BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/12/2011

Acura of Reno

Phone: (775) 229-7777Fax: (775) 229-7791View Additional Phone Numbers11550 S Virginia St, RenoNV 89511-8900 Send email to Acura of Reno



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/12/2011

BBB has determined that Acura of Reno meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Acura of Reno's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Acura of Reno

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I bought a new 2009 Acura MDX from Reno Acura, I also bought what they represented as a lifetime tire mount/balance so that I could have the winter tires installed each fall. Recently, I was told that the "lifetime tire swap" was only for the life of the original tires. This was not mentioned to me when I purchased the lifetime program, which I assumed was a program to keep me as a customer for other things. I believe that they should honor their lifetime program. I spoke with the service manager and also with the general manager (the latter of whom made no sense to me).
Product_Or_Service: Lifetime tire swap

Desired Settlement
I do not think I should be charged $ 125.00 twice a year for tire swaps. I believe the deal was misrepresented. It should be for the life of which I own the vehicle since I have been spending hundreds on routine maintenance anyway.

Business Response
Dear sir/madam. We here at Acura of Reno want to thank you for allowing us to explain this situation. When ********** purchased his car back in 2009, we here at Acura of Reno offered as a courtesy a tire storage service for those customers who purchased snow tires from us. This service ********** never paid for according to our purchase order that we will scan and attach. When we first opened we had extra space that was available to store winter tires for our clients. As our business grew we no longer can store new tires for any customers due to lack of space now. ********** has purchased another set of tires and was asking for the same service. This service is no longer offered as of end of 2013 with notice that was posted well in advance all over our service department. This was explained to ********* many times which he did not agree. Our original records show that we never promised him life time tire storage and swap with the vehicle. This was strictly a courtesy. The tire swap requires labor to not only swap tires, but to balance them. This courtesy service was lifetime of original purchased tires not the lifetime of the car!! We as a business understand that even if we are right, customer complain will make us look unreasonable. We like to thank you again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I PURCHASED (paid for) a lifetime tire swap/storage and a lifetime oil change. The dealership has honored the oil changes, but not the tire swap. At no time was I informed of any limitations on it. Using a storage space problem as not a reason to fail to honor the lifetime tire swap which I paid for. If it is a problem, I'd be happy to store the tires myself. I expect the dealership to honor the tire lifetime tire swap that I paid for. Rule changes should be mutually agreed to and they were not.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the offer of Reno Acura to provide the twice-yearly tire swap at no additional cost to me for as long as I own the car and with no other conditions, and I will agree to store the unused tires. To facilitate their storage issues, I will pick up the winter tires when I come to Reno with my truck as soon as possible.

Final Business Response
Dear sir/madam,
Although this transaction was a misunderstanding. We here at Acura of Reno will be happy to accommodate the customer on his tire swap for his current Acura, however due to space limitations, we no longer can store tires for him as a courtesy. Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/03/2008Business started: 07/13/2006Business started locally: 07/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0001
(775) 684-4368
http://www.dmvnv.com

Their web address is http://www.dmvnv.com.

Their web address is http://www.dmvnv.com.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Michael Cho (Managing Member)Ms. Kelly Bermudez (Business Manager)Mr. Edward T. Tonkin (Member)Mr. Bradley Tonkin (Member)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Choton, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Acura of Reno

11550 S Virginia St

Reno, NV 89511-8900

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11550 S Virginia St 

    Reno, NV 89511-8900(775) 229-7777
    (888) 799-6555
    (888) 815-0202
    Fax: (775) 229-7791

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Acura of Reno is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 799-6555
  • (888) 815-0202
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

As of July 30, 2013, BBB Serving Northern Nevada began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.