Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colonial Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Colonial Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Colonial Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 11, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1924
Business Management
Mr. H. Carter Myers III, CEO Mrs. Tina Kidd , Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Tina Kidd , Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. H. Carter Myers III, CEO
Related Businesses
Colonial Imports, Inc. Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. Volvo Of Charlottesville Gateway Hyundai, Inc. Carter Myers Automotives
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic

Alternate Business Names
HCM/MTE Associate, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Colonial Auto Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 Myers Drive

    Charlottesville , VA 22901

  • P.O. Box 7823

    Charlottesville, VA 22906

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've leased a new ****** from Colonial ****** on 3/14, which was a good purchase experience at the beginning. The leasing is financed by **** (a financial institution). The first monthly payment is due tomorrow on 4/14. And I'm really frustrated and shock to find the **** don't have my profiles yet and thus I don't have an option to make any payment right now, due to the fact that my dealer (Colonial) hasn't submitted my leasing contract to **** yet, after an entire month! The representative from **** told me on phone that I'm still responsible for paying the monthly payment even I don't have an account before the due date (of course), or the record of late payment will result in late payment charge and negative effects on my credit score. I just feel it is very unfair for me to be responsible for the dealer's late submission of my paperwork. I've tried to contact with the dealer for four times. My sales manager in Colonial ****** **** ******* always said he would call me in 10 minutes and quickly hang up when I called, but he never called back. And now they don't even want to listen to me. I had a strong feeling that I've been treated with discrimination due to the fact that I'm a foreigner here, and this makes me feel sick. I'm very frustrated and disappointed right now. I feel like my sales man cannot help to get this issue resolved, and I'm seeking help from BBB right now. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: Please proceed to submit the paperwork of my leasing contract to **** financial company as soon as possible, and you indeed should have better post-purchase service. And if any late charges occurs, Colonial should be responsible for paying that, and provide every necessary certification that is sufficient to remove any negative records on my credit history. (The **** representative says just a certification states Colonial is responsible for the late payment, and that will do.)

Business Response:

I spoke with our GM and he informed me we had to redo the customer's  paperwork per the bank and we paid the customer's first payment. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10577382, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

I've met with their GM Mr. ****** ****** in person. Actually, I was pretty satisfied with the offer mentioned above, and at least Mr. ******'s willingness and attitude of getting this solved. Also, they explained the reason of delay in submitting my paperworks, because of there was an error in the old contract with the money factor, and thus ****** wouldn't accept that, which they could have contacted with me within the first month after I sign the contract, and that would save us a lot of trouble.

So I've signed a new contract with them on last Wednesday, 3/15. And the financial assistant Mr. *** ******* told me they would send my paperwork overnight, and I would be able to receive my **** account number on last Friday, and definitely no later than this Monday. But obvious I haven't heard back from either ****** or Colonial Auto yet.

Yeah, I'm satisfied with their offer, but all I request is to stick on it and get this resolved as soon as possible.

Again, thanks for the assistance from BBB. You guys are the strongest support of our customers. Thank you!



Regards,

******* ***




9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was in for a 60,000 mile inspection. Upon pick up it was noticed that something had been spilled on headlights and etched them. Car returned for this repair. They made the headlights worse. In the process of doing the headlights they broke the inside drivers side door handle. They have promised to repair and make both situations right. Yet they have not followed through. When we call, I am told they are working on getting a third party in to fix headlights and will schedule and call back. They have said they will fix the door handle at same time. This has been on going for 4 weeks now.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs completed. This damage was because of their negligence. I would like this repaired in a timely manner. 4 weeks is NOT timely.

Business Response:

, The 60,000 mile maintenance was performed on 6.2.14.  On 6.26.14 we attempted to restore the headlamps although the customer wasn’t satisfied with the results.  I ordered a drivers assist handle (a common failure) for their vehicle.  I also ordered a visor vanity which they inquired about.  They returned on 7.10.14 and we successfully restored their headlamps, replaced handle and replaced their visor vanity on the passenger side all for no charge.