BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

This Business is not BBB accredited

Chandler Chevrolet, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 443-5100 Fax: (804) 443-1354 View Additional Phone Numbers 1841 Richmond Hwy , Tappahannock , VA 22560 http://www.chandlerchevrolet.com/

! There is an alert on Chandler Chevrolet, Inc !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chandler Chevrolet, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 29, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1969 in VA Business incorporated: 12/01/1969 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. S. Bryan Chandler , President/Dealer Principal Ms. Karen Revere , Business Manager Mr. Bill Woodhouse , General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. S. Bryan Chandler , President/Dealer Principal
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service Truck Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Truck Bedliner Truck accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Chandler Chevrolet, Inc offers the following product(s): Full automotive sales and services.

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Su: Closed
Service Area
Middle Peninsula  and Northern Neck.
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1841 Richmond Hwy

    Tappahannock , VA 22560 (877) 289-0928 (804) 443-5100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 1519

    Tappahanock, VA 22560

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 289-0928(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took in a box truck to be checked out and asked them to look it over and inform me of what was wrong with it. They said it had engine problems and that they would have to send it to the machine shop to be fixed! I agreed feeling this was my only option. I got the truck back and it starts cutting off on me I call them and they state that bring it back they would look it over I bring it back and was told I could have gotten a rebuilt engine for what I just paid to have it fixed even though it's not fixed something is wrong with another cylinder so the engine is no good and they tell me that now it needs a transmission none of this was told to me the first time or I wouldn't have paid to have the engine halfway fixed. I feel I should have been offered a rebuilt engine before they halfway fixed the old one now my money is gone and I'm unable to drive the truck

Desired Settlement: I want my truck either fixed or my money refunded

Business Response:

On June 10, 2014, *** ******** brought in a **** ********* ***, vin #*****************, for us to check over.  He had just purchased the vehicle from someone and it had some mechanical issues.  The vehicle had over 167,000 miles on it at the time.  The van was running so poorly that we could barely get it into our shop. 

 

We found that the engine had two cylinders that were bad.  We informed *** ******** what we had found, and he advised us to go ahead and fix it.  Subsequently, after the first repairs, we found an issue with another cylinder and repaired that at our own expense.

 

*** ******** picked his van up on June 25, and paid for his repairs.  Within a few days, *** ******** called in to say that his backup camera was not working, and that it had worked before he left it here for the engine problems.  We informed him that we had not touched anything that had to do with the camera.  He stated at that time the engine was running fine.

 

On June 30, *** ******** came back in with the van.  This time complaining that it was cutting off on him and not shifting properly.  The vehicle was cutting off most likely because of the fuel pump. The fuel pump was a known issue to *** ******** upon the first visit, however he elected to use some type of fuel additive to try and fix the problem.  We checked out the transmission and advised that it had internal damage and would need to be replaced.  In order to check the transmission, we had to remove the transmission pan, therefore having to replace a gasket and fluid.  The engine also had low compression on another cylinder, and we gave *** ******** an estimate of $5334 to have it replaced.  *** ******** came and picked his vehicle up on July 5, at which time he refused to pay the $65 bill for the transmission parts/fluid that we had to use.

 

On July 16, I spoke with *** ******** and he informed me that he was upset with our service department.  He felt as if we should have offered him a price on replacing his engine and informed him of the transmission issues before we did any repairs. He was also upset that we did not tell him that he needed to replace the fuel pump.  At the time of the initial visit, the van was running so poorly that it could not be driven to diagnose the transmission issue or to even know the extent of the engine problems.  *** ******** was well aware of the fuel pump issues at the time.  We advised him of the issues that we had found with the engine and he elected for us to repair it.

 

On July 22, I spoke with *** ******** again, who was still upset about his van.  After speaking with *** ********, the owner, and ***** ******, the service manager, I called *** ******** and offered to refund him  1/2 of the charges that he had been billed for repairing the engine, as a good will adjustment.  *** ******** stated that he was happy with that and would use the money to replace his fuel pump........

 

We do not feel as if we did anything wrong in the repairs to *** ********** van, however we do not like to have dissatisfied customers.  I hope that he will be more cautious the next time he purchases a used vehicle from someone.

 

Thank you,

 

 

 ***** ******, Business Manager

Chandler Chevrolet, Inc
** ** *** **** 
************* ** *****
************

2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ******** ******** took my car to Chandler Cheverlot because there was a recall on the steering collum and they said they fix it, well as i drove my car for a while i notice my car was hard to keep in the road so i take it back to chandler cheverlot so they could check it again, but they wanted to charge me for it and i told them that i wasnt going to pay because my car was not doing this until chandler claim they fixed it. ***** to that i had taken my car to ****** to get inlinement and new tire rods and when they did they my car was driving fine. So ****** will check your car for free and I told them to check inlinement because thats what chandler cheverlot is telling me is wrong the inlinement was not done right so i take it to ****** and check the car and they put it on the machine and printed me out the dianogistic and the inlinement is good. ****** told me whatever Chandler Cheverlot did to my car they really messed it up, so I asked them was it safe to drive and the ******* said just be really careful becauses that car is really not right and its going to eat up the tires. My care was driving good until I took it to Chandler Cheverlot.

Desired Settlement: I just want Chandler Cheverlot to fix my car properly because i cant continue to drive this car because it is not safe and i have to fight to keep in the road.

Business Response:

I received your letter to me of 01/21/2013, and contacted the customer regarding her complaint.  She felt that an alignment problem she is experiencing was cause by the installation of a steering shaft we performed under a factory recall at no charge to her at 126,048 miles on 06/28/12.

She didn’t complain about the alignment problem until 13,000 miles and five months later on 11/23/12 at 139,264 miles.  In spite of the highly questionable nature of the complaint,  I called her and set an appoint to meet with her and look at her car myself at 10:00 am Tuesday, 01/22/12.

She didn’t show and called later to say she would get back with me some other time.

   I think that especially due to the time and mileage lapse between the work we performed and the compliant that we should have no further obligation to this customer.

 

Sincerely,

 ***** ********

11/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service