Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gateway Hyundai, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gateway Hyundai, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Hyundai, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2004 Business started: 12/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Nicol, President and General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ed Nicol, President and General Manager
Related Businesses
Colonial Imports, Inc. Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. Volvo Of Charlottesville Carter Myers Automotives Colonial Auto Center
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Gateway Hyundai
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Additional Locations

  • 2200 Walthall Center Drive

    Chester, VA 23836 (804) 414-2020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to address an issue I think I could've got more support on for a recent purchase made at Gateway Hyundai involving a **** ***** ** purchase. ***** ******** was my carsalesman and was great. The part I'm severely disappointed in is the interest rate received after an initial acceptance for me versus for me and my wife. ****** mentioned he got me an acceptance with ****** ******* *********** at 15.51 APR. Then came back to me saying he got me a 17.95 APR with Regional Corporation. A difference of $4,963.68. I initially read over the paperwork given to me by *** ****** *****, however the secondary paperwork was slightly overlooked given I just signed the****** paperwork 20-30 minutes prior. Reason I didn't look more intensely is that****** said it'll just go up a little bit. Fast forward to when Regional was asking for more information about my loan and I saw the instructions about setting up an allotment where the amount of my payments were $920.00 a month for 72 months/6 years. Also, I received a fair trade offer that I feel could've been more. I received $7,000 for my ******* ****** when it's worth more than that, even listed on the Gateway website for $11,938. It doesn't help that this feeling of buyers remorse was met with a ******* estimate that I could get the same car at another Hyundai dealership (**** *****) for $5,000 cheaper. I think Gateway could've went back on the loan of $920 to the former approved loan. However, since they secured the deal, I feel that I became victim of the goal of selling 200 cars a month to customers. I feel that my purchase was hasty, but at least I could've received a return call earlier versus now close to 2 weeks since my purchase, which I feel is still early enough to re-negotiate.

Desired Settlement: I would like to go back to the loan offer initially offered without my wife's name. If not, then I want to turn in the ***** ** with less than 500 miles and get back my ******* ******, which I see is on sale for $4,000 more than what I received as credit for my trade in. My car payment was $373.10 exchanged with a car payment enough to buy a mortgage, which or 2-3 car payments (based on my $373.10 payments on my **** ******* ****** trade-in.

Business Response: *** **********,

I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with the interest rate on your car loan. My staff exhausted every effort to get you a lower rate but in the end Regional Acceptance was the only bank that approved you. The ****** rate you mentioned was not a final approval as ****** would not allow you to trade your wife's car without her on the loan. Their final call was to not approve the loan. We do our best to secure the most favorable terms for all our clients, in your case Regional was it. I will suggest that you establish a year of so of timely payments and then explore refinancing. I think you could get a improved rate if this happens. In regards to returning the car, that is not an option as your trade was paid off and our contract is with the bank. As you mentioned, ***** works very hard for all his customers and does his best to give all his customers a good deal. I will offer as a gesture of goodwill and a thanks for your service to our country a three year maintenance plan for the ***** ** at no cost.
Sincerely, ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed 

I understand, but please make sure your personnel are just as upfront as *****.  This reinforces and keeps me motivated to overcome financial difficulties while deployed to **** and ***********.  I will remember this poor deal for a long time.  I appreciate the maintenance offer, however I will not be able to use the 3 year maintenance as I'm moving to ******* ***, ******** in ******** **.  Is there a ******* partner in that area that it can transfer to? It's not wally feasible to drive 2 hours to come up. Thank you.

Regards,

***** **********




10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Hyundai, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)