Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Colonial Kia?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Colonial Kia

Phone: (804) 431-3838 Fax: (804) 524-0671 2300 Walthall Center Drive , Chester, VA 23836 http://www.colonialkia.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automotive sales, service and parts


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colonial Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Colonial Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Colonial Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2012 Business started: 01/20/2012 in VA Business incorporated: 11/29/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Elizabeth M Borches , President Mr. H. Carter Myers III, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elizabeth M Borches , President
Customer Contact: Ed Nicol, General Manager
Related Businesses
Carter Myers Automotives
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Detailing Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Auto Accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Service Area
Richmond (Tri-Cities area)
Alternate Business Names
Colonial Cars Inc
Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 2300 Walthall Center Drive

    Chester, VA 23836

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to address an issue that concerns me. I came into Kia on December 17, 2014 to inquire about a vehicle. I decided to purchase a vehicle, but I was denied financing, because I was upside down in my current vehicle. My issue is either the sales person or the sales manager is still running my credit without my consent. The sales person and the sales manager have called me multiple times and left messages and I have not returned their calls. I have received a plethora of letters from car financing companies. Approximate three weeks ago, I called and talked with a manager about someone still running my credit without my permission and he ask for my name and number and said he would follow up on this and call me back. I have not heard from him. Today in the mail I have received another letter. I called and talk to someone and when I asked for the corporate office number, he puts the sales person that helped me back in December on the phone. I asked the sales person for the corporate number and someone in the background yelled ou* ************. I called that number to find out it is the sister store. I called and left a message with you and **** ******* to call me. I also filed a complaint against this store with corporate (#********) and with the Better Business Bureau. However in the meantime, Im consulting a lawyer to see what my options are and what actions can I take against Colonial Kia. I am so unhappy with this level of service. My credit score is being affected by this because someone is trying to make a sale. I hope you are planning to correct this matter by contacting all three credit company and get this taking off my credit.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that they get this off my credit and refund my money I am paying for credit alert with score sense. It is cost $15 monthly for a year. ($180)

Business Response: **** ****** and I spoke Friday afternoon. I apologized for the incident and let Mrs. ****** know we are working to remove the inquires from her credit. We also agreed I am going to do her next three oil changes on her current vehicle as they become due at no charge. I also let Mrs. ****** know that I will personally assist if we can be of any future assistance to her.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

****** ******