BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton

Phone: (540) 347-6622 Fax: (540) 891-9685 7308 Cedar Run Dr, Warrenton, VA 20187 http://www.saffordofwarrenton.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 22, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1979 in VA Business incorporated: 12/31/2001 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Gramm, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Gramm, Owner
Related Businesses
Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg Safford RV
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
9:00am - 9:00pm
Monday - Friday

9:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday (Sales)
Alternate Business Names
Safford Motors Dodge and RVs LLC Safford of Warrenton
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 7308 Cedar Run Dr

    Warrenton, VA 20187 (540) 347-6622

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The negotiation on my new car involved discussion of various options. I was given a car with several of the options, but containing a 1600 dollar option I did not want (a sun roof). I was verbally told and shown on paper (a paper that was later taken away and not seen again) that the car contained *********** an option that has many enhanced safety features. The car does not have those features. I was remiss in not doing a final review of the car and refusing delivery, but my complaint is about what amounts to a bait and switch. I went through what I did and did not want on this car and took a compromise (the sun roof) because of the great ********* features. In subsequent conversations and emails with the sales manager they finally offered a package of services and warranties valued at $830, just over half the amount of the undesired option I received on the car. We requested the addition of a $500 gas card to finish this matter up. The dealer went silent, ignoring emails and phone calls for a week. I am extremely displeased with this treatment. I offered a compromise on the gas card in a voicemail yesterday and have not heard anything back. They said I would be receiving materials on the warranty and maintenance package but there has been no sign of that, even though I did receive a piece of administrative correspondence from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like three things: 1) A gas card in addition to the maintenance and warranty packaged offered, or as a compromise, a fill-up whenever I bring in the car for the maintenance covered by the package they offered. 2) Receipt of the promised maintenance and warranty package in writing. 3) An answer to emails and voicemails in a reasonable time.

Business Response: Dear ****** *****:

On Saturday March 22, 2014 the customer came to our dealership to see the ******** 300 sedans.  The customer was shown not only the vehicles that we physically have at our dealership, but was also shown on the computer the *** ****** that we had at our sister stores.  For all of these vehicles, the customer was shown ********’s window stickers for each vehicle.

After we presented a price to the customer, he announced that he was eligible for ********’s Affiliates Rewards employee pricing through his employer.  We printed out a Priced Order Confirmation sheet on the ******** *** that they picked out.  This showed both the MSRP and the Factory Wholesale Prices for each of the options on the 300.  We revised the price of the *** to match his employer’s fixed pricing agreement with ********. 

Either when reviewing ********’s Pricing & Acknowledgement Form or when they read their employer’s email about the ******** Affiliates fixed pricing program, the customer noticed that the pricing was based on ********’s invoice so they asked to see a copy of the invoice.  We printed the invoice for them which showed both the base price and prices for each option on the vehicle and they agreed that the price matched the pricing that we offered.

The customer returned on March 23rd to take delivery of their *** after it arrived from our Springfield location.  There was no mention at this time of any differences in the vehicle’s equipment.

The customer called our dealership on March 24th and stated that the vehicle was missing the SafetyTec package.  We explained to him that the vehicle did not have this option and that he was not charged for it as it was not a listed or priced option on the vehicle’s window
sticker, Priced Order Confirmation or invoice.

The customer also stated that he did not receive copies of some of his paperwork.  We went through the folder for his purchase
and scanned and emailed several pages to the customer.  He stated that he still did not receive the papers that he was looking for.  We
invited the customer to stop by the dealership at his convenience to look through his paperwork and make copies of any that he did not have a copy of.  So far, he has declined this offer.

Even though the customer was shown on three different forms the equipment that was on the *** and only charged for the equipment on the vehicle, he asked if there was anything the dealership could do to compensate them.

On March 31st, as an act of good faith our dealership provided the customer with a program called the Triple Value Package.  This package provided them with oil changes, trip interruption coverage, and road hazard tire and wheel protection.  This package normally sells for approximately $***.

The customer has now asked the dealership to provide them with a full tank of gas every time they get their oil is changed.  Based on
the facts that the car was not represented to have the ****** *** option, and that the customer was not charged for the option, I feel the dealership has made a fair and reasonable attempt to satisfy the customer and resolve the issue with the triple value package.

Regards,

***** ***** ******* ** *********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

I know what I saw, a handwritten worksheet that had the word ********* written at the top and circled. It was not a printed form, simply a worksheet used to sell the vehicle before the actual documents with specifications were presented. I will accept the package the dealership has offered. It represents half the cost of the unwanted and inconvenient sunroof option on the vehicle. I came up with a reasonable additional compensation, but since the dealership does not want to provide a courtesy fill-up like the ***** dealer does for my wife's car when it is brought in for maintenance. Since that is not acceptable I will go to a ***** dealership first when shopping for my next car.

Regards,

*********** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am regularly contacted on my cell phone with Robocalls from this business. I have called and spoke to managers asking them to stop calling me without success. I have complained to the FTC, Office of the Attorney General of Virginia and Chrysler corp.

Desired Settlement: IMEDIATELY REMOVED FROM ROBOCALL LIST- I AM NO LONGER YOUR CUSTOMER!!!

Business Response: *** ******** contacted our service manager on January 27th and requested that his number be removed from our automated service call system for service appointments and reminders.  *** ****** promptly contacted the service we use via email to remove *** ********** phone number from the call list.  We received a follow up email in return on January 28th from the service confirming that his number was added to there do not call list.  If there are any further questions or any way I can be of assistance please contact me.

 
***** ***** 
Safford of Warrenton
**********************
************
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the action made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ********



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service