BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/1990

Paschall Plus

Phone: (775) 825-6500Fax: (775) 356-4745

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our office contacted Paschall Plus earlier this year about a faulty swamp cooler on our roof. They sent a technician who made some repairs and was quick, efficient and got us back up and running within a short time. A few days elapsed and our cooler shut down again. This time the techician from Paschal Plus advised us that a new cooler was needed. They delivered a new swamp cooler and gave us credit for the previous repairs (very good customer service). The cooler then began to leak water on the roof, so Paschal was called and a technician came by to repair the current problem. After doing so, we were informed that the original (old) water source was used for the 'new installation' and might not be efficient to support this new cooler. Sure enough, we experienced another leak, this time pouring water into our building and causing major damage to our shop ceiling. I turned off the water source after calling Paschal and was told they could not immediately service our needs. After a few more phone calls, Paschal sent a different technician than had been on the job in the past. He advised us that we would need to replace the water line that was supplying their new cooler. With that said I contacted Paschal plumbing and was told they were not responsible for the faulty water line (of course) but when asked why they installed a new cooler using old source material, they did not have an answer. I have had this debate about responsibility and work warranty with ***** at Paschal and he said it would take a major retro fit to help us. After deciding to trust this company one last time we have been waiting for the next service call. But now we are told they cannot send anyone back to help us, they just don't have the manpower until maybe the middle of next week (horrible customer service) 10/12/15. We have contracted another plumbing company, and will have the problem resolved in the morning 10/13/15.

Desired Settlement
We are asking that Paschal Plus honor the warranty on their work. We now have to pay a second company to finish a job that was done incorrectly in the beginning, as was admitted by the last Paschal technician to visit our offices. Reimbursement for material and labor used to complete this installation is requested.

Business Response
I am a little perplexed with this complaint. The customer and myself went over the issues and the leak had nothing to do with the installation of the swamp cooler. It had everything to do with the existing water line and the high water pressure to the building. I had a Technician go over to his property and check the pressure to the building and it was at 95 psi. The normal working pressure should be around 60 psi. 95 psi will cause issue throughout the building in the future. I went over options with the customer to put a water pressure reducing valve to reduce the pressure to 60 psi and change the existing plastic line to a 1/4 inch copper line. Gave pricing over the phone and customer agreed to go forward with the work. I gave him a time frame when we could do it and how many guys it would take to do the job (2), which would be 4 business days from the time of our conversation. At that juncture he said he would have his plumber do the job. I said ok and that was the end of the conversation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Unfortunately in all business disputes there are two sides to every story. Each side believing their own rational deduction to be correct. I will refuse to do business with this company again. It's too bad the age old adage of "the customer is always right" as fallen on deaf ears with our new generation of business leaders. Customer service is what separates the good from the bad. PERIOD! You may close this complaint.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New Years Eve 2014 one of my two heaters stopped working. I called Paschall Plumbing on January 2, 2015 and was told a diagnostic service call was $129. After diagnosis on January 3, the tech indicated the circuit board was bad and the cost of the repair would be $623.92, which included the service call. Prior to the work being done I was required to authorize the job. The new circuit board was installed and then I was told there was an additional problem of water leaking on the new board and it most likely damaged it. The tech then unplugged that heater. He presented me with an invoice for payment for work done and I paid the invoice*. I asked for an estimate to complete the job and he guesstimated an additional $800 to $1200, as he had to bring a lot of parts and replace each one until the unit worked. When asked for pricing of parts, he said they do not provide pricing, he also said my heater was not a good one and estimated a new heater would cost between $3,800 and $4,500. When asked for clarification of the estimate just for the repair, he said it would be provided by his office on January 5. His office called and wanted to provide costs for a new heating system. We were in the process of researching home warranties and he suggested we could get one and have them fix the heater. Again, I asked for clarification just for the repair, as I wanted to know if this would incur a new flat rate charge. I was told the tech would have to call me back. When he did, he became irate and said I wanted the job for free and if I was not happy to find another contractor; then he hung up on me.I called another contractor who provided additional tests that Paschall did not do. The original circuit board was re-installed and found to be working. Also, he did not see any water leaks. The problem was plugged air return filters and closed registers. The registers were opened and filters replaced. He ran the heater several times and found everything working normally. Total cost $182.50.
Product_Or_Service: Heater Repair
Order_Number: ***** (Invoice)

Desired Settlement
Partial refund. I am willing to pay for the diagnostic service cal, however, since the heater was not repaired and I was charged for unnecessary work, I feel a refund is in order.*Coupon for $40 was presented and taken off total invoice. Total amount paid was $583.92.

Business Response
On 1/3/2015 we quoted the customer price and options and gained authorization to proceed with work. We disconnected and removed the old circuit board from furnace. Mounted the new circuit board inside furnace. Connected the power and control wires to the new circuit board. Tested the furnace and found the furnace to be running normally. After about 10 to 15 minutes the Technician noticed the furnace had shut down then come back on quickly. Checked the furnace and found a large leak from the condensation box which seems to have damaged the new board. On the invoice in the payment column the Technician stated "NO WARRANTY WILL BE GIVEN DUE TO THE LEAK INSIDE THE FURNACE". Customer signed invoice in two places and paid in full with credit card with signature (******** *******). On 1/13/2015 I received by certified mail a complaint from the State Contractors Board on behalf of the customer for a meeting on 1/21/2015. We both stated our sides of the story and I included invoices and signed receipts for credit card statement. On 2/25/2015 I received a letter from the State Contractors board saying that the case was closed and "NO VIOLATION WAS ESTABLISHED". On 2/4/2015 the customer put a stop payment with ******** ******* for the money owed on his bill. I faxed all signed invoices, credit card receipts and anything pertaining to this bill. At the end of March or the beginning of April ******** ******* finally found in our favor and charged the customer the amount that was owed to his credit card.

I would like to regress back to the service at hand. When my Technician arrived the customer had made some make shift drain system from the other furnace that he had into a bucket so it wouldn't ruin that furnace. The Technician also took pictures of this. This was not the furnace that we worked on but just shows that the customer did not want to pay the money to get it fixed properly.

If my Technician did not write "NO WARRANTY WILL BE GIVEN DUE TO THE LEAK INSIDE THE FURNACE" and he did not sign in two places on the invoice and one signature on the credit card slip, I would be inclined to give the customer a credit or refund.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to the statement from the contractor regarding the "makeshift" drain system on the second furnace. This issue should not have even been mentioned, as it had nothing to do with the problem furnace OR this complaint. In fact, I was not even aware the technician had taken pictures of the other furnace/bucket until he presented them at the meeting with the Nevada Contractor's Board. Please note: he was never given permission to take any photos of anything in my home.

The makeshift drain was in response to a leak from what I assumed was a sweating pipe on the other furnace. Other homeowners in our development have also had this same issue. The second technician looked at the problem and found it to be simply an unglued pipe. He then glued the pipe to a union at no additional charge and that permanently resolved that issue. The bucket was then removed and the furnace has been leak free ever since.

Why would there be no warranty? Before any company was called, I switched the thermostats just to see if that was the problem, a faulty thermostat, and then switched them back when both thermostats were found to be working properly. I then went up into the attic where the two furnaces are located just to take a look. I noticed a flashing red light in one furnace (the one that was not working), but not in the other furnace. When I made the initial call to Paschall the next workday after the problem arose, I mentioned what I had done and then I asked if it could possibly be the circuit board? The person on the phone said that was possible. I gave the office person both the name and model number of the furnace, in order to assist so that common repair parts for our furnace could be brought to the job. I am not an HVAC technician and have to rely on a professional.

The technician arrived, went up to the attic, checked the furnace, and determined it was in fact a bad circuit board. He then went to his truck, brought in a board, presented me with an estimate to complete the repair (which I did sign) and then he proceeded to do the repair. I heard the furnace come on, assumed it was repaired, however, after a few minutes the furnace again shut down. He then told me the furnace had a large leak which more than likely had damaged the new circuit board and that as a result, he would not provide a warranty for it. At that time he indicated someone would have to return with additional parts and replace them one by one until the furnace is repaired. When asked, he estimated the additional cost to be at least $800. The technician then presented me with an invoice for payment. At that point I felt I had no other option but to pay him, and I did indeed sign his repair invoice, as well as the ******** ******* authorization. The invoice did show that no warranty would be provided even though he had no way of knowing if in fact the circuit board was ruined, due to the water that had leaked on it. Why was the invoice even closed out if the repair job was not completed?

The tech said someone would have to return and his office would call the following Monday. My assumption was this was necessary to complete the job. That call on Monday produced a lot of confusion as to the repair of the existing unit, complete replacement, and/or costs involved. The office appeared to be prepared to quote the cost of a new replacement system, rather than just the repair to complete the job. When I asked to speak directly to the tech for clarification for the repair, I was told the tech was out and would provide a callback later that day. Later that day while speaking with the tech, I tried to again clarify whether or not I would have to pay a new service charge, as well as the repair costs. The tech became irate, accused me of having attitude, said I should find a new contractor, and hung up on me.

I then did in fact hire another contractor. They could find NO evidence of a leak, took out the new circuit board and reinstalled the original circuit board. The new contractor did find closed registers to the unused portion of my house that was controlled by that furnace and washable dirty air return filters that restricted air flow as the causes of the furnace shutdown.

The system continued to work perfectly throughout the remainder of the winter months.

In regard to the finding from the Nevada Contractor's Board, a call was placed prior to us leaving town and we were verbally told since it appeared this dispute is primarily over payment, the Board has no jurisdiction to find in monetary matters.

In discussions with ******** *******, since work was performed and the merchant is unwilling to issue a refund, they had no alternative but to reinstate the charge to me. Their responsibility is of a financial matter only.

I am not unreasonable. Paschall did come out, did perform some work and is entitled to compensation, however, the repair was not complete and I do not feel the $583.92 is justifiable.



Final Business Response
The customer requested service for his furnace on January 3, 2015. After the work was completed he signed the invoice accepting the work provided and price related to the service. Later, he attempted to have his credit card company reverse his charges. The credit card company did not reverse the charges as they ruled in our favor. He then filed a complaint with the Contractors Board and after their review of all the facts, the Contractors Board ruled in our favor stating "No violation was established". Furthermore, the Contractors Board requires us to warranty our work for 4 years.

We stand behind our work and warranty what we do unless we state otherwise in our invoicing.

If we conclude we have do nothing wrong, the credit card company and the State Contractors Board concurs with our conclusion, then we have nothing more to say other than repeating the facts of this case.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Excavating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.