BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Priority Toyota of Richmond

Phone: (804) 796-1800 Fax: (804) 526-1475 View Additional Phone Numbers 2000 Walthall Center Drive, Chester, VA 23831 http://www.prioritytoyotarichmond.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Priority Toyota of Richmond meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Priority Toyota of Richmond include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Priority Toyota of Richmond
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 10, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1963 in VA Business under new ownership as of: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated: 10/01/2003 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Perno, Vice President of Operations Ms. Jane Moore, Office Manager Mr. Jacy Poul, General Manager Mr. James Wallace, Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Perno, Vice President of Operations
Customer Contact: Mr. Jacy Poul, General Manager
Related Businesses
Priority Used Car Super Center Priority Nissan Priority Volkswagen
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 2000 Walthall Center Drive

    Chester, VA 23831 (804) 526-2811 (757) 366-5017 (804) 796-1800

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (757) 366-5017(Phone)
  • (804) 526-2811(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dispute is regarding the back seat of my **** ****** Not long after buying the car (February 2013)I noticed a rust colored stain coming up in the material throughout the seat. Each time the dealership did a (subpar) cleaning of the seat the stain would just keep coming back. Finally they said that they were not going to bother cleaning it anymore and the service guy (****) said that the ******* ******* offered to pay half for a new rear seat. I never spoke directly to the ******* *******. I told him that ******, not me, was responsible and that I didnt believe it was right for me to pay half. I then called and spoke to a ****** representative. I am given a case # and told I would be contacted by the local and regional customer service people. After being contacted by ****** (customer service) from Priority and repeating my story, she said she would look into it and get back with me. She called back on February 27, 2014, and told me the same thing I was told at the dealership on February 17th. They would pay half and that had I waited too long after purchasing the car to come back in about the stains. HOw convenient for them.****** never asked to meet me or to look at the stains herself. I work a full time job in downtown Richmond and so pretty much have to take a least a half day of work to go to Priorty. The seat had clearly been cleaned before I purchased the vehicle and after time the stains resurfaced, as they did every time I took it back for cleaning. I don't appreciate being totally blown off like this. The very least she could have done is offer to have Priority clean it properly as the last time they cleaned it they left water stains on it.

Desired Settlement: I want Prioirty to stand behind their product. At the very least I want the seat cleaned properly. Ideally I want the seat (or at least the cushion) replaced. An apology would be nice but I won't get my hopes up. The way this was handled was insulting.

Business Response:

I spoke with the business. The customer purchased a used car priced due to the backseat, but since the stain didn’t come out after detailing the business made a good will gesture to replace the back seat at no cost to the customer to make sure that the customer was satisfied with the vehicle.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

***** ******

I spoke with the customer, she has an appointmetn next week to have this done. If for whatever reason it is not done as she was told she will reach out to our office again.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ****** ******* in Dec. of 2013. When I purchased the automobile the sales associate did a great job. I recently called to make a appointment and the Service Advisor and he was very rude saying things like It's not my fault you waited to make an appointment, and all the shops for Priority are busy and they cannot help you. I then asked what if I go over my stated miles for service is it void? he replied very rudely "if it's in reason" I asked him what reason was , and he could not answer. I then asked his name and he said it was greg. I then called and left a message for *** ***** (GM) and he returned my call and said to call him back which I did with no response yet.**** ******** called me and stated he was called into *** ***** office and asked about the situation. I then told **** it was not him and left *** ***** a message it was a gentlemen named **** in the Service department. Again I have not received a call back from *** *****. The next day I called **** and asked him if I could get the maintenance schedule for the car so I could have my friend take over the maintenance and **** replied "you will lose your Priority for life" I also told him my wife is now going to purchase a vehicle for are new born baby (the fully paid 2010 Yaris is to small now) and we were int he market for a 4 runner and we will purchase that else where. He replied "don't be scared to bring your car here". I do believe **** is a good salesman and a great asset to your company. I just felt he had the chance to correct the situation with exceptional customer service (along with *** ***** as well) and did not deliver. I am a customer service type person!!!! I will pay extra for it !!!!!!!!! When I bought the car it was a great experience. But since then not so much. Thank You, **** *****

Desired Settlement: I do enjoy the ******* very much and I will always buy ******. You do not have to respond I have to put a desired settlement.

Business Response:

*** ***** and I just spoke I believe everything is fine now and he's going to give me another chance to preform his Free Maintenance on his *** *******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On febuary 7th, purchased new lease from ******. Was still under contract to my old lease I was in at the time. Had 3 months left on lease. Once I decided to purchase the new car and the monthly payment was met I wanted I was asked am I eligible to turn in lease early. I said I believe so I am 99% sure but not positive. They said its ok we will handle it. Now ****** financial still thinks I am responsible for remaining 3 monthly payments of 437 dollars a month. Apparently I am not eligible for early turn in but no one from the dealership ever said this could possibly happen to me. They said they would handle the old lease. Nothing was ever said that this could possibly be an issue and come back on me. Now they will not take responsibility for this, I feel as a ****** dealer they should have forewarned me of this if they weren't willing to take over the financial obligations. I would have never turned in a vehicle if I was going to have to resume financial responsibility for it. I feel it was their responsibility as a dealer/business to make me aware of this. I never said I was 100% positive I was eligible for early turn in.

Desired Settlement: I think morally/ethically they steered me in the wrong direction and tricked me. They should assume the last 3 payments or pay me for them. totaling 1,311 dollars

Business Response:

We have spoken to this customer, *** ******** about the remaining payments he has on his old vehicle already and explained to him that it was him that said; “He was 99.9% sure he had received a letter from ****** saying they would cover the last payments” he in fact did not receive such letter leaving a balance on his prior lease. I do value *** ******** as a customer and I feel bad that he has to pay these final payments but I have no control over ****** and his previous lease. I will help with a $***.00 check because he is a loyal customer but this is only for that reason not because of obligation.

He can contact me after this complaint is dropped

**** ****

Business Response: Yes I will still honor the $***.00 its crazy that BBB still will publish this complaint with the information you have received but I understand

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************Regards,

******** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It seems I have come across some issues with Priority Toyota of ******* I thought they should be brought to your attention. So starting from the beginning the day after I got the car I got pulled over for having a headlight out, I take my car back to the dealership they tell me that LED lights are not very compatible with a *****, so they want to replace my headlight with regular lights I say okay whatever is going to cause me less problems. Come to find out they forgot to replace one of the fog lights so all of my lights are regular lights and then one is LED so its glowing purple instead of white. How they didn't notice that I am not sure. So I take the car home and notice the purple light then I notice that there are wires hanging from the bottom of the car connected to the headlights and my air damn is hanging down off the bottom of the car as well. What if I had run over those headlight wires? I can only imagine the many life-threatening scenarios that could have followed. Such as causing a blowout, or wreck or just me losing visibility of the road. So I called them to repair it because it was there mistake, they tell me to bring it back in they re-install the wires but instead of them getting a little plastic tab to repair the air damn it looked like somebody just kicked it back into the car. Causing me to have to take my car back again to get my car fixed properly. So I basically had to take my car back 4 times just to have them fix all of the things that they messed up. So after I get my car worked on at priority Toyota before Christmas so I can travel, I got my tires rotated and my oil changed. On the way to **** my drain plug fell out all the oil came out of my car and blew my engine in west VA! 4 hours away from home, and 4 hours away from our destination. Had I not had somebody more knowledgeable of cars with me the car probably would've caught on fire not only risking my life but the life of other drivers around me. What if we didn't make it to the rest area? We would have been stranded on the side of an interstate on a mountain with a 70 MPH speed limit where my brakes had been compromised because of the oil, had I been on an uphill or downhill slope and attempted to utilize my brakes the outcome could have potentially been fatal. Not just for me but for the people driving around me. So they replaced my engine gave me my money back for the hotel and the tow. Then I get my car back and I can still smell oil burning so I take it back they wash it again buff out the oil build-up on the headlights (because we were driving when it happened oil covered the entire car from top to bottom). Then I get it back my abs light and my brake light came on, had to get it towed back they said it wasn't an issue. What if I had lost control of the car due to oil on my brakes? My safety is clearly not a concern to them. I was upset at the time so I spoke with one of the customer service representatives voiced how unhappy that I had to bring it back so many times that shouldn't have happened in the first place. He simply stated to me, "Well you don't have to bring your car here if your not happy with our service." So I pay for priorities for life just for a customer service rep to tell me to take my car elsewhere, when in the contract for priorities for life it states if you take your car elsewhere you lose your benefits. This is a benefit that I agreed to pay for to ensure that my car was being taken care of properly and I was safe in my vehicle. While it has done nothing but place me and people around me in a compromised state. So obviously by this point I am skeptical so I just take it to ****** tire to see if there is anything else I should be concerned with the tire pressure light is on and my valve stem comes completely off with everything inside of it and Priority is the only ones to ever work on my car. I asked them to just replace my car in the first place! I stated just replace it with the same car with equal or less miles. They tell me I have to trade it for a brand new ***** LEASE FOR DOUBLE MY CAR PAYMENT!! Mind you I paid $11,500 for my car less than a year ago and after interest I am paying about $14,000 they tell me that my car is now only worth $4,900? So is that because the engine they put in it dropped the value? Or because the sold it to me with an extremely inflated price? I never asked them to give me a brand new car I just wanted them to replace the car that they have basically lemoned. Either way I am not happy with the service I have been provided they are very nice people and I always give them the benefit of the doubt that they want to fix things but that is clearly not the case, I am starting to think it is all just fluff. I am trying to take matters further I have already contacted a small claims lawyer to see what my options are. I honestly do not want to take it to that point but I am really not sure what other options I have at this point. I sent an email to ****** ****** over a week ago and he has yet to respond to me about this issue and he is the ********* of priority. To summarize my concerns I want to ensure that priority never has the opportunity to cause safety issues for their customers that shouldn't be there in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel that I should have to change my car payment in any way I want my car to be replaced with a car that is the same as my car but with the original engine that priority has never worked on. I never asked them to give me a brand new car I just want to feel safe in my car again and I cannot do that in a car that I find a new problem with every other day because of there incompetence.

Business Response:

We replaced the engine in the ***** * and some of the issues on  **** ****** car is because of tire valve and ice on the roads. I have left word on her answering machine we will speak on Wednesday 19th and I'm sure we can work this out

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded my car on May 25,2013. My Sale person was nice and quick. He show me what they had in inventory online. I took interest in a 2010 ********. I told him lets go out and look at it. That's when he told me the car was at the other location. (Virginia Beach area) He said I can get it here in a day but we can get you all set up today. I told him I can came back and take a look at it later. He said we can take care of your paper work now and once we get the car here, all you have to do is, look it over and if there a problem, we will get it taken care of. Then he took me straight over to the finance department. The paper work was done in a matter of minutes. 5/26/2013 inspection day, The salesman point out the scratches on the driver side window, we noticed scratches on the front bumper and asked about a spare key. He took the plates off my Honda and say just call me, we will make an appointment and get you taken care of. From that moment the games begun: One of my inspection sticker was missing off my tag. The vin on the contract did not match the vin on the car. The bank information was incorrect. Rude and demeaning jester was made by finance service workers. The service department needed more time for the repairs. I ask for a loaner after almost waiting for a week on the repairs and The salesman SUPERVISER called and was very unprofessional and disrespectful. "I'm are not going to do this and that and I'm going to the service department and get this mess straight" and hung up in my face. I was afraid to go and check on my car, so I waited until things cooled down. I went the next day and ask to speak to management and I was told he would be in later that day. I was assured they get my number and message but I'm not sure If I want to continue do business with a company like this.

Desired Settlement: Honor your verbal and written agreements without making the customer feel like a victim.

Business Response:

We cut customer a check for $****** to replace lost key Mr.*********** is completley Satisified now

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car (2008 Saturn Astra) from Priority Toyota. The car I purchased had a 30 day warranty on the car. Thanksgiving Day 31st my car started vibrating or shaking and the engine light came on. When taking the car in the following day, I was told that the warranty on my car had expired and I would have to pay full price to have the car repaired. I took the car to my mechanic who stated the car had a bad ignition coil with a cost of $800.00 for the part and 65.00 labor. When I took the car back to the toyota dealership they stated there was nothing they could do and they also stated that the warranty did not cover the ignition coil. They also stated there was no way of knowing that the ignition coil was bad on the car. The finance manager also asked me if I was offered an extended warranty on the vehicle when I purchased the car. I informed him I was not. He then stated that the bank would not allow an extended warranty for my car because they would not have approved a higher loan. I called the bank to check whether this was true and they stated no. The bank informed me they had nothing to do with an extended warranty, this should have been offered by the dealership or a third party. I had my brother call to find out why toyota had sold me a car with a bad ignition coil and what they could do about it. After accusing me of not paying my down payment on the car, the finance manager agreed to pay half of the bill. After going in to speak with the general manager as directed by one of the finance managers at Toyota, they agreed to take a look at the car. I was to take the car into the service dept the next morning for them to look at the car. Once the car was diagnosed the service dept informed me that the car had a bad ignition coil and informed me I would have to pay $606.00 to repair the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have them fix my car, a full refund or a replacement car.

Business Response:

**** ******** purchased the vehicle on 10.21.2012  with 59,204 miles on it ;because of **** ******** credit history the bank would only approve her loan for $10,809.00 with **** ********* and credit life to be added the warranty on this vehicle was $2000.00 and the bank would require more down paymnet from **** ******** " Which she did not have" Because of **** ******** credit history the bank required a fee of $1962.47 just for us to approve the loan (paper work from bank is in attachments) At the time of delivery **** ******** signed a buyers guide explaining the warranty( included in attachmnets) showing her she had 30 day's or 1000 miles at a 50% customer  responability and 50% dealer responsibility . When **** ******** brought the vehicle to us for repair she had taken it to another repair shop and they had told her she need a $900.00 repair the saturn. On the 29th of November when we checked her car it had 60370miles so both the miles and the days had expired with taht said we still offerd to repair the vehicle for $600.00 and for use to pay the rest of the bill, she would not hear of it so she left here without any repairs being done.

We would like to help **** ******** she just feels like she should not be responsable for anything out of pocket eventhough the warranty has expired

**** ****

******* ******* Priority Toyota

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

********* ********


 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1