BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1992

Carolina Windows & Doors, Inc.

Phone: (252) 756-2585Fax: (252) 756-1761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New double patio doors have been installed and replaced 3 times. They are still leaking. Placed service call again on 04-16-14, will not return call
Sales representative is ******* ********* Doors were purchased 5-1-08. New doors installed August-September 2008. Reported issue with doors leaking on 12-22-08. ******* would not return my call and never came out to check my doors. ***** a contractor for CWD came out to check leak January 2008. Doors were finally replaced after 3 months. Doors leaking again placed a service call on 7-31-12. After 12 phone calls and voice messages, contractor came and looked at my doors on 9-11-12. Issues between CWD and Paragon (manufacturer), no one would accept responsibility for leak. Doors were not replaced until 1-10-13. By then damage had occurred to floors. CWD replaced the subfloor. I replaced vinyl with hardwood floors. Doors leaking again placed a service call on 4-16-14. Sent email with photos of water coming in around the window. Have not received any contact from CWD. If CWD waits 6 months to fix, my beautiful hardwood floors will be damaged. I would like to have my doors replaced with doors that will not ever leak again. Doors have a lifetime warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my doors replaced with doors that will not leak. Patio doors have been installed and replaced 3 times and they still leak. These doors have a lifetime warranty. If I have someone else fix the issue that CWD has created, I will lose my warranty. I had 3 doors replaced, front entry, back entry, and patio. These doors cost $96oo to replace. I have had issues with the patio door since install. I should not have to deal with Paragon manufacture. The last time I had issue, Paragon suggested I put a roof over my patio to stop the leak. My previous patio doors had never leaked. I replaced because of energy efficiency. I purchased doors from Carolina Windows and Doors. Carolina Windows and Doors should be responsible for repair and or replacement. I should not have to put a roof over my patio doors to keep doors from leaking. If CWD and Paragon could not replace my patio doors without leaks, a contract should never have been made to do so and my original doors should not have been removed. I would like to have repaired in a timely manner with doors that will not leak. I would like to have repaired before damage occurs to my hardwood floors. I have photos of water coming in around the window of the door.

Business Response
Carolina Windows and Doors has made contact with Paragon Door Design as they are the manufacture of the entry door system. Paragon Door Design confirmed it was not an installation problem or any fault of Carolina Windows and Doors. Paragon has touched base with both Carolina Windows and Doors and the customer and have agreed to send down a hurricane rated frame in order to replace and correct the issue around the leaking glass. We have been informed the frame should be shipped within the next 7 to 10 days from the manufacture.

Consumer Response
I would like to leave this complaint open until doors have been repaired. I did receive a call from Paragon stating it would be 7 to 10 days to ship doors, but CWD will need to install. I have not received any contact from Carolina Windows and Doors. I do not have an estimated install date. The last repair took from July 2012 until January 2013 to be completed.

Final Business Response
Paragon Doors Design has informed us the new hurricane rated frame system surrounding IGU needed to correct the issue with leak around the current glass has been ordered and has taken a little longer due to being a specialty product. No confirmation from Paragon Door Design as of 9 am today but looks to be scheduled to arrive on next weeks truck. Even though Paragon Door Designs warranty states the customers is responsible for any labor Carolina Windows and Doors will provide the labor at no charge! Once we receive the parts from Paragon Door Design we will coordinate the installation of the new frame. Thank you again for your patience as we are both at Paragon Door Designs Mercy at this point.

Consumer Response
Today is July 16, 2014. My patio doors have not been repaired. CWD have failed to honor their agreement from May 22, 2014. My doors are still leaking. CWD has not called, emailed, texted or set up an appointment to repair. They have not followed up with any information or communication.
Your help is apprecaited.
****** ********


Business Response
As stated before we have been waiting on

PARAGON DOOR DESIGNS
7845 National Turnpike #150,
Louisville, KY XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

The Manufacture of this patio door. They managed to send Carolina Windows and doors the replacement materials the week of July 7 2014. Carolina Windows and Doors did agree to help Mrs ******** and Paragon Door Design in repairing her door by supplying the labor, now we can work it into our installers schedule. We are currently booked almost 8 weeks out but looks like a possibility of doing the repair before the end of the month, Thursday week July 31 2014 first thing in the morning.

Once again this is an issue that Carolina Windows and Doors had no control over as both us and Mrs ******** waited patiently in order to receive correct materials. Now that it is in our hands will get this unit swapped out asap!


Consumer Response
I will be available Thursday July 31st for door replacement.
Thank you
****** ********

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Windows still not aligned properly; screen door does not open left to right as requested; crossbar so thin it bent/broke in one week.
I called our salesman **** ******, regarding the above issues back in September '13. He promised to get back to me and I haven't heard a word back from him or the company since. During the sales visit he promised amazing service, but nothing happened after we paid.

We were promised custom fit windows, but workers forgot to measure the lower window height at first visit. When they returned they only measured one window and not the other 30 plus which are different sizes. The salesman's window sample appeared to be made of a much sturdier metal than the flimsy ones that were installed. Several windows are very difficult to open and close.

We ordered a screen door installed with a cross bar to prevent damaging the screen. The cross bar
is so thin/flimsy it buckled the first week. I had asked to have it installed opening left to right and was told no problem - it could be installed either way. The worker installed it opening right to left. When I brought this to ****'s attention he told me if it wasn't written in the contract then there is nothing to be done about it.

We paid $7200 for the windows and screen door.
I believe we were cheated by shoddy workmanship.


Desired Settlement
Fix the windows so they open and close properly;
align the window heights so the storm window frames align with the original windows.

Fix screen door so it opens left the right; replace flimsy cross bar.

Business Response
Had a representative go out to assess the complaint and speak with customer in person last week. After discussing options to adjust the placement of the new storm windows we have agreed to remove and lower the two units in dining room to help center meeting rail on new storm with old wood windows. We are currently in the process of scheduling to get the installer back to the home to take care of these adjustments!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Workers came and fixed/adjusted the windows. Job is now complete.

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/11/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Window Companies, Door Installers, Door Companies, Window Installation Companies, Siding Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.