Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dominion Properties Virginia, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dominion Properties Virginia, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 360-1566 Fax: (804) 364-2622 View Additional Phone Numbers 1145 Gaskins Road Suite 109, Richmond, VA 23238 http://www.dpva.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dominion Properties Virginia, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dominion Properties Virginia, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dominion Properties Virginia, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 11, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2001 in VA Business incorporated: 07/30/2003 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Board
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8526
Fax Number: 804-527-4298
reboard@dpor.virginia.gov

Business Management
Ms. Betsy Kaltsounis, Managing Partner Mr. Stephen Williams, Broker/Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Kaltsounis, Managing Partner
Business Category

Apartments Property Management Real Estate Services

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Rescue

Additional Locations

  • 1145 Gaskins Road Suite 109

    Richmond, VA 23238

  • 3420 Pump Road Suite 222

    Richmond, VA 23233 (804) 360-1566

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 562-4843(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is filed by property owner (**** *******l). Contract between property owner (**** *******l) and Dominion Properties Virginia LLC clearly states to seek approval of the property owner for costs exceeding $250.00. Dominion Properties conducted services on the property exceeding $250.00 several times without owner's approval. First time, they got the painting done and billed the owner for more than $1000 without seeking approval on the cost. In addition, they never provided receipts or work order from the contractor who performed the work in spite of asking them about it repeatedly. Later after several discussions and arguments, when the owner refused to pay on grounds of breach of contract Dominion Properties took the charges off. But after that, they continued to charge owner for various expenses performed on the property which were clearly not needed under the pretext of maintenance and failed to provide any invoice/work order for any work that was done. Nor did they ask or take permission from the owner before carrying out any maintenance work. Failure to provide receipts gave the owner an indication of fraudulent transactions and fraudulent work performed on the property. Now most recently, the tenant complained of microwave not heating. Dominion Properties reached out to owner and suggested they purchase a new microwave as cost to repair will be more or less same as the cost to replace. Owners response was to first reach out to ** customer service as the microwave might be under a 5 year warranty. Owner provided the link of a website to that effect and requested them to call ** customer service to confirm about warranty etc. But Dominion Properties called ** repairman and themselves decided to get the repair done costing the owner more than $300 again without any approvals to this cost. They repeatedly breach contracts, do not provide receipts for any repair done and additionally clearly breach the contract by not taking permission for repairs of more than $250.

Desired Settlement: Owner desires the following outcome: 1) Provide original receipts or work order for all the work performed on the property till date. Do not provide dominion properties invoice. If receipts are not provided owner expects refund of the expenses charged to the owner. 2) Owner would like to discontinue the contract with Dominion Properties Virginia LLC as soon as possible.

Business Response: I am in receipt of your letter of 8/4/20 14 regarding complaint ID ********.

I have reviewed your letter detailing the complaint regarding the repair of the faulty Microwave. There are some inconsistencies with the in information being presented- as well as some information that seems to be omitted. A detailed response was sent to *** ******** regarding his dissatisfaction with the repair of the Microwave on 7/29/2014.

Manager notified Owner on 7/18/14 regarding faulty Microwave with recommendation. Owner's email of 7/19/14 directed Manager to utilize the warranty for the appliance- and directed Manager to contact Microwave manufacturer customer service. Manager followed directions given- and information
provided by Owner as requested. On 7/21/14 the response from contacting the Manufacturer was provided back to Owner-Owner was updated that service technician would have to visit property to inspect Microwave and validate Microwave warranty- Documentation was requested from Owner to validate warranty that Owner indicated he had for Microwave. Owner further confirmed that he could provide documentation to Manager as requested for warranty validation. On 7/22/14. Owner was notified that service technician was scheduled to go to property.

Over the four days detailed above- the emails exchanged show notification to the Owner, provide Owner directions to the Manager, and show results reported back to Owner of the actions that Manager took based upon the information and directions provided by owner. In retrospect- if repair of the appliance which the Owner maintained was under warranty was not the objective of the owner- then what was the purpose of the multiple email exchanges, the telephone inquiries, the technician appointments, and all the time and energy expended by all involved? If repair was not desired and/or authorized by Owner- then why direct Manager to take the actions which Owner requested? It was obvious from the web links and information exchanged between Owner and Manager that there
would be costs to getting a service technician on-site to evaluate the appliance and the warranty claim-these individuals do not go on-site for free- especially if the product is determined to be "not under warranty". The Manager had no reason to doubt the claims made by the Owner with regard to the warranty of the appliance, or the documentation he possessed that would validate that warranty- especially when the Owner directed that he desired this course of action be
taken. It is only now- after repairs have been made- that the Owner indicates that he did not desire this outcome.

If the documentation/ receipts/ closing documents the Owner maintained he had on-hand had been provided before the service technician visit as requested- it would have been possible to review those documents with the service technician to validate the warranty claimed. It is still possible at this point to provide the documentation that *** ******** has indicated he possesses to the manufacturer customer service and request they issue a $$ refund for covered repairs. I would be happy to coordinate that refund if the requested documentation could be sent to us. I would be interested in working with your office to make that happen for *** ********.

Thank you for your attention to this matter,
******** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,
**** ********

Here is my response to the reply from Dominion Properties Virginia LLC :
 
First, I wanted to clarify my complaint was not limited to only recent incident of faulty microwave. In my complaint, I noted 3 main points and Dominion Properties only responded to one issue which was unsatisfactory as well. Here are all the issues:
 
 
1. Since, our contract started early this year, Dominion Properties is charging me for things I never approved for. In the contract, it was listed that they are suppose to seek the permission of the owner before making any expense more than $250. In the first month of the contract, they charged me more than $1,000 for the painting in my house. Initially, they were persistent that I have to pay for the expenses and after long phone arguments , they had to make the decision to not charge the owner because they never asked for owner's approval for these expenses.
After this incident, they lost owner's complete trust.
 
2. Even since our contract started, they charged lot of regular maintenance costs which costed less than $250 (almost every month) and thus never took my approval. however, they never provided me the work order or original invoices from the contractors. So, I am even not sure if they actually got that work done in my house or just charged me the expenses. I have asked for these invoices several times and can provide proofs as needed, but they have not sent me any invoice until today.
 
3. Now coming to the faulty microwave. I am afraid, the information provided by Dominion properties is inconsistent with the reality. 
As per the response from Dominion properties, it says ' Owner's email of 7/19/14 directed 
Manager to utilize the warranty for the appliance- and directed Manager to contact Microwave manufacturer customer 
service'
 
This statement is incorrect. Owner provided the internet link which suggested the part has warranty. However, owner suggested Dominion properties to call the company and confirm the warranty.
 
 
On 21st July, I got response from Dominion Properties saying they have inquired about warranty and the manufacturer confirmed the product is still under warranty. They also informed the owner that owner needed to provide the sales receipt etc. to avail warranty. To this owner replied that he could provide those proofs.
 
Dominion properties tried to confuse conversation when they said in their reply that " Documentation was requested from Owner to validate warranty that Owner indicated he had for Microwave. Owner further confirmed that he could provide documentation to Manager as requested for warranty validation"

Owner only confirmed that he had the receipts of sales which proved when the product was bought. Warranty confirmation was provided by Dominion Properties based on their research and their email on 21st july.

Dominion further mentioned in their reply " On 7/22/14 Owner was notified that service technician was scheduled to go to 
property" . 
 
This iss correct, they confined the owner that technician is going to visit on 23rd july. However, after following up by the owner on 23rd they mentioned that the technician will visit on 25th July instead. Moreover, Dominion Properties failed to inform the owner that technician would charge $90 to visit owners place and on top of it, the product was not covered under warranty. 
 
Not just that, in-spite of calling them multiple times that day, they did not bother to inform me and made the decision to get the microwave fixed by themselves.  I had clearly told them multiple times over phone conversations earlier and email that if the product was not covered under warrantly, I would like to replace it not get it fixed. but still they went ahead and got it fixed without asking the owner. the cost of repair was almost 80% of the new microwave and owner preferred to get that replaced with new one.
 
 
Dominion responded in their response that "It is only now- after repairs have been made- that the Owner indicates that he did not desire this outcome".

Owner challenge this argument and can provide email confirmation that owner clearly indicated the desire before the repair was done. It's just that Dominion properties comfortably ignored that.
 
 
Thank you,
Home Owner
 



Business Response:

After speaking with the business the customer needs to show the receipt for the microwave that indicates the high end warranty he stated that he has on the microwave. The customer is states that the microwave has a five year warranty however the one in the home does not have that. The work was billed because the customer was not able and has not provided the paperwork to show that the work was covered. If that is provided that the warranty company can be contacted concerning the working that was paid for.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As per the email I provided earlier from Dominion Properties, they confirmed the owner that they have done their due diligence and informed the owner that the part in under warranty. Owner never confirmed that the part is under warranty as Dominion Properties suggests. Owner requested them to speak with the manufacturer and confirm the warranty before owner can make a call if he wants to replace or fix the microwave. Proof of such communication is already provided to BBB. On top of it, after they found out the part was not under warranty, Dominion Properties did not ask for the permission from owner and decided to get it repaired themselves. Owner never approved them of the expenses. As per the contact, Dominion Properties is required to get the approval for such expenses.



Regards,

**** ********



8/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues