Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg

Phone: (540) 898-7200 Fax: (540) 891-9685 5202 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22408 http://www.saffordoffredericksburg.com/index.htm View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1979 in VA Business incorporated 12/31/2001 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Gramm, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Gramm, President
Related Businesses
Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton Safford RV Safford Kia of Fredricksburg
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Recreational Vehicles - Dealers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
James Gramm, LLC Safford Motors Safford Motors Dodge and RVs LLC
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5202 Jefferson Davis Hwy

    Fredericksburg, VA 22408 (540) 898-7200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12 days after the purchase of out 2013 ******** **** * ******* in Sept 2014, we returned to the dealership due to the vehicle stalling out on us and intermittent stuttering. Since our initial purchase we have returned to the service department a total of 7 times for the same problem. The dates were as follows: 9 Oct 2014, 24 Oct 2014, 2 Apr 2015, 13 Oct 2015, 17 Oct 2015, 24 Nov 2015, and 12 Feb 2016. This vehicle has thrown DTC codes on three of these occasions. Twice we left the service department with no solution other than the guidance to bring it back when the Check Engine Light appears. Once the ETC was relearned, twice the camshaft phasers were replaced, once the oil was changed, and most recently the ECU was re-flashed. The service department has said that they have no idea why the vehicle is doing what it is doing and seem to have no real solutions. Additional details can be provided upon request. I no longer have trust and confidence in this vehicle. This vehicle has stalled on us over a dozen times and has done so in a variety of places including intersections, at military facility front gates, and while crossing in front of oncoming traffic. This is our family vehicle that my wife and two kids routinely drive in. While nobody got hurt in the most recent incident, it left the vehicle stalled in front of oncoming traffic. Fortunately there was enough time to restart the vehicle and get it out of the way. We are now driving the vehicle and waiting for it to stall again before there is further resolution with the issue. This is unacceptable to me and endangers my family. To further compound this issue, we are preparing to accept 3 year military orders overseas and will be bringing our vehicle with us. If this problem continues we will be stranded overseas with the same problem that we have been dealing with since we bought the vehicle and no way of getting it repaired under warranty.

Desired Settlement: We would like to return this vehicle to the dealership. We have bought two and traded two vehicles at this dealership since 2013. The first was a Dodge ***** ******* and the second was our current ******** **** * ******** Both have been in for like issues and the Dodge was in for major engine/brake work before we traded it back to Safford. Since this is the second time we have had systematic problems with the same vehicle/engine line we are not interested in another like vehicle. We are willing to purchase a different make/model vehicle from the same dealership but are not interested in another ***** ******* ** **** * ********

Business Response:

THE VEHICLE HAS HAD PAST CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONCERNS WITH THE CHECK ENGNIEN LIGHT COMING ON.  EVERY TIME THAT THE CUSTOMER HAS BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIRS IT IS A DIFFERENT CODE, SOME HAVE BEEN RESOLVED BY UPDATING SOFTWARE, ONCE BY CHANGING THE OIL, ONCE BY CHANGING THE TRANSMISSION FLUID.  ON THE LAST VISIT THEY WERE HERE WE WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THERE CONDITION.  IF THE PROBLEM PERSISTS PLEASE STOP IN WHEN THE VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM AND SEE ME AND I WILL GET THE VEHILCE RIGHT IN.  THE DEALERSHIP HAS DONE EVERYTHING WE CAN TO ADDRESS WHATEVER CONCERNS THE CUSTOMER HAS BUT THIS IS NOT AN EXTREME CASE OF HAVING A PROBLEM VEHICLE.  IF ANYBODY HAS ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS FOR ME PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.

THANK YOU

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The reply from the dealership is both inaccurate and inadequate.  This vehicle has had the same problem at every visit, it stalls out randomly.  Despite what code it gives it still stalls and to say that they are treating the symptoms is irrelevant because the vehicle is still stalling out.  Like any good doctor one uses the symptoms to diagnose the problem and then treat the illness itself.  Safford continues to treat the symptoms and wants to overlook the illness.  The information provided in the reply is incomplete and inaccurate.  The transmission fluid was never changed out, the transmission control unit was re-flashed.  However, this is also irrelevant as it still does not address the issue at heart, this vehicle stalls.  The most recent time leaving it in front of oncoming traffic.  I have visited the dealership 7 times for the same problem now and each time the service department has told me to go and see if it comes back with no real solutions provided.  Even one of the technicians mentioned that they were just guessing.  If a vehicle stalling in traffic and intersections is not a problem than I am not sure what a problematic vehicle is.  As I said before I am military and I will be moving soon.  When I do there will definitely be no possible way to get the dealership to resolve the issue.

I am ********* an in-depth record of all of my dealings with Safford and their service department.  I find it appalling that this is how Safford treats their loyal customers and their military veterans.

Regards,

*********** *******




2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ***** ***** * ********************************** 1/27/2016 Dear General Manager of Safford Dodge/Chrysler, I am writing to tell you how terribly disappointed I am in the service that I have received from your company and subsidiaries since last Wednesday evening. My fiancé was getting off of I-95 on Wednesday evening he lost heat in the car and then the temperature gauge showed the vehicle was overheating. He immediately pulled into a parking lot. He waited for the vehicle to cool, checked the antifreeze in the car and found that the levels were slightly low, we added the additional coolant and tried to drive the car again. Still no heat and there was steam coming from the car, again he immediately pulled over. We called into the dealership and we were advised to call roadside, that our warranty covered the company bringing the car to the dealership. The call was made at approximately 4:30pm on Wednesday evening. We were told that a tow truck would be to the car within 1 hour and that we did not need to stay with the vehicle since the temperatures were freezing and the car did not have any heat. We hid the keys under the mat and left the vehicle at Advanced Auto Parts on Garrisonville Rd in Stafford. My fiancé received a call sometime later that the driver had picked up our car but his hydraulics were freezing up on his truck and someone else would be coming to get the vehicle. We called several times to the roadside assistance company to verify that the vehicle was being taken care of, we were continuously assured that the vehicle would safely get to your Service Center that evening. I called your dealership on Wednesday 1/20/16 at 9:29pm I was on hold for some time, and I assumed that it was due to the weather that the dealership had sent their employees home. I then hung up and called Roadside Assistance at 9:35pm, the women that I spoke to assured me that the vehicle had been delivered to the dealership and was safe. My fiancé and I went to bed under the impression that our vehicle was at the dealership and the keys were in the drop box. I woke the next morning and promptly called the Service Department at 7:27am and no one answered the call. I then called back at 8:34am and spoke to a very nice man whom advised me that my vehicle was not at the Service Department. In a major panic I called Roadside Assistance and spoke to another man, I was very upset in explaining that I had no idea where my vehicle was and that the keys were still in it. My vehicle could have been stolen, vandalized, towed due to being left in a parking lot overnight that we did not have permission to leave, and we had no idea and were lied to and lead to believe our vehicle was safe and secure at your location. I am very aware of the horrendous road conditions on Wednesday night, and would have been fine in one of the several companies involved saying that my vehicle was at this location, secured and would be delivered on Thursday; however, that is not what happened. I was blatantly lied to instead. On Thursday we missed the entire day at work; as the tow truck was supposed to be at the vehicle by 11am, at 1230pm the truck still had not showed, I called to the roadside assistance again – they assured me that someone would be there by 1pm. The tow truck did finally arrive shortly after 1pm. We called the Service Department at Safford and were advised to come to the dealership so we were there once the vehicle arrived. We followed that request, waited at the dealership for approx. two hours, the vehicle was delivered to another part of the parking lot, and someone from service called to verify the concerns of the car, which included un-working windows, no heat and the steam coming from under the vehicle and under the hood, they advised someone would call us after the vehicle was looked at. We asked if we needed to come in and were advised no, they would call. All day was wasted, as now it was after 4pm. We both lost a day’s pay for something that should not have happened. The service department called my fiancé on Thursday night at approx. 11pm, and advised the repair was not covered by the warranty and the cost to fix was going to be $650. I had been asleep prior to the call, as I had to drive to Gallows Rd by 4am, and was not in the right frame of mind to authorize that kind of repair. I called again to the Service Department on Friday, 1/22/16, and spoke to a man that answered in Service and was advised that the heater hose supply & return was damaged on the car and a flush was also needed, that the price to fix would be $550, that the part alone was $425. I authorized the repair on that information, and advised that with the impending weather I was not sure when we would be able to pick the vehicle up. The gentleman told me that it would be no problem to leave the vehicle there through the storm. When I arrived home from work yesterday, Tuesday, 1/26/2016, my fiancé advised that the car was ready and we could go pick it up. We arrived at the dealership approx. 6 pm and went to the cashier. She advised the bill was close to $650. This was unacceptable after I had been quoted $550. **** in service explained that discounts had not been applied, had I not questioned this I would have over payed by $100+ dollars. Unacceptable! With the adjusted bill we went to the cashier and paid the invoice. My fiancé and I went to the vehicle to find that the windows I was told on Friday morning had already been fixed, indeed had not and still were inoperable. We didn’t even leave the parking lot went back to the service department and were told the recall was for the rear sliding windows. As I stated to **** yesterday evening, wouldn’t common sense tell anyone looking at the vehicle, we had said the windows were not working – the front windows and driver control panel, the rear windows were working just fine – that our concern was not just the recall. **** did in fact get the vehicle back in to be looked at last night, we waited at the dealership until after 10pm for the repair we assumed had already been taken care of based on the call made prior to our arrival last evening. This morning, I looked over the copy of the bill I was given to yet another shock and disappointment. The part that I was told was $425 is in fact not $425. According to the copy I was given the part is in fact $267.00. Please know I would NEVER have paid this amount for my car to be repaired at your location had I known the TRUTH of the matter. I could have had my cousin tow the vehicle to a mechanic that I know and trust well for a much lesser amount. I have been told by my mechanic that he would have charged me $150 less than what your Service Department did. That is a substantial amount, compared to the bill. I would like to speak to you in regards to this and come to an agreement that we both can agree to. We are out quite a bit of money due to the circumstances that I understand are not necessarily in your control, but weren’t within our either. Monies lost include our pay for the day, as neither of us have vacation, sick, or floating holidays we can take and the additional monies that our mechanic would have charged verses Safford Dodge. I am appalled in the overall experience of the ******** subsidiaries. I look forward to a timely response from you, no later than the end of the business day tomorrow. Respectfully, ***** ******

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a billing adjustment as the service department was very misleading in the cost of the part itself. I could have had my mechanic to get the part and put on at a much lower price. We also both lost a day of pay due to the way roadside was handled, we would like to be reimbursed for as we do not have leave to offset the loss.

Business Response:

SAFFORD DCJ APOLOGIZES FOR THE ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE ISSUE.  ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE IS A ******** CORPORATE RAN PROGRAM.  WHEN LOOKING OVER THE REPAIR ESTIMATE WE DONT' SEE ANY ISSUES WITH THE BILLING OR PRICING.  THE VEHICLE WOULD OF HAD A 114.95 DIAGSNOSTIC FEE TO START WITH AND THEN ADD ON THE COST OF REPAIRS AND PARTS.  THE ADVISOR TRIED TO HELP THE CUSTOMER AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE DUE TO THE CIRCUMSTANCE WITH ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE.  ITS ALWAYS EASY TO TALK TO ANOTHER REPAIR FACILITY OR INDEPENDANT TECHNICIAN AFTER THE VEHILCE WAS DIAGNOISED AND REPAIRED, MOST OF THE TIME THEY ALL SAY THEY COULD DO THE JOB CHEAPER OR FASTER.  IF THERE ARE ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS PLEASE CONTACT ME AT *************

THANK YOU

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,
***** ******




1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9 months ago my **** **** with 15,000 miles had small oil and transmission fluid leaks. The trans leak was remedied but the oil leak persisted. After three oil pan gaskets and two oil pan replacements the car was still leaking oil. During that work the mechanics at Safford damaged my block so badly that they had to replace the engine; they used a screwdriver and hammer to pry the oil pan from the block. From there things have just gotten worse. When I went to pick the vehicle up after the engine replacement the splash guard fasteners were not installed and I saw an oily substance leaking out of the front of the car. I was told my axle was damaged, I never drove the car off the lot and this was not an issue before the engine replacement. That day I spoke with David R**** (service manager), he referred to he as “the guy who had been talking with ********” and I did not see him again. I got in contact with Safford’s general manager Kevin R*****. He sounded like he was concerned and wanted to make me a happy customer. He then passed me to Brett Barker a service satisfaction representative. Brett personally looked the vehicle over after the axle fix and ensured me that everything was perfect and the car was ready to drive. They delivered the car to my house, 40 miles away. The next day when I inspected the car it was leaking transmission fluid, an oily rag was left in the engine compartment, electrical controls on the steering wheel were connected incorrectly and the vehicle would not stay in fifth gear. Because the car would not stay in gear it was very dangerous to drive. I called and they had the vehicle towed back to Safford. On 12-19 I was informed that they are now tearing apart my entire transmission. What started as a small oil leak has resulted in a new engine and a tranny rebuild. I am working with ******** about this issue but they say I need to resolve it with the dealer and the dealer says I need to resolve it with ********.

Desired Settlement: Any number of resolutions would make me happy Chysler could replace my vehicle ******** could purchase the vehicle from me Safford could provide me with an even trade for a comparable used vehicle on their lot.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* brought his vehicle to us on 2/28/2015 for an oil leak.  We found that the oil pan was leaking and needed resealed.  The repair was performed.  Then apparently the vehicle started to leak oil after a few months and Mr. ******* took his vehicle to ******* Brothers of Ashland and they performed repairs to the oil pan on 7-16 and on 7-26, 2 separate repairs.  Then Mr. ******* brought the vehicle back to us on 9-30 for an oil leak again.  Technician found imperfections on the cylinder block casting where the oil pan meets to the block.  Technician tried to clean the imperfections with an emory cloth and replaced the oil pan.  We road tested and found no leaks after repairs.  Then on 11-14 Mr. ******* returned to us with an oil leak again, we got ******** involved and took pictures of the oil pan area where the imperfections were and ******** authorized a long block engine.  The repairs were made and road tested vehicle, no further problems found.  Mr. ******* came to pick up vehicle and he found an axle boot leaking, so we replaced the boot for him.  Then on 12-17, Mr. ****** called and stated the transmission would not stay in 5th gear, so technician removed and found shift fork worn and needed to be replaced and also found power transfer unit leaking, technician replaced the shift fork and the power transfer to resolve issues.  Our service manager verified repairs and road tested himself and dealer delivered vehicle to the customer on 1-2-16.  ******** has been involved with repairs and also Mr. ******* has been in contact with them, ******** refused to buy the vehicle back and told Mr. ******* to have the repairs performed.  Our dealership has gone out of our way to try to make this as less painful for the customer by picking up his vehicle and delivering it back to him when repairs have been completed.  Any further questions please feel free to contact me.

 

thank you

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please read the 7-23-15 service ticket from ******* Brothers prepared by **** my service advisor. His first question to me when I came to pick the car up was who changed the gasket/pan last because they scored my block. I explained that Safford was the only other people who had worked on the car. I asked if he would make note of that in the ticket which he did. I asked if this would cause problems in the future and he assured me that the Permatex would seal the gouge marks.  If my block was damaged when Safford initially did the job shouldn’t they have reported that information to me? 

Concerning Safford making this as less painful as possible for me; I was not “offered” delivery or a rental car until after my fourth trip when I couldn’t drive the car off the lot because it was leaking fluid on the ground after it had been repaired.  I called when I got home and spoke with general manager Kevin R*****.  I explained to him how the car keeps coming back to me more damaged than when I dropped it off.  After lodging that complaint ***** then offered me a rental or delivery.  They have delivered the vehicle twice.  Upon the initial delivery the car was visibly dripping transmission fluid onto the asphalt and it needed to be towed back to the dealership because it was unsafe to drive.  The car popped out of fifth gear within the first ten miles of driving.  I don’t understand how you leave a customer with something like that.  The second delivery, the car was parked in the wrong spot which could have resulted in the vehicle being towed, the doors were unlocked and the key was left sitting visible in the driver’s seat. 

I continue to work with ******** for an acceptable resolution.  After reading ******* response it appears the dealership accepts no responsibility for damaging the vehicle during repairs.  Am I supposed to believe that each new problem was unique and not at all related to the previous work Safford’s mechanics had performed?  If that is the truth then it appears I have been sold a lemon of a car and ******** needs to rectify the situation.  Seven trips to the shop, a new engine and rebuilt transmission by twenty thousand miles does not sound like the product is performing as it was intended to do. 

Safford’s service center has no attention to detail amongst many other failures.  Missing fasteners, oily rags left in the engine compartment, leaving doors unlocked with key on the seat, not reviewing the work done, staining the upholstery and returning the vehicle in disrepair are just a few of things I have dealt with over the last nine months.  It would be beneficial for their customers if an escalation process was set-up.  It’s very disappointing when you have to call the store’s general manager or email ******** executives because no one is addressing reoccurring problems. 




Regards,

**** *******



1/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a brand new **** ***** ******** ****** from this dealership at the beginning of October 2015. The vehicle we purchased was in transit to the dealership and we were informed it would be delivered upon arrival to the dealership. Approximately 2 weeks later we received a call the vehicle was leaving the dealership and heading toward our home. A few hours later we received a phone call that the delivery driver had encountered an issue and the vehicle needed to be towed back to the dealership. We learned the next day the driver had accidentally fueled the vehicle with gasoline and for lack of a better word blew up the engine. The dealership asked us if we would accept the vehicle with a new engine and god only knows what else it needed. We informed the dealership we would not accept a vehicle they damaged and to find us a new vehicle identical to the other. Approximately 4 days later the delivery driver arrived to our home with a new Jeep and drove the vehicle we traded back to the dealership. Two weeks ago a tow truck arrived to my home with the driver informing us we never paid for the vehicle. We paid the dealership 37000 in cash and a 17000 dollar allowance on the trade in equaling 54000. We have the contract from this vehicle and all the bank records showing we paid them 54000 dollars. We have obviously requested a full refund but have yet to get our money back. Our money was used to purchase the vehicle they destroyed and the new vehicle they provided us was never paid for. We are demanding our money be returned immediately. We have learned the dealership has intentionally provided incorrect information to the bank to prevent our refund from being processed. We traveled 4 hours and in good faith we would be provided fair and just service from this dealership. These folks obviously believe they are above the law.

Desired Settlement: Safford Jeep has basically stolen 54000 dollars from us. They must immediately refund this money to our account.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the complaint dated 01-13-2016. We have never received payment for the vehicle transaction dated 09-30-2015, After waiting 2 months and receiving several emails stating that the funds were lost, not deposited, sent certified, Certified letter returned to ******* empty, ******* agreed to finance the vehicle, however we could not provide financing. The vehicle that was traded in, was in fact not ********* or ******* to trade, it belongs to Michael Abraham who did not have any knowledge the vehicle was being traded. Also of note; the trade in was traded with the promise of a clear title free of all liens , the trade had a balance with ******** bank of approximately 8700.00 +/-.  I hope this brings this matter to a close, if needed I will provide all the e mails dating.10-30-2015 thru 12-16-2015, that clearly state payment was not paid, also state that funds were never available in her account. Lastly we never had any contact with ******* 's or ******* Financial institution, and vehemently deny any such accusations that statements were made to such institutions as described above. 

Respectfully,

***** ***** ******* ******* ******* **** ** **************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I had absolutely no knowledge that ******* had not paid for this vehicle or resolved this issue.  This complaint would never have been initiated had I known about any of the deception from her.

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

***** ********



1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a brand new **** ***** dart aero edition. I have had nothing but problems with it from the moment I bought it. I have had at least 2 dozen trips to the service dept for the same problems over and over and then new issues starting arising. all the while this all started happening within months of buying the car. I have always had transmission issues with it shifting. and I have had my radio replaced which is the touch screen twice now. I also just had a sensor issue for the knock sensor and they had to end up replacing the ECM. then 2 weeks later my Turbo goes out. I filed a lemon law suit back in August of 2015 and to no avail have not heard a word from ***** to offer me anything. I am furious that I bought my first brand new car ever and this is what I have to look forward to. I am constantly lied to by the service dept. especially Howard W**** the service advisor. He supposedly had my car in the shop for 4 days when actually he hadn't even received the part yet. He kept promising me the car back everyday and said he was running in to problems. which was all a lie when the service manager called me after that and said my parts just came in. they have already replaced the TCM for the trans and still have issues. this car is going to continue to have problems. It is not fair to me to spend all my time at the dealership when I should be enjoying my new car like everyone else.

Desired Settlement: I desire ***** to buy back this vehicle for what I paid. I am not going to lose money because of something that isn't my fault and because I was sold a lemon. I will then in turn buy a completely different car. I have nothing against the ***** make I have owned many ***** vehicles over the years and they have been great. I just want out of this car.

Business Response:

Dealer is involved with vehicle to resolve customer's issues.  Vehicle has been back for several different reasons.  Dealer is in process of resolving customer's latest issue.  Dealer can not or will not replace the customers vehicle with a new vehicle.  If customer is unhappy with her current vehicle, she should explore her rights under the Lemon Law legislation.  If there is any thing I can help with in the future, please contact me.

thank you

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I know for a fact that a vehicle can be bought back by the dealership so don't tell me that it can't be other than by lemon law. I have a friend that had the same issue and Safford bought her vehicle back and she then purchased something else. And why is this coming fro the service manager and not the general manager. why would a decision on a customers behalf be made b the service manager and not the GM? the least you all could have done was offer me an extended factory warranty considering the history of this piece of crap.


Regards,

******** ******




10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. took 3 times to fix a water leak, on the 1st try, they left the grab handle on the floor.2. paid to have my tires rotated, thankfully one tire had mud on it to prove that they did not rotate them.3. their posted sign for an oil change for a ram truck is $31.95. I was charged $42. I point to the sign and the rep. said that the digital sign is wrong. I said it is a post price tag and I got, "and".4. I've inquired 3x times to have the screw covers for the grab handle replaced, it was on the same work order for my oil 10/6/15 and still not done.

Desired Settlement: I bought this truck brand new from the same dealership as well as a brand new **** *** *******...over $90,000 and this is the level of service I receive. The water leak took 3 visits to fix....tonight (10/6/15) was the third time I tried to get them to replace the 2 little screw covers on the driver's grab handle...the covered that they chummed up failing to fix the water leak. They can take the truck back.

Business Response: CASE # ******** 


Safford Dodge Chrysler Jeep has made several attempts at reaching Mr. *************** to resolve is 
his issues. lf Mr. *************** would like to have the covers replaced, please have him contact me 
personally and l will make sure his lssue is resolved. I believe that we can address or answer any 
questions that the customer may have. 


Thank you 


***** ***** 

Business Response:

I JUST SPOKE WITH MR. *************** AND HAVE ORDERED THE 2 SCREW COVERS FOR HIS VEHICLE.  HE WILL BE IN SATURDAY TO HAVE THEM INSTALLED AT NO CHARGE.  CUSTOMER IS HAPPY WITH RESOLUTION.  IF THERE ARE ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.

THANK YOU

***** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ***************



7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan 7, 2015 my ******** **** was hissing and leaking coolant from what I thought was a hose leak as engine temp never overheated. Husband filled reservoir with water and noticed leak wasn't too bad because didn't require much water and drove to Safford around 20 miles distance. The engine never overheated and reservoir was partially full when I stopped to check. It surprised both my husband and me when *** ******** called to say the radiator needed replacement as well as "the attached AC condenser" and water pump. April 15 '15 AC spewing hot air. *** ******** tells me to bring it in for computer diagnostic because I assumed freon must have leaked loose line. After bringing to Safford shop Mr. ******** says there's a freon leak but due to bad compressor. I refused repair. Prior to me taking to Safford 2 independent mechanics warned me the engine cooling system is separate from AC system and Safford might try to convince me to replace the compressor. Third mechanic independent of Safford found freon line not holding any pressure and found NO PROBLEM with compressor. Safford tried to make it seem as if they were doing me a favor by not charging for 2.5+ hours for diagnosis. When I asked *** ******** about computer diagnosis taking so long he told me "AC system can't be diagnosed by computer." He tried to mislead me, again. I've discovered condenser IS SEPARATE from radiator and has nothing to do with engine cooling! Before Safford replaced the radiator, condenser,and water pump the AC system worked and functioned very well. After the 1/8/15 repairs the defroster didn't work when I needed it. Mr. ******** at Safford told me the defroster requires AC system which apparently failed to work AFTER their repairs. The paperwork has never been consistent with Mr. Stocking's verbal communications. Now, I wonder if any repairs have been necessary. Safford can not be trusted! Does Mr. ******* know how his service department is being conducted?

Desired Settlement: Restore AC system to working condition at Safford's expense and no additional charge to me without causing further future repairs in an authorized repair facility of my choice. Refund total charges for parts and labor of condenser replacement to my ******** ******* Credit Card, by check or cash payment.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
Ms. ***** brought her vehicle into us on January 7 of 20t5 with 290,015 miles
because her vehicle was leaking antifreeze. The technician pressured tested the system
and found anti freeze leaking from the radiator and the water pump. When the technician
was removing the radiator he saw that the condenser was leaking also. So the customer
was quoted for replacement of the radiator, water pump and condenser. This resolved the
customer's issues. Then on April 21 of 2015 w1th295,200 miles she brought the vehicle
to us stating that the air conditioning was not working. The technician performed his
diagnoses and verified that the air conditioning compressor was leaking. The customer
refused the repairs, we did not charge the customer any diagnoses fee. We could set up
an appointment and show the customer where the air compressor is leaking if that would
help solve the customer's issues. If any you have any further questions please feel free to
contact me.
Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Having reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********,  this proposed action has been determined to NOT resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the reviewed offer appear below.

Replacing condenser did not resolve issues on 1/7/15. Issues were actually created by Safford DCJ when they replaced the condenser. The Winter was unusually long and frigid with lots of snow. I had no occasion to use AC but only heat and defrost. After 1/7/15 the defroster never worked. Windows would only fog so defrost was unusable. On 4/26 Robb ******** informed me AC assists defroster to clear windows after I'm told the compressor is leaking. Prior to to 1/7/15 defroster/ was working just fine. After 1/7/15 repairs the defroster NOT functioning. Conclusion: Safford did something to cause AC system to malfunction as evidenced by failed defroster.


***** ***** has offered to show me compressor leakage when another certified mechanic found line wouldn't hold refrigerant and compressor not the issue. Why not offer to set up an appointment to return my defrost/AC system to working condition rather than prove my automobile needs MORE expensive repairs? Also, Mr. *****, the fact that the vehicle has 250K+ mileage makes no difference if the vehicle has been properly maintained. This vehicle has performed in an exemplary fashion until her first repair at Safford DCJ in the Fall of 2014. 
 
Cordially,

***** ** *****





Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ** *****

The customer provide documentation from an additional location regarding the work paid for in the details of her complaint. She requests that the issues be addressed by the business as to why if they did the work they stated they did did it need to be done elsewhere for additional cost.


Business Response: BBB spoke with the business. In April the customer decline a service of the compressor. She had the condenser replaced in January 2015. The business would be unable to address the concerns brought up by the customer as they were not provided the opportunity to service the vehicle in April and address the concerns with the compressor. Issues with the condenser clogging could be caused by debris from a compressor going bad or mileage of the vehicle. Without the chance the service the vehicle at the time the incident took place they cannot speak definitely on that matter. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Better Business Bureau:

After reviewing response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Although I prefer Safford never provide future service on my 300C the last resort is to schedule warranty service. The question remains why Safford has not suggested warranty service for my failing AC system. Please see attached document.

As a last resort warranty service will be scheduled with Safford. If Safford fails to restore the AC system a complaint will be filed with Commonwealth of Virginia Attorney General.


Regards,

***** ** *****



6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off my jeep early and cancelled my gap insurance on the vehicle. I am owed a refund of $249.69. I requested the refund back in April 6 and it was processed on April 8, 2015. I was told I would receive a check within 3-5 business days. I did not receive a check to date after several phone calls. I was promised that a new check would be mailed which has still not been received. The dealership refuses to return phone calls and will not provide proof that a check was ever mailed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the check mailed certified and be provided proof of the check.

Business Response:



 

BBB Case # ******** - safford
auto

Customer Information:

****** *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******* * ** *****
Daytime Phone: ************

E-mail: ******************



 

 

Ms. *******,

 

The gap company was phoned yesterday
to inquire about Ms. ********s check. They informed us that the check had been
returned to them  because it had the wrong delivery address on it. They
reissued a new check and mailed it to the customer yesterday. I spoke to the customer
today and informed her as to the circumstances and let her know a new one was
mailed out.

 

Please let me know if I can be of
further assistance.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** *******

Vice President

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of
Fredericksburg 


10/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, October 13, I spoke to **** and ****** in the Business Center at Safford of Fredericksburg about the cost of a vehicle. I explained clearly the offer I was making for the car ($34k, including taxes, tags, fees, etc.). We then discussed the value of my trade and the resulting amount I would finance. ****** sent me a confirmation e-mail with the price $34k and and the vehicle stock number. I can provide you with a copy of this e-mail. I took time off of work and drove an hour and a half to the dealership, and the General Manager, ***, would not honor the price of the car. They said there was a miscommunication. They tried to get me to pay about $2k more, which I declined.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to sell me the vehicle at the price quoted and also to provide either a further discount for the pay I lost for taking time off work and driving down. The discount can be removed from my loan amount or be paid in the form of service (e.g., gift cards for free oil changes and / or car detailing).

Business Response: Safford of Fredericksburg would never intentionally mislead a customer in order to create business for ourselves. That is not the way we do business. Unfortunately, we do make unintentional errors, and in this case, because of miscommunication, we have done just that. In every conversation, and in every record and note that we have at the dealership, we conveyed to the customer that the price we were quoting her included her $4500 trade, assuming it was worth that. ( we had not seen it yet ) 

It sounds, from the customer's letter, as if we did not include the trade-in value in the email, and that was an oversight, given the fact that every communication we had with her, went over that the final figures included her car's prospective trade-in value. 

I am unable to honor an out-the-door price of 34K without her trade-in being included in the deal. Again, I apologize, but sometimes we make errors, and unfortunately, this is one of those times.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Vice President

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID******** and do not wish to pursue the matter further. Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

******** *********



9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our car on 5/20/14 from Safford Dodge, We were told that our car was certified pre owned and if we had any problems to bring the car into the service department and everything would be taken care of. We had to take the car into the service department on 5/23/14 because of the back tire. A tech came out and said there was nothing wrong with the tire. We refused to leave until something was done about the tire, So another tech put the tire on the machine and found out that the belts were seperating and they replaced the tire. At that time we advised them that the front end was making bad loud noises, they told me to make a appointment and to bring the car back because they also needed to fix a recall on the head restraints. I researched the recall and that was issued in 2013 so that should have been done prior to me buying the car. again this is a certified pre owned car.. On may 23 we spent 4 hours ar the dealership for them to replace a tire. I then called the service department and left them several messages asking for a return call because we were having issues with the car. We never heard from anyone there. So finally I spoke to *** in service and he made a appointment for me for 6/14/14 at 11:30am. We arrived and was told they did not see us scheduled in. They said they would go ahead and take a look at the car. I asked if there was anyway that we could get a rental because we did not want to set at the dealership all day,(we bought a car so we didn't have these types of problems) they told me that i did not have rental coverage so they could not give me a rental. I then advised them that I have only had this vehicle less than a month,needless to say we never got a rental, I advised them that the front end is making horrible popping noises,the brakes and rotors are making loud noises and the front end shakes really bad when hitting the brakes. and the first time we filled up the car the gauge said we had 408miles till empty. the next time was 313 then after that we never got over 200 miles to a full tank. so they take the car in the back never come back to update us and at 5pm they come uot and tell us that they need us to bring the car back on monday because they need more time with it and they will give us a rental. I was furiuos here its a hot summer day and me and my husband and our 2 kids were stuck at this dealership from 11:30am to 5pm. We take the car and drop it off on monday with a full tank of gas..They called me Tuesday and said our car was ready to be picked up. We get there and the tech said that they did not find anything wrong with the car. and as for the gas milage they reset the computer. and they did not hear nor feel the brakes making noises and they did not feel the popping in the front end. again Im furious, so the tech tells me that sometimes from the weather the busions in the front end can expand because of the weather and thats why the front end is popping. I have never heard such in my life.. The tech told me he had friven the car from Fredericksburg to Thornburg and back and he didnt hear or feel anything.. Well for one the car has to be warm and then thats when it does it non stop. the tech that test drove the car said that hen he initally edrove the car he felt the brakes. but that all changed after they had the car for 2 days. again when i dropped my car off on monday it had a full tank of gas when we picked up our car it only had a half of tank of gas. They could have replaced the gas that they burnt out. the tech said that he had never seen anything like this with the low gas mileage and that he had to contact ******** and they told him to reset the computer. So they had the car for 2 days and only reset the computer never took the wheels off the car and run tests on the brakes and rotors, or to find out where the popping noise is coming from.. We were treated as if we were trash and did not know what we were talking about. Here we trusted the dealership,they told us that we needed to trade our vehicle in because it had 207k miles on it and we needed something reliable so we did not get stranded on the side the road with our kids. . So we buy a 2012 with 34,000 miles on it, it should not have all these mechanical issues. A few days later ****** from customer care called me to follow up and see if i was satisfied with the service, I told her absolutely NOT. she apologized and said that we should not have been treated that way and she would have the manager call me, well 3 days go by and i did not hear from anyone and ****** called back i advised her i had not heard from anyone, so she again apologized and said that she would have the highest person in service cxall well again did not hear from anyone, so i called her to let her know and she said that she had never had this situation happen before, so she said that she would have the owner call me. Well here its september and i still have not heard from anyone in the service department nor the owner. When we were trying to figure out what car we were going to purchase the salesman said that we did not want to buy a car that would come from there dealership in warrenton because they were junk. Well low and behold after doing some research the car that we purchased was transferred from the ******* **** in warrenton to the fredericksburg location..This again was a certified pre owned car, and i do not know how it made it through inspections. We are now getting 7.2 miles to the gallone, were having to fill up every other day. Also we have to wash the car every other day because theirs black soot all over the back so there is obviously a problem somewhere.. Its not fair for dealerships to do this to people, us as customers trust them.

Desired Settlement: Everything that i have documented here Safford Dodge is aware of the problem,We notified them of the problems while the car was under warranty and we expect all the problems to be resolved. This is my only source of transportation for my family and its not safe. I want all of the problems to be fixed and would like for my gas to replaced. and to be compensated for the time that I had to take off from work because I had to set at the dealership,and for all the hassle. and for being treated like I was nothing. They wernt thinking that away when they were trying to make a deal. Thanks in advance

Business Response: To Whom It Concern,

This letter is in regards to case #*******. We have made contact with the customer and have scheduled an appointment for September 16, 2014. Our dealership will address all of the customer's issues  when they arrive for the appointment. After talking to the customer it seems some of her issues are intermittent. So we will road test with the customer so that the customer can produce the concerns. If there are any further questions please feel free to contact me at **********.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Service & Parts Director

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was taken to this location three times for the same issue. This vehicle was not starting properly. Upon dropping the vehicle off the first time, ***** my Service Advisor was told if you unplug the computer and the battery to the vehicle, it will run for a week or less. Safford ***** replaced the Battery and Battery wiring harness. Two days later, my **** is not starting again! I return it to Safford ***** stating the problem has not been fixed. ***** called me and stated my fuel pump was not working properly. I agreed to the work to be completed. During this time, my Grandfather passed away and I had a find a way to my hometown to be with my family. Safford ***** did not offer me a rental vehicle. Disappointing and frustrating. Nevertheless, when I picked my vehicle up the second time, it did not want to start WHILE ON THE DEALERSHIP'S LOT! The very next day the vehicle did not start. I returned it to Safford ***** and also called Corporate about this. The same problem had yet to be fixed. ***** called me two or three days later stating "well *** ********, we know it's not your battery, battery wiring harness, nor fuel pump. It looks to be your PCM (computer) that is causing all of these problems." BBB, why did I pay for the charges the first two times then? And why was I charged for the third time? Also, ***** was told if you unplug the battery and computer, the vehicle would run for a week or less. Given this information why did he deter from it the second time Safford ***** had it and said it was a fuel pump? I'm no idiot when it comes to vehicles. If the computer is not working properly, the fuel pump will not get any pressure reading. Furthermore, Corporate's involvement hasn't successful. Phone calls are returned several days after I leave voicemails. The last time I spoke to my case worker, ******, he told me "well *** ********, this is what ***** told me and I have to take his word for granted. This is what is and Safford ***** will not refund any of your money." How rude. I asked what was the purpose of the phone call and stated my opinion didn't matter. ****** said that is not what he meant. Well, what did he mean? ****** wanted a conference call between Safford Dodge, me, and himself. This was scheduled for June 23, 2014 between 1:30-3:30, my time (Eastern Standard). Neverthless, ****** never called for this conference call. I took off work to be able to have this phone call. I'm extremely aggravated and something needs to be done. ***** had my vehicle for more than month, did not provide a rental car and now Corporate is not assisting as they stated. I serve the public as well and would never be able to treat customers like this. Especially working for the government.

Desired Settlement: A full refund for all charges need to be made. Most people would go for far more. I simply want fairness. I want to be refunded $551.25 minus $16 for my state inspection on May 13, 2014; $630.29 for June 2, 2014; and $420.15 for June 12, 2014.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

In regards to Case # ********, involving ******* ******* ********
my dealership tried to assist the customer to the best of our abilities. The
vehicle that we are discussing is a **** **** ** ******** ",**** 264,888
miles when it was first brought to us on May 8th• Our
technician verified that the vehicle would not start. He found that the battery
was discharged and the charging system was not functioning properly. After
further diagnostic the technician found that the wiring harness for the
charging system had 2 areas that had broken wires. We contacted the customer
and explained what we had found. The recommended repairs were to replace the
wiring harness and the battery and check charging system after repairs were
made. The customer approved repairs and the customer picked up the vehicle.
Then on May 19th the customer contacted us and stated that the vehicle
would not start again after the vehicle sits over night. The same technician
determined that the fuel pump was not functioning. The technician checked for
power and ground to the fuel pump, which was present. After deternlining this,
the technician recommended a fuel pump module. We contacted the customer and
explained our findings and reviewed the cost and also explained that we were
discounting the repairs $100.00 to try to help the customer. She approved the
repairs and the vehicle was picked up May 27th• Then on June 3rd the customer contacted us and stated that
the vehicle would not start, we brought the vehicle in and found a fault code
in the power train control module, stating internal failure. The total cost of
the repair was $665.00. *** ********** mother contacted our ***** ***** *******
in regards to all the problems that her daughter was having with the vehicle
and he offered to assist the customer by only making the customer pay $266.00
of the total bill. So throughout the process of repairs we have tried to help the
customer as much as possible but unfortunately we are dealing with a 12 year
old vehicle and a vehicle that has over 264,000 miles on it. A Master Level
******** technician made all the repairs with over 20 years in the business. If there are any further questions please
feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

The document states I only had to pay $266.00 of the toal bill for the PCM.  This is false.  I paid $420.15 for this repair.  Additionally, my mother, **** ********* never spoke to *** *******.  She left a message for him to return her phone call and he never did that.  The fact of the matter is, my vehicle was never fixed from May 8th when it was dropped off for not starting.  All three times, the vehicle would not start.  It was turning freely, but not starting.  ***** stated the battery needed to be replaced and the wiring harness.  Yet, two days later, not even that my car doesn't start.  Upon taking it back a second time for again, NOT STARTING, I'm told it's the fuel pump.  Your document states the power and ground to the fuel pump was there, but it wasn't working.  If the PCM which was replaced the third time was the problem, the fuel pump would not have worked to begin with.  The PCM does control multiple electronics and sends false signals when it has an internal fault.  Nevertheless, the fuel pump was replaced.  Upon picking my vehicle up, it had a hard time starting.  Now, if it was truly the fuel pump, why would it have a hard time starting?  I take it home and the next morning again it would start.  I then receive a call as I stated previously saying "we know it's not your battery, battery wiring harness, and fuel pump.  Looks like it's your PCM."  Considering this information was given when the vehicle was dropped off in May that if you unplug the battery and computer, it will run for a few days, why was the computer overlooked.  Your technician may have 20 years of experience, but if a vehilce isn't throwing a code for them to have an electronic reading, then the diagnosis may or may not be correct.  In my case, in correct.  I am out of $1,600, time lost at work, inconveniencing coworkers for a ride to and from work, and time lost from family when my Grandfather passed away during these weeks.  This has a been a guessing game from the beginning.  It could be this, so let's replace this.  Well, it wasn't that, now let's replace the fuel pump.  Well, it's not any of those, let's pull the computer and test it.  This idea didn't occur until the third time?  My father has been working on cars since he was 15 and openly admits, he is no ***** technician and does not have the the equipment these men and women work with.  But even he said it was the computer from the start.  Amazing.  Additionally, since ***** has replaced my fuel pump, my gas tank now leaks when I fill it up and a slow emissions leak.  Is this a coincidence?  Does it just so happen that when I leave the parking lot, something else goes wrong?  No, I believe not.  Now I am contemplating do I take it to Safford since they are the ones whom did the work?  Or?  Safford also received $800 for emissions work in February and my check engine light is on for an emissions leak.  They are responsible for this.  After all, you do guarantee you work for 12 months.  Last, you mention my vehicle is 12 years old with 264,000 miles on it.  Yes, this is correct.  And my tough girl has been amazing since I've had her.  But, are you stating your vehicles are only good for 12 years?  Or, if my **** was a 2015 with only 3,000 miles on it, would its priority take precedence since it is much newer than mine?  Why would the age and miles of my vehicle matter as long as you all are getting paid?  And yet still, it's been almost two weeks and no call from Corporate for the conference call. 

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

In regards to case ********, the customer paid on 5/13/2014
551.25 for battery and the wiring harness. 
On 5/27/2014 the customer paid 630.29 for the fuel pump module.  On 6/11/2014 the customer did pay 420.15 for
the module, we discounted the entire repair by 266.00 per *** ******* after he
talked to either *** ******** or her mother. 
Again our stance on the matter is that the vehicle is 12 years old and
has over 264,000 miles on it, we could only start with the items that we visually
saw and diagnosed to try to resolve the customer’s issues.  A Master Level certified technician worked on
the vehicle and the vehicle had different issues every time that the vehicle
was brought back to us.  If there are any
further questions or concerns please contact me.

Thank you,
***** ** *****

******* * ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ********

The customer called and said that the business cannot get their facts starts. At point they state she had to pay one price, then they say they discounted the price for her. The fact is that she has had to pay for three repairs for the same issue within a month and the business cannot determine the problem and are not fixing the vehicle. They are now just saying it is due to age and miles when that was never a conversation piece in the beginning of the issue. She was told by ****** that she could get a refund but is now being told that she is not allowed to get a refund because of age and miles. She feels that everyone is trying to cover up a mistake that was made by coming up with different figures and saying they spoke to her mother when her mother has only left a message and never spoke to someone. They have been unwilling to help with the rental car process and when they say they will call her back they never do. She would like to be refunded for the first two “repair” since they were unable or unwilling to assist her with the problem.

 

Business Response: BBB spoke with the business. The business discounted the work in an attempt to assist the customer. The last invoice for 4420.15 indicated the discount that was given. They did all work as authorized and felt the vehicle needed as they saw and diagnosed the vehicle in attempts to resolve the issues.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Which did you all make me pay Safford Dodge?  $266, $420.15, or $4,420.15?  Clearly you all do not have your information together at all.  Nevertheless, please review your receipts Safford ***** as you put on the invoice according to *** *******, that the customer and Safford ***** were to split the cost 50/50.  With the amount I paid and with the 50/50 not being implemented, Safford ***** still owes a refund regardless.  However, clearly that was not upheld either.  The problem at hand still exists that I brought my vehicle to you all for the same problem, that is was not starting.  I want a record where the fuel pump was tested via a pressure gauge.  It took Safford ***** and a Master Mechanic THREE attempts to fix one problem?  Or, did you enjoy the trial and error on my vehicle?  There has been much falsified information during this entire dispute.  No conversations with *** *******, listing different amounts of what I was told to pay, neglecting the fact that my vehicle was brought to you all for the EXACT same thing EACH time. 

Regards,

******* ********

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my **** ****** ****** to Safford Dodge. I received an e-mail from ***** advising that if I contacted then directly for my sale, that I would be able to get more than the *** online value for my trade-in. I immediately had my husband contact them regarding the trade. When communicating with them, we had a remaining payoff balance of $415.01. NFCU was willing to release the lien to Safford so that they were able to obtain possession of the vehicle as we had already been pre-approved for another vehicle. *** was adamant that the coupon was for purchases, not trades and/or sales. I did not argue with him nor his manager. I simply kept the coupon and completed the sale. Upon further research, the e-mail statese " Whether you are interested in buying one of the vehicles we have offered for sale or just want to sell us yours, below is a coupon for an additional $250-2500 more than the ******* online appraisal."It further states that they must see the "vehicle within 72 hours for this offer to be valid within *******'s timeframe." I am willing to submit documentation of this e-mail and the coupon if required. We have made attempts to contact both the manager listed on the e-mail and *** but received no responses.

Desired Settlement: I would like Safford to refund the $415.01 that I paid to them to finalize the payoff for my vehicle.

Business Response:

 

26 June 2014

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

 

 

I am writing in response to complaint # ********, customer ********* ******.

 

As per the coupon that we send to our customers, I have mailed **** ****** 250.00 towards her purchased vehicle, which is over and above the *** value,

which is what our coupon states we will offer ($250 -$2500.)

 

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg does not promise our customers, in the coupon, that we would pay off their vehicle, so I am unable to pay off

**** ******** vehicle.

 

If you have any further questions, you may contact me.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** *******

**** *********

Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. In the future, I will not recommend Safford to any peers, colleagues, friends, or relatives for their vehicle needs. Had I known the company would not have honored my request prior to driving 45 minutes to their office, I would have gone with the initial offer received from another dealer.

If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

********* ******


12/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/23/2013 I was left stranded with an over-heated vehicle due to a faulty water pump. When this incident occurred my first course of action was to contact the dealership. The woman I spoke with offerred to set me up with an appointment. I explained to her that my **** was disable and I would need assistance now. She informed me that she couldn't help me, but offerred to transfer me to someone that could. I was transferred multiple times and each person I spoke with said that they could not help me and would transfer me to someone else. I tried this multiple times and after becoming extremely frustrated drove my vehicle a mile down the road to the nearest service station. The faulty water pump completely saturated the serpentine belt, destroying it and the thermostat. The total bill came to $642.65. After finally hearing from the dealership days later I insisted on being refunded the money I spent since this was covered under my warranty. This process dragged on for about a week and a half, where I left multiple voicemails and emails in regards to my situation. Once again becoming frustrated I just drove to the dealership since I could not get through to them any other way. I spoke with the service manager who said he was working on handling my case. He called me back the next day and said I was to recieve no money back because I didn't bring it to the dealership. I explained to him that I made multiple attempts and no one offerred any assistance to me at th time, so I had to make a quick decision to get off of the side of the road. He gave me an 800 number to call and that was the end. I called the 800 number and was given a case number and case manager. After about a week of investigating they called me to offer me only $*** out of $***. This was to cover the water pump and thermostat. They would not pay for the serpentine belt because it wasn't covered under the powertrain warranty. I explained to them that it was saturated in coolant and destroyed as a direct result of a faulty water pump. I was also offerred no compensation for the money I spent on labor. Regarding this I was told that since I didn't take it to the dealership that they could not refund my money. I once again explained that I had made multiple attempts at getting help/information/tow truck (ANYTHING) from the dealership with no luck. I was told that I should have contacted a different dealership (30 MILES AWAY!) since this one (**** admits) was uncooperative. I declined their offer of approximately $***. I decided it would also be a good idea to obtain a copy of my full warranty coverage. On my paperwork which I received when I purchased the vehicle it says to contact the dealership to get a copy of this. I left a voicemail once again, attempting to retrieve a copy of this for my records and have not heard back. This is just bad business ethics and poor communication all around. I just want my money back IN FULL.

Desired Settlement: $642.65. The entire amount spent to replace a faulty water pump and other parts damaged due to this.

Business Response:

******* ******
The Better Business Bureau

 

 

27 November 2013

 

Dear *** ******,

 

I’m writing in regards to case # *******, customer **** ****.

 

I looked into this matter, and contacted **** ****** salesperson, who no longer works for us, however he told me that **** **** called him when she had these problems with her vehicle and asked him what she should do. He, in turn, called my finance manager, who relayed the message to have **** **** contact ******** for approval before having any work done.

 

Because **** **** took her vehicle to an aftermarket shop and had the warranty repair done at a shop that is not authorized to do warranty repairs, and that shop put on aftermarket parts - not ******** *** *****, the work is not covered by her ******** warranty. All warranty repairs must be done at a factory authorized dealership.

 

I did call our factory service rep to see if there was anyway for **** **** to be refunded for the repairs to her **** **** *******. I was told that because it wasn’t repaired at an authorized dealership they would not cover the repair but he could still refund her the $****** that the ******** customer care manager offered her.

 

I have mailed **** **** the Certified Pre-Owned package that she requested.

 

Please contact me with any further questions.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

*** *******

Vice President

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart