BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

George's Towing & Recovery

(919) 270-51541200 Old Greensboro Rd, Chapel HillNC 27516-5223 Send email to George's Towing & Recovery

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

George's Towing & Recovery is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered George's Towing & Recovery's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on George's Towing & Recovery

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
George's Towing damaged the bumper of my auto in the process of towing. The owner denied any responsibility although clearly at fault.
My vehicle was towed from a private establishment in Chapel Hill, NC. Upon picking up my vehicle I noticed damage to rear bumper which clearly was caused in the process of towing the vehicle. The owner and I and 2 witnesses all saw the damage and took photos. The owner denied responsibility and I had to pay in full to release my car. I have an estimate to repair the damage.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $339.25 plus repair of $819.72, for a total of $1158.97

Business Response
******** from the business called and said that their attorney is handling this case


Consumer Response
I am waiting for a resolution as of 11/11.

09/03/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Predatory, Vulture like, reprehensible towing practices against residents of Chapel Hill
Myself and my two daughters parked at *** Bread. I "walked off the lot" to simply drop off daughter one at a local salon (***), then walked back with daughter Two to have lunch. Perhaps 15 minutes or so elapsed (video can validate actual time), and my car was already towed.

This is a vulture like, predatory, reprehensible practice.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $180 towing fee

Business' Initial Response
Mr. *** has made this complaint to the Chapel Hill PD and after investigation of his complaint it was found that he was in fact in the wrong. Signs on the property state walk offs will be towed, and generaly they are towed as soon as customer walks off property, but in this case as video shows we waited 10 minutes before towing vehicle,and to add, Mr. *** saw his car being towed, walked into *** and ordered food and told the manager " i was in here the whole time" Video shows where he walked down the street towards the address where his car was at and as it was being towed witnessed the tow.. All in all Mr. *** walked off the property and after 10 minutes was towed, Georges towing offers no refund on towing where video shows we were in the right

Business' Final Response
Business supplied email: ***
Use this address for any contact with the Better Business Bureau

05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Towed my car from a NOT clearly marked parking area, misquoted price to retrieve car, excessive charges, would only accept cash.
The company towed my vehicle from *****************, Chapel Hill on Friday April 11th sometime between 10 pm and 1 am, in an unmarked parking area behind *********************** where I was a patron. The only signage appeared to be for an apparently separate gravel lot that required payment. The paved area I parked in gave no indication that I would be towed. It was not made clear where my vehicle was, and after a phone call around 1:30 am, 11/12/14, I was told it was roughly 7 miles away, and it would be $108 (cash only) to retrieve my car. I asked multiple times to confirm location and price. I wasn't able to get it until the next morning. When I arrived at the lot, around 9 am, I was told by rude, unprofessional looking employees that it was $180 (cash) and they didn't believe I was misquoted. After going back to an atm with a friend I got the money and retrieved my car. I was not informed by proper signs and markings that I would be towed, and several others were towed from the same location. This company is known for being predatory and unfair, they misquoted me, charged an excessive amount, and were rude and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement
Explanation

08/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
towing co. did not offer credit card option. HE said "cash only" I understand town ordinance allows credit cards? also receipt had to be requested
parking spot was 10 ft from our table @ mellow mushroom. Much closer than lot for restaurant which I did not know was near lot. why NOT have a sign " mellow mushroom customers can not park here? I assumed since rest is adjacent to mellow mushroom parking lot, it was allowed? my bad. also they charged me 125.00. Could they charge less?

Desired Settlement
who could put a additional sign saying no parking here for mellow mushroom? Or might that reduce money in fines to towing co's? what a slimmy ripoff. Why go to downtown chapel hill for this disception of signage. Just state the rules for which restaurants can park there. very dishonest. I request return of fine & clarity on use of credit cards.

05/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Billed me one price, went inside to appeal to restaurant manager, came back out prepared to pay and price had somehow doubled in 5 minutes!
Complaint:

Hello, last night I decided to drive the 45 minutes from where I live in
Chatham county to meet with friends for drinks in Chapel Hill. Before
meeting them, I decided to try out the newly opened *************** on
Franklin..There was one open space in front of their restaurant, and
grateful for my good fortune, parked. There was a red sign stating
********* on it, but right next to it was a *************** sign, and being
dark out, assumed this was a shared space..After enjoying dinner, I proceeded
to head outside where my car was being lifted up and ready to be towed my a
rather unscrupulous towing service named ******'s Towing. In shock, I
explained that I was dining at *************** to no avail and the
gentleman said it would be $90 to release my car...I asked him if he would
be willing to give me 5 minutes to speak with the manager at ********* and
perhaps I might get a reprieve..The manager inside wasn't able to be of any
help, and so I went back out prepared to pay the 90 dollars when all the
sudden it now became $180 because he had finished "loading the car"!! He
said I could call the owner to appeal which I did, and after 2 minutes and
discussing with his employee he decided to charge me the full amount!! I'm
a man of modest income, and help my disabled mother financially..In fact
earlier in the day I had paid 300 dollars to have her car fixed, and really
have to question karma when later that night I was hit with such a large
fee..I'm not sure what help can be done, but the towing racket in Chapel
Hill has been going on for years and the fine isn't usually representative
of the person's error, especially mine. Perhaps highlighting the problem in
a report will create real action..That fine represents groceries, car
insurance, etc,. all for one small oversight. Sour taste for eating in
Chapel Hill!

Desired Settlement
All I want is a refund for the towing service..The employee for the towing company even admitted that the signage was confusing and there was a huge uptick in the amount of towing after the popular *************** opened, yet neither the towing company, nor *************** changed any policy, costing more and more people their hard-earned money. I am of modest income, and take care financially of my disabled mother...Most people may pay the fine and move on, but that is a lot of money for me!!

12/10/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter works at ***'s. We had someone drop our car off there for her late Saturday night. She was working the 9-3 shift on Sunday. Car towed.
We dropped our car off at ***'s in Chapel Hill at ten on a Saturday night. My daughter works there and had a morning shift. We went there at 8:45am on a Sunday and our car had been towed.

I called George's and was hung up on twice. The owner told me anyone with a driver's license could pick up my car but when I queried him about that said I had to come. He told me I needed to stop talking and say Amen. He berated me for not saying Goodbye at the end of a very rude phonecall.

He told me I must pay him 180 and go and retrieve my car but that they don't just sit on their butts out there so I would need to call and make sure they were there before I came out.

Desired Settlement
I do not wish to pay for my car. I feel it was towed predatorily and that the owner was unreasonable over the phone.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Towing Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/22/2011Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George S. King (Owner)
Business Category

Towing Companies

Alternate Business Names
George King Towing Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for George's Towing & Recovery

1200 Old Greensboro Rd

Chapel Hill, NC 27516-5223

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1200 Old Greensboro Rd 

    Chapel Hill, NC 27516-5223(919) 270-5154

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*George's Towing & Recovery is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Towing Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.