BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Park Properties Management Company Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Park Properties Management Company Inc

Phone: (434) 979-2900 1821 Avon Street Ext Ste 200, Charlottesvle, VA 22902 http://www.goparkproperties.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Park Properties Management Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Park Properties Management Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Park Properties Management Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 22, 2008 Business started: 02/03/2006 in VA Business incorporated: 02/03/2006 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Board
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8526
Fax Number: 804-527-4298
reboard@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Alice Fletcher, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Alice Fletcher, General Manager
Business Category

Apartments Property Management

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Big Sky Apartments Brunswick Village Apartments Cannery Row Maple Manor Apartments Moffett Manor Apartments Mountain Run Apartments Northridge -The Greenes and The Meadows Park Management Services Round Hill Meadows Treesdale Apartments

Additional Locations

  • 1821 Avon Street Ext Ste 200

    Charlottesvle, VA 22902 (434) 979-2900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My lease started on Nov. 1, 2013 as a new tenant. I paid my rent faithfully and on time. However, on March 8 I received notice that I owed $1, 981.72 due to non-payment of rent of $775/mth. I immediately went to the leasing office and provided all copies of money order receipts. Management informed me that their records indicated that I did not pay for the months of Jan., Feb. and March 2014. Management made copies of my money order receipts and I was informed that management would bring their records in compliance with evidence provided of my monthly payments for Jan., Feb and March 2014. However, I received a call a month later and was informed that the leasing management had misplaced the copies they had made of my receipts. I returned to the property management office with all my payment receipts for the months I have lived at the Vistas and management made copies of all my money orders for the entire time I have been in residence. Again, management assured me that my records would be corrected. However, on June 6, 2014, I received another notice stating that I owed $2, 314.49. I returned to the leasing office once again. Management (*******) informed me that there was nothing in my files. Once again, I provided evidence of my payments and copies were made of my receipts my the management personnel. They also made a copy of my Incentive Receipt because they were unaware that my monthly rent is $775 and not $845/mth. Management informed me that they would look into it and get back to me. I received another notice on June 16, 2014 stating that I owed $2, 351.94. On this notice they stated that my rent was $845 not my actual rent of $775. The notice also added a late fee of $50 when my rent was paid on June 2, 2014 at 3:42 pm (I wrote the time down). I went back to the office on June 17, 2014. I spoke with ******* (management) about the June 16th notice. ******* instructed me to ignore the June notice and that they were concerned about the Jan. and Feb. 2014 rent. ******* advised me to contact the money order company and find out who cashed the money orders for my Jan. and Feb. 2014 rent. I called the money order company as instructed. The system was automated and I was only able to receive information on when the checks were cashed and not who cashed the money orders. Jan. 2014 rent was paid on Jan. 3, but was not cashed until Jan. 8, 2014. Feb. was paid on Feb. 1, 2014 and was not cashed until Feb. 3, 2014. I returned to leasing office on June 18 and provided ******* with that information. ******* made note of information I provided and stated that she would speak with property manager ******. I received another notice on June 24 in reference to the rent for June being late even though this was discussed with ******* as previously stated in this complaint. I returned to the leasing office on June 25 and was told by ******* to ignore another notice if I received another notice. ******* told me to once again call the money order company to get photo copies of my money orders to see who cashed them.

Desired Settlement: According to the money order website, I will need to pay $24 to get a photo copy of one money order and $15 per photo copy of other money orders requested. I'm a recent grad and out on my own for the first time. I work and pay my bills on time. I keep records and notes on all my transactions and other essential information in my calendar/journal. To have a company such as Vista Apartments/Park Properties Management Company to not have records (let alone accurate records) or lose records on a tenant is inexcusable. And then repeatedly harass that tenant on what is now a monthly basis and more than once during the month is poor costumer service and very stressful to that tenant. I want this company to bring my records in compliance and stop sending me delinquent notices when my payments have never been late. I want the company to pay for the photo copies that they are requesting (they are the ones who have lost or misplaced my information and just not information on my monthly payments but some of my initial information/forms that were signed and received at time of initial rental agreement and lease was signed). I have repeatedly provided them with information requested since this situation began in March 2014 and some of that information they repeatedly lost. I want a letter in writing informing me that my situation has been resolved (my records of payment are clear; I owe no late fees; my rent is $775/mth and not $845). I want them to give me a receipt every time I go to the leasing office and give them my rent.

Business Response: BBB Case # ********-Park Properties Management Inc.

To Whom It May Concern,

In receipt and review of the BBB Case #******** and discussion
on June 30th with the resident, I offer the following;

Receipts reflecting the front and back of the money orders
are need for the months of January 2014 and February 2014. *** ******** was
informed that The Vistas would reimburse for the cost associated in obtaining
the copies of the money orders. It was reviewed that Western Union requires
3D-days for the copies to be sent to the resident. *** ******** agreed to
present the money orders to the office when received. If the money order was
presented to the property for payment, the account will be credited and all
late fees associated with those two months will be removed.

• The rental amount per the signed lease agreement dated
11/1/13 reflect the monthly rental amount of $845.00. The rental incentive of
one month free was credited In the amount of $845 on 11/1/13. *** ******** has
elected to reduce the monthly rent vs. taking the one month free at one time.
The monthly rent is $845.

• The audit reflects has been sent to the resident for
review and payment. There are payments due outside of the two months in
question. The current balance due on the account Is $3159.49. The rent due for
January and February 2014 total $1550.00. $300 in late fees will be removed if
payment is presented as requested. I called *** ******** to review the amount due
regardless of the payments In question on 7/3/14.

• The office will provide a record every month for rent
received for rental payments as requested. This is a service that the property
offers when requested by our residents.

The Vistas will continue to work with *** ******** to
resolve the account balance. I will be the point of contact for the property
until the balance due is resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

After review of the records the business provided, of which I have continually contested since the beginning of my communication with the leasing office, I am noting that no record of my first month's rent (Nov. 2013) was recorded.  However, I have proof of payment for Nov. 2013 rent which was $775.00.  I am currently in the process of getting photo copies of requested money orders.

Regards,

********* ********

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is against Park Properties Inc, located in Charlottesville, VA. This company owns ***** ********** in Lynchburg, I rented an apartment from ****** from Jun 2010 to Dec 2013. I moved out Dec 25, 2013. The Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act says Landlords have 45 days to refund a tenant's security deposit. I should have received my security deposit refund by Feb 15, 2014. As of today Feb. 25, 2014, I HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY SECURITY DEPOSIT. The ***** *** office staffed submitted paperwork to their corporate office on Jan 20, 2014. The Corporate Office has had plenty of time to process a check payment to me. Park Properties Inc. has NOT COMPLIED with the VA Landlord and Tenant Act to refund security deposits within 45 days.

Desired Settlement: I want Park Properties to refund my security deposit. They have my forwarding address on file. I want them to be accountable for being late by paying PENALTIES for not following the Virginia Landlord and Tenant Act.I want a record with the Better Business Bureau that this corporation DOES NOT FOLLOW the law when it comes to refunding security deposits. I want all future customers to see that Park Properties Inc. does not follow the Virginia Law.

Business Response:

March 3, 2014

 

Better Business Bureau

Attention: ******* ******

720 Moorefield Park Drive, Suite 300

Richmond, VA 23236

 

RE: BBB Case #*******-Park Properties Inc.

 

Dear *** ******,

 

          Park Properties Management Company reviewed the complaint issued to the Better Business Bureau in reference to a security deposit refund from *** ****** ** ******** ***** offers the following response.

 

          The deposit refund in accordance with the Virginia Residential Landlord Tenant Act is required to be returned to the resident within 45-days of the lease termination date. Unfortunately, a clerical delay did occur in the processing of this deposit refund and we did not process the deposit in a timely manner.  This was brought to our attention on 2/25/14.  That same day, we processed a new check request and a full refund was mailed to the forwarding address provided on February 28, 2014. (Check # **** for $****** and Check #**** for $****** sent via *****. Tracking #************). When a Landlord fails to refund the deposit in a timely manner, the penalty is to refund 100% of the deposit.  We have complied with the law and we have issued a full refund of the deposit.

 

Please be assured that the delay in a Resident’s Security Deposit is not the normal business practice of our company, the delay was unfortunate and regrettable. Furthermore, since we have issued the full refund check, we trust you will find that we settled this compliant in a satisfactory manner.

 

 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

***** *******

Regional Property Manager

Park Properties Management Company

**** **** ******* ***** ***

**************** ** *****