BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Priority Volkswagen

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 518-9300 Fax: (804) 518-9306 View Additional Phone Numbers 16300 Priority Way, Chester, VA 23831 http://www.priorityvw.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Priority Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Priority Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Priority Volkswagen include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Priority Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 10, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2011 in VA Business incorporated: 08/30/2001 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis M Ellmer, President Mr. Kenny Dunn, General Manager Ms. Jane Moore, Controller Mr. Dave Perno, Richmond Operation Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kenny Dunn, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dennis M Ellmer, President
Related Businesses
Priority Toyota of Richmond
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Auto Accessories

Alternate Business Names
Priority VW
Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 16300 Priority Way

    Chester, VA 23831 (804) 518-9300 (804) 796-1800 (888) 646-3488

  • PO Box 2189

    Chester, VA 23831

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 796-1800(Phone)
  • (888) 646-3488(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Brand New **** ****** and traded in three vehichels on this car . I have been called atleast 30 times since I bought this car because I was sold the car with them knowing I didnt have a valid Drivers Licence .I was told it was not a issuse becuase my girlfriend could put the insurance in her name . I have had this car for almost two months now they have ran my credit atleast 15 times. I am returning the car today because they have caused so many issues with this car they have sold my vehichels that Ive tarded in so I dont want to do a new I want my cash back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to keep this car if I can finace it myself with no down payment other wise I will contact my lawyer on this matter .

Business Response: I spoke with *** **** from the business. he said that the company that did this loan required a valid drivers licence over a photo ID, this customer said he was taking a class to get that but he only got a learners permit. That made the loan void. The customer was returned his money and the business has the vehicle.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our **** ******* for an oil change and to check a noise coming from the engine, they told us the exhaust manifold was cracked and need it to be replaced. We order the parts and when the parts were ready we brought the automobile in, after 5 days in the shop we were told that another part need it to be replace (the down pipe). We ordered the part and we were advice next day that the part was going to take 7-10 business days. I questioned the service person on why the second part was not ordered at the same time and he told us he was sorry that he didn't know why the mechanic did not see this part as been an issue too. We were given a car loaner and were told they will cover 5 days, immediately we questioned this because we felt it was their responsibility since they failed to do a proper diagnostic. After 30 days waiting the parts department was unable to obtain the part or a confirmation that it was ordered. We were told that they will put the car back together for us to pick it up. When we picked up the car we were charged $1000 for car rental plus $623 for labor. The car still sounds and smell like nothing was changed, since day one we told the service person that we wanted the old parts return to us but when we picked up the car we were told that the parts were disposed. We feel the service department failed to us by "guessing" what parts need it to be replace therefore creating forty days of limbo on the use of our own car and, at the end we end up with a car with a questionable repair or not repaired at all.

Desired Settlement: We will like at the minimum a full refund for the car rental charges of $1000; we feel it is their responsibility and not ours to provide transportation to us for something they totally mishandled.

Business Response: There were several emails back and forth with the client over this part. They were aware that the other failed part could not be seen until we removed the first failed part. The customer also knew they were in a rental vehicle and were free to bring it back at anytime. We tried expediting the part from the manufacturer but they did not have an ETA on the part. I certainly understand the customers frustrations however we do not have a loaner car policy that includes all of our customers. We do have a loaner car policy for the customers that are still under factory warranty. I do believe we gave him our discounted rental rate of 25.00 a day. If this was not the case and we charged him more than that we will certainly refund him the difference. I wish we were able to diagnose both parts at the same time but we were not able to do so. It is our position that we were at the mercy of the company that manufactures the part and did everything we could to get the delayed part as quickly as possible.

******* ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Why they did not tell us from day one that they could put the car back together and have us picked it up? It is very easy for them to transfer their mistakes to the client. We took the car to Priority trusting they will do a good job and advise us on the best way to repair the car, they did not and in top of that they charge us $975 for a loaner. We could write a long letter arguing every point they mentioned but our perception is that they don't care. 

Regards,
***** *******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ****** ********** in September 2012 from Priority Volkswagen and purchased warranty services for the vehicle with *** *********, ******* ****, ********** ********, and *********** *********. In September 2013, I traded the **** ********** in, and the loan was paid in full when I traded the vehicle in. I contacted **** ******* and ***** ********** at Priority 20 September 2013 to handle cancelling the warranty and returning my refund. First it took me a week to finally get in contact with the sales department at Priority Volkswagen, and they never returned my calls. I finally caught them in the office, and *** ******* is who I spoke to. *** ******* sent me the cancellation form and stated that ***** ********** was the only one at Priority that could cannel the warranties and process the repayment. I finaly spoke with *** ********** the week of 25 September, and confirm what *** ******* stated about the refund of the warranties that it takes 4-6 weeks to process and I would expect payment in the mail within that period. They were both very apologetic about the amount of time it took to finally get in contact with both of them and ensured they would work this through as quickly as possible. I sent both of them, via email attachments, all the required documents they requested on 25 September 2013. I called back during the middle of October to check and see if the cancelation had been processed yet, and was told by *** ********** that he was working the cancellation and that would be processed with 6-8 weeks of him receiving the required documents. I verified with him about my address change, because I am no longer at in Virginia and explained that is why I emailed all the documents and did not bring them into the dealership. I then called the warranty company that actually holds the warranty (**** *****) and was told that my warranty had not been canceled and the dealership is who processes the cancelations, but they had not received anything from the dealership cancelling my warranty. I resent all of the required documents on 21 October 2013 with a polite reminder that I am still waiting on my warranty to be cancelled and the refund to be processed. I again did not receive an email back from either *** ********** or *** *******. I called *** ********** during the 1st week of November again, asking where he was in the process of the cancellation. He then stated I should suspect a check by mid December 2013, and if I had not, to call him back and he would personally look into it. I just called **** ***** today, 13 November 2013, and they are still stating the warranty has not be cancelled. On all the occasions I have spoke with *** **********, I have asked him what will be the refund amount, or if he could even tell me what would be recoverable through the cancelation, and he explained he does not calculate that.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I should not be lied to about the amount of time it may take to process a refund/cancellation check. or that the actual time frame just be pushed out because they have not done their job or they feel that I will go away after a period of time. I will not purchase a new or used car from this location again. I will not recommend this dealership to any of my colleagues who are in the Fort Lee area. I do not believe that it takes this long at all. I don’t feel like they have showed any concern toward this at all. I would like my warranty cancelled, as requested and all refunds calculated and documented, as a receipt, and mailed to me, at my new address that I have provided to them twice.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** from the business and he stated that the warranty has been cancelled and he will personally look into the standing of the refund check.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1