BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Mechanicsville Toyota

Phone: (804) 559-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 6546 Mechanicsville Turnpike, Mechanicsville, VA 23111 http://www.mechanicsvillescion.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mechanicsville Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mechanicsville Toyota include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mechanicsville Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mechanicsville Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 25, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1993
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tanner Hulette, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tanner Hulette, General Manager
Related Businesses
West Broad Volkswagen & Audi West Broad Honda West Broad Hyundai Mechanicsville Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mechanicsville Scion
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 6546 Mechanicsville Turnpike

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111 (804) 559-8000 (804) 559-8719

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 559-8719(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I am ONLY looking to speak to the******* ******* ****** ******* at this location now, as my experience with Mechanicsville Toyota was the worst possiblel They are Located at: **** ************** ******** *************** ** ***** ***** ******** Purchased my car on 09/30/2013. The wrong information was given to me during the sale, they broke my CD player, the customer service was the worse, communication was lacking, and my car broke down on me and it hasn't even been 30 days yet! Then they out of "good will" turn around and offer to fix the car and keep it for a week leaving me stranded with no loaner vehicle and they are less than concerned without an apology unless coerced. I shake my head as this has been the absolute worst experience ever and I was also told by this location that their law trumps any and all VA State Lemon Laws, and that they are basically EXEMPT from honoring any and all VA State Lemon Laws. Then they are keeping my car hostage-taking forever in order to stall out the remainder of my 30 days. They also haven't offered me a loaner vehicle knowing I had no other car to drive.Then they REFUSE to cancel my sale and return my down payment so now I am also out of money as well. I need ****** ******* to call me ASAP!! My last day to make a difference is tomorrow 10/30/2013 Please interview them, contact them and out because i would also hate to think that this may be a case of racial, age, veteran status discrimination as well as gender discrimination because I am a young, black, veteran female. Signed, Disgusted & Unrecognized Customer

Desired Settlement: I want and request a loan unwind from the ******* ******* with the financial company-********* *********. I want the $1000 down payment returned back to me. I want them to keep the car and uphold to the laws of the VA State Lemon Law under used cars, sold as-is under 30 days. Thank you.

Business Response: There is no merit to this complaint. Pre owned cars do have problems. This has nothing to do with Va Lemon-Law.The car was towed in to Mechanicsville Toyota. The repair is not covered component of the service contract . The ******* agreed to cover it as a good will gesture. Mechanicsville Toyota covered the labor and parts on the repair. Her vehicle is repaired and ready to be picked up. The loan is funded and title issued. If she would like to trade it in she should contact **** *****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 - We purchased a used **** **** ********* **** ************** ******. We also purchased an extended warranty for this vehicle. Within a week of driving we noticed a surging when operating the vehicle and also the vehicle would stall when in a parking lot. I contacted the dealership and was told to bring in the vehicle. They kept if for a couple of days and then contacted me and informed me they were not able to duplicate the problem.I drove to the dealership and had ****** come out to the parking lot, I asked him to sit in the drivers seat and turn on the AC and put the car in reverse, he did and the vehicle jumped about 8 inches. He was shocked, he agreed at that point there was an issue and he kept the car. I was contacted and told the vehicle was fine and I needed to pick it up, I returned to the dealership and picked up my car and within a few weeks it was doing the same thing. I contacted the dealership and explained it was doing it again. I was told to bring it in, at this point I dealt with a different service tech and she informed me that my car was being stored in a "bad place" that apparently I had rats because they were chewing on my wiring. I was offended and aggrevated with her and spoke to the service manager, he informed me that he would take care of the issue and please bring the vehicle back in and I would deal with ****** (who was my original service tech). They did at one point keep my vehicle for 6 weeks and I was told the sent the vehicle to **** for diagnostic examination. I was confident that **** would fix the problem. That was not the case. I found no resolution with them and was told they have done all they can do for me. This began to creep into the winter months and I found the problem to be decreasing. 2012 - Once it warmed up again and I began to use the air conditioning and began to experience the problem again. I contacted ****** and was told to bring in the vehicle. I did so and they had it for a couple of days, I was told they couldn't duplicate the problem, however when arriving to pick up my car, I immediately experienced the problem. I spoke to the manager of the service department as well as the used car sales manager. I was assured that the dealership was aware of the problem and I would be able to have assistance with the issue because we had a warrenty and we were dilligent in reporting the problem immediately. 2013 - This summer it began again and I contacted ****** at the dealership, he told me to bring the vehicle in because he knew me and my issue with this car, he seemed wanting to help. I brought in the car and they gave me a loaner for a couple of days, I was told to come in and get the car, it wasn't something they could fix, but if I wanted to "selfpay" I could have a diagnostic test done. I was very angry at this point because the conversation I had with was the general manager of the dealership. He was extremely rude and not helpful. He said they had taken the car to **** and they had done all they were going to do for me. I informed him that I had service tickets for 2011 and I had contacted the warranty company and in fact ************** ****** had NOT informed the insurance policy holder that we had brought the vehicle in for any issue. The warranty at this point in void because it expired. I was so upset at this point. I asked ****** which **** dealership the car was taken to so that I could find out what they said, because they were telling me I needed to take the car to ****, they couldn't fix it. I contacted an attorney and they said that I could not do anything with the lemon law however I could possibly do something with Consumers Act. I was overwhelmed and angry and not taken care of at all, ************** ****** sold us a vehicle that we have had problems with and they haven't honored their agreement in representing this vehicle as sound for driving. I have since contacted ******** **** and they were EXTREMELY helpful, there was no recall on my vehicle but after investigating the situation there was infact a situation with the vehicle lunging and surging and cutting off. They informed me that while they could not cover a loaner vehicle they would set up service and fix the vehicle according to the specifications set out by ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like the service tickets I have aquired in having this vehicle serviced at other locations and repeated trips to the dealerships without any satisfaction acknowledged and refunded. I would like the expense of the rental vehicle on this final repair with **** to be reimbursed as well. I would also like a letter of apology from the dealership manager and owner. I would like them to acknowledge their lack of customer service and their lack of accountability in this situation. I would finally like them to acknowledge they were liable in not reporting to the warrenty company my service tickets and they should acknowledge that they misrepresented themselves in telling me the car was taken to **** when in fact it was never taken to a **** dealership.

Business Response: Miltiple members of our team have spoken to her about this issue. The extended service contract coverage had expired by 30,000 miles. They had driven over 50,000 miles. Any repairs are the customers  responsibility . Repair orders are available at any time. Just need to see a service team member.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car a honda accent for 4,065 after having it for 2 weeks and 5 days it Started to jerk at first just in the morning then it progressed. At 3 weeks 6 days my uncle who is a mechanic looked at it he said something in the transmission sounded wrong. I took it to auto zone they put it on the machine and a code came up it was ***** * valve malfunction read on the machine. From there we took to ********* ************* where they gave me a paper's stating the same code which they explained to me that the transmission will soon go.

Desired Settlement: If they would fix the problem or give me a portion of my money back.

Business Response:

We are sorry she is having problems with the car. The car that was purchased was a 2001 Honda Accord with over 197 thousand miles on it. Any repairs on the this vehicle are the customers responsability. We will have a manager contact her. We will to try to assist her with minimizing the cost of this repair when needed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****


 

 I would simply like some of my money back 500.00 dollars would help I feel robbed by them.  4,000 is a lot of money to give someone to still have to pay for a new transmission. Give me Something towards the transmission or something.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchase a 2006 **** ********* on aug. 09, 2012 and the engine has blown a head gasket. i called to inform them and was told to bring my **** into the shop. once there i was told by the sales rep that its nothing they can do being i bought the car as is. i only had the truck 27 days before the engine blew. i have not even made it 30 days from the day purchase.

Desired Settlement: i would like to have my engine replace

Business Response: The ********* had over 3,000 miles miles on it in the period mentioned. Even if a warranty applied it would have been expired by miles. There was mechanical breakdown coverage offered when the **** was purchased. The price of the coverage would have been included in the monthly payments. These coverages were declined by the customer. These things do happen.  This is precisely the reason we sell extended coverage. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the beginning of July, I went to the dealership to ask about getting a new vehicle. I asked about a 2012 ****** *** ** manual and they said they had a few in stock but all of the ones they had offered more add-ons than I'd like to pay for so they said they could order me a brand-new truck from the factory. We negotiated and agreed on a price and the dealership and I signed a contract saying they'd provide the truck to the exact specifications. Three weeks later they call me and tell me "the system keeps rejecting the order" and that they couldn't produce the truck. I suggested they sell me a similar truck for the same price in the interest of good business and consumer satisfaction, which they said they prided themselves on, and they politely told me to take a hike. They refused to honor any part of the agreement that we had even after showing them the words saying "THIS IS A LEGAL AND BINDING AGREEMENT" on the contract they themselves drew up. They wasted 3 weeks of my time and went from agreeable to dismissive as soon as they decided they couldn't deliver the truck. Integrity and a man's word used to mean something.

Desired Settlement: Provide a 2012 ****** ****** *** *** ** manual truck (not black) for the agreed-upon and signed price quote they gave me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I can't trust the word of this dealership anymore.  They said they'd deliver a truck and didn't and when they decided they couldn't or wouldn't deliver, they wanted to charge me an extra $2100 (almost 10%) for something else with more options than I wanted and that I specified from the beginning that I didn't want because of the price difference.  Poor business practice.  An offer I might've accepted was a compromise between the $25,000 they said they'd charge me and the $27,000 for the truck with the extra and unecessary options.  What a waste of time dealing with these salesmen.

A note on the attachment, the $1000 down payment was the two $500 rebates they gave me, one for being in the military and the other for agreeing to finance with ******.  Price out the door was $26,959.

Regards,

***** ****


 

Business Response: Our staff explained the process to *** *****. The ****** isn't built the way he wanted it in our region. His order requires us to take a ****** from allocation. We would then attempt to delete the options that he didn't want. He made a deposit so we could start the process. We secured a model **** manual access cab V6 a week later. The change order was submitted. The change kept rejecting day after day. I secured another ****** with a later build date in attempt to get the change to accept. We called vehicle supply and were informed the change would not accept. To get a changeable ****** it would need to be a 2013. *** ***** was called and notified by email. The email is below and contact logs. **** talked to him on the phone about his options

(1) 2013 special build as before would need to check pricing ( Any Incentives are tied to the retail delivery date) so whatever is available when the ****** comes in would determine the net price difference.

(2) We priced 2 different ******* 2012's that were available more options ( HUGE discounts).

(3) Refund deposit as we couldn't deliver a 2012 like he wanted it

This happend in July. He continued to tell the salesman no as t to credit back the deposit as he wanted to discuss options. A full month later *** ***** came in and wanted to discuss his options again with salesman. They were the same options as before. He didn't like that so he wanted to talk to the Manager. **** ******* went over his options (same options as were presented to him over a month ago, and again by the salesman minutes before. There aren't any 2012's that we can get for him that are acceptable. There will never be any 2012 made again. We have 2013's on the way. So after offering his options the last time a decision was made not to do business with *** *****. His deposit was refunded to his evident disatisfaction! We have had trucks fall off trains, damaged in storms, wrecked on the lot before delivery, unacceptable flaws in paint, wrong color interiors. There are many variables in special orders. We would ATTEMPT TO ACCOMPLISH A SPECIAL ORDER on the 2013 for him at competitive price subject to Incentives at delivery date. This the only way for for ***** to get the options he wants!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1