BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg

Phone: (540) 898-7200 Fax: (540) 891-9685 5202 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22408 http://www.saffordoffredericksburg.com/index.htm View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 12, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1979 in VA Business incorporated: 12/31/2001 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Gramm, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: J Bethard, Manager
Principal: Mr. James Gramm, President
Related Businesses
Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton Safford RV
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Recreational Vehicles - Dealers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
James Gramm, LLC Safford Motors Safford Motors Dodge and RVs LLC
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 5202 Jefferson Davis Hwy

    Fredericksburg, VA 22408 (540) 898-7200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, October 13, I spoke to **** and ****** in the Business Center at Safford of Fredericksburg about the cost of a vehicle. I explained clearly the offer I was making for the car ($34k, including taxes, tags, fees, etc.). We then discussed the value of my trade and the resulting amount I would finance. ****** sent me a confirmation e-mail with the price $34k and and the vehicle stock number. I can provide you with a copy of this e-mail. I took time off of work and drove an hour and a half to the dealership, and the General Manager, ***, would not honor the price of the car. They said there was a miscommunication. They tried to get me to pay about $2k more, which I declined.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to sell me the vehicle at the price quoted and also to provide either a further discount for the pay I lost for taking time off work and driving down. The discount can be removed from my loan amount or be paid in the form of service (e.g., gift cards for free oil changes and / or car detailing).

Business Response: Safford of Fredericksburg would never intentionally mislead a customer in order to create business for ourselves. That is not the way we do business. Unfortunately, we do make unintentional errors, and in this case, because of miscommunication, we have done just that. In every conversation, and in every record and note that we have at the dealership, we conveyed to the customer that the price we were quoting her included her $4500 trade, assuming it was worth that. ( we had not seen it yet ) 

It sounds, from the customer's letter, as if we did not include the trade-in value in the email, and that was an oversight, given the fact that every communication we had with her, went over that the final figures included her car's prospective trade-in value. 

I am unable to honor an out-the-door price of 34K without her trade-in being included in the deal. Again, I apologize, but sometimes we make errors, and unfortunately, this is one of those times.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Vice President

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID******** and do not wish to pursue the matter further. Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

******** *********



9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our car on 5/20/14 from Safford Dodge, We were told that our car was certified pre owned and if we had any problems to bring the car into the service department and everything would be taken care of. We had to take the car into the service department on 5/23/14 because of the back tire. A tech came out and said there was nothing wrong with the tire. We refused to leave until something was done about the tire, So another tech put the tire on the machine and found out that the belts were seperating and they replaced the tire. At that time we advised them that the front end was making bad loud noises, they told me to make a appointment and to bring the car back because they also needed to fix a recall on the head restraints. I researched the recall and that was issued in 2013 so that should have been done prior to me buying the car. again this is a certified pre owned car.. On may 23 we spent 4 hours ar the dealership for them to replace a tire. I then called the service department and left them several messages asking for a return call because we were having issues with the car. We never heard from anyone there. So finally I spoke to *** in service and he made a appointment for me for 6/14/14 at 11:30am. We arrived and was told they did not see us scheduled in. They said they would go ahead and take a look at the car. I asked if there was anyway that we could get a rental because we did not want to set at the dealership all day,(we bought a car so we didn't have these types of problems) they told me that i did not have rental coverage so they could not give me a rental. I then advised them that I have only had this vehicle less than a month,needless to say we never got a rental, I advised them that the front end is making horrible popping noises,the brakes and rotors are making loud noises and the front end shakes really bad when hitting the brakes. and the first time we filled up the car the gauge said we had 408miles till empty. the next time was 313 then after that we never got over 200 miles to a full tank. so they take the car in the back never come back to update us and at 5pm they come uot and tell us that they need us to bring the car back on monday because they need more time with it and they will give us a rental. I was furiuos here its a hot summer day and me and my husband and our 2 kids were stuck at this dealership from 11:30am to 5pm. We take the car and drop it off on monday with a full tank of gas..They called me Tuesday and said our car was ready to be picked up. We get there and the tech said that they did not find anything wrong with the car. and as for the gas milage they reset the computer. and they did not hear nor feel the brakes making noises and they did not feel the popping in the front end. again Im furious, so the tech tells me that sometimes from the weather the busions in the front end can expand because of the weather and thats why the front end is popping. I have never heard such in my life.. The tech told me he had friven the car from Fredericksburg to Thornburg and back and he didnt hear or feel anything.. Well for one the car has to be warm and then thats when it does it non stop. the tech that test drove the car said that hen he initally edrove the car he felt the brakes. but that all changed after they had the car for 2 days. again when i dropped my car off on monday it had a full tank of gas when we picked up our car it only had a half of tank of gas. They could have replaced the gas that they burnt out. the tech said that he had never seen anything like this with the low gas mileage and that he had to contact ******** and they told him to reset the computer. So they had the car for 2 days and only reset the computer never took the wheels off the car and run tests on the brakes and rotors, or to find out where the popping noise is coming from.. We were treated as if we were trash and did not know what we were talking about. Here we trusted the dealership,they told us that we needed to trade our vehicle in because it had 207k miles on it and we needed something reliable so we did not get stranded on the side the road with our kids. . So we buy a 2012 with 34,000 miles on it, it should not have all these mechanical issues. A few days later ****** from customer care called me to follow up and see if i was satisfied with the service, I told her absolutely NOT. she apologized and said that we should not have been treated that way and she would have the manager call me, well 3 days go by and i did not hear from anyone and ****** called back i advised her i had not heard from anyone, so she again apologized and said that she would have the highest person in service cxall well again did not hear from anyone, so i called her to let her know and she said that she had never had this situation happen before, so she said that she would have the owner call me. Well here its september and i still have not heard from anyone in the service department nor the owner. When we were trying to figure out what car we were going to purchase the salesman said that we did not want to buy a car that would come from there dealership in warrenton because they were junk. Well low and behold after doing some research the car that we purchased was transferred from the ******* **** in warrenton to the fredericksburg location..This again was a certified pre owned car, and i do not know how it made it through inspections. We are now getting 7.2 miles to the gallone, were having to fill up every other day. Also we have to wash the car every other day because theirs black soot all over the back so there is obviously a problem somewhere.. Its not fair for dealerships to do this to people, us as customers trust them.

Desired Settlement: Everything that i have documented here Safford Dodge is aware of the problem,We notified them of the problems while the car was under warranty and we expect all the problems to be resolved. This is my only source of transportation for my family and its not safe. I want all of the problems to be fixed and would like for my gas to replaced. and to be compensated for the time that I had to take off from work because I had to set at the dealership,and for all the hassle. and for being treated like I was nothing. They wernt thinking that away when they were trying to make a deal. Thanks in advance

Business Response: To Whom It Concern,

This letter is in regards to case #*******. We have made contact with the customer and have scheduled an appointment for September 16, 2014. Our dealership will address all of the customer's issues  when they arrive for the appointment. After talking to the customer it seems some of her issues are intermittent. So we will road test with the customer so that the customer can produce the concerns. If there are any further questions please feel free to contact me at **********.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Service & Parts Director

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was taken to this location three times for the same issue. This vehicle was not starting properly. Upon dropping the vehicle off the first time, ***** my Service Advisor was told if you unplug the computer and the battery to the vehicle, it will run for a week or less. Safford ***** replaced the Battery and Battery wiring harness. Two days later, my **** is not starting again! I return it to Safford ***** stating the problem has not been fixed. ***** called me and stated my fuel pump was not working properly. I agreed to the work to be completed. During this time, my Grandfather passed away and I had a find a way to my hometown to be with my family. Safford ***** did not offer me a rental vehicle. Disappointing and frustrating. Nevertheless, when I picked my vehicle up the second time, it did not want to start WHILE ON THE DEALERSHIP'S LOT! The very next day the vehicle did not start. I returned it to Safford ***** and also called Corporate about this. The same problem had yet to be fixed. ***** called me two or three days later stating "well *** ********, we know it's not your battery, battery wiring harness, nor fuel pump. It looks to be your PCM (computer) that is causing all of these problems." BBB, why did I pay for the charges the first two times then? And why was I charged for the third time? Also, ***** was told if you unplug the battery and computer, the vehicle would run for a week or less. Given this information why did he deter from it the second time Safford ***** had it and said it was a fuel pump? I'm no idiot when it comes to vehicles. If the computer is not working properly, the fuel pump will not get any pressure reading. Furthermore, Corporate's involvement hasn't successful. Phone calls are returned several days after I leave voicemails. The last time I spoke to my case worker, ******, he told me "well *** ********, this is what ***** told me and I have to take his word for granted. This is what is and Safford ***** will not refund any of your money." How rude. I asked what was the purpose of the phone call and stated my opinion didn't matter. ****** said that is not what he meant. Well, what did he mean? ****** wanted a conference call between Safford Dodge, me, and himself. This was scheduled for June 23, 2014 between 1:30-3:30, my time (Eastern Standard). Neverthless, ****** never called for this conference call. I took off work to be able to have this phone call. I'm extremely aggravated and something needs to be done. ***** had my vehicle for more than month, did not provide a rental car and now Corporate is not assisting as they stated. I serve the public as well and would never be able to treat customers like this. Especially working for the government.

Desired Settlement: A full refund for all charges need to be made. Most people would go for far more. I simply want fairness. I want to be refunded $551.25 minus $16 for my state inspection on May 13, 2014; $630.29 for June 2, 2014; and $420.15 for June 12, 2014.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

In regards to Case # ********, involving ******* ******* ********
my dealership tried to assist the customer to the best of our abilities. The
vehicle that we are discussing is a **** **** ** ******** ",**** 264,888
miles when it was first brought to us on May 8th• Our
technician verified that the vehicle would not start. He found that the battery
was discharged and the charging system was not functioning properly. After
further diagnostic the technician found that the wiring harness for the
charging system had 2 areas that had broken wires. We contacted the customer
and explained what we had found. The recommended repairs were to replace the
wiring harness and the battery and check charging system after repairs were
made. The customer approved repairs and the customer picked up the vehicle.
Then on May 19th the customer contacted us and stated that the vehicle
would not start again after the vehicle sits over night. The same technician
determined that the fuel pump was not functioning. The technician checked for
power and ground to the fuel pump, which was present. After deternlining this,
the technician recommended a fuel pump module. We contacted the customer and
explained our findings and reviewed the cost and also explained that we were
discounting the repairs $100.00 to try to help the customer. She approved the
repairs and the vehicle was picked up May 27th• Then on June 3rd the customer contacted us and stated that
the vehicle would not start, we brought the vehicle in and found a fault code
in the power train control module, stating internal failure. The total cost of
the repair was $665.00. *** ********** mother contacted our ***** ***** *******
in regards to all the problems that her daughter was having with the vehicle
and he offered to assist the customer by only making the customer pay $266.00
of the total bill. So throughout the process of repairs we have tried to help the
customer as much as possible but unfortunately we are dealing with a 12 year
old vehicle and a vehicle that has over 264,000 miles on it. A Master Level
******** technician made all the repairs with over 20 years in the business. If there are any further questions please
feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

The document states I only had to pay $266.00 of the toal bill for the PCM.  This is false.  I paid $420.15 for this repair.  Additionally, my mother, **** ********* never spoke to *** *******.  She left a message for him to return her phone call and he never did that.  The fact of the matter is, my vehicle was never fixed from May 8th when it was dropped off for not starting.  All three times, the vehicle would not start.  It was turning freely, but not starting.  ***** stated the battery needed to be replaced and the wiring harness.  Yet, two days later, not even that my car doesn't start.  Upon taking it back a second time for again, NOT STARTING, I'm told it's the fuel pump.  Your document states the power and ground to the fuel pump was there, but it wasn't working.  If the PCM which was replaced the third time was the problem, the fuel pump would not have worked to begin with.  The PCM does control multiple electronics and sends false signals when it has an internal fault.  Nevertheless, the fuel pump was replaced.  Upon picking my vehicle up, it had a hard time starting.  Now, if it was truly the fuel pump, why would it have a hard time starting?  I take it home and the next morning again it would start.  I then receive a call as I stated previously saying "we know it's not your battery, battery wiring harness, and fuel pump.  Looks like it's your PCM."  Considering this information was given when the vehicle was dropped off in May that if you unplug the battery and computer, it will run for a few days, why was the computer overlooked.  Your technician may have 20 years of experience, but if a vehilce isn't throwing a code for them to have an electronic reading, then the diagnosis may or may not be correct.  In my case, in correct.  I am out of $1,600, time lost at work, inconveniencing coworkers for a ride to and from work, and time lost from family when my Grandfather passed away during these weeks.  This has a been a guessing game from the beginning.  It could be this, so let's replace this.  Well, it wasn't that, now let's replace the fuel pump.  Well, it's not any of those, let's pull the computer and test it.  This idea didn't occur until the third time?  My father has been working on cars since he was 15 and openly admits, he is no ***** technician and does not have the the equipment these men and women work with.  But even he said it was the computer from the start.  Amazing.  Additionally, since ***** has replaced my fuel pump, my gas tank now leaks when I fill it up and a slow emissions leak.  Is this a coincidence?  Does it just so happen that when I leave the parking lot, something else goes wrong?  No, I believe not.  Now I am contemplating do I take it to Safford since they are the ones whom did the work?  Or?  Safford also received $800 for emissions work in February and my check engine light is on for an emissions leak.  They are responsible for this.  After all, you do guarantee you work for 12 months.  Last, you mention my vehicle is 12 years old with 264,000 miles on it.  Yes, this is correct.  And my tough girl has been amazing since I've had her.  But, are you stating your vehicles are only good for 12 years?  Or, if my **** was a 2015 with only 3,000 miles on it, would its priority take precedence since it is much newer than mine?  Why would the age and miles of my vehicle matter as long as you all are getting paid?  And yet still, it's been almost two weeks and no call from Corporate for the conference call. 

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

In regards to case ********, the customer paid on 5/13/2014
551.25 for battery and the wiring harness. 
On 5/27/2014 the customer paid 630.29 for the fuel pump module.  On 6/11/2014 the customer did pay 420.15 for
the module, we discounted the entire repair by 266.00 per *** ******* after he
talked to either *** ******** or her mother. 
Again our stance on the matter is that the vehicle is 12 years old and
has over 264,000 miles on it, we could only start with the items that we visually
saw and diagnosed to try to resolve the customer’s issues.  A Master Level certified technician worked on
the vehicle and the vehicle had different issues every time that the vehicle
was brought back to us.  If there are any
further questions or concerns please contact me.

Thank you,
***** ** *****

******* * ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ********

The customer called and said that the business cannot get their facts starts. At point they state she had to pay one price, then they say they discounted the price for her. The fact is that she has had to pay for three repairs for the same issue within a month and the business cannot determine the problem and are not fixing the vehicle. They are now just saying it is due to age and miles when that was never a conversation piece in the beginning of the issue. She was told by ****** that she could get a refund but is now being told that she is not allowed to get a refund because of age and miles. She feels that everyone is trying to cover up a mistake that was made by coming up with different figures and saying they spoke to her mother when her mother has only left a message and never spoke to someone. They have been unwilling to help with the rental car process and when they say they will call her back they never do. She would like to be refunded for the first two “repair” since they were unable or unwilling to assist her with the problem.

 

Business Response: BBB spoke with the business. The business discounted the work in an attempt to assist the customer. The last invoice for 4420.15 indicated the discount that was given. They did all work as authorized and felt the vehicle needed as they saw and diagnosed the vehicle in attempts to resolve the issues.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Which did you all make me pay Safford Dodge?  $266, $420.15, or $4,420.15?  Clearly you all do not have your information together at all.  Nevertheless, please review your receipts Safford ***** as you put on the invoice according to *** *******, that the customer and Safford ***** were to split the cost 50/50.  With the amount I paid and with the 50/50 not being implemented, Safford ***** still owes a refund regardless.  However, clearly that was not upheld either.  The problem at hand still exists that I brought my vehicle to you all for the same problem, that is was not starting.  I want a record where the fuel pump was tested via a pressure gauge.  It took Safford ***** and a Master Mechanic THREE attempts to fix one problem?  Or, did you enjoy the trial and error on my vehicle?  There has been much falsified information during this entire dispute.  No conversations with *** *******, listing different amounts of what I was told to pay, neglecting the fact that my vehicle was brought to you all for the EXACT same thing EACH time. 

Regards,

******* ********

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my **** ****** ****** to Safford Dodge. I received an e-mail from ***** advising that if I contacted then directly for my sale, that I would be able to get more than the *** online value for my trade-in. I immediately had my husband contact them regarding the trade. When communicating with them, we had a remaining payoff balance of $415.01. NFCU was willing to release the lien to Safford so that they were able to obtain possession of the vehicle as we had already been pre-approved for another vehicle. *** was adamant that the coupon was for purchases, not trades and/or sales. I did not argue with him nor his manager. I simply kept the coupon and completed the sale. Upon further research, the e-mail statese " Whether you are interested in buying one of the vehicles we have offered for sale or just want to sell us yours, below is a coupon for an additional $250-2500 more than the ******* online appraisal."It further states that they must see the "vehicle within 72 hours for this offer to be valid within *******'s timeframe." I am willing to submit documentation of this e-mail and the coupon if required. We have made attempts to contact both the manager listed on the e-mail and *** but received no responses.

Desired Settlement: I would like Safford to refund the $415.01 that I paid to them to finalize the payoff for my vehicle.

Business Response:

 

26 June 2014

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

 

 

I am writing in response to complaint # ********, customer ********* ******.

 

As per the coupon that we send to our customers, I have mailed **** ****** 250.00 towards her purchased vehicle, which is over and above the *** value,

which is what our coupon states we will offer ($250 -$2500.)

 

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg does not promise our customers, in the coupon, that we would pay off their vehicle, so I am unable to pay off

**** ******** vehicle.

 

If you have any further questions, you may contact me.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** *******

**** *********

Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. In the future, I will not recommend Safford to any peers, colleagues, friends, or relatives for their vehicle needs. Had I known the company would not have honored my request prior to driving 45 minutes to their office, I would have gone with the initial offer received from another dealer.

If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

********* ******


12/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/23/2013 I was left stranded with an over-heated vehicle due to a faulty water pump. When this incident occurred my first course of action was to contact the dealership. The woman I spoke with offerred to set me up with an appointment. I explained to her that my **** was disable and I would need assistance now. She informed me that she couldn't help me, but offerred to transfer me to someone that could. I was transferred multiple times and each person I spoke with said that they could not help me and would transfer me to someone else. I tried this multiple times and after becoming extremely frustrated drove my vehicle a mile down the road to the nearest service station. The faulty water pump completely saturated the serpentine belt, destroying it and the thermostat. The total bill came to $642.65. After finally hearing from the dealership days later I insisted on being refunded the money I spent since this was covered under my warranty. This process dragged on for about a week and a half, where I left multiple voicemails and emails in regards to my situation. Once again becoming frustrated I just drove to the dealership since I could not get through to them any other way. I spoke with the service manager who said he was working on handling my case. He called me back the next day and said I was to recieve no money back because I didn't bring it to the dealership. I explained to him that I made multiple attempts and no one offerred any assistance to me at th time, so I had to make a quick decision to get off of the side of the road. He gave me an 800 number to call and that was the end. I called the 800 number and was given a case number and case manager. After about a week of investigating they called me to offer me only $*** out of $***. This was to cover the water pump and thermostat. They would not pay for the serpentine belt because it wasn't covered under the powertrain warranty. I explained to them that it was saturated in coolant and destroyed as a direct result of a faulty water pump. I was also offerred no compensation for the money I spent on labor. Regarding this I was told that since I didn't take it to the dealership that they could not refund my money. I once again explained that I had made multiple attempts at getting help/information/tow truck (ANYTHING) from the dealership with no luck. I was told that I should have contacted a different dealership (30 MILES AWAY!) since this one (**** admits) was uncooperative. I declined their offer of approximately $***. I decided it would also be a good idea to obtain a copy of my full warranty coverage. On my paperwork which I received when I purchased the vehicle it says to contact the dealership to get a copy of this. I left a voicemail once again, attempting to retrieve a copy of this for my records and have not heard back. This is just bad business ethics and poor communication all around. I just want my money back IN FULL.

Desired Settlement: $642.65. The entire amount spent to replace a faulty water pump and other parts damaged due to this.

Business Response:

******* ******
The Better Business Bureau

 

 

27 November 2013

 

Dear *** ******,

 

I’m writing in regards to case # *******, customer **** ****.

 

I looked into this matter, and contacted **** ****** salesperson, who no longer works for us, however he told me that **** **** called him when she had these problems with her vehicle and asked him what she should do. He, in turn, called my finance manager, who relayed the message to have **** **** contact ******** for approval before having any work done.

 

Because **** **** took her vehicle to an aftermarket shop and had the warranty repair done at a shop that is not authorized to do warranty repairs, and that shop put on aftermarket parts - not ******** *** *****, the work is not covered by her ******** warranty. All warranty repairs must be done at a factory authorized dealership.

 

I did call our factory service rep to see if there was anyway for **** **** to be refunded for the repairs to her **** **** *******. I was told that because it wasn’t repaired at an authorized dealership they would not cover the repair but he could still refund her the $****** that the ******** customer care manager offered her.

 

I have mailed **** **** the Certified Pre-Owned package that she requested.

 

Please contact me with any further questions.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

*** *******

Vice President

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a **** ********* ********* ***** ******* ******* from ********* ***** of Orlando, FLorida while on leave the 4th of July. Drove the vehicle back to Fredericksburg, VA and have had to put the car in the shop twice for repairs. Currently been in the shop for 3 weeks awaiting a Totally Integrated Power Module (TIPM) which is on national back-order. The dealer or company does not have an indication of when they will receive the part, so I am in a rental vehicle for an undetermined amount of time. The dealer is paying for the rental, however, I pay $19 dollars a day for insurance until the vehicle is fixed.

Desired Settlement: Since the vehicle is a certified pre-owned car, the dealer attested that this car was good to go prior to purchase. Since I've only had the vehicle less than two months before going back in the shop, I believe ************** should replace the vehicle with an equivalent vehicle, thus honoring their word that they back their products. Even though I bought an extended warranty, an issue of this magnitude should not have occurred so suddenly on a certified vehicle. Have read through ***** forums, and this seems to be an ongoing issue with ***** vehicles.

Business Response:

 

******** ******

The Better Business Bureau

 

20 September 2013

 

** ******,

I’m writing in regards to case # *******, ****** *******, who purchased a **** ********* ********* ***** ******* ******* from ********* ***** of Orlando, Florida. *** ******* brought his ******* into our dealership for repair, I assume, because he lives in Fredericksburg, Virginia and we are the closest ***** dealership to his residence, and it was needing a part: a Totally Integrated Power Module (TIPM) which was on national back-order.

The part being on backorder kept his car at our dealership for a while, but ******** put him in a rental car, at their expense.

*** ********* ***** ******* has now been fixed, and he was able to pick his vehicle up on September 9th, 2013, and it is no longer in our service department.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

 

*** *******

Vice President

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a 2007 Town &Country Limited. It made an awful noise on 5-25-13, then it wouldn't start, I called service dept at Safford Chrysler (SC) in Fredericksburg & spoke to a mechanic & was told that it sounded like either the battery or the starter both of which arent covered under my Powertrain warranty. Had it to towed to Tires Plus (TP) in Stafford. Diagnostic showed drive crank sensor and starter needed to be replaced. I was told by TP that the sensor looks like something had been hitting it, but they couldnt see inside what they were working on. They replaced both and I picked it up on 5-27 & within 20 mins the noise had come back and I had it towed back to TP, which was closing for the day. Next day 5-28 I was told that the sensor was messed up again, so I had it towed to SC because whatever was hitting the sensor and making that noise was inside the bellhousing which is covered by warranty. To make long story short SC did diagnostic $104, to pull out bellhousing and put back $970 to see whats causing the problem. They called me back saying a weight had come off of the Torque Converter & to replace would cost $2118, had to go there along with TP rep Gary & while there Rob in service dept admitted that when they took it apart something flew out & went into drain & then showed me another piece of metal. We took pictures, I even tried showing the original diagnostic papers to SC service and no one would look at it but TP rep. SC is claiming that TP knocked the weight off when they installed the starter and they arent going to honor the warranty per Chrysler Corp according to director John Burn of SC who told me that if I brought the sensor and starter back that they would take pictures of those and send them to the Corp., that was the best he could do. So my van has been torn apart in SC bay since 5-29, here it is 6-6 with no results. I have lost time off from work to try to resolve the issue and Im paying for a rental out of my own pocket, which is due to be turned in Friday 6-7.

Desired Settlement: The noise was there before TP every got my van and continued after the replaced starter and sensor. I want my warranty honored because clearly the issue was on the inside of the bell-housing which is covered under warranty. The proof is in the pictures that were taken along with the original sensor I have. I should ask for reimbursement of time out of work, the aggravation and the rental but I will settle for my vehicle fixed with no out of pocket because it would all be covered under warranty.

Business Response:

21 June 2013

I’m writing in regards to BBB Case # *******, customer : ***** *******.

Originally Chrysler denied the repair being performed under warranty because the customer had just installed an aftermarket starter on her vehicle. This starter was left loose, and Chrysler believed this resulted in the weight coming off the torque converter.

We requested that Chrysler send out a field representative, which they did, and after inspection, Chrysler agreed to replace the torque converter, flex plate and crank sensor under warranty, as a good will claim.

**** ******* was notified on June 17th that all the repairs would be covered for her by Chrysler, and she is satisfied with the outcome.

Please contact me with any further questions.

Sincerely,

*** *******

**** *********

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2007 **** ******** Unlimited to Safford after the vehicle transmission started to pop out of first gear. I first researched this online and found this to be a common problem but not a safety recall. Dropped the vehicle to have the 1st and 2nd gear synchronizers checked out as this is the commonly the problem source. Safford said we only needed to replace the shift boot as it was torn and they were confident this would cure the problem. I picked the vehicle up the next day and after paying a $350 repair the problem still existed. Called the dealership and made an appointment to bring the vehicle back. At that time I advised the service adviser ******** that I did not have extra money for an expensive repair. ******** told me that because the previous shift boot replacement was a misdiagnose of the problem that I would not be charged a diagnostic fee to tear down the transmission. I was told that the repair would be a total of $1400 but that ******** would likely pay most or all of it. The following day I was told that ******** would pay 60% of the repair and at this time I was told my portion would now be $1400. I advised again that I did not have the funds for that repair and to please put the vehicle back together. I was then told that the cost to diagnose and then put the vehicle back together would also be $1400. At this time my vehicle is in pieces at the dealership and will not be released without the payment of $1400 - the same price whether they repair the vehicle or just put it back together.

Desired Settlement: I just want my vehicle put back together and to not be charged a tear down or diagnostic fee - as ******** *old me would be the case because the first repair did not fix the problem.

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint filed by ********* ****** ** her 2007 **** ********, we were able to get ******** to pay all but $700.00 of the necessary repairs. **** ****** is very satisfied with the final result.

 

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

*** ******* **** ********* ******* ******** **** ***** ** **************

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2012 ***** Journey from Safford ***** of Fredericksburg in July and have experienced failure of the vehicles breaks since on four occasions since that time. I have taken it to the dealer on two occasions for resolution of the break problems which have not been resolved. I have also taken the vehicle to two other auto repair services but have not had the break failure repaired successfully. Today (May 3) I am having my vehicle returned to Safford for the third time. I am deeply concerned that the continuing failure to solve the break issue of my vehicle may result in the injury of individuals or myself. The townhouse complex that I reside in has many small children who play in the street;I fear the continue failure to properly repair my auto's breaks may pose a threat to their safety.

Desired Settlement: I have lost all confidence in the ***** Journey I drive. I would like comprehensive examination of my vehicle or a safe replacement.

Business Response:

**** **** ******

i'm writing in regards to BBB Case # *******. We traded *** ****** out of his 2012 ***** ******* into a new 2013 **** ***** ******** today. *** ****** is extremely happy with the outcome of the entire situation

Please contact me with any further questions

 

Sincerely

 

*** *******

 

**** *********

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

please let me know

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2013 Dodge Avenger back to Safford Dodge to have a spoiler and an air deflector installed on 4/4/2013. Mind you my car is only 2 months old, bought it brand new from Safford Dodge. I dropped off my vehicle on 4/4/2013 at 7:50 a.m., I came back later that same day around 4:15 to pick up my vehicle, went in paid for the spoiler and air deflector. I then went out to check out the accessories that I had installed and noticed right away there was damage to the front end of my car, There was no damage to the car that morning when I took it in for the items to be installed. I immediately went back in to the service department and spoke to them concerning this matter and they informed me that they did not see any damage that morning went they took it back. They then told me that they would check with the tech that performed the work and get back to me on Friday 4/5/13, well I did not hear back from anyone and had to call and find out what was going on. I spoke to the Service Manager and he informed me that he had spoke to the tech and he indicated that he didn't notice one way or another if there way any damage to the vehicle. The Service Manager indicated that they were not going to accept responsibility for the damage because they could not prove it was done there. Well, where did the damage come from? I didn't hit anything on my way there to scratch the paint off the bumper and ding the bumper. I am sure that if I hit something that hard I would have felt it... It's a shame you cannot take your brand new vehicle into the dealer and have a few things done to the car to make it look nice without having to worry about it getting beat up while it is there. I am not so sure that I will ever visit Safford Dodge for anything ever again. I am furious that this can happen and no one will claim responsibility for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the damages to my car paid for at their expense and taken to a repair shop of my choice. I am not asking for anything else other than the repairs to be made to my car.

Business Response:

16 April 2013 

 

 

 

Devan **** 

Better Business Bureau 

720 Moorefield Park Dr, Suite 300 

Richmond, VA 23236 

 

 

Dear Mr. ****, 

 

I’m writing in regards to BBB Case # *******. I’ve discussed the matter with my Service Director, and he has informed me ***** ********* will be taking her vehicle to Southern Auto Body to have the bumper repaired. Southern will then contact us upon completion for payment.  

 

Ms. ********* is extremely happy with the outcome of the entire situation.  

 

Please contact me with any further questions. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

*** *******

Vice President 

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg 

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to purchase a vehicle on January 27, 2013 and found a 2013 ***** **** ******. I loved it and everyone was very friendly and helpful THAT day. When I was in with the financing guy he was not able to give me the name of the bank that was financing my loan because it was Sunday. A few days later I started to receive letters from banks stating that my loan was denied for that amount I was concerned so I contacted the dealership. They told me that they did find me a bank that would process the loan so I was not concerned anymore. I did have a trade in so a few days later the bank that my trade in was with called to let me know my payment or pay off has not been processed yet. I was again concerned so in pulled my credit. I found out at that time the my credit was pulled 18 times and my score dropped by 56 points. I called the credit company that I pulled my credit with and they advised that the points and pull will show on my credit for two years but the points should be back within a year. I was very upset with this because I had very good credit and my bills are always paid on time if not earlier than the due date. I contacted the dealership again and all they could do was apologize. Which I don't feel is good enough since my score dropped by so many points. The credit company said each time your credit is pulled like that it dropped at least three points each time. I still had to continue to call the dealership to find out what bank my loan was this and each time the receptionist was rude and so was every other person I spoke with. I did finally speak with a very nice man in finance who was able to make me feel better about the company and told me he found me a bank to finance the loan and that I needed to come in and resign the new paperwork. This was still over a week since I got the car though. I have been contacting the bank who my loan is going to and the company my trade in was with and it still has not been received. At the time I bought the car I paid for the under coating.......

Desired Settlement: Complaint continued... When I picked up my car after the undercoating it was dark and I was not able to see until the next day that they had gotten black rubber all over all four doors and they chipped one of my wheels, circled it with black permanent marker and then sanded it but did not repair it or replace it. I have more info but can't fit it. I would like for owner of company to contact me!

Business Response: ************,
This letter is in regards to BBB Case #********, customer name ********
I’m please to tell you that the entire situation has been handled and the customer is satisfied.
In regards to ******** concern about her credit score, my fiancé director spoke with ****** and explained that that our dealership did not pull her credit 18 times, but, in fact, it was pulled far less. The day that *****spoke to my finance director she informed him that her credit score was back to normal and no longer 56 points below the norm.
As far as ********* chipped wheel, she came in this past Saturday and we replaced the wheel and detailed her car and filled her gas tank for all of the inconvenience.
Please let me know if you have any further questions.
Sincerely,
*************
 

3/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues