BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Direct Sat TV, LLC

Phone: (800) 595-4101Fax: (866) 935-4097View Additional Phone Numbers1930 N Poplar St Ste 21, Southern PinesNC 28387-7092 Send email to Direct Sat TV, LLChttp://www.Directsattv.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Direct Sat TV, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Direct Sat TV, LLC's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business.

Factors that raised Direct Sat TV, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues10
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Direct Sat TV, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (29)
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to get on demand service and rewind shows since we started service in November 2014. We were told it was a problem with engineering department
We have had to schedule several service calls and they were still unable to resolve the issue. We called several times to reset the internet connection, went through several steps and still not able to get the service. We had our internet provider check our band with and was told it was fine. We even purchased an expensive new router. Still not working. Yet old it was a problem with the engineering department. They refused to let us out of the contract unless w pay a huge fee. Gave us show time promo for free for 2 months which expired 4/23/15. I was told to call back to see if there was another promo for a movie channel as the problem with the engineering dept. is still unresolved. Spoke with a supervisor ******* iD no.********** and was insulted when he told me on demand was a complimentary service with premium channels. II refused to pay for premium channels which we were, because I did not have the complete service which included on demand. He told me they have gone above and beyond trying to please me. I get sick to my stomach every time I have to call this company. I am made to feel as though I am looking for something for nothing. All I want to do is watch movies with my family and I am willing to pay for that. He told me that if I am not satisfied I could get pay per view! It is very disheartening to pay a lot of money, not get the service, and to be locked into a service as if you are a hostafpge unless you pay a lot of money to cancel the service and get out o

Desired Settlement
We do not have on demand service since we signed up November 2014. Each time I call we have to reboot the internet connection and it still does not work. Service techs came and tried to fix 3 times. Told it was a problem with their engineering department. They gave us ********* promo free for 2 months. I have tried to cancel but thy charge a huge fee. I feel like a hostage having to pay a ransom to get out of the contract. The promo ended on 4/23/15 and I just called as I was told to, to see about another promo as the engineering department had not resolved the issue. I spoke with a supervisor who insulted me by telling me that on demand is a complimentary service with premium channels which we had but never was able to use this feature, and complimentary means free. ******* ID number *********, the supervisor told me they went above and beyond to please me. I am sick to my stomach to have to call this company. To have to be dragged through the story from the beginning over and over to each person you are switched to each time I call when all I want to do Is get the service I pay for so I can enjoy watching movies with my family. It is very disheartening. I have emailed the office of the president tonight, because when I called back to request the complaint number I was placed on hold foe a long while only to b transferred to yet another supervisor who put me on hold for a while then as he was about to give me the number we were conveniently disconnected. He had my information,yet he has not called me back. The complaint was sent to ************ reference number - ************* requesting to cancel my contract without a fee.

They have agreed to release me from my contract without an early cancellation fee.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

************

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
service is not good,goes out all the time.different quotes when got service
have called them to complain about service,and why there different quotes,when I purchase a whole package deal now it 2 separate purchases,which now the internet is separted.payment amount was change into 3 different amounts,and to cancel its 800.00 now

Desired Settlement
cancel service and no penalty for canceling service

Final Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
closed company agreed,thank you

10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tricked into service.
I was having trouble with my Direct TV service. In an attempt to contact them I found a number in the yellow pages of XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was assisted by this number and told it would cost approx. 69.00 to fix the problem. I discovered later that the number I called was not DirectTV rather Direct SAT TV a third party vendor for Direct TV. This company prompted me to obtain their service I thought was a fix to my current problem. In actuality they signed me up for a Direct Tv account in or through their business. I already have Direct TV and pay Direct TV, Now I am also paying this company as they draft automatically from my account.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund and cancellation of this erroneous falsely acquired service.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Ms. ****** was contacted on 10/2 regarding the issue she reported with the service contract/protection plan she purchased. She was able to give a wealth of details and was advised that additional research would be done on her issue, but that she would certainly get her money back. The research revealed that there appeared to have been a miscommunication between the parties regarding the need for a service contract/protection plan.
Ms. ****** was called back the next day (10/3) and assisted in contacting the division which had sold her the service contract/protection plan and arranging for the $69.99 to be refunded to her card within 48-72 hours. Ms. ****** was provided with a direct contact number here at Direct Sat TV to call if there are any problems receiving this refund.
At this time, Ms. ****** has not contacted Direct Sat TV regarding any problem with the refund.
Direct Sat TV certainly apologizes for the miscommunication which caused Ms. ******'s issue and will strive to prevent any similar issues in the future.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Refund was deposited into my account last night. Issue is apparently resolved. I greatly appreciate the help of the BBB.

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was having an issue with the installer, chrg 75.00 for the wrong pole, didn't have grounded wire, was having issue trying to get them to move dish in the back yard, had to call customer service to get corrected, also the they were going to apply a credit of two 20.00 coupons to my bill for my inconvenience but applied it to the amt this guy was going to charge more money to move dish were i wanted. they also bill you in advance for auto bill pay, I didn't have the service for two days and they billed my cc, i ask to have a refund to my cc and that still has not happen, i was going to change my pay method before bill due date of 3/22/12 i was charge on my card 03/04/12 service was installed on 3/2/12. customer service has a different answer everytime you call. just poor service all around.

Desired Settlement
a credit for my inconvience and for them to provide better customer service.

Business' Initial Response
Customer Ms. ******'s issue with her installation was corrected to her satisfaction on 3/11/13. Upon review of her record, it has been determined that she was given conflicting and confusing information regarding being sent 2 $20 coupons as compensation for her issues. For this reason, the customer will be sent not only the 2 $20 coupons she was promised, but also an additional $20 coupon for all the trouble she has had. The customer has been called several times in order to inform her of this resolution and to make sure she is satisfied with it, but none of the calls have been returned so far. At this time, 3 $20 coupons have been sent to Ms. ******.

Consumer's Final Response
I have contacted the company at the number that was given to me and left several message and my cell phone to contact me on. no response. so i contacted the customer service number and was told the coupons were mail out 3/27/13. Thank you so much for helping me this issue.

11/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When we first ordered satellite through direct sat they sent us the wrong equipment and now I cant get in touch with them to fix the issue.
About two weeks ago my wife, ******** ****** called direct sat to order satellite service. The salesman she spoke to on the phone seemed preoccupied and wasn't really paying full attention to my wife. Not only did he record her name as ****** ******** he also sent us the standard equipment when we specifically asked for HD. When the equipment arrived and we realized a mistake had been made we immediately contacted direct sat and explained the issue. The representative I spoke to said that they would review the previous call and that if I was telling the truth and the salesman really was distracted and didn't send us the equipment we requested, that they would immediately send out the correct equipment and I could send the incorrect equipment back at my soonest convenience. I got a call back a few days later saying that I was in the right and as soon as they received the original equipment from me that they would send out the right equipment. I informed the lady that I was told that the new box would be sent out immediately if it was their mistake to which she said "that will be no problem" she told me that she would talk to he supervisor and have it sent out on that day and that she would call me back with an update. That was about a week ago, I have not received a return call yet and in my multiple attempts to contact direct sat, I have been transferred multiple times just to be sat on hold for twenty minutes and then forwarded to an answering machine on which I have left multiple messages and still received no return calls. This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Desired Settlement
I want my contract to be voided,unless my service can be set up before October 23, 2013.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Mr. ****** was contacted on 10/22 and advised that Direct Sat TV would not be able to get him installed by his deadline of 10/23 due to the equipment not being returned (which would allow his order to be replaced). Mr. ****** was reminded that Mrs. ****** had been advised of this procedure when she spoke to the Direct Sat TV Customer Service Department on 10/17, and she indicated that FedEx was due to pick up the pre-paid return on that day (10/17). Mr. ****** stated that the equipment had not been picked up on 10/17, but that he would bring it to a FedEx Depot near his work. Mr. ****** was offered an apology for being shipped the incorrect equipment and was assured that once the equipment was received at the warehouse and scanned in, a full refund of $49.99 would be processed. Mr. ****** expressed satisfaction with this resolution, and was given a direct contact number to call at Direct Sat TV to call if he had any questions or concerns. As of today (11/6), the equipment has not been received in the warehouse, nor does FedEx have a record of it being shipped using the provided pre-paid label, and Mr. ****** has not contacted Direct Sat TV. Mr. ****** was called on 10/30 and 11/5 to follow up and determine if he requires some sort of assistance in returning the equipment, but there was no answer to either call, and a message stated that no voicemail was set up. Direct Sat TV will give Mr. ****** a full refund as he has requested, but cannot do so until the equipment he was shipped is returned to our warehouse and scanned in. Attempts to reach him will continue, and any assistance he may need will be provided to get the equipment returned so that his refund can be processed.

11/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WAS FALSELY PROMISED SERVICES AND GIVEN INFORMATION THAT WAS NOT TRUE IN ORDER TO OBTAINE A COMMISSION FROM DIRECT TV AND GET $99.97 FROM ME.
ON 10-13-2013 A MALE REP. FROM DIRECT SAT TV TOLD ME AND MY WIFE THAT SHE COULD GET SERVICE FROM DIRECT TV IN HER NAME ALONG WITH ALL THE GREAT BENEFITS EVEN THOUGH I ALREADY HAVE AN ACTIVE ACCOUNT AT THE SAME RESIDENCE. HE TOOK $99.97 FROM ME VIA DEBIT CARD FOR THIS SERVICE. ON 10-14-2013 HE TRIED TO COLLECT COMMISSION FROM DIRECT TV BUT WAS DENIED. THIS PRACTICE IS NOT ALLOWED. DIRECT TV CONTACTED MY WIFE ON 10-14-2013 AND TOLD HER THE SAME INFORMATION. EQUIPMENT WAS SENT ANYWAY AND ARRIVED 10-15-2013. MY WIFE TOLD DIRECT SAT TV TO PICK THE EQUIPMENT BACK UP AND IT WAS ON 1016-2013. IT WAS RETURNED TO THEIR WAREHOUSE ON 10-17-2013. I WAS REPEATEDLY TOLD ON 10-17-2013 AND AGAIN 10-18-2013 THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE THE EQUIPMENT BACK YET. FINALLY ON 10-19-2013 ***** FROM DIRECT SAT TV SAID IT WOULD NOW TAKE 2 MORE BUSINESS DAYS TO START THE PROCESS OF RETURNING MY MONEY. I WAS LIED TO, GIVEN FRAUDULANT INFORMATION, AND I AM STILL WAITING TO HAVE MY MONEY RETURNED TO ME, EVEN THOUGH THE MANAGER, MR. **** IS AWARE OF THIS SITUATION

Desired Settlement
@99.97

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Mr. ***** contacted the Direct Sat TV Customer Service Department on 10/17 to discuss the issue with his account being denied by DIRECTV due to a divorce situation. A call review of Mrs. *****'s sales call to Direct Sat TV (which was completed on 10/11, the date the order was placed and submitted to DIRECTV)was completed on 10/21, and it was determined that Mrs. *****'s order should not have been processed since it was known she was still legally married. At that point (10/21) the equipment had been returned to our warehouse and scanned in, and a full refund of the $99.97 paid as a startup cost was refunded to the same credit card it had been charged to on 10/21/13 at 2:47 pm EDT. Mr. ***** called the Direct Sat TV Customer Service Department on 10/22 requesting the transaction ID number for the refund, which he was provided, and was also advised that it can take 3-5 business days for the refund to appear in his account statement, depending on his financial institution. Mr. ***** OK'd this information. Mr. ***** was called on 10/30 to verify that the refund had appeared in his account and that his issues had been resolved, but it was only possible to leave voicemails at both numbers we have on file. The voicemails both included a direct contact number for Mr. ***** to call if he had any questions or concerns, but at this point, he has never called back, so - based on that fact that his desired resolution of a refund of $99.97 was provided - we are assuming that he is satisfied with the resolution.

10/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund of monies taken from credit card due to unscrupulous salespeople from this company.
On 9/23/2013, I thought I was speaking directly with DirectTv to order new services. An unscrupulous salesperson put my social security number into the system wrong. I get a call from DTV on 9/24/2013 asking me to verify my SS#. I did, and they said it was input from this company wrong, and showing the SS# belonged to a deceased person. DTV basically accused me of Fraud They canceled the order. Now I have a $200 charge pending on my bank account which they refuse to reimburse so I can pay CenturyLink to set u my DTV services. They also debited an extra $24.99 from the same account. Every time I call the
comany, I get a different story. They tell me it's in DTV's hands, that it will take 30 days to process my refund. It took them all of an hour to take the money off my card.

Desired Settlement
$224.99. My financial institution said since the $200 charge is pending, I would need the company to fax the info on their letterhead to my financial institution, and they can get the money back to me in 24-48 business. They are refusing to do this.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Ms.******** contacted Direct Sat TV's customer service department initially on 9/25/13 and spoke to a team lead regarding being advised by DIRECTV that the Social Security number provided was invalid and that her DIRECTV order had been voided because of that. She was advised that once her equipment was either returned or delivery refused she would be refunded the entire $24.99 she had been charged by Direct Sat TV (a hold of $200 had been put on her card by DIRECTV due to her credit rating). She expressed concerns that it would take weeks to get her money back, but was advised that it would take 3-5 days to get the $24.99 back from Direct Sat TV once the equipment was returned to the warehouse. She stated that she would call back in a few days if she did not see the refund, and hung up.

Ms. ******** called in again on 9/26 to request tracking information on her equipment (which was to be delivered via UPS), and it was discovered that UPS had an issue with her address and had not yet delivered the equipment to her. The Direct Sat TV Customer Service representative contacted our warehouse to request the package be intercepted to speed its return to the warehouse, but Ms. ******** requested to speak to a supervisor.

Her call was transferred to a supervisor, and she advised the supervisor that she was upset that her refund had not been processed. It was again explained to her that once we received notification from UPS that her equipment had been successfully intercepted we would be able to process her refund. Ms. ******** advised the supervisor that if we faxed over a letter with company letterhead, then her bank would be able to expedite the refund. The supervisor advised Ms. ******** again that no refund could be processed until the equipment was successfully intercepted. Ms. ******** could not find the fax number for her bank, and advised she would call back with the number.

Ms. ******** called back in about 10 minutes later and was yelling and screaming about getting her money. She was advised that the $200 hold could not be released by Direct Sat TV as it had been processed by DIRECTV, but that the $24.99 she had paid to Direct Sat TV would be credited to her card as soon as it was verified by UPS that the equipment had been successfully intercepted. Ms. ******** was not satisfied with this, and threatened to come to the Direct Sat TV office to "bring you down", then hung up.

Ms. ******** called in again on the afternoon of 9/26 and was transferred to the Direct Sat TV Customer Service Administrator. She advised that she had spoken to UPS and they had assured her that they had intercepted the equipment and were returning it to the Direct Sat TV warehouse. This was verified by UPS Tracking information, and Ms. ******** was advised that the $24.99 she paid to Direct Sat TV would be refunded. She was again advised that the $200 hold could only be released by DIRECTV and again became agitated. A conference call with Ms. ********, the Direct Sat TV Customer Service Administrator and DIRECTV representative ******* was undertaken. ******* explained to Ms. ******** that the $200 hold had been requested to be released by DIRECTV on 9/24, but that it could take 3-5 days to appear on her account. Ms. ******** stated that if she didn't see the money back in her account by 9/30 she would instigate action against both DIRECTV and Direct Sat TV and then hung up.

At this time, Ms. ******** has been refunded the $24.99 she paid to Direct Sat TV (as of 9/26/13 at 2:40 pm EDT). Direct Sat TV is not able to refund the $200 which was placed as a hold on her account by DIRECTV, but it does appear that this hold has been released as of 9/24 based on the assurances of a DIRECTV representative. There is nothing else Direct Sat TV can do for Ms. ********, as her order has been cancelled, her equipment returned and a full refund has been processed to her card.

09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a bundle of tv,phone and internet. And was charged $111.81 more on my 1st bill than I was guaranteed!

I received a call from **** of Direct SAT TV on I believe May 26 2013. I had a very long 3hr call to sell me a bundle of Direct TV,phone and internet from Centurylink. I was told that my bill would come in 2 parts. 1 Direct TV for $47.99 + taxes. Which comes to $51.31 this is correct. The Centurylink bill was to be 49.95 + taxes of about $4.00. So the total should be about 53.95! Now my 1st bill was for 2 months so $107.9 is roughly what it should be! It was $215.93! I was charged $111.81 in surprize charges! I specifically asked "would there be any surprise charges" and was guaranteed there would not be! I've gone round & round with them in many calls for 2 and 3 hrs each time! To no avail! The only thing that seems to have been concluded is that the problem lies with Direct SAT TV. The order to Centurylink was never filed properly. I have not paid the bill waiting for it to be resolved and have now been charged a late fee! My new bill is now $315.68 and is due Aug. 23.

Desired Settlement
I just want to receive the bundle at the price I was told!

Business' Initial Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Customer Mr. *** had already contacted the Direct Sat TV customer service department about various issues on his account. He had been promised compensation in the amount of a refund, a discount on his DIRECTV billing and programming coupons amounting to $264.99, which he agreed was acceptable compensation for all issues except for a significant monthly billing discrepancy with his CenturyLink billing. He did state that the DIRECTV portion of his bill was as he was told it would be by his Direct Sat TV sales agent.

Mr. *** faxed a copy of his latest CenturyLink bill, and a call was made to the CenturyLink corporate office on his behalf to attempt to understand the billing discrepancy. The CenturyLink representative did verify that Mr. ***'s CenturyLink service was set up by the DIRECTV Bundles Department, not Direct Sat TV, and that an email had been sent to Mr. *** after his account had been set up by the DIRECTV Bundles Department advising him that his actual monthly price would be $78.50 (plus taxes), not the $59.90 (plus taxes) he had been told it would be. She also stated that he had been advised that there would be one-time fees in the same email. The CenturyLink representative itemized the charges, but was not able to provide any additional assistance. Mr. *** (who was on hold in case CenturyLink needed to speak to him) advised that he never received the email, and verified that he had been quoted $59.90 plus tax, not $78.50 plus tax, and had never been advised about any one-time fees.

At this point, Mr. *** was advised that there is nothing more that Direct Sat TV can do for him, as his issues with Direct Sat TV have been resolved (by his own admission), and the remaining issues are with CenturyLink and/or DIRECTV. An offer was made to him to send 3 additional coupons to further reduce his DIRECTV bills due to all the issues he has experienced as a new DIRECTV customer, and he accepted this offer. Mr. *** stated that he may decide to cancel his CenturyLink service. Mr. *** was provided with the telephone number for CenturyLink's corporate office to facilitate any futher contact he needs to have with CenturyLink.

He was also advised to call the direct contact phone number he has for Direct Sat TV should he feel we might be able to provide any assistance in the future.

09/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Agreed with sales accociate on a bundle price for dtv and internet services. Inrnet svc was not included in the contract as stated.
Spoke with ******* on July 25th. we discussed the different dtv pkgs and different internet options to bundle it with internet. On August 9, when the company came to install the dtv, they said they do not do the interenet and i'd have to find out who the provider would be from DTV and contact them for an installation date. DTV promptly informed me that internet was not included on my plan at which time i began my ordeal with DIRECT SAT TV. i never realized they were a reseller of DTV services. Direct sat tv was going to issue a call review and contact me within 24-48 business hours. No word by tuesday 08/13 afternoon so i called and spoke with a lady who informed me the call review results were not back yet and they would call me when they were. So i waited till Thursday 08/15 and called and talked to **** and then Customer svc ***** who assured me that he would order an expedited review of the call and call me "yet this afternoon." Not the case. Today 08/16 ***** assures me they will call when the results are back. I would like the original sales rep **** to be held accountable for misleading me in the bundle price and for the service to be installed as promised.

Desired Settlement
I would like the Money back and the dishonest person(s) held accountable for their actions with their employer. I know a few people who say this has happened to them and i am meeting with an attourney Monday afternoon.

Business' Initial Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Customer Mr. ****** was assisted by a Direct Sat TV Customer Service Representative on 8/19, and accepted the resolution to his issues. His sales call was reviewed, and it was determined that his sales agent misquoted him about what internet services were available to him, and also about the cost to obtain these servcies. He was assisted in contacting the DIRECTV bundles department in order to set up internet service and was promised to be sent 6 $20 programming coupons once his DIRECTV service was activated to compensate him for the price differential.

The programming coupons were sent to Mr. ****** on 8/27, and he was called to be advised of that and also to make sure that he had no further issues. Mr. ****** returned the call on 8/28, and he advised that both his DIRECTV and internet are now installed and functioning as he expected. He was advised how to redeem the coupons, and that he should receive them within the week, and he expressed satisfaction with this resolution.

He was also advised that the sales agent who misquoted him has been retrained in how to find what internet packages are avaialable for DIRECTV customers, and how to determine what the price of the package will be so that he will not misinform any other customers in the future. Mr. ****** accepted this explanation.

Mr. ****** has a direct contact number here at Direct Sat TV and was advised not to hesitate to call it if he has any questions or concerns about his DIRECTV service in the future.

Page 1 of 5
04/27/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Direct TV says I have entered a contract when I have not and is attempting to charge me a cancellation fee of 200$ to cancel services.
I have had to contact Direct TV several times in the past year because my bill keeps increasing for no reason. I called in January 2014 and said I wanted to cancel, they offered me an upgrade at no additional costs to keep the service. I did the upgrade and specifically asked about entering a contract in which the salesperson told me that it would not put me into a contract since my equipment was so outdated, it was a free upgrade. I have still had issues since that time with my bill increasing, so I have tried to cancel my services with them. My satellite receiver is now malfunctioning about 50 % of the time in which I have also called them about. They want to charge me either 49$ just to come look at the box or 200$ to cancel. At this point I just want my services disconnected at no charge from them as I do not have time to call them every other week about my bill or deal with the issues I am having with them. They also tried to tell me one time when I called that I could get a**** discount which could save me some money, but then to only find out that is only for new customers only, which was inconsistent with what they told me the last time I had called. I have been a loyal paying customer with Direct TV since 2007, I would hate to think this is how they treat their loyal customers...constantly increasing their bill, putting them into contracts that they didn't sign, and trying to charge them to fix equipment that does not belong to the customer or charge them to cancel?

Desired Settlement
I would like to cancel my services all together with Direct TV with no cancellation fee since I did NOT sign a contract with them. Their inconsistencies have cost them a loyal customer and reputation.

04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had service less than a month (falsecontract)
I had their service less than two weeks already telling me there where going to charge me a $460 cancellation fee for not completing mu contract when they told me there was no contract needed

Desired Settlement
Leave me out charge I've been less than month with that company and they already charging their new customer a contract cancelation fee

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An overall shock as to the amount of increase in monthly bill for internet and TV service.
I was completely astonished at the amount my internet went up after the initial yearly discount. The original price was high enough in my opinion for the quality of service I received, but for my bill to increase by 25 dollars was shocking. At the same time Direct TV also had an increase, bringing my total for TV and slow internet service is currently more than 170 dollars per month. When I called I was informed that if I choose to cancel my contract I will have more than 500 dollars in fees. This should be against the law this is completely stealing from their customers. I know I could never recommend anyone to use their service and if I can ever get away from them, I'll never return. There is too many options to continue to be used as a mark for their scams.

Desired Settlement
I want out of this thievery of a contract without paying the insane fee to cancel. When signing up for this contract, I would never had agree to the service if I had completely understood the amounts that both the internet provider and Direct TV would stick to me in the second year.

12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid about $80.00 upfront for 2 year service plan and 1 year later they will not honor at all and horrible customer service.
This is a long post, but bare with me. Essentially, I purchased a service plan with my original contract through Direct Sat TV(authorized Direct TV dealer) via ************ November 2013 and Direct Sat will not honor. They said I did not have anything with them and they could not help me, even though I paid an additional $80 or so dollars for a two year equipment and service agreement when I order service through them in 2013.

Back Story: November 2013 I called the number to Direct Sat TV of ************ because our credit union had a new member sign up special going on, so we called the number and signed up. During the long call, they said they were not offering that particular special, went with another package. They also asked about adding the protection plan, of something like $80 for two year service plan that ran congruent with 2 year Direct TV contract. Said there was also a $7 a month service plan, but the lump sum saves so went with that one.

Ok, called main number of Direct TV at ************ and went through trouble shooting, could not resolve so they said we would need someone to come out and they said we did not have service plan. We told Direct TV that we paid for it upfront with Direct Sat TV, but they said we could not see it and we would need to call them.

OK. So I called Direct Sat at ************ and tried to tell them what was going on, the lady that we were speaking with would not give her name and kept trying to sell me a bundled TV, phone and internet. I told her we needed to get someone out and that we had already spoke with Direct TV and we had a service plan already with them as an authorized dealer of Direct TV. She said, we can sell you one now! I was like ma'am we do not need you to sell us anything; we need you to look up our account so we can have a tech come out for an issue we have. She then started saying you need to call Direct TV, I told her I just got off the line with Direct TV, and she started yelling CAll DIRECT TV at ************. I said ma'am you aren't listening to me, I need you to look my account up. She kept got an attitude, told me should would not look my account up and that if I wanted to buy a bundle she would sell me a bundle of internet, TV and phone. And that she would also sell me a service plan. She then asked, which would you like to buy? I said nothing. She said well I cannot help you and hung up. I called back and once someone came to the line it was her again, I told her you just hung up on me and I needed to speak with a manager. She put me on two holds a man answered who was supposed to be a manager. I asked his name he gave "***********" I asked who transferred me, he said he didn't know. I told him what happened, his immediate attitude was bad, nothing of what a manager would be about. He told me basically I needed to call Direct TV because they were not Direct TV and also they were not even Direct Sat TV. I told him if their business name changed fine, but this is the number I called when I originally ordered because I saved the number in my phone as Direct Sat TV. He refused to help me and had a nasty attitude. I proceeded to tell him what they were doing was fraudulent by taking unsuspecting customer's money for a fictitious service plan that they never intend to honor. The "manager" named "***********" would not even look up my account and when I finally convinced him, he asked for my number and immediately told me, nope thing comes up. I was furious and told him I would be moving forward with a formal complaint.

I called Direct TV back and told them all that occurred with Direct Sat TV. Direct TV, did a formal electronic Dealer complaint against Direct Sat as well. Please help me, I can only imagine how many other customers think they have purchased a plan, only to find out when they need it, Direct Sat will not honor and you will have to come out of pocket and get a new service agreement directly through Direct TV and not an authorized dealer.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Direct Sat TV to refund me back the $80 dollars I paid in advance to have a two year service plan OR they can honor the plan and pay me or Direct TV the $10 fee I will have to pay to discontinue the NEW service plan I had to get directly with Direct TV today to have them come and resolve the issue.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet Marketers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/19/2009Business started: 07/01/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Baldelli (CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Janeen Roehr (Customer Service Administrator)Mr. Richard C. Craven (Member/Manager)Mr. Uwe Hagedorn (Operations Director)
Related Businesses
Trident Management and Marketing, Inc. - 1930 N Poplar St Ste 21, Southern Pines, NC
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet Marketers

Products & Services

Direct Sat TV, LLC offers satellite TV systems to the consumer from sales to installation.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Direct Sat TV, LLC

1930 N Poplar St Ste 21

Southern Pines, NC 28387-7092

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1930 N Poplar St Ste 21 

    Southern Pines, NC 28387-7092(800) 595-4101
    Fax: (866) 935-4097

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Direct Sat TV, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (910) 693-3042
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.