This Business is not BBB accredited

Medlin Motor Co, Inc

18679 Eltham Rd, West Point , VA 23181 http://www.medlinmotorco.dealerconnection.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Medlin Motor Co, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Medlin Motor Co, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1975 in VA Business incorporated: 05/19/1981 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Burley M Medlin, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Burley M Medlin, Owner/President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18679 Eltham Rd

    West Point , VA 23181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2001**** ****** from Medlin Ford on Oct.31,2012 as a Christmas present for our 16 yr old daughter. No it was not new- it is a 2001 and has 100K miles but it was very clean and *** ****** assured us it was a recent trade in from an older gentleman who purchased it there originally, was its only owner, and did all his scheduled maintenance at that dealership. The car looked great. We paid $5800. cash and took the car-assured by *** ****** and his solid reputation. We brought the car home and it sat in a friends empty garage until Christmas Day when we gave it to our daughter. Three days later the upholstery in the back seats starting falling off the doors on both sides. It had obviously been recently glued on/ No wonder so clean. A week after she got it it started making noises and the engine light turned on. She did not even have a license yet so we had only practiced for 60 miles total. We took the car to ********* **** who told us it needed A LOT of work. It needed a PTU a $1700 part and it was only running on 3 of its 6 cylinders, all gaskets were bad etc. A bill of repair for $3800. We called *** ****** who said ********* **** was a bunch of crooks and to bring it back to his dealership. Hmm his service dept found the same problems. ** ****** and his great reputation said they could fix it-it took over a week and he charged us $1800. *** ******** reputation as far as we are concerned stinks. If we wanted to pay that much for a used car for her, we would not have gotten a 2001! Shame on you *** *******

Desired Settlement: We deserved a car that had been repaired before it was put on the lot to sell. I want my service/repair monies back.

Business Response:

My name is *** ******, ********* of Medlin Motor Company, Inc.  We have been in business since 1975 and have always treated customers properly.  I do understand that it is impossible to please everyone, even though we strive to.  This vehicle was purchased from us “as is” and the customer was well aware of that.  After several months of ownership and hardly any miles driven, I received a phone call from the customer explaining the problems they incurred with the vehicle.  Even though the vehicle was purchased “as is”, I told him to bring the vehicle to us so my mechanics could diagnose the problem.  We then offered to fix the car and pay for 50% of the repairs, which the customer agreed to.  I feel this was being quite fair.  If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me at ************.

Thank you,

   *** ****** *********Medlin Ford