Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Richmond Ford Lincoln

Phone: (804) 358-5521 Fax: (804) 254-9235 View Additional Phone Numbers 4600 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 http://www.richmondford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richmond Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Richmond Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Richmond Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1967 Business started: 09/01/1916 in VA Business incorporated 12/04/2002 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Haskins , Collision Center Director Mr. Ronald F Kody, Owner Mr. Mike Serpico, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Haskins , Collision Center Director
Principal: Mr. Ronald F Kody, Owner
Related Businesses
Richmond Ford West LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Truck Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Online New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Car Center Of Mechanicsville Richmond Collision Center Richmond Ford Richmond Ford, LLC Richmond Quick Lane
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Additional Locations

  • 4600 W Broad St

    Richmond, VA 23230 (804) 358-5521 (804) 358-2473 (804) 640-4596 (804) 254-9339 (866) 268-1057

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hit a pot hole off of hull street my car was towed to Richmond Ford West it stayed there for 3 days before they moved the car to Richmond Ford where it stayed for other 3 days waiting for someone to look at the vehicle after days I got a call from Jimmy Turner who gave me a quote for $3300 of damage to the vehicle he said the job would take 12 days it has now been a month and half and the vehicle is still not ready I called to speak to the manager Chris who told me the vehicle is still not ready and he will give me an update tomorrow about the vehicle no phone call since the vehicle has been there this business has stored the vehicle outside on the rims and they are saying I need new wheels I feel they are trying to rip me off with responses to questions and poor Communications with me

Desired Settlement: I feel at this point in the situation because of the poor Communications plus the failure to keep the scheduled deadline I should only pay half for this job time on job not being done is a very big inconvenience for me

Business Response: I have talked with our customer and have put him in a rental and working to get his vehicle completed and delivered back to him asap

Business Response: I have resolved this case, the customers had been given a rental for a few days to help with the time  and the vehicle has now been repaired and picked up. I have also worked with the customer to discount the bill for the delay in the repair time.

6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted one price for a vehicle and when arriving the next day it was substantially higher. I was told this was a internet error by the GM. He offered the vehicle at a price at which they were taking a loss on. I left OK with the "mistake" excuse until the next day and the same vehicle was lower. I callled the GM and was sarcastically asked "if the price said $5 do you think we would sell it"? I sent a comment to the owner of the dealership and didn't even get a courtesy response. I have since told this story to two separate dealers and both said they sell at publicly advertised price no matter the circumstances. So it's easy to see this dealers tactics are simply to bait and switch. Do not deal with these crooks.

Desired Settlement: Honesty

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,

***** *******


I have worked out the problem I had with the dealership. Thank you

Business Response:

We Have responded and talked with Mr. ******* and have resolved this issue at this time.

 

Thank you

3/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was charged a $2000 warranty fee, that was not discussed during contract, i did not want the extended warranty and made that clear during discussions, i did sign paperwork with it on there but it was discovered afterwards it was on. I have been trying since October 2014 to get it removed, i have been told it would be removed and sent cancellation form in twice

Desired Settlement: $2000 removed from my balance,and wes taylor and the finance guy who put this on there fired

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in getting this processed as the warranty company requested additional info which may have caused a delay by us or the warranty company. But it has been processed. The full amount of warranty was $2000 and the refund from the warranty company of $1732  was sent out to customers financing bank on Feb 20th, Being it was prorated by time of warranty being in service it left a difference of $268.00 that we are sending out today to the customers bank for the inconvenience. If anything else is needed please let me know.

Thank you and again I apologize for it being delayed



 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

***** *****



1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a letter in the mail about a recall for my power steering so I called richmond ford to setup up an appointment to get it fixed. When I brought it in I talked to someone in service and told them there is a special way you have to start vehicle so they made a note of it. The next morning when they opened they called me repeatedly saying they couldn't get it started, then they finally called and said they got it started but instead of just bringing it into the shop like they where supposed to they drove it around back and parked it there not sure why but they did. When I came to pick the car up that afternoon they said they couldn't get it started agian an had done nothing to it so I said forget it just give me my keys an ill bring it else where so they did and said its around back when I went to look for it i was pressing the lock button repeatedly in order to find the car because when you do that it beeps but surprisingly I heard a double beep which indicates that there is a door open, there was t was the back hatch and with that open for the past 6 hours and my lights on they killed my brand new car battery. When you bring your car for service you atleast expect it to be closed and locked up when not being serviced I had several thousands of dollars of merchandise in there that someone could have easily stolen. So I called the next day and spoke with the device manager she apologized and told me if I bring the car back they will give me a new battery and fix the recall I said ok great if you do that'll I'll be very happy an everything will be ok she said since your bringing it back on Saturday that we will only be able to give you a new battery and not fix the recall since the main service techs wouldn't be there I said that's ok I'll bring it back agian on Monday for the recall she said great. But no that's not what took place she got me back there on false pretenses when I arrived I told them to only fix the battery issue since I was told they couldn't do the recall then anyways and I'd be bringing it back Monday for the recall so they made a note DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING BUT THE BATTERY!! When I came to pick it up they didn't even touch the battery they did the recall and they guaranteed me that they wouldn't even touch that sense I said do not touch it and what do they do they take it upon themselves to do it anyways and didn't even touch the battery so it's cost me 100 bucks to buy a new one that they messed up and so I've been trying to call them for the last 3 weeks no one at all will return any of my calls I've left numerous voicemails and I've been calling her direct line at one point she even picked up the phone just to hang it right back up, I dont know what to do if you could look into this I'd be greatly appreciative.

Desired Settlement: A new battery like I was promised from the beginning

Business Response: We apologize for the problem. We have met with customer and replaced the customers battery and resolved the issue for the customer. I hope this resolves the issue.

Thank you

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************
Regards,

***** ***********



6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent Practices Relating to State Vehicle Inspection Services: My husband is a mechanical engineer and takes excellent care of my car. He checked all of the lights on the car two weeks ago when I first tried to get it inspected. The place I normally take my car has been booked up for the last couple of weekends, though, so we found this place online. They failed me because they said the two side marker lights were "out." When my husband thought to ask to see the burnt out bulbs because he did not believe that both of them would have burned out within the past two weeks, they claimed that there were no bulbs in the lights when the car came to them. Two weeks ago there were functioning bulbs in the lights, but we are supposed to believe that they magically vanished sometime between then and driving my car to this place to get inspected. As if that were not bad enough, they tried to charge us $15 per bulb to replace them! The bulbs cost $2.50 each and took my husband under five minutes to replace. I have never encountered a more obvious scam that the public is nonetheless so completely powerless to do anything about. Not that anyone deserves to get ripped off like this, but I am a full-time student and truly cannot afford to have some place steal light bulbs from my car and try to charge me $30 to replace them. I also worry about other people who may not know how cheaply and easily they could do work like this themselves and who would have felt as though they had no choice but to pay the $30 (on top of the $16 for the actual inspection). I sincerely hope you all look into this place's business practices, and I am very grateful for your time and attention. Please know that I have also reported this "service" station to the Virginia State Police Safety Division.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like a refund of the inspection cost. I understand that I would have had to pay to get my car inspected regardless, but a business providing a state-mandated service should not profit at all from what amounts to theft and fraud. Second, I would like to see their license to perform state inspections revoked (or at least suspended). If the law requires these inspections, there should be absolutely no tolerance of such fraud and abuse.

Business Response:

I have tried to reach the customer by phone and email and left messages both ways to discuss the visit but have not been able to reach them. The lights in question look as though they are reflectors but in actuality they are lights and should be lit when lights are on. The customer has said they checked all the functioning lights previously so there may have been some confusion on these as they could not have been working and were maybe thought of as reflectors. We did have a 2nd technician who looked over the lights during check out and noticed they were not lit when the car was pulled into our shop also. We definitely did not commit Fraud or any intentional act to remove the bulbs.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not use Richmond Ford's Service Department. The service writers are conditioned to upcharge immediately when service order is written. I bought my car here, (I am in the Customer Lounge). I needed brakes done on the front. "We only do brakes by replacing disc rotors. About $200.00+. I don't think so, I had a "Quick Lane" coupon on my *****. I pulled it up and showed Svc. Writer, ****. He took my phone to somebody. He sheepishly told me they would do the work for the $99.99 price, IF the rotors are acceptable. (I manage a fleet of vehciles, and have been around Ford products for 40+ years). **** came back to me and told me, (surprise!) my rotors are fine. However, my windshield washer, I asked them to determine the problem for not working, does not have a lack of continuity in the wire to the washer pump as my ASE Certified shop manager told me. "I have a bad pump". I have to swallow the minimum $59.00 diagnostic fee anyway I look at this, but I declined to have them install a $22.00 pump for $100.00 + installation. Bait and switch on repairs? I dunno. What if I didn't know about specials for brakes? Use Richmond Ford's Service with extreme caution. ******* **** ** is **** *******;***** is *** **** and his wife.

Desired Settlement: Awareness of proper repair protocals, and awareness of special offers provided customers via Dealer Agreed services via Internet, i.e. "Quick Lane"

Business Response: Talked with *** **** today and will review with our service dept tomorrow and follow up with *** ****

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My **** **** ***** was diagnosed at Richmond Ford on 2/1/2013. I was told that the diagnostic service revealed that I had an electrical problem, which would require a battery relay cable to be replaced. I had the battery relay cable replaced on 2/1/2013. On 2/4/2013 I had to take my car back to Richmond Ford because I was still having the same problem (ABS light, brake light, flickering and the car stalling, the radio resetting itself) . The service department suggested that I leave the car overnight, I did, the next day the service dept. called and stated that they found the problem with my car. The service advisor stated that I needed an alternator. She apologized for the wrong diagnosis and offered me an option of deducting the labor charge if I bought the alternator and they would replace it without charging for labor. I declined the offer at that time because I felt that I paid for the wrong service and so I shouldn’t be charged anything. I met with *** *** ****, president of Richmond Ford and *** *****, service manager in early March. *** **** and *** ***** both agreed that it was their responsibility to find out the problem with my car and repair it. It was agreed that in the future when I experienced the problems the ABS light, brake light, radio resetting itself & stalling I would bring my car back to Richmond Ford and my car would be repaired (free of charge). I have taken my car back to Richmond Ford several times since I met with *** **** and *** ***** in March 2013. I finally agreed to by the alternator and have Richmond Ford replace it. The alternator was replaced on December 6, 2013. A week after I picked my car up the problems I had been experiencing before was still there the ABS light, brake light, radio resetting itself & stalling. I called Richmond Ford and spoke with the new service manager, ******. He told me to bring my car in on Jan. 8, 2014. My car stayed at Richmond Ford for 1 week, I was told that there was no problem found and it was up to me to either leave it there or come pick it up. I picked my car up on Jan. 17, 2014, I drove it across the street from the dealer, turned it off got gas, and it would not start. I called **** at Richmond Ford, told him my problem, and I was told “if you could get it back to us we would look at it” they didn’t even offer me any assistance. I waited for 1 hour and the car started, I took the car back to Richmond Ford, and **** the service advisor and one of the mechanic saw the lights flickering. Today, Jan. 23, 2014 I called to find out the status of my car, and I was told once again, there was no problem found. I feel that this dealership is giving me the run around, there is clearly something wrong with my car, but they are not giving me a resolution, because they do not want to repair it at no charge. I need a resolution. I need find out what is wrong with my car and have it repaired if it is repairable.

Desired Settlement: I need a resolution. I need find out what is wrong with my car and have it repaired, or refund the money I paid for the wrong diagnosis.

Business Response: We have checked the vehicle and have cleaned and tightened the grounds on vehicles as believe it may be related, we have also checked the electrical readings. We have installed a new motor mount as the vehicle's motor is shaking a lot and that be another cause to the problem. We have test driven the vehicle and the problem has not duplicated itself. So we feel we have repaired the vehicle and will be contacting customer to pick up vehicle. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.  In addition, I would like the company to send a copy of the repair report to me outlining what was done to my car and what was needed for state inspection as discussed with the service manager.  Thank you.  

Regards,

***** *******



12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a **** ****** ******* from the dealership the first full day of ownership (Saturday) the car started to stall in the middle of Broad Street the second day it did the same thing. I contacted the dealership and they told me to bring the car back. They kept the car for over two weeks and told me it was a throttle body and that part need to be order, i also asked them to look at the latch on the car door and airbag. When i got my car back from them on a (Friday) the system malfunction light came on. I contacted them again and they told me they would correct it. (I also asked the sale associate why the money could not be return to the credit union and i could look else where) I spoke to the used car manager and told him that when you purchase a car you should be able to enjoy it. And i was not enjoying this car he said it would be fixed or replace. I spoke to the sales associate that sold me the car and told him i did not want this car. When i got the car back the sale associated told me will i had your car check out and it was send back to ****** it like you have a new car. When you drive the car and put on brakes something rattle in the car or continues to move in this car once you put on the brakes also the latch rattles and the system malfunction light comes on and off when it is on the latch goes up and down with out touching it. I spoke to the manager of this dealership and he said he would trade the car out. He told me to go on ********************** site to see if there was anything that i like. I was sold a lemon as of today they have not made it right. (I told the manager that i need to stay in a certain price range i wanted a car with low mileage and the same price as the car that i purchase)

Desired Settlement: I would like the car replace or a refund to the credit union

Business Response:

We have met with customer and offered her another vehicle or to purchase her vehicle back. She has optioned for us to purchase hers back. We have scheduled another  meeting with the customer for Saturday the December 21st to do handle the paper work to buy this vehicle back from the customer.

Thank you

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Richmond Ford Lincoln
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)