BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/1993

Frontier Financial Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (775) 829-2070Fax: (775) 829-0879View Additional Phone Numbers5200 Neil Rd, RenoNV 89502-6503 Send email to Frontier Financial Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/1993

BBB has determined that Frontier Financial Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Frontier Financial Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Frontier Financial Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Spouse removed me from joint checking/savings without my knowledge, my paychecks were direct deposited here.

My husband and I had a joint checking/savings acct# ******** and a vehicle loan, also with both names, **************** and ***************. In August, exact date unknown, my husband removed me from the joint account without my knowledge and Frontier Financial blocked all of my access to this account. My paychecks from my job at ***************************** were directly deposited into this account. My husband moved to Idaho on Aug 21, 2013 and filed for divorce. I went to Frontier Financial to request a statement of the bank account on the day he removed my name. They would not provide me with anything. I asked that a statement of the vehicle loan be mailed to me because I have the vehicle, again they refused. My husband is mailing the payments but I cannot rely on him doing that and Frontier will not accept payments from me on the loan yet my name is on the loan. I filed a complaint with the State of Nevada Financial Institutions Division and they assigned Reference #***** and sent me a reply dated Nov 19, 2013 stating that Frontier Financial FCU will start sending me loan status information but this state office asked that I call them regarding the checking/savings issue. It called and spoke with **** in the state office at ************. The letter sent to me have me 3 names to call in Frontier FCU about obtaining possible information. I have called and left message for Director of Operations *************** at ********************* requesting a copy of the statement of account for the day before my name was removed without my knowledge or permission from the joint checking/savings. I have not heard back. I do not understand how I can just bee moved from my checking account without my permission. I have a checking/savings with *************** that merged my ************************ to it and my husband was not a member but was on the checks. *********** required the he sign off completely to be off the checking, which he did and this was a seldom used account. Frontier FCU was our main banking account, we had debit cards and a $500 line of credit on the checking account, never any problems with the account

I have retained Attorney **************** in Reno, Nv for my divorce, she advised me to file a complaint with the BBB about this and she said it is not legal for the bank to remove me from a joint account without my permission. I just want to know how much money was in the account when he took me off because half of it was mine and I would like that statement to be from the day before he took me off or the actual day he did as long as it shows the transactions for August up to the date he removed me.

Desired Settlement
I want half of the money that was in the checking/savings account returned to me due to Frontier Financial FCU completely blocking me out of this account that my soon to be ex-husband removed me from without my knowledge or permission. I do not know how much was in the account on the day he did this.

Business Response
On 11/21/13, *********** contacted the credit union and spoke to our representative ***************. ************* explained to *********** in detail what had occurred with regards to her account in accordance with she and her husbands Account Agreement with Frontier Financial Credit Union. This information was reviewed with the President/CEO at the time. In addition, *********** was mailed a statement of activity as requested and it was mailed, same day, to the address *********** requested it be sent to. Any division of funds to be disbursed is between *** and *********** to be decided in their divorce proceedings. We not consider this matter closed.

10/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a loan with Frontier Financial. The last two payments I have made are being held. I have not gotten any calls from the bank stating that I am behind. I contacted ( after SEVERAL attempts) ***** who is in the collections department to speak with her as to why my electronic checks are being held. She told me that I was 1700+/- behind and in order to lift the REPO from my car I needed to pay this amount. I explained that I would be getting a check from the child support office some time in December or I could pay this once I got my tax return. And that I would like to continue making payments, She then said she would talk to her boss and get back to me. Two weeks has passed I have left a minimum of 15 voicemails and I have even gone into the brance to leave a note on her desk. Of course when i go in she is not there. There was a man in charge last year when my husband lost his job his name was Jim Scott (I am not sure on the last name), I went into the branch to set up interest only payments for a little while becuase times were tough. I do not know if he is no longer working for the company or what but I guess there is not record of this either. I am at a loss as I do not have that much money to just shell out and I have not gotten any mail from this company. I am wanting to make my payments and keep my truck.
Product_Or_Service: Loan

Desired Settlement
I would like to continue to make monthly payments on my loan, the amount owed can be placed on the end of the loan or a separate payment arrangement can be put in place.

Business Response
Due to financial privacy issues, we cannot address detailed information with regards to the consumers complaint. However, the issues have been resolved directly with the consumer and no further action is required.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1993Business started: 11/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nevada Division of Financial Institutions
2785 E Desert Inn Rd STE 180
Las Vegas, NV 89121-3692
(702) 486-4120
http://www.fid.state.nv.us

BBB records show a license number of CU00023 for this company, issued by Nevada Division of Financial Institutions. Their web address is http://www.fid.state.nv.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1985, NV

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Bruce A. Rodela (CEO/President)Customer Contact: Ms. Rebecca Johnston (Director of Marketing)Mr. James Begbie (Chairman of the Board/President)Ms. Margie Bergland (Director of Branch Operations)Ms. Marsha Burgess (Secretary)Ms. Pixie Catlett (Executive Vice President)
Contact Information
Mr. James Gubbels (Treasurer)
Business Category

Credit Unions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Frontier Financial Credit Union

5200 Neil Rd

Reno, NV 89502-6503

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 5200 Neil Rd 

    Reno, NV 89502-6503(775) 829-2070
    (877) 852-2481
    (866) 692-8669
    Fax: (775) 829-0879

  • PO Box 20700 

    Reno, NV 89515-0700

  • 5362 Sparks Blvd 

    Sparks, NV 89436-8166

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Frontier Financial Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 852-2481
  • (866) 692-8669
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

As of July 30, 2013, BBB Serving Northern Nevada began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.