BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pence Nissan-Subaru-Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pence Nissan-Subaru-Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pence Nissan-Subaru-Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 21, 1983 Business started: 03/01/1949 in VA Business started locally: 03/01/1949 Business incorporated: 03/01/1949 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George M. Pence III, President Mr. Vincent Arendosh, General Manager Mr. David K Behm, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David K Behm
Principal: Mr. George M. Pence III, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Mobile Brake Service Road Service - Automotive Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Referral - Auto Repair Automobile Reconditioned Detailing Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repair - Suspension New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Pence Collision Pence Kia Pence Nissan Pence Subarru
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 11841 Midlothian Tnpk.

    Midlothian, VA 23113 (804) 378-3000 (804) 378-0225

  • PO Box 637

    Midlothian, VA 23113

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 378-0225(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family's *** ****** broke down (battery died) on a Friday night and was towed to this dealership for service. Dealership acknowledged Friday night that it was there and said it would be completed by COB on Saturday--after all, its a battery! Service manager called one family member Saturday morning saying that he didn't know if it would be finished by Saturday afternoon, but he thought that it would be. I called at 4:00 on Saturday afternoon expecting to pick it up and the manager stated that he wouldn't be able to--replace this battery--until Monday "or Tuesday!" I requested alternative transportation and he declined any assistance or problem solving ability whatsoever, with QUITE an attitude. I typically use ******* *** across the river and if they ever have to keep my car overnight for a repair, they provide an ********** ****** at their cost. When he raised his voice to a yell is when I got off of the phone, called back and got a (female) service advisor to cancel the scheduled maintenance we had requested along with the warranty work and battery replacement. Customer service was SO POOR that *** and *** ********* each offered to tow our vehicle from Pence to ******* at their cost--which we took them up on. When I called back at 4:30(ish) to tell them that the car was being moved, their office was closed and their staff had left, yet the website and their auto answering system report their hours until 5:00 on Saturdays. The icing on the cake was when the service price for the oil change, tire rotation, inspections, etc. from Pence was almost *triple* that of *******. We will NEVER come back to Pence and sincerely regret not doing our research (check the online reviews, people!) before choosing Pence KIA of Midlothian.

Desired Settlement: This vehicle was moved from Pence KIA to ******* *** where repair/ maintenance was scheduled, completed and alternative transportation provided, as originally requested by Pence. In light of this situation, an apology letter and corrective action is the least that Pence can do.

Business Response: BBB Case # ********

At Pence KIA, we make a commitment to provide exceptional customer service for all of our customers.  It comes as no coincidence that Pence KIA has the highest customer satisfaction rating in the Southeast region.  We understand that vehicle repair can be a stressful time and try to make the repair process as easy and as quickly as possible. 

A *** ****** was dropped off on Friday night in our afterhour’s night drop box.  The night drop box is utilized when our Service department is closed.  Service employees are not present afterhours to acknowledge the vehicle is there, or to give any estimated time of repair. Our KIA service advisor returned the customers call on Saturday morning as soon as he became available. He informed her that we would try our best to get her vehicle repaired that day, but gave no guarantees. 
Pence KIA is open for service on Saturdays as a courtesy to our customers. We understand that it may be difficult to schedule service for your vehicle during the work week and provide Saturday hours to help our customers with limited availability.  Many of our customers take advantage of our Saturday hours and our schedule is booked very tight.  

Vehicles that come in for service, especially those with “no start” issues, are diagnosed and serviced by our highly trained, KIA certified technicians. Vehicles to be serviced are either scheduled ahead of time, or put in queue based on their arrival time.  Due to our busy appointment calendar, with many appointments scheduled ahead of this customer’s vehicle, we were unable to complete the service on the ****** on Saturday.

The complainant called into our Service Department on our customer’s behalf on Saturday evening.  He was informed by our service advisor that we were unable to complete the service on the vehicle, and that it would be one of the first vehicles to be serviced on Monday morning.

Unfortunately, neither *** *** ***** *********** nor Pence KIA provides alternative transportation for vehicles in which we were unable to diagnose due to time and availability. However, we do have rental vehicles available at a reduced daily rate for those that must have alternative transportation.  

We hope that our customer was able to have service work completed on her vehicle by another dealership in a time frame that better suited her situation. The Pence KIA service department strives to provide excellent customer relations, competitive pricing, and superior vehicle service repairs. We urge you to compare our pricing and read our reviews.   

Sincerely,
***** * ****, Operations Director, Pence Automotive.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This letter serves as a CYA to the complaint made to *** ********* and much of the information is correct (ie., the availability of the a rental--I asked, and the service advisor saying that it would be looked at first thing Monday; In fact, his response was "hopefully Monday or Tuesday--but once again, no guarantees".  As stated in the original complaint, the receptionist verified receipt of the vehicle and the battery could have been replaced in less than 1 hour, had employees not left early for the day.  There is no corrective action or apology in the company's response and for that reason, I am rejecting Pence's response.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 8, 2014, I bought a ****** ******* ******* **** ****** ** ***** ******, ***** ********** ******** ***** Unfortunately was treated unfairly by thier employee, I was billed the wrong amount; something was not disclosed clearly it was misrepresented;asking me to signed documnets without discussing the final amount of the car. Everytime the documents was ******* ******* (*** **** *********) will just fold the documents quickly and place it inside the envelope without showing it to me. I was trick on everything. I came there with good intention of buying a car not to have sleepless nights because of bad experience with Subaru Dealership. My husband went back to the dealership the next day to resolve the problem but he was deeply humilated by SUBARU Sales*******, telling that I am educated and why I keep signing documents without looking it,my husband told them, I trusted Subaru Dealership. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem ,Please contact me at my email address or by phone at ************. Sincerely* **** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I want Subaru Dealership to give me the actual amount they told me which is $26000.

Business Response: Case #******** Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

 

To whom it may concern,

 

I am the ******* ******** of Pence and personally spoke with
*** ******* ******* *** ***** ******r involved in this transaction. It was
determined the customer went through the buying process and agreed to purchase
the vehicle. She was then introduced to the ******* ******* to complete the transaction.
While in the finance office, items were offered for the car such as an extended
warranty, guaranteed auto protection, oil change plan, and a paint and interior
protection package. The customer signed for each product separately as well as
a menu page that explained all the different items purchased at that time. The
customer thanked all parties involved and left with her new car.

 

The next day the client’s husband had questions about the
agreement of which the ******* ******* went over line by line and explained all
the features and benefits of all items purchased and asked if he wanted his
wife to cancel those products as we would be more than happy to do so. At that
point he said no, all those items would be important to have. He did ask about
the price of a tow package, at which point we offered at no charge to him. He
was extremely happy with the deal.  He
then shook hands with all parties involved, said thank you and left.

 

I have recently called the customer to see what happened and
to see if I could offer any assistance.  The customer said she did not understand the
items she purchased had a cost value. I asked if she wanted to cancel these items
and apply the refunds to her loan and customer said yes. Customer has since come
in, signed documents to cancel products. 
All agreed upon products will be cancelled at the client’s request. 

 

 

Signed,

 

 **** *******
******* ******** for Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ******************************** of the letter they wrote you that I did disagree. They let me signed documents that they did not explain it to me and when I complain to Better Business Bureau they immediately took an action to settle my complains and they did said they will give us the extra accessory to the car if we will give them a good review.



Regards,

**** ******


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pense sent what appears to be a contest mailing to my 92 yr old mom. The mailer is a scratchoff with a key to a car. If you match the number to the scratch off, you "win" 15000 or a new car. However, you have to go to the dealer location to match "the number in the address bar" to a number at the dealer location. This gives the illusion that one has won a car of 15000. I called the location and spoke with a sales representative that said, "well, you may have won something, but you won't know until you come in." I asked, is this a ploy to get people to come into the location? answer: "yes". On the mailer, there was a picture of a couple with a big check for $15000 -- looking closely, there was a ********* Symol on the check -- this is a Subaru/Nissan dealer!

Desired Settlement: Stop sending out mailers like this -- you are wasting peoples time -- especially folks that are 'duped' into thinking that this offer is real. This is a ploy merely to get people into the store. I would never think of ever visiting a Pence dealership, ever. Especially given these tactics. If you can't bring people into your dealership based upon reputation, and high quality of service vs. stupid game sales tactics.

Business Response:

Re:*******
Pence Nissan is an award winning dealership that is also a volume market leader in Central Virginia. Pence Nissan had contracted with an event company to host an onsite vehicle sale with a direct mail component to advertise the sale.  The mail piece was sent to 40,000 Richmond area residents and was successful in matching many mail recipients with new vehicles purchases during the sale. 

The Event company has given away 2 cars (or $15,000) this year to customers who visited their sales at different dealerships in the Northeast and Mid Atlantic. A vehicle prize winner was mailed for the Pence sales and insured by American Media & Special Promotions. The prize rules from the insurance company state that the winning number cannot be released over the phone or advertised in any way that could result in a claim denial. 

These explanations of the event will serve an the dealership response.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when purchasing the vehicle i stated that i would be able to put down 1000.00 at that time i was still waiting on my funds. The dealership advise once the funds come in to make the payment but i was still able to leave the lot with the vehicle, The funds did not come through as planned and a payment arrangement was made for the 1000.00 which was 200.00 a month. Advise the gentleman that amount was too high for me each month but he stated he was not a bank. August i was able to send a 85.00 payment towards that amount to Pence but the bank that i had my loan with pulled my loan due to down payment not being made. Tried to contact and email the guy at pence about my 85.00 payment that was made to be returned due to my car being returned to them and i no longer have the car. phone calls or emails have not been returned Even though i know its 85.00 i still would like that amount to be returned to me since the car had to be returned due to something they allowed me to do which was leave the lot without the down payment being made. Highly up set with the communication skills at the dealership. I have had someone else call and leave messages and they have not received a returned call either.

Business Response: BBB case # *******- Pence Nissan-Subaru-Kia

To whome it may concern:
My name is **** *******, I am the ******* ******** for Pence Nissan Subaru Kia.
I received the BBB letter and I am very familiar with the transaction.
During the entire process of trying to collect the down payment the dealership was patient and considerate. The bank called the loan only after out customer called and stated she had noy made the down payment. It is unfortunate that the bank decided to make this decision.
In this case our customer is right, when the money was not available the dealership made a poor decision to let our customer leave with the vehicle. It has always been our goal to work with our customers to accomodate them in their vehicles purchases. It is a shame when this customer did not follow through with their promises and then blamed the dealership for trying to help them.

The dealership did not case the check for $85.00 and it will be returned to the customer.

Sincerely,
**** *******
******* ********Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** *****






Complaint Detail


I filed a complaint about my 85.00 payment made towards a car that the loan was pulled. I'm not taking it out on the company for trying to help but they were suppose to send that payment back to me since i did not keep the car. Its been over a couple of weeks since the complaint has been closed but no check in the mail from them. i sent them a money order and was hoping they could send it back in a check due to the money order being written out to them. im not able to cash the money order with their name on it.
Translate




Desired Settlement


payment sent to me in the form of a check to cash

Business Response: I had sent the check back to the customer **** Certified and was never picked up after 1st notice on 9-21. Another check made payable to the customer will be sent today. Please see attachments with postal receipt and PDF of new check.


******* ** ******** ******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pence replaced my turbo on my Outback XT on 1/28/2011. They failed to clean the turbocharger intercooler or the oil when they did this. As a result the replacement turbo "came apart", in Pence's words, within 20 miles of leaving their shop. On 2/1/2011 the car was towed back into Pence and they replaced the turbo that "came apart" changed the oil used 3 cans of brake cleaner, and tested the new turbo charger which they failed to do in the initial replacement. On 11/15/2012 the car was at **** * in N.Va having work done on it and **** * discovered metal shavings in the turbo intercooler. Upon inserting a boroscope into the turbo inlet pipe **** * discovered the turbocharger compressor blades were gone and there was a loose turbocharger compressor shaft laying in the inlet pipe. Photos were taken of the intercooler and the turbo shaft position in the inlet pipe before the turbocharger was removed. **** * also discovered that the oil return line Pence placed on the turbocharger was not an oil line but rather a piece of water heater hose. When I called Pence about this, after the repair, Pence refused to look at the parts, pictures, or the repair bill. They stated that if they had left a part in the intercooler it would have showed up shortly after the repair. My position is if they did not even know the part was in the engine, how could they speak to the timing? They could not answer how a turbo compressor shaft suddenly appeared in my turbo inlet pipe. There has been no engine work done on my car since Pence replaced the turbo on 2/1/2011. I have driven 34k miles since the replacement on 2/1/11 and there was originally a 12 month warranty on the replacement. If there had been any indication of a problem with the turbo prior to this I certainly would have returned the car to Pence. From the repair bills at Pence, pictures, parts and discussions I feel Pence failed to spot this turbo compressor shaft when they replaced the turbo that "came apart" resulting in the needed repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Pence refund to me the $1950.17 **** * charged me to replace my turbo. As an alternative they could reimburse me for parts for a total of $1331.16.

Business Response: Sorry for the delay, the holidays and vacations delayed our research. ***.

Please see attached.

My direct line is *** *** ****.


 

 

January 3,
2013

 

BBB Case # *******

 

To whom it may concern,

 

On 1.28.11, we at Pence Subaru replaced a Turbocharger in
a 2005 Subaru Outback,                                        VIN #
***************** for our customer.

 

  On 1.31.11, the
new Turbocharger failed internally due to faulty product, not due to incorrect
installation.  The Turbocharger was warranted
 in full by Subaru of America because of
the failed component.  It was replaced at
no charge to our customer.

 

Subaru of America and Pence Subaru warranty their
components and repairs for a period of 12 months, regardless of mileage. This
vehicle has been in operation for a period of 21 months and been driven 34,000
Miles since the repairs on 1.31.11.  If
any kind of poor workmanship had been done, it would have shown up immediately,
not 21+ months later.  The warranty
period of the product (Turbocharger) and the repairs have long exceeded the 12
month warranty period. 

 

Warranties are set forth to protect the consumers for a
stated period of time. Our customer  was
fully aware of the warranty period on this repair.  Therefore, Pence Subaru feels that no
reimbursement of any kind is due at this time.

 

 

If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free
to call.

 

***** ** *******

******* *******

Pence Subaru

***** ********

 

Approved and forwarded by

 

***** ******

********** ********

Pence Automotive.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There is no explanation of how an extra turbo shaft wound up in my engine. No one has worked on the engine besides Pence until this problem occurred. This part did not just magically appear in my turbo. Their refusal to examine the pictures and the parts is disappointing as well.

Also there was no explanation of why a heater hose was used instead of an oil return line when they replaced the failed turbo.

Regards,

***** ****


 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a **** ****** ********** that was damaged by other Vehicle. I took my car to Pence Nissan for collision repair on 10/13/12. They repaired my car and called me to pick up the car on 10/24/12. When i went to the Pence body shop i found my car lock wasn't working,front panel did not repair and rear window of my car make wind noise. When i showed to Pence service rep **** he told me that i need to leave the car and they will fix the problem. On 10/25/12 Pence service rep.***** called me and said that car is ready to be picked up. I went to Pence Nissan on 10/26/12 at 10am to pick up the car. But my car lock and rear window still not fixed. I asked ***** that you told me it was fixed but still has a problem. He said that his going to talk with technician. After i waited 5 hours they were able to fixed my car lock but not the noise of my rear window. I asked ***** that when you are going to fix my rear window noise? He said that this is an old car they are not going to fix. I told him that i did not have noise problem before the collision. He said that nothing he can do to fix this problem. Mean while i had a rent a car from ***** ******* insurance company which i returned after pick up of my car on 10/26/12. But insurance company told me that they will not pay for extra day of rental because Pence body shop did get approval from insurance company for extra day. Insurance company also talk with ***** and ***** told them that i picked up the car on 10/24/12. Now insurance company don't believe me. I called ***** and he said that he can not help me.Then i called several times to******* ******* **** ****** and left him a message. But he never returned my call. Finally i got touch with**** and explained my situation. He told me that he will get back to me. But he never call me back. After waited several days i called **** on 11/2/12. Finally he picked up my phone and very unprofessional with me. I told him to call insurance co. and get approval for my car rental.He told me nothing he can do.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take car of my extra day car rental cost through insurance company or themselves.They also need to fix noise of my car's rear window.

Business Response:

11/14/12

To whom it may concern

RE: complaint*******

Pence has communicated with our customer numerous times since the concern was brought to our attention.

Pence will pay for the one day rental as requested.

Pence has recontacted the responsible insurance company, ********, and they have agreed to supply the parts and labor necessary to correct the wind noise issue,
We are waiting for all the necessary parts to arrive.
We will give the customer to have the work performed here at our facility, or closer to his home if that is more convenient, we will handle those arrangements.

All the other issues have been addressed and corrected.

Our customer seems to be satisfied with our actions .

Thank you for your assistance on this matter.

***** * **** ********** ********Pence Automotive.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1