BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Richmond Ford Lincoln

Phone: (804) 358-5521 Fax: (804) 254-9235 View Additional Phone Numbers 4600 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 http://www.richmondford.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richmond Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Richmond Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Richmond Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1967 Business started: 09/01/1916 in VA Business incorporated: 12/04/2002 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Haskins , Collision Center Director Mr. Ronald F Kody, Owner Mr. Mike Serpico, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Haskins , Collision Center Director
Principal: Mr. Ronald F Kody, Owner
Related Businesses
Richmond Ford West LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Truck Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Online

Alternate Business Names
Car Center Of Mechanicsville Richmond Collision Center Richmond Ford Richmond Ford, LLC Richmond Quick Lane
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 4600 W Broad St

    Richmond, VA 23230 (804) 358-5521 (804) 358-2473 (804) 640-4596 (804) 254-9339 (866) 268-1057

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 254-9339(Phone)
  • (804) 358-2473(Phone)
  • (804) 640-4596(Phone)
  • (866) 268-1057(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent Practices Relating to State Vehicle Inspection Services: My husband is a mechanical engineer and takes excellent care of my car. He checked all of the lights on the car two weeks ago when I first tried to get it inspected. The place I normally take my car has been booked up for the last couple of weekends, though, so we found this place online. They failed me because they said the two side marker lights were "out." When my husband thought to ask to see the burnt out bulbs because he did not believe that both of them would have burned out within the past two weeks, they claimed that there were no bulbs in the lights when the car came to them. Two weeks ago there were functioning bulbs in the lights, but we are supposed to believe that they magically vanished sometime between then and driving my car to this place to get inspected. As if that were not bad enough, they tried to charge us $15 per bulb to replace them! The bulbs cost $2.50 each and took my husband under five minutes to replace. I have never encountered a more obvious scam that the public is nonetheless so completely powerless to do anything about. Not that anyone deserves to get ripped off like this, but I am a full-time student and truly cannot afford to have some place steal light bulbs from my car and try to charge me $30 to replace them. I also worry about other people who may not know how cheaply and easily they could do work like this themselves and who would have felt as though they had no choice but to pay the $30 (on top of the $16 for the actual inspection). I sincerely hope you all look into this place's business practices, and I am very grateful for your time and attention. Please know that I have also reported this "service" station to the Virginia State Police Safety Division.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like a refund of the inspection cost. I understand that I would have had to pay to get my car inspected regardless, but a business providing a state-mandated service should not profit at all from what amounts to theft and fraud. Second, I would like to see their license to perform state inspections revoked (or at least suspended). If the law requires these inspections, there should be absolutely no tolerance of such fraud and abuse.

Business Response:

I have tried to reach the customer by phone and email and left messages both ways to discuss the visit but have not been able to reach them. The lights in question look as though they are reflectors but in actuality they are lights and should be lit when lights are on. The customer has said they checked all the functioning lights previously so there may have been some confusion on these as they could not have been working and were maybe thought of as reflectors. We did have a 2nd technician who looked over the lights during check out and noticed they were not lit when the car was pulled into our shop also. We definitely did not commit Fraud or any intentional act to remove the bulbs.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not use Richmond Ford's Service Department. The service writers are conditioned to upcharge immediately when service order is written. I bought my car here, (I am in the Customer Lounge). I needed brakes done on the front. "We only do brakes by replacing disc rotors. About $200.00+. I don't think so, I had a "Quick Lane" coupon on my *****. I pulled it up and showed Svc. Writer, ****. He took my phone to somebody. He sheepishly told me they would do the work for the $99.99 price, IF the rotors are acceptable. (I manage a fleet of vehciles, and have been around Ford products for 40+ years). **** came back to me and told me, (surprise!) my rotors are fine. However, my windshield washer, I asked them to determine the problem for not working, does not have a lack of continuity in the wire to the washer pump as my ASE Certified shop manager told me. "I have a bad pump". I have to swallow the minimum $59.00 diagnostic fee anyway I look at this, but I declined to have them install a $22.00 pump for $100.00 + installation. Bait and switch on repairs? I dunno. What if I didn't know about specials for brakes? Use Richmond Ford's Service with extreme caution. ******* **** ** is **** *******;***** is *** **** and his wife.

Desired Settlement: Awareness of proper repair protocals, and awareness of special offers provided customers via Dealer Agreed services via Internet, i.e. "Quick Lane"

Business Response: Talked with *** **** today and will review with our service dept tomorrow and follow up with *** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My **** **** ***** was diagnosed at Richmond Ford on 2/1/2013. I was told that the diagnostic service revealed that I had an electrical problem, which would require a battery relay cable to be replaced. I had the battery relay cable replaced on 2/1/2013. On 2/4/2013 I had to take my car back to Richmond Ford because I was still having the same problem (ABS light, brake light, flickering and the car stalling, the radio resetting itself) . The service department suggested that I leave the car overnight, I did, the next day the service dept. called and stated that they found the problem with my car. The service advisor stated that I needed an alternator. She apologized for the wrong diagnosis and offered me an option of deducting the labor charge if I bought the alternator and they would replace it without charging for labor. I declined the offer at that time because I felt that I paid for the wrong service and so I shouldn’t be charged anything. I met with *** *** ****, president of Richmond Ford and *** *****, service manager in early March. *** **** and *** ***** both agreed that it was their responsibility to find out the problem with my car and repair it. It was agreed that in the future when I experienced the problems the ABS light, brake light, radio resetting itself & stalling I would bring my car back to Richmond Ford and my car would be repaired (free of charge). I have taken my car back to Richmond Ford several times since I met with *** **** and *** ***** in March 2013. I finally agreed to by the alternator and have Richmond Ford replace it. The alternator was replaced on December 6, 2013. A week after I picked my car up the problems I had been experiencing before was still there the ABS light, brake light, radio resetting itself & stalling. I called Richmond Ford and spoke with the new service manager, ******. He told me to bring my car in on Jan. 8, 2014. My car stayed at Richmond Ford for 1 week, I was told that there was no problem found and it was up to me to either leave it there or come pick it up. I picked my car up on Jan. 17, 2014, I drove it across the street from the dealer, turned it off got gas, and it would not start. I called **** at Richmond Ford, told him my problem, and I was told “if you could get it back to us we would look at it” they didn’t even offer me any assistance. I waited for 1 hour and the car started, I took the car back to Richmond Ford, and **** the service advisor and one of the mechanic saw the lights flickering. Today, Jan. 23, 2014 I called to find out the status of my car, and I was told once again, there was no problem found. I feel that this dealership is giving me the run around, there is clearly something wrong with my car, but they are not giving me a resolution, because they do not want to repair it at no charge. I need a resolution. I need find out what is wrong with my car and have it repaired if it is repairable.

Desired Settlement: I need a resolution. I need find out what is wrong with my car and have it repaired, or refund the money I paid for the wrong diagnosis.

Business Response: We have checked the vehicle and have cleaned and tightened the grounds on vehicles as believe it may be related, we have also checked the electrical readings. We have installed a new motor mount as the vehicle's motor is shaking a lot and that be another cause to the problem. We have test driven the vehicle and the problem has not duplicated itself. So we feel we have repaired the vehicle and will be contacting customer to pick up vehicle. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.  In addition, I would like the company to send a copy of the repair report to me outlining what was done to my car and what was needed for state inspection as discussed with the service manager.  Thank you.  

Regards,

***** *******



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a **** ****** ******* from the dealership the first full day of ownership (Saturday) the car started to stall in the middle of Broad Street the second day it did the same thing. I contacted the dealership and they told me to bring the car back. They kept the car for over two weeks and told me it was a throttle body and that part need to be order, i also asked them to look at the latch on the car door and airbag. When i got my car back from them on a (Friday) the system malfunction light came on. I contacted them again and they told me they would correct it. (I also asked the sale associate why the money could not be return to the credit union and i could look else where) I spoke to the used car manager and told him that when you purchase a car you should be able to enjoy it. And i was not enjoying this car he said it would be fixed or replace. I spoke to the sales associate that sold me the car and told him i did not want this car. When i got the car back the sale associated told me will i had your car check out and it was send back to ****** it like you have a new car. When you drive the car and put on brakes something rattle in the car or continues to move in this car once you put on the brakes also the latch rattles and the system malfunction light comes on and off when it is on the latch goes up and down with out touching it. I spoke to the manager of this dealership and he said he would trade the car out. He told me to go on ********************** site to see if there was anything that i like. I was sold a lemon as of today they have not made it right. (I told the manager that i need to stay in a certain price range i wanted a car with low mileage and the same price as the car that i purchase)

Desired Settlement: I would like the car replace or a refund to the credit union

Business Response:

We have met with customer and offered her another vehicle or to purchase her vehicle back. She has optioned for us to purchase hers back. We have scheduled another  meeting with the customer for Saturday the December 21st to do handle the paper work to buy this vehicle back from the customer.

Thank you

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Consumer called the BBB and stated that the complaint was resolved. 

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 7, 2013, my ******* **** *********** was towed to Richmond Ford for a diagnostic check. Service Advisor, ***** ******* indicated fuel pump, fuel filter and upper intake value was needed.Prior to arriving at Richmond Ford, vehicle was taken to ***** **** and ****** Auto for diagnostic check. On both occasions papaerwork reflected fuel pump and fuel filter was only needed, no intake value was reflected. Richmond Ford deliberately broke intake value part and attempted to charge me additional $101 for the part and $90 labor.In addition to the above, my battery was deliberately drained with no charge left. On January 9, 2013, spoke with *** ***** ******* ******** who agreed to replace upper intake value and recharge my battery. However,since 1/22/13 no attempts or phone calls were made to resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: As ealier indicated, replace upper intake value, recharge car battery and refund diagnostic fee as vehicle was fraudgentlently destroyed. Cost of upper intake value was reflected at $101, recharge battery as adviced and diagnostic fee of $49.95 be refunded. ***** parts have indicated this part was availble for Ford to obtain.

Business Response:

Dear ************

In response to your BBB case #******** we have decided to refund the $****** Diagnostic charge that you paid, and to pay you an additional $**** so you can purchase the part from ****. We did not deliberately discharge your battery as you stated in your claim, but will certainly try to recharge it for you at no charge. We will forward this information to the BBB also.

Sincerely,

*************

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

***** ****

 

BIG THANK YOU for your HELP & SUPPORT.Subject mailed check for damages done to my car.GOOD JOB. BBB REALLY ROCKS !!!!

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we first purchased our vehicle from Richmond Ford the sales department presented us with the loan information interest rates monthly payment etc and we signed the paperwork and left the dealership we the vehicle. We were under the impression that we purchased the car and everything was done. We then received a phone call 2 weeks later saying that they couldn't get our financing approved and we needed to get our own loan or bring the car back. At that time there was no way I was going to return the vehicle because we had been driving it for two weeks bought insurance on it and .bought some accessories for the car and my Fiance was attached to it. I then had to scramble out and find a lender for the car and got a worse interested rate then the finance department led me to believe I was getting when I left the Richmond Ford. I have to stress at no time did anyone tell me this is pending approval or anything, they led me to believe the deal was done with ** ****** ***** and even had us take a picture in front of "our new car". All they would have had to say is this is based on approval and I never would have taken the vehicle home until approved. Yesterday the car went dead and I called to see about servicing it since it has been less than two months since purchase. They first told me they had no record of me buying the car there. After a call back they said they had found my purchase but could not help with anything because it wasn't a power train problem. That's the last straw with this place, very unprofessional business dealings here.

Desired Settlement: Vehicle serviced and returned to running condition when bought from Richmond Ford or refunded cost to take to another service center for repair.

Business Response:  

We have talked with customer and had offered to repair vehicle but he has already installed a battery which was initial problem with vehicle and complaint, we offered to pay for the battery replacement. He is also bringing vehicle in for service for us to take care of a heat issue when he has time. So we have resolved the problem/complaint.

 

Thank you

 

Richmond Ford Lincoln

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About a year ago, i took it for state inspection but the repairs were too expense to fix so i declined to get it fixed that day. When i took it home i noticed that my hood was partially open it was raining but i propped open the hood and saw that my air filter was out of my car and thats what was blocking the hood also lids to the oil and where you pour in anti freeze where off and just loose under the hood. So naturally, i assumed that when i declined the service they really didn't care about my car. I took it back and they were apologetic but did nothing for my inconvenience. 2nd incident about 1 and a half years ago i had my battery replaced and installed by richmond ford.... in sept of 2012 i noticed my car had trouble starting my car i had it tested at ******** and they told me that it was my battery. The ******** representative told me that based on the warranty that was posted on the battery i was covered for 3 years....I called Richmond Ford and was told that to check my car it would be about 80 dollars? I explained that i had spoken with someone at ******** and had my vehicle tested he still attempted to persuade me to have pay the fee for them to check it. So i took it in and it was the battery i waited bout 2 hours and when my car was finally done i had a charge for a new battey on it. I was then told that they could not find my purchase of the previous battery since i purchased it directly from the service desk. and in order for my vehicle to be released i needed my receipt. Mind you i had called and no one said bring your receipt and i had been checked in and the warranty situation was explained and acknowleged by the technition. the only place you can purchase ford parts is from Ford. THE WARRANTY IS POSTED ON THE BATTERY AND THE PURCHASE MONTH AND YEAR friday my airbag deployed while i was parked and was told i would more than likely have to pay for it. i was not in an accident i was parked i could have been killed had i been driving. my arm is badly bruised and i am really upset

Desired Settlement: I want my airbag replaced it should never deploy unless you are in an accident i should not be responsible it should be covered by Richmond Ford i purchased the vehicle from them and have received less than satisfactory service from them on several occasions i wish i never had to deal with them at all i regret purchasing from them. some of the staff is not helpful and they seem to only care about making money not whats practical and whats right. Not to mention i have a bruised arm. no empathy

Business Response: November 20, 2012

Subject: Complaint Filed by ******** *****- ********

Dear ***** ****:Ms. ***** owns a 2005 Ford ******** with approximately 150,000 miles on it. She is not the original owner, and as mentioned in the complaint, recently experienced an air bag detonation for no apparent reason. Clearly, a scary situation for any consumer.At no charge to Ms. *****, we diagnosed this situation to try and determine the case of the detonation. We did find that the detonation was caused by a short in the circuit, as opposed to a faulty senor or some other potential defect by Ford ***** *******. Our best guess is that a rodent, prior modification to the vehicle, or a prior repair to the vehicle, could all be potential causes of this situation.Therefore, even if a warranty did exist to cover a vehicle with 150,000 miles on it, this situation is a repair the consumer would ultimately be responsible for. All that being said, I do understand Ms. ***** frustration with this event. Not to mention the financial and emotional toll of such a failure. To further assist her, I have offered to spend more diagnostic time, at my cost, to help determine the cause. We must find the root cause before the air bag module can be replaced. We are doing this simply because we want to help Ms. ***** out of this bad situation, and she is a valued customer.Ms. ***** will contact me directly when she can leave the vehicle with me for a few days so I can try and assist her further.Thanks for your correspondence, but I can confidently say, we do go further for our customers, and we are grateful Ms. ***** was not harmed.Sincerely,****** ** ****President

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 28th 2012, I was at ******** attempting to leave when my truck wouldn't start. I then call for a tow and *** ****** responded to my call and towed my truck to **** * ***** ******* ********* ** *****. The Richmond Ford paper work show that on August 29th 2012 the computer accounts for a under may name,lin No, etc work was started at 7:57 AM and estimated time of completion 21:30 PM. In contacting the the warranty company ******** ******* policy no ********** at ************.When I call the warranty company the representative states the warranty company received a call 5 days after the warranty expired, to inquire about the coverage. Either Richmond Ford loss track of my truck on there property for a few days. Or Richmond Ford realized that all the had t do was wait until the warranty expired so the could charge the full cost to the customer. If the warranty was applied I would owe Richmond Ford $100.00. However; because they waited 5 more days past the day there paper work states the truck was ready. The held on to the truck to make a profit. There profit cost me $1121.64. This has to be a BBB they held my truck until the could charge me more money. Help me become whole, help me get the 1021.64 back that they owe me.

Desired Settlement: I want Richmond Ford to reimbuse me the money,I would have saved based on warranty. The warranty was still good when they found the problem. The warranty was still good when they completed the repairs. I also want to know Why? it took so long to call the warranty company.

Business Response:

Please be advised that this matter has been resolved with *** *********. We contacted his warranty company and faxed them documentation showing that the vehicle was tossed here the day before the warranty expired and the repair order was opened up the day that the warranty expired. They then mailed the customer a check for a refund of $****** which is what they would have covered. They would not have covered the oil change and fuel filter and deductible. We mailed the customer another check for $****** which what was the leftover balance. I spoke with **** ********* yesterday because *** ********* was sick, and she was very happy that we were able to work with her warranty company and get some money refunded to her.

Thank you, ****.

 

**** *******

Richmond Ford Lincoln

**** ** ***** ******

********* ** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1