Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mechanicsville Toyota

Phone: (804) 559-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 6546 Mechanicsville Turnpike, Mechanicsville, VA 23111 http://www.mechanicsvillescion.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mechanicsville Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mechanicsville Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mechanicsville Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tanner Hulette, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tanner Hulette, General Manager
Related Businesses
West Broad Volkswagen & Audi West Broad Honda West Broad Hyundai Mechanicsville Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Mechanicsville Scion
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Additional Locations

  • 6546 Mechanicsville Turnpike

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111 (804) 559-8000 (804) 559-8719

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ****** ****** ***** from Toyota Mechanicsville, VA, on 12/30/14. I noticed in this summer that there is an extremely foul, unbearable, odor of mold coming from the AC vent. After researching the issue I realized this is a known problem with this vehicle. In addition, the paint quality is poor at best and chips down to the metal easily. I have had, and currently own, much older cars which have withstood years of wear and tear without chipping down to the metal. When I attempted to ask the service department at Toyota Mechanicsville whether they could service the odor they responded by acknowledging customer complaints of a moldy odor but stated "Toyota's" response is the "customer" should purchase charcoal, and/or change to air circulation flow, and/or use Lysol; neither of which is an acceptable resolution. When I attempted to exchange the vehicle I was told I have "4K in negative equity" after just 9 months. Note, I completely understand vehicle depreciation, however, I would not be trading this vehicle had it not been a substandard product.

Desired Settlement: 1) Repair odor and paint issues which does not reoccur - and - 2) Provide documentation that mold odor is not cancer causing (which is serious concern regarding this vehicle) -or - 3) Exchange this vehicle for another ***** 2014 or newer, with no more than 10,000 miles, any color, any model (equal or higher) - or - 4) Allow a trade which does not force me as a customer to absorb the negative equity due to a substandard product.

Business Response:

Management immediately responded to her. Apologized for her experience. We presented options that we would pay for on good will basis. Offered to pick up ***** so she wasn't inconvenienced. We ended up meeting with her a second time and made concessions on a replacement vehicle. She has traded and is now driving a ****** **********.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I am ONLY looking to speak to the******* ******* ****** ******* at this location now, as my experience with Mechanicsville Toyota was the worst possiblel They are Located at: **** ************** ******** *************** ** ***** ***** ******** Purchased my car on 09/30/2013. The wrong information was given to me during the sale, they broke my CD player, the customer service was the worse, communication was lacking, and my car broke down on me and it hasn't even been 30 days yet! Then they out of "good will" turn around and offer to fix the car and keep it for a week leaving me stranded with no loaner vehicle and they are less than concerned without an apology unless coerced. I shake my head as this has been the absolute worst experience ever and I was also told by this location that their law trumps any and all VA State Lemon Laws, and that they are basically EXEMPT from honoring any and all VA State Lemon Laws. Then they are keeping my car hostage-taking forever in order to stall out the remainder of my 30 days. They also haven't offered me a loaner vehicle knowing I had no other car to drive.Then they REFUSE to cancel my sale and return my down payment so now I am also out of money as well. I need ****** ******* to call me ASAP!! My last day to make a difference is tomorrow 10/30/2013 Please interview them, contact them and out because i would also hate to think that this may be a case of racial, age, veteran status discrimination as well as gender discrimination because I am a young, black, veteran female. Signed, Disgusted & Unrecognized Customer

Desired Settlement: I want and request a loan unwind from the ******* ******* with the financial company-********* *********. I want the $1000 down payment returned back to me. I want them to keep the car and uphold to the laws of the VA State Lemon Law under used cars, sold as-is under 30 days. Thank you.

Business Response: There is no merit to this complaint. Pre owned cars do have problems. This has nothing to do with Va Lemon-Law.The car was towed in to Mechanicsville Toyota. The repair is not covered component of the service contract . The ******* agreed to cover it as a good will gesture. Mechanicsville Toyota covered the labor and parts on the repair. Her vehicle is repaired and ready to be picked up. The loan is funded and title issued. If she would like to trade it in she should contact **** *****.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 - We purchased a used **** **** ********* **** ************** ******. We also purchased an extended warranty for this vehicle. Within a week of driving we noticed a surging when operating the vehicle and also the vehicle would stall when in a parking lot. I contacted the dealership and was told to bring in the vehicle. They kept if for a couple of days and then contacted me and informed me they were not able to duplicate the problem.I drove to the dealership and had ****** come out to the parking lot, I asked him to sit in the drivers seat and turn on the AC and put the car in reverse, he did and the vehicle jumped about 8 inches. He was shocked, he agreed at that point there was an issue and he kept the car. I was contacted and told the vehicle was fine and I needed to pick it up, I returned to the dealership and picked up my car and within a few weeks it was doing the same thing. I contacted the dealership and explained it was doing it again. I was told to bring it in, at this point I dealt with a different service tech and she informed me that my car was being stored in a "bad place" that apparently I had rats because they were chewing on my wiring. I was offended and aggrevated with her and spoke to the service manager, he informed me that he would take care of the issue and please bring the vehicle back in and I would deal with ****** (who was my original service tech). They did at one point keep my vehicle for 6 weeks and I was told the sent the vehicle to **** for diagnostic examination. I was confident that **** would fix the problem. That was not the case. I found no resolution with them and was told they have done all they can do for me. This began to creep into the winter months and I found the problem to be decreasing. 2012 - Once it warmed up again and I began to use the air conditioning and began to experience the problem again. I contacted ****** and was told to bring in the vehicle. I did so and they had it for a couple of days, I was told they couldn't duplicate the problem, however when arriving to pick up my car, I immediately experienced the problem. I spoke to the manager of the service department as well as the used car sales manager. I was assured that the dealership was aware of the problem and I would be able to have assistance with the issue because we had a warrenty and we were dilligent in reporting the problem immediately. 2013 - This summer it began again and I contacted ****** at the dealership, he told me to bring the vehicle in because he knew me and my issue with this car, he seemed wanting to help. I brought in the car and they gave me a loaner for a couple of days, I was told to come in and get the car, it wasn't something they could fix, but if I wanted to "selfpay" I could have a diagnostic test done. I was very angry at this point because the conversation I had with was the general manager of the dealership. He was extremely rude and not helpful. He said they had taken the car to **** and they had done all they were going to do for me. I informed him that I had service tickets for 2011 and I had contacted the warranty company and in fact ************** ****** had NOT informed the insurance policy holder that we had brought the vehicle in for any issue. The warranty at this point in void because it expired. I was so upset at this point. I asked ****** which **** dealership the car was taken to so that I could find out what they said, because they were telling me I needed to take the car to ****, they couldn't fix it. I contacted an attorney and they said that I could not do anything with the lemon law however I could possibly do something with Consumers Act. I was overwhelmed and angry and not taken care of at all, ************** ****** sold us a vehicle that we have had problems with and they haven't honored their agreement in representing this vehicle as sound for driving. I have since contacted ******** **** and they were EXTREMELY helpful, there was no recall on my vehicle but after investigating the situation there was infact a situation with the vehicle lunging and surging and cutting off. They informed me that while they could not cover a loaner vehicle they would set up service and fix the vehicle according to the specifications set out by ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like the service tickets I have aquired in having this vehicle serviced at other locations and repeated trips to the dealerships without any satisfaction acknowledged and refunded. I would like the expense of the rental vehicle on this final repair with **** to be reimbursed as well. I would also like a letter of apology from the dealership manager and owner. I would like them to acknowledge their lack of customer service and their lack of accountability in this situation. I would finally like them to acknowledge they were liable in not reporting to the warrenty company my service tickets and they should acknowledge that they misrepresented themselves in telling me the car was taken to **** when in fact it was never taken to a **** dealership.

Business Response: Miltiple members of our team have spoken to her about this issue. The extended service contract coverage had expired by 30,000 miles. They had driven over 50,000 miles. Any repairs are the customers  responsibility . Repair orders are available at any time. Just need to see a service team member.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mechanicsville Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)