BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2012

Action Lawn & Landscape LLC

Phone: (775) 323-7488Fax: (775) 323-17524198 Rewana Way, RenoNV 89502-5128 Send email to Action Lawn & Landscape LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2012

BBB has determined that Action Lawn & Landscape LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Action Lawn & Landscape LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Action lawn, put in my sod in the front and backyard. In the backyard, next to the gargage, the sod start dying or turning yellow 3days after it was layed. Action, told the distributor of the sod has gotton complaints that some the sod may have been bad. instead of Action lawn replacing the bad lawn. They said I had a Water pressure issue with my sprinkler system. I had Lennar homes to come out and check the water pressure and it was more than enough pressure. So then action lawn blamed it on the way the sprinkler were layed out. I had the original sprinkler to come and check the set up and he said it was fine ,so long that it covers the grass area and it did. Action Lawn then said, if we don't install your sprinklers ,we don't warranty the sod. I told them, you did not put this in writing efore you did my sod and you checked the sprinklers and you said they would work.They refuse to replace the the strips of bad sod. I told them, if they drop it by my house ,I would lay it myself and I would not hold them to the warranty and they refuse to do that. I told them, you throw more grass away, after you lay down someone else lawn, then it cost for you to replace the strips of dead sod in my yard. I was sent another bill, 45 days later ,stating that I owe them 220.00 dollars for more work that they did the same day. I am now being threaten by them, that they will put a lien on my property if I don't pay a bill out of no where, that came to me, 45 days after I paid them 2703.00 for the completion of their work, that is not warranty by Action lawn.

Desired Settlement
I want Action lawn to replace the dead strips of lawn in my yard or refund the different of the warranty for covering the lawn to up to a year. Their warranty is supposed to cover dead sod, up to a year ,when you follow the correct maintance on new sod.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* / General Manag
Contact Phone: 7753237488
Contact Email: ***********************
Reno, NV. October 15, 2014
To whom it might concern:

************ contacted Action Lawn & Landscape about installing a sprinkler system & sod in his back yard at his house located at *************************************, a sprinkler & drip system was already in place in the front yard consisting of 2, 1 inch sprinkler zones & 1, 3/4" drip zone, we submitted a separate estimate for the installation of sprinklers & a separate estimate for the installation of sod for his back yard at *** ******** request, ************ decided that he was going to have another landscaper install his sprinkler system & Action Lawn would install the sod, before the sod installation, *** ************ was made aware that if Action Lawn & Landscape did not install the sprinkler system we could not guarantee the sod, since we did not know if the sprinkler system would be properly installed, when we came to do the sod installation, ************ was informed there was a pressure and coverage problem with his sprinklers before sod was installed and it was recommended that he speak to whomever put the sprinkler system in first to correct the pressure and coverage problems, the sprinkler system installed by the other landscaper was reduced from 1" pvc main lines that were installed in the front yard by the home builder, to 3/4" pvc main lines to the back yard, the sprinkler heads were spaced out too far apart for the size of the heads & the pvc pipe, therefore not achieving 100% head to head coverage, there were 11 sprinkler heads per zone on a 3/4" pvc line that should have no more than 6 sprinkler heads, again decreasing pressure output of the sprinklers heads & the proper 100% overlapping needed for proper water coverage of the sprinklers zones & finally the heads were not properly grouped together to saturate an area instead were installed in a straight line in disregard of standard procedures for sprinklers system installations, *** ****** said he felt comfortable going forward and so the sod was installed. While installing the sod on the last day of the project, *** ****** requested $220 worth of extra work on the spot. We were happy to accommodate but since it was work requested on the spot, there was no invoice on hand to provide and so it was mailed a few days later. Several days after the work was completed *** ****** called and said his lawn had started to yellow in some areas. The landscaping supervisor went out to take a look and get a few pictures. He acknowledged there were a few yellow spots but noticed they were in the places he had warned *** ****** could become a problem due to poor placement of the sprinklers and lack of coverage and pressure. *** ****** was told he needed to increase the watering schedule and stay off of it as much as possible. A few days later we received another phone call from *** ****** with the same complaint. The landscaping estimator set up a time the customer would be home to take another look. *** ****** forgot and missed the appointment but we still went to look things over. While there the landscaping estimator noticed all of the dry spots had recovered except for 1. At that time he took more pictures and informed *** ****** the lawn looked fine and the dry spot left had almost no sprinkler coverage and recommended giving it more water in that area. Several days and unanswered emails later *** ****** was called regarding the extra work that needed to be paid for, He said He would make us wait since he was not happy with the installation of the sod, we know that we installed the sod properly & the lack of proper & even 100% coverage of the sprinkler zones has caused some dry spots on some areas of *** ******** lawn. If you have any other questions or concerns, please let us know.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Snow Removal Service, Concrete Contractors, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/27/1998Business started: 01/20/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nevada State Contractors Board
9670 Gateway Dr STE 100
Reno, NV 89521-3953
(775) 688-1141

BBB records show a license number of 0059843 for this company, issued by Nevada State Contractors Board. Their web address is

BBB records show a license number of 0051072A for this company, issued by Nevada State Contractors Board. Their web address is

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Saul E. Vega (Owner)Ms. Ahivi D. Rivera (Manager)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Snow Removal Service, Concrete Contractors, Landscape Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Action Concrete & Curb

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Action Lawn & Landscape LLC

4198 Rewana Way

Reno, NV 89502-5128

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4198 Rewana Way 

    Reno, NV 89502-5128(775) 323-7488
    Fax: (775) 323-1752

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Action Lawn & Landscape LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB includes the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.