BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Nevada

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/04/1987

Carson Dodge Chrysler, Inc.

Phone: (775) 883-2020Fax: (775) 883-72273059 S Carson St, Carson CityNV 89701-4513

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/04/1987

BBB has determined that Carson Dodge Chrysler, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carson Dodge Chrysler, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carson Dodge Chrysler, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
05/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had my car, a 2001 PT Cruiser, towered to the Chrysler dealership hoping for quicker better service. I was wrong on both accounts. It was towed there Tuesday at about 1:30 in the afternoon. I was given a call saying what was wrong, and how much it would cost to fix my car. I gave approval so he ordered part. He told me that the part will not be in until tomorrow around 1 pm. So car would not be ready till late afternoon. I said that would be fine. I called the next day around 3 pm just to make sure that the part came in and see how much longer it would be. At that point I was told that the part did get there but they would now be able to get to my car now until the next day. Then Thursday just came and went no car. He promised me car Friday morning. Friday I called around 11:30 and he said his employee working on my car got something in his eye and now is at the eye doctor. He said when he gets back after lunch he will finish it. I called about 2 pm nothing. He called back around 2:30 said the switch was replaced but now had a whole new list of things wrong with my car. The battery I understand. There was no way to tell it went dead from this problem because the problem was preventing the car from starting. But all the belts he wanted me to replace and other stuff. He could have given me those estimations ahead of time not after I already had 1 total in mind then he comes along and doubles it. I agree to the extra work if it can be finished by the end of the day. I arrive a few min. early just to let him know it is Friday and he is not going to stick me. I see my car come around, park, tech take off. Then all of a sudden tech goes running for my car and takes it to the back. He forgot to put in the transmission filter or pan. What a mess that would have been. There is now transmission fluid all over the front of my car. The point is I got the royal run around there from the beginning to the end. I don't feel safe driving my car because what else did they mess up on?
Product_Or_Service: repairs
Order_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
I want an apology from ************* and his Manager. I want all the fluid cleaned off my car inside and out. And I do feel that I should get a small yet partial refund for all the inconvenience this caused me. My dad was a mechanic for most of his life. He would have been mortified at the way I was treated this week.

Business Response
To:Whom it may concern.

We could like to thank the BBB for bringing this to our attention. Customer satisfaction is Carson Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram's top priority.

After reviewing with our Service Manager, we agree that the customer has ligitimate concerns regarding some aspects of her repair.

Her Service Writer, should have kept her better informed - instead of the customer having to call us, we should have been calling her.

Regarding the customers concern of additional needed repairs and the timing of her notification of same. The technician wasn't aware of the other items until he worked on her car at which point he notified the Service Writer who then called the customer.

The fluid the customer noticed was residual fluid from the transmission service. It should have been wiped off the undercarriage of the vehicle before being delivered to the customer. Furthermore, the Technician realized he didn't replace the old transmission filter and immediately brought the vehicle back to do so.. There is no excuse for this and corrective action has been taken to prevent this from happening in the future.

The customer has been contacted by the Service Manager and has an appointment for 2:00 PM today (5/9/14). Her vehicle will be reinspected and properly cleaned. In addtion she will get a partial refund for her inconvenience and apologies from all employees involved in the servicing of her vehicle.

Thank you,

*****************
General Manager

07/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
12/04/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
11/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/1987Business started: 03/16/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV89711-0001
(775) 684-4368
http://www.dmvnv.com

BBB records show a license number of S111 for this company, issued by Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. Their web address is http://www.dmvnv.com.

BBB records show a license number of GAR00155 for this company, issued by Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. Their web address is http://www.dmvnv.com.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1987, NV

Business Management
Principal: Mr. James A. Cryer Jr. (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Stephen H. Christian (General Manager)Mr. Joel W. Cryer (Secretary)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carson Dodge Chrysler, Inc.

3059 S Carson St

Carson City, NV 89701-4513

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3059 S Carson St 

    Carson City, NV 89701-4513(775) 883-2020

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carson Dodge Chrysler, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

As of July 30, 2013, BBB Serving Northern Nevada began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.