Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Capital Auto Group, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capital Auto Group, Inc.

Phone: (804) 663-5337 Fax: (804) 663-5334 View Additional Phone Numbers 5400 S. Laburnum Ave, Richmond, VA 23231 http://www.pickcapital.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Auto Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Auto Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capital Auto Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2012 in VA Business incorporated: 01/01/2012 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William T Sigler, G.M. Mr. George Poulos, President Mr. Nicholas Poulos , Owner Ms. Susan Poulos, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William T Sigler, G.M.
Related Businesses
Capital GMC Trucks, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Detailing Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Truck accessories Auto Accessories Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Dealers - Online New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Capital Auto Group, Inc. offers the following product(s): New and used vehicles. Parts and service.

Refund and Exchange Policy
Case by case.
Service Area
Statewide
Alternate Business Names
Capital Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Industry Tips
Automobile Collision Damage Waiver Act Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 5400 S. Laburnum Ave

    Richmond, VA 23231 (804) 663-5337 (804) 477-8347

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 477-8347(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my van there to be fixed.And the van is still not fixed,it is still cutting off.They said they change my fuel pump.I told them I just got a fuel pump put on it.And they said that the fuel pump was no good.So I ask them to save the fuel pump so I can take it back to the store where I purchase it from.And they did not save the pump for me.So now I have a invoice for 655.80 that I pay for my van,that is not running. And I want my money back.If they had the pump I could get my money back plus labor from the store where I paid for it.I have call Capital ******** ***** three days in a row, and no respond.They are not returning any of my calls.PLease help me with this problem.They are trying to play me like a blind man.(***** ******)And also my gas meter is broke now and it was not broken when I took it there. It ran out gas when the other mechanic fixed my van.So they developed another problem.Now I have to fix that.Please help me retrieve my money.(655.80) Thanks ******* ********

Desired Settlement: TO solve this problem I want my 655.80 back. Because the van is still doing the same thing.And the first shop said it was not the pump it was electric problem,and they do not work on electric problems.So thats why I took it to the dealer.(Capital Chrysler Dodge)So now you see why I said they are treating me like a blind man.I just want my money back and call it a day.And I hope no one else have this problem like I had. Thanks

Business Response:

In response to case#********, Capital has issued a check to *** ******** in the amount of $396.99 on July 17th 2014.  Capital does not feel that the repairs were done incorrectly or misdiagnosed on her **** ***** ******* with 222678 miles, but we did not retain her old parts as requested. Therefore it was the decision of the service manager to refund *** ******** the original cost of the part we did not save and all of the labor cost incurred. *** ******** left the dealership and thanked us for the refund and wished us a blessed day.  If there any questions or concerns feel free to contact me.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ********

******* *******

***** ******** ***** **** *** ********* ******* **** ******

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ********




12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We dove over an hour to this dealership. We found "the jeep" while we were there. My husband did all of the talking and handled the business while I stayed back. We needed to go to our bank so they could handle the loan portion of the transaction. We were told by GS that they could just plug in our info because they worked with our bank but because our loan officer at the bank had told us to come back to her to get a paper check to present to the dealer, we declined and explained it to him. We tried to contact our loan officer to see if it would be okay but she was unavailable being it was afternoon on a Saturday. My husband asked if they would be able to hold the vehicle until monday(today 12/2/2013). GS said no because they needed a deposit. I got antsy so I went outside. My husband asked the guy doing the paperwork if he could ask the ******* because it being Saturday afternoon, the banks were closed and Sunday the dealership & banks would be closed if they could please ask the ******* to make an exception because of that and Monday morning we would contact the banks and the dealership and finalize the paperwork after my husband got off work on Monday . The guy(don't know his name) told my husband the ******* would allow it. And he typed up a paper to give to our bank. My husband asked them to have the rest of the documents ready for us to sign on Monday. Today we received the news that they in fact did not hold it. My husband had some choice words for GS and hung up on him. I emailed them and received an email back that the ****** told us no that they would not hold it and that I was apparently a witness to it( I was sitting in our car at the time the ******* was asked and husband was told yes) and that the deposit was policy.. I did email him back and told him to recheck the facts and let him know I felt they were twisting our words around to make us look at fault. I understand the deposit was policy but when you are lied to about (the loan guy saying yes the ******* Approved it while the ******* is ether a. Lying to save face or b. the loan guy never actually asked him) it really makes for bad business.

Desired Settlement: I would like an honest to goodness explanation of what happened, I want them to own up to their mistake. Did GS sell the vehicle because the loan/paper guy didn't tell him to hold it. Did the ******* forget what he agreed to? I really want them to rectify the situation. They would have had a sale from us on another vehicle even after this incident had they been honest and owned up to their mistake.

Business Response:

Dear ****** *****,
 
In response to BB Case no *******,  I’m not sure where the breakdown in communication occurred.*** ****** was told on several occasions that we could not hold the vehicle without a partial payment and each time he declined to do so.
Our ******** *******, **** ***** even came out of the finance office and asked if we were doing that and was told that we would not.
And as far as the Credit Union being closed, we are on line with his Credit Union as part of the Credit Union Direct Lending program and we told him we could do the paperwork at that time but he told us he wanted to take the paperwork to his lender.
*** ****** knew we had another customer coming to look at the vehicle, and he was asked by the salesman, *** ***** on his way out if he wanted to leave a partial payment and he declined.
I am very sorry the ******** are upset, but I’m not sure how much clearer that we could be about company policy on holding vehicles.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ******
******* ***** *******
Capital Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
**** * ******** ******
****** ** *****
************

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Capital ******** after being quoted a repair cost of approx $411 less than another shop I inquired with. I told them what I needed repaired, yet they insisted that my issue was something else. I was not convinced, as I had just had those things repaired about 2 years prior, yet they assured me they had pinpointed the issue. They made the repairs, I picked up my car and drove less than 5 miles from the dealership when my car started leaking fluids. I called them, took the car back, they supposedly repaired another issue and told me I was good to go. Two days following the second repair, my car started running hot (which was the initial complaint), they asked me to bring the car back. This time, all I receieved were excuses. They couldn't tell me why my car still wasn't running as it should. They told me everything from "I should trade my car in" to "i wouldnt put any more money into it seeing as though your car is 12 years old". They refused to accept responsibility for not fixing the problem. I dont trust them to fix my car at this point and would like a refund of the $1350.00 I paid.

Desired Settlement: I dont trust them to fix my car at this point and would like a refund of the $1350.00 I paid.

Business Response: *******, 

On July 11th 2013 *** ***** had her car towed to Capital Auto Group Inc. after discussing a price with ******** **** to replace a head gasket.  *** ***** had her vehicle at an independent repair facility for overheating and that shop told her she needed a head gasket.  Capital Auto Group Inc. had never worked on *** *****’ car in the past and she was told that we would have to look at the car before we would confirm whether or not the head gasket was bad.  An eleven year old vehicle with 141,000 miles may have multiple issues.  The technician pulled the vehicle into the shop and began his inspection.  He first realized that was no antifreeze in the engine or reservoir.  He added antifreeze and pressure tested the coolant system.  The water pump was leaking antifreeze to the point that it came out almost as fast as he added it.  *** ***** was notified that this would have to be repaired before any other decisions could be made on the state of her vehicle.  She did advise ******** that the pump had been replaced about two years ago and Capital told her she should check into any warranty she may have on that repair from the other repair facility that did the work.  *** ***** approved the water pump replacement along with the timing belt (normal maintenance item).  Upon completion of the repair the technician checked the vehicle again and no other issues were detected at that time.  The vehicle then sat parked at Capital for another month while *** ***** obtained the money to pay for the repair bill.  During this entire time there were no fluids on the ground under her vehicle indicating there were any additional problems.  After *** ***** picked the vehicle up on August 9th, 2013 she returned to Capital and the vehicle was leaking antifreeze.  We checked the vehicle and found the radiator was leaking.  Capital gave *** ***** a rental vehicle and ordered the radiator.  We replaced the radiator and test drove the car and it operated as it should.  *** ***** was not charged for the radiator repair nor the rental vehicle (which she kept two days after being told her vehicle was ready costing Capital and extra $70).  One week later she returned to Capital yet again stating her vehicle was overheating.  She was advised that her vehicle had some additional internal engine problems and she declined to continue with repairs at her expense. 

**** ******
General Manager
Capital Auto Group Inc