BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Breezewood Apartment

Phone: (540) 898-4411 10502 Rising Ridge Rd, Fredericksbrg, VA 22407 http://www.theapartmentgallery.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Breezewood Apartment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Breezewood Apartment include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Breezewood Apartment
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 29, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Charlotte Mason, Assistant Property Manager Miss. Malikah Smith, Property Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Miss. Malikah Smith, Property Manager
Business Category

Apartments


Additional Locations

  • 10502 Rising Ridge Rd

    Fredericksbrg, VA 22407 (540) 898-4411

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into the Breezewood Apartments on the 15th of August, and was prorated a $480 fee, for a partial month rent. My monthly rent was $960. so the prorated fee on $32 per day was a fair move in rate, in my mind. However when I was asked by ******* *****, the ******** *******, to move out on the 16th of the month during the last month of my lease (I had been moved out prior to this date already) and was told that I would receive a refund for the 16th through the 30th. Because I have had prior complications with the office staff I recorded the entire conversation, between ******* ***** and I, when I was told to hand in my keys. On this day I had paid the entirety of my rent of $960. I cleaned my apartment and my husband handed off all of our keys to the unit, to ******, an office staff member, on the 14th of the month. When the final paperwork came back, it was stated that we moved out on the 20th and the refund was $285 (which is at the rate of $28.50 per day). I then called the cooperate number and spoke to **** **** She informed me that I moved out on the 20th and was prorated. I then played back the recorded conversation between ******* and I, stating that they had found someone to move in and to turn my keys in on the 16th. **** *** stated that the prorated amount would be refunded "IF" you turned in your keys on the 16th. I then reiterated that I had handed my key in on the 14th, and she responded that "Well the office says that you turned them in on the 20th".

Desired Settlement: I would like the remainder of my rent back in the amount of $171 for being out of the apartment for the entire day of the 15th through the 20th at the prorated move out fee of $28.50 per day.

Business Response:

In response to *** *********** complaint-

It was noted that our office received the keys on the 20th of September and the prorated amount was based on this.

Additionally, there were damages that should have been charged (which exceeds the amount she is requesting) to *** ********* for numerous capret stains that were found to be unremovable, in this case she would have ended up owing the property money as opposed to receiving a refund. 

Regards,

******* ************* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to end my lease and I was hit with various fees and paying 4 months rent as well as a 60 notice. I was not planning on moving back home, but I also wasn't planning on my mother being diagnosed with leukemia. She was a very healthy woman and showed no signs of any illness until after her first round of chemotherapy. It has been 36 days since she was diagnosed and they have been the toughest 36 days of my entire life, not to mention hers. I have a little sister who is still in need of parental guidance. Seeing as my father is either at work or at my moms bedside, I have taken responsibility of her daily needs and in doing so must move back home.I'm sure apartment offices hear excuses all the time about why people need out of their lease agreements, but if my mom wasn't sick I wouldn't be leaving. I have enjoyed living in my apartment, but have certain responsibilities I must tend to. My circumstances are true and unfortunate and should be taken into consideration for my leaving.I tried to look up a corporate number to explain my situation, but could not find any contact information. When I went to the office and asked for it I was told there was no way to talk to anyone in corporate. Regardless of my situation I find it highly suspicious that there is no way to get in touch with anyone besides the two ladies in the leasing office. I was then told I would be forwarded the only information they have on corporate, but I'm still waiting on that. I was also told this from a woman sitting at her desk behind a two way mirror. She never got up to speak to me or the other office lady. Once she turned her head and spoke to me, besides that she didn't even face me.Overall I am terribly disappointed in Breezewood Apartments (*** ********* *******.) I thought they were a better business and actually cared about their residents.

Desired Settlement: I would like to not have to pay all the termination fees or 4 months rent and give a 60 days notice. I am not trying to pull as fast one and leave early just for fun. I have a legitimate reason for moving and feel it should be taken into consideration.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

In response to Case #*******
Customer: ***** ******

**.****** references a 60 day notice and a 4 month termination fee in her complaint. It is actually only a 60 day notice and a 2 month termination fee, this information was sent to her in writing.

While Breezewood does sympathize with what **.****** is going through, this is a business and unfortunately, when you enter into a lease (a legal binding contract) neither party expects the unexpected to happen. There is no illness clause in our lease just as there isn't when there is a home or vehicle purchase, therefore **.****** is still responsible for the termination fee.

If **.****** needs time to pay the termination fee, I am sure the collection company would be willing to make payment arrangements with her.

Should she have any further questions, she should contact the office at ***/***-****.

Regards,
******* *****
Property Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/12/2013, I completed an application for residency with Breezewood Apartments. I was informed by the agent, ******* ******, that a $40 non-refundable application fee and $200 refundable deposit was required to "reserve" an apartment, if approved. *** ****** advised me that she would hold the $200.00 deposit and speak to her ******* about a conditional approval. Tuesday evening (48 hours later), *** ****** responded, via email, with an offer. *** ****** advised that in order for a lease agreement to be approved, I would need to pay an additional deposit of $875.00 (+ the initial deposit of $200) and the first months rent. *** ****** was not in the office on Wednesday (72 hour period) and did not respond to my email until Thursday. *** ****** assured me that I had until Friday, January 25, 2013, to decide and pay. At no point in any of our correspondence did *** ****** reference this grace period. I requested time to decide, but informed *** ****** to advise immediately if there were policies regarding this to ensure my compliance. Today, Monday, January 21, 2013 at 10:13AM, I received an email from *** ****** informing me that the $200.00 deposit was "now non-refundable". *** ****** advised that "as indicated on your application... we give a 72-hour grace period." I reminded *** ****** of our discussion on 1/12/13, specifically her response of "not to worry, I will just hold [your deposit] until you decide; and her advisement that "it will be returned" if I was unable or unwilling to accept. What is most concerning is *** ******** adamancy that since I have already paid Breezewood Apartments $200.00, I might as well pay the rest and move in. In two separate emails she stated: At this point, the $200 is no longer refundable should you change your mind, so holding out for a later move date may be in your best interest; and, I would be more than happy to hold a different apartment for you for future residence Even if I had been aware of the 72-hour grace period, *** ****** was not in the office on this day, Wednesday 1/16/2013. I respectfully request the check for $200.00, intended as a deposit to hold an apartment should I decide to take possession, be voided.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer the check written as a deposit be voided, since it has not been processed by my bank. If it has been cashed or deposited, I would like a refund to be issued immediately.

Business Response:

Hello,

There was a misunderstanding between a member of our staff and the customer.  I have spoken to the customer and the issue has been resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern,I am writing in reference to my $200.00 deposit made on 1/4/13 for a one bedroom at Breezewood apartments 10502 Rising Ridge Rd Fredericksburg, VA 22407. On 1/3/13 my husband and I met with ****** a leasing consultant for the apartments. She showed us the standard one bedroom for $845.00 a month. We made her aware while looking at the apartment that we currently live in Powhatan, VA and recently put our house on the market. We explained to her that my husband received a job transfer and due to finances we werent sure if we wanted to move in now or wait until the house was sold. She told us that we could leave our deposit and we had 72 hours to change our mind. On 1/4/13 at 3:30pm my husband dropped off a check for the $80.00 application fee and $200.00 deposit. On 1/7/13 at around 11am my husband called ****** stating that we did not want to move into the one bedroom at this time. ****** then stated that was fine and that she would be willing to just hold the deposit, since we still planned on moving there and would put our name down for the next available apartment and if that date of availability didnt work she would do the same for the next available apartment until we were ready to move in. On 1/10/13 I received a voicemail from ****** stating that she had a lease for us to sign for an apartment in March. On 1/10/13 and 1/12/13 my husband called ****** and left a message for her to return his call. On 1/14/13 ****** called my husband stating that if we did not sign a lease we would lose our deposit. On 1/16/13 I called and spoke with ****** and she stated that my husband never called to cancel on 1/7/13 to notify her that we changed our minds and wouldnt be moving into that apartment. She then retracted her statement when I mentioned retrieving phone records. She then stated that she never said she would hold the deposit until we decided on a move in date. I then asked to speak to her property manager who also stated that my husband didnt contact them on 1/7/13. She too retracted her statement, then stated that we were expected to sign a lease for an apartment in March and if we didnt we would lose our $200.00 deposit. I then explained to her that when my husband called and spoke with ****** that he stated we didnt want to move in at this time but did plan on moving in once our house sold. She seemed unaware of the conversations my husband and I had with ******* I also explained to her that we were willing to have them hold our $200.00 check until we decided to move that wasnt the issue because we did want to move in to that community. She then stated that she would hold our deposit until April, but if we didnt sign a lease then we would lose the deposit. If we knew that they were going to lose our deposit if we didnt set a move in date we would have just asked for our $200 check back on 1/7/13 when we originally called. I feel that ****** mislead my husband and I as well as the property manager on the conversations she had with us. I also, feel that since we did contact ****** regarding cancelling the apartment 1/7/13 that we should be refunded our $200 deposit. Im also concerned at the fact that ****** contacted us regarding signing a lease on 1/5/13 and 1/10/13 when a specific move in date had not once been mentioned in any of our conversations. For that matter from what Ive always understood is a deposit is for damages made to apartment and is made at the time of signing a lease which is usually on or the day before your move in date and is refunded at the termination of your lease. I feel that their deposit policy should be reconsidered. Its absurd not refund a future tenants deposit for damages on an apartment they never even moved in! At this point my husband and I dont want to move into a community with property management and staff that we feel and misleading and dishonest. We understand that we will lose our $80 application fees but want our $200 deposit refunded.

Desired Settlement: See Above..

Business Response:

I personally spoke with ******* and she agreed that the deposit was being held for an apartment at a later date since her husband did not cancel but instead asked for an extension.  ******* was perfectly fine with what I said when prior to hanging up.  It is my guess that they now have no intentions on moving in at all so now they are requesting a full refund.  Unfortuntely, the deposit will be forfeited due to us taking an apartment of the market for the *********.  Please have them contact the office asap to let us know what their intentions are.

Regards,

******* *****

Property Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1