Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Heritage Chevrolet, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 748-6461 View Additional Phone Numbers 12420 Jeff Davis Hwy, Chester, VA 23831 http://www.heritagechevrolet.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heritage Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 1982 Business started: 01/04/1982 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Burchell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Burchell, President
Related Businesses
Colonial Imports, Inc. Volvo Of Charlottesville Gateway Hyundai, Inc. Carter Myers Automotives Colonial Auto Center
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Appraisers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Warranty Processing Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Air Conditioning Auto Accessories Auto Appraisers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
9am -9pm
Monday - Friday

9am - 6pm
Saturday
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers Transmission Repair

Additional Locations

  • 12420 Jeff Davis Hwy

    Chester, VA 23831 (804) 748-6461

  • PO Box 4020

    Chester, VA 23831

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/02/16, I brought my vehicle in to the dealership because I was experiencing what I believed to be issues with my transmission due to the vehicle not shifting properly and idling high when turning. Prior to coming in to the dealership I made an appointment to bring my vehicle in over the phone. The first time I called I was told that I could not get a loaner vehicle, then I called back and spoke to someone else who authorized it. The vehicle given was not of comparable size. The dealership then took until 05/04/16 to assess my vehicle at which point I get a call at 17:23 informing me that my vehicle was ready for pickup and that the charge would be $143.22 for the diagnostic and the oil change. They stated that the issue with the vehicle was because the oil was low. I personally checked the oil before going to the dealership as my service indication had notified me that it was time to change it. The oil was not low at all. When I first got to the dealership on 05/02/16, I inquired about the price of an oil change which was twice as high as I would pay anywhere else so I stated that I would not get it done there. I never authorized the oil change nor was I notified what the issue was deemed to be until after services were done. This is in violation of the Automobile Repair Facilities Act. I was concerned over the issue my vehicle was having and the fact that I was not notified about anything and addressed this when I went to pick up my vehicle on 05/05/16. I got no resolve in the matter. I was forced to pay the total bill even for the work not authorized. I also inquired as to whether this would happen every time I am due for an oil change on the vehicle as I was told that the low oil caused the cam shaft actuators to malfunction, I was told that it shouldn't but was still trying to make sense of the matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund because a customer should not be treated like this. They tried to make it seem as if I didn't know anything. I would also like the vehicle fully evaluated for my concern. I conducted research as to what the issue may be and it can indeed be something major such as the transmission. I feel like my concerns were not addressed nor was any care given and that the dealership conducted a temporary band aid for a problem that may be a major issue

Business Response:

This is the first time I have seen this complaint.  I received a call notifying me of the issue.  I have spoken to my Service Manager to research the issue and will respond to the customer today.  right away.

Will advise.

Thank you.

Jay B*******

 

 

Business Response:

I found both the 5/6/2016 and 5/13/2016 email in my spam folder.  First ti me this has ever happened.  I have always gotten emails from you same day.  I have reentered the applicable address into my approval list to prevent from happening in the future.

I have discussed with our Service Manager John K***** and we have reviewed the paper work.  The customer did sign the pre service authorization for us to diaog the vehicle.  Diaog fee is $108.00.

We also found a GM Case on the issue and had already been trying to recontact the customer based on the GM Case request.  No response to our phone calls from either number.

We are still researching details of the visit and any phone calls after check in that may have taken place.

John K*****, Service Manager, is calling customer now to offer:  explanation,  Refund of the charges for oil change and offer appointment with a loaner vehicle for a reevaluation of the vehicle to see if we can find any other issues that may be related to that that we did find. 

I will advise status of our efforts to take care of this situation for the customer.  We will make every effort to assist and satisfy this complaint and further assist the customer with their automotive needs.

Thank you for the phone call reminder.

John E B******* **

President and Executive Manager - Heritage Chevrolet - **********

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I apologize, I thought I had responded to the complaint. I am satisfied with the outcome and the dealership has contacted me for further resolution as well. Can this information be updated to show my response.

11/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this dealership on 11.13.15 in an effort to trade the vehicle for a new vehicle. The sales manager ****ua ******* F******** test drove the vehicle and while doing so opened the sunroof to make sure that it functioned properly - the sunroof will now not close properly - When I took the vehicle back to ****ua at Heritage to inquire about this he stated that he is not responsible because the vehicle is 10 years old and he also stated "would I be responsible if I was driving it and the 4 wheel drive broke" He advised me to take the vehicle to a Ford dealership to get it fixed at my expense. This is NOT acceptable since it was fine before I took the vehicle in to that dealership.

Desired Settlement: I want my sunroof fixed at the dealership's expense.

Business Response:

I will look into this with more detail right away with **** and also our GSM **** T*****.  I am aware of this issue as I was here at the time of the appraisal.  We were not told by the customer not to open the Sunroof and we always access and operate all accessory items on a vehicle as to there operation because the lack of operation does effect the value of the trade.  **** was not aware nor was he told by the customer not to open the sunroof while test driving the vehicle for a value assessment appraisal.    I was not here when the customer returned and complained that the roof did not close completely. 

I will discuss this matter with **** and **** but based on my initial communication and knowledge of the situation we do not feel it is our responsibility to fix an accessory item on the truck that appeared to be in a inoperative or malfunctioning state at the time of our appraisal.  We certainly have no way of knowing that the roof was in fact already in that condition prior to the visit to our dealership.

I certainly wish to convey to the customer our apology for what may have taken place and attempt to offer a cost of labor repair if a repair is in fact possible.  Perhaps the customer knows better what is wrong at this point.  Unfortunately he chose not to caution us to its use or assessment prior to us driving the vehicle for appraisal.

 

I will follow-up with you as to our status and communication with the customer.

 

**** * ******** ** *****

President and Executive Manager - Heritage Chevrolet

 

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 20** ***** ***** from Heritage Chevrolet . When I purchased the vehicle it was equipped with a overhead light with sunglass holder and moveable lights. I recently had the car taken to the dealership after it broke down on in ******** . There was a dispute rather or not the reason for the damage to the axle was from a previous accident that was repaired by ******** ******* **** **** who is affiliated with Heritage Chevrolet. To make a long story short when I got my car back from the dealership the over head light had been changed out with a cheaper type with no sunglass holder. I pointed this out to my sales person Ian at the dealership . He did remember the original equipment and was as shocked as I was. So far the dealership has refused to make this right and I seem to be talking to deaf ears. The light option was one of the main reasons I bought this car and now I feel like I have been taken advantage of .

Desired Settlement: All I want is for the dealership to find the same Light that came with the car and replace it.

Business Response:

I have reviewed this concern with management.  Let me first say that we have every intention to assist the customer on this issue and are at this time still attempting to do so.  *** ***** has had no additional communication with us, Manager or otherwise since her conversation with her sales associate ***.

We would like to communicate directly with her to resolve this issue and I promise we will take good care and satisfy her concerns as we thought we were already in the process of doing.  See below my response based on what I know now.

·         We did sell the ***** to *** *****

·         *** *****’s car was involved in an accident and based on our knowledge was directed to ******** ******* **** **** at her parents request.  Not ours.

·         We are not Affiliated with ******** ******* **** ****.  They are a wholesale customer to our Parts Department and because of their location in ******** ******* we have recommended them to our customers in ********** occasionally.  We did not make this recommendation this time and had no knowledge that she had the accident or the car was in the **** **** until after the visit.

·         We were involved in a referral from the **** **** and the customer after she picked her completed car up because the car also had an axle issue that the **** **** was not originally aware of from the accident and it affected her drivability after pickup and it was necessary to tow.  The Insurance company instructed us to do and approved additional repairs.

·         Our repairs had nothing to do with the inside of the car and we did not change out and lights or sunglass holders

·         We are not aware of what the **** **** may have had to do to the interior of the car. 

·         *** ***** did come and see *** about her current concern.  *** attempted to determine at what point the items may have been changed out. He verified that our work did not include any interior work to the car.  He called the **** **** and was not able to get a response as to what they may had done inside the car.

·         The part that *** ***** wants replace is not a factory installed or ********* item and we had determined after talking to out parts people that it must have been installed by the previous customer that traded the car to us.  *** and the *** ***** agreed at that time that it would take some time to determine what and where we could secure the aftermarket part to replace for her.  It was ***** understanding that she would also look for a comparable part that she was happy with and advise us.

·         *** and our Parts department are still trying to locate a part that is similar or the same to reinstall in the car.  We have also contacted the **** **** again to get their assistance as it appears that the part must have been removed and replaced during the accident repairs.

·         We will continue to try to find a solution to her concern and will help get the appropriate parts.  I have instructed my Management team and *** that even if the **** **** does not participate in the replacement we will handle this for customer satisfaction as was our original intent.

 

We have every intention to secure and install or have the **** **** install the appropriate replacement item once we secure that which is acceptable to *** *****.  ***, my Parts Manager **** ***** and Service Manager **** ****** will follow-up and get this taken care of.

 

Thank you for your understanding

 

**** ** ***** ********* *r

President and Executive Manager

Heritage ********* –*********

Direct Office – ************

Office: ************

Cell: ************ 

Email: ******************************* ********************* ************************************************************ ************************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Heritage Chevrolet, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)