8/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service