Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colonial Imports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Colonial Imports, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Colonial Imports, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Graham, Vice President of Operations/Current GM of Colonial Honda
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tim Cosgrove, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Ken Graham, Vice President of Operations/Current GM of Colonial Honda
Related Businesses
Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. Volvo Of Charlottesville Gateway Hyundai, Inc. Carter Myers Automotives Colonial Auto Center
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Colonial Imports, Inc. offers the following product(s): New Honda Franchise-Automotive Sales and Service of New Honda Cars and Trucks; all make and model Pre-owned cars and trucks; service, parts, tires and related automotive accessories

Alternate Business Names
Colonial Honda
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Colonial Imports, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2100 Walthall Center Drive

    Chester, VA 23836 (804) 414-1900 (804) 876-5464

  • P.O. Box 2969

    Chester, VA 23831

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my ***** ********* because I had problem with my power steering device, they said that it was a seal in the power steering box that need to be replaced and it would be an hundred and eighty dollars to fix ($180) which I agreed. When I went to pick it up and drove it for a couple of days the problem was still there, I spoke with the manager and told him what the problem was and he said that he would look into it, got a call from them saying they could not duplicate the problem, I went and got the truck and drove it for about an half an hour and brought it back to dealer to show the manager the problem which he saw and agreed with me. The manager took it back to the mechanic and they said it needed another part and it would take a couple of days to get it and they would call me, never received a call, three days later I called them no one would pick up. I sent a complaint through their website and suddenly I got a called from their manager that the part was in and that they could fix it the next day. Took it in the next day and went to pick it up before I could get out of the lot it was making noise, never fixing the problem.

Desired Settlement: just give me my money back I can find someone else to fix it

Business Response:

*** *****,

Thank you for speaking with **** *****, our Service Manager this morning.  I am glad you agree with the proposal to bring your truck back to us on Monday morning so we can diagnose the issue with your power steering.    If I can be of further assistance, other than a loaner vehicle which we are happy to provide, or a shuttle to get you to work, please let me know.  ***

*** ********
General Manager
******** *****
************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

********* *****

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car on 03/15/2014 financed ** **** **** through ******** ***** with APR **** %. But **** sent me a well come letter and the APR NOT ****% but was **** %. I told the finance people "this is not right to customers and I will paying it off and get back the *** ******* fee $650.00 which was charged during financing the car". Like I said I paid it off on 04/09/2014 and got my title. I went back to ******** ***** ask my money and gave them copy of my title and they told me "it takes up to 2-4 weeks to process and get my money back", now 5 weeks passed and nobody returned my phone calls, I went in person twice talk to the front desk people and told me "the person in charge was not available". 1. They lied about the APR (not **** % it was **** % they did not even apologized they made a mistake); they tried to get a portion of my check from monthly payments through ****(That was the bank people told me and doing it all time to some customers) 2. I want my money back for *** *** I paid. (they may prorates until paid in full) Still they have the copy of my title. 3. I really don't want happen this kind of behaviors to other customers in the future.

Business Response: ** *****,

I am sorry to hear you were displeased with the way your loan application was processed and the subsequent issues you've had with my staff to get your *** refund. I am not quite sure why the bank would quote you a different rate than where you contracted.  The only thing I can think is that if they set you up on a bi-weekly payment schedule, sometimes banks will lower the rate, but it is not something that we can arrange here on the dealership level.  As far as the *** refund, I am happy to personally assist you in a quick manner.  I do not have a signed *** cancellation form for you here.  In order to cancel the *** policy and issue you your refund, I need your permission.  I will send a copy of this form to you via email or fax, whichever is most convenient. You can then sign it, and email it back to me at ********************** or fax it back to me at ************.   Once I have the form, I can have a check cut for you immediately.  Please call me at ************ or email me to let me know how you'd like to receive the form and I will take care of it for you today.   ***

*** ********
General Manager
******** *****
************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Colonial Imports, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart